(2009) Brides of year 2009

Dear All, I'm now looking for a JP for my solemisation at my banquet hotel. I hope to find a JP who can speak mandarin cos both sets of parents do not understand english. Does anyone have a good recommendation?

PK - nope, I've got a MUA from The Makeup Room (part of the TWP package). But it was good to see some photos of bridal makeup, cos I need to show photos to the MUA to give her an idea of what kind of makeup i'd want :P I don't generally put on a lot of makeup, so kinda clueless in that area :P

Yea, agreed that man