(2009) Brides of year 2009

not superfamous> i would recommend Utopia, avenue 8, 36frames & one eye click for pre-wedding and/or AD. I personally favour one eye click for their pre-wedding and 36 frames for their actual day..but but but...their prices were outta my budget.

As for mattress, HTB and I booked a Sealy king-size mattress at Robinsons last week...it's the Sealy Posturepedic Lineage range (double plush top) that was on promo...we tried Simmons range but even the more expensive $4000+ range weren't as comfy as the one we bought. That said, choosing a mattress is very subjective, depends on how you and HTB likes the firm/soft/plush top/back support types. My HTB also quite tall (182cm) and length of bed is standard 190cm, so at least for king-size, there's ample space for him sleep slanted with legs stretched out.

As for bedsheets wise, a lot of brands (reputable ones) have different sizes available, from 11"-18" so not quite a problem.

Haha, HTB and I have been doin a bit of mattress research before deciding on Sealy...=)

not superfamous:
I suggest you send an enquiry to the studios you are interested in, ask if they are still available on the date you want. Some of them may have been booked already so you can strike them off your list. Some of them might be out of your budget so you will have to strike them off too. This way of elimination might help you narrow down your search.

Once you have a few quotes, you can meet up with the photographers to see their portfolios and judge your chemistry with them.

mashi> agree, mattress can last a long time and most good brands have guarantee for 10 years. They'll replace the spring or mattress if anything goes wrong. To us, having a good mattress very impt for a restful sleep every night.

I've asked one ID firm and the ID told me that carpentry is more expensive than buying off-the-shelf as exact measurements need to be taken to fit the space whereas buying off-the-rack is 'what u see is what you get'.

not superfamous> hey, are u also with BV? saw ur post there too..=) but didn't see your details on the table that Mashi created and updates regularly.

I did a check with this forum's expert (Geomacy and Fengshui) - David Tong. He said 21 Nov 09 is not a good date to get married.

Are you girls worried? Then is quite contradicting. so many 21 Nov brides yet 21 nov is not a good date.

i dun think $2100 for both PG and VG is ex...my PG alone is $1800 for service already.

but such things is very subjective. i would spend more on PG rather than VG. some people opposite...while some willing to spend more than $5k for this everlasting memory...

i guess everyone is busy with the last min wedding preparations. For me, after wedding day is busy with the preparations of CNY. Gotta give ang baos already..mad rush to the bank later for new notes. Not really need to married life lah..its the same as we already been married for a yr.

Dun worry keitsu..i had hell during my sitting arrangements even on the day itself..just dun bother abt it and just enjoy ur day.

vt, BV was one of the BS that i considered, but in the end, my FH preferred another BS so we went with that instead! i do pop into BV's thread though coz we just made the decision on the BS last sat! =P

we're splurging on the mattress coz other then a mattress, bedframe & maybe 1 more cupboard/drawer, we are not getting anything else for his room. staying with the in-laws for awhile first so reno works not so much of a headache for us.

vt, how much did you pay for your mattress?

Jenny_Dew, have emailed the pg already and gotten their quotes. so far, they are available on my date for AD so these are my 'shortlisted' list :P i know the price ranges quite abit too...

mashi, i dont think my FH is particuarly tall that's why i thought it was quite strange when he tried the bed and the bed looked awfully short for him (legs not sticking out but his head has to be all the way right at the headboard!). i think we tested sealand too but he prefered sealy.

What i feel is with so many btb on 21/11/09, i'm seriously not worried at all. Whether gd date or not, is really very subjective. I'm sure most of us got this date based on our families' zodiac and stuff. As long dont 'chong' on that day can le.

cherie > have to book fast your BS. esp depends on your package you might need to get your own photographer etc.Even if it is a all in package, you still to bear in mind the other couples getting married.You do not wan to rush because you do not have enuff time and your chosen photographer is not available

sherry,

Hows ur layout viewing? hehe me also took oni 1/2 hr to finish the viewing. i forgot to ask if can take back the layout CD anot leh... u manage to ask?

dottie,

kekek, was ok.. i also took only half an hour to view.. no le, i din really ask but it seems that those who managed to take back the layout are those who top up alot more wo

I saw David Tong's reply to your question too, Tulips. Honestly quite surprised to read that he finds 21st Nov inauspicious but I guess it all depends on the precise calculation of your eight characters.

Am personally not superstitious and the date was picked out by my FMIL after calculations done by some master she knows. So most important is that all parties are happy and that no one is offended or slighted. Whether our marriage works out for better or for worse, will eventually depend on God's grace and the effort put in by my FH and myself.

Sharlene, I'm also wondering if I should get a VG and if it's that important hehe... Trying to save cost!
Do you have any VGs in mind?

haha.. i tink depends on individual needs ba..
kaka.. nw 1 by 1 is buying stuffs for their new flat or rm.

tink i still sitting on it.dun knw when then i wan to start on it. keke...

saggiegirl (saggiegirl) --> My AD is on 6th Dec.

Wow this thread is moving very fast!!!
Think there's alot of 6th Dec BTB on that day
=D

Thanks for sharing your AD photography and videography package. The morning express highlights is for photo montage or both photos and video highlights?

hi aroh...how much is the rental? if got the $ to spare... and is yr dream to have it..i will go for it.... but of cos if $ is tight especially now recession..hahah...will then save up the money lor..was thinking of a very stupid idea when i was replying yr msg. thinking if i can have trishaw to ferry me half way then take car to hotel...hahaha

9ngel>
same day BTB!! hmm...my morning express highlights are for the video only. We plan to do up our own photo montage as we go along ...starting from our smallish couple shots to ROM photos to PS photos

have u booked yr venue? BS? or planning to go a-la-carte?

cher ~ think is ok ba...cos if i m not able to find a car with car plate 999 then we will be using our own car and is also black in colour..should be ok la...unless yr parent mind.

black car is taboo or not depends on you and your parents. eva's parents will not be very happy with a black car.

rental range from $388 per day to $688 per day for those cars i mentioned. eva was saying to rent it other days when i can really enjoy driving it. AD itself we will be rushing around and so tired to really enjoy driving it...

trishaw...interesting idea...not too difficult too...just go to bugis and book one of the uncles...not sure how much it will be though. u can hang a just married sign at the back too...with cans as well?

peaberry/ ixoral - actually just not too long ago, my mum made some noises on the date 21 Nov. She said she made a few checks on the tong shu and maintained it's not the most ideal date to get married.

anyway, peaberry has a good point, is not just the date will ensure the marriage will last. But rather how the couple maintain the marriage.

For us, we may hold the ROM early to appease the anxious mothers' feeling. We are still discussing...

hi belinda,

for me, i have not invite my colleagues yet. i tried sending to a few of my ex-colleagues, all of them tell me too early to ask. what should i do?

yep, definitely depends on individual. if already spending alot on other aspects, don't need to spend alot on the mattress, can always replace in the future. we dont intend to replace the mattress in the near future, so dont mind spending =)

same like peaberry, my date of 21nov is also picked out by my FMIL. SO and i not v particular abt dates too. So as long everyone happy, we're ok.

To a certain extent, i kinda believe by choosing a 'good date', things will go more smoothly. eg. uncontrollable nature elements like good weather. hee but hard to say also la :p

Hi all... i am new in here~~ Any VG or PG to recommend? I am looking at a budget of less than $2K. Also any wedding cakes shops to recommend?

Thanks~

haha yes we are the 999 gang :D
if cannot find 999 then at least a single 9 will be good as well.. hope can get a white Maserati since saw this on the rd on weekend and it looks sooo good!

anyone got any contacts for MUA for my jiemeis? can pass me the contact as well as the pricing? They were thinking of engaging one, so i looking around to see got MUA for them ma.

Maserati will cost much more than $688 per day...hahaha...

will be cool if can get a car with 2009 but i'm not picky about the number...more of the model of the car...the standard E200 is just so boring...

hi future mrs ong, oh yach why i didnt think of 909? thats a good one too!

hi aroh, yupe you are right! To rent a maserati costs $275 per hr and i only managed to find one rental company. may have to drop this idea

vt, i engaged fuse concept....i went to a total of 8 IDs and he is the 7th one.

shynn, yah loh the more we look ard the more we feel budget not enuff hahaha

paradise, my ID told me alot of ppl got this misconception that hacking is very ex, in fact not really leh.....my hacking fee is very reasonable.....and i agree with vt, the main bulk of $$ will go to carpentry...

poseidon_gal, im using fuse concept...up til now im happy with my ID Andrew....he is very creative, gave us the idea that no one propose then when we throw out suggestions or wat we want he will digest n counter propose something which match our needs n is aesthetically nice but i haven actually start the renovations so im still keeping my fingers crossed.....he is very friendly with us so i think should be ok ba....will email u my quotation.

i know 1 place Maserati Spyder renting for $788 per day for weekday and $2088 over the weekend...

seems to be cheaper than the one you found? but then again depends on model of the car also lar...

anyone know if there's a sports car with number 2009 on its plates for rental? hahaha...

Queen: if hacking of wall is what u refering to... ya its not expensive. i hack a small opening for the wall between bedrooms $80 only. haha Its making good that is more expensive than hacking.

but the hacking im referring to is hacking of wall tiles and floor tiles. that one is expensive (due to labour cos they need to dispose off the debris after hacking). dats y end up bedrooms floor tiles we nv hack. the ID advised us to lay over to save costs.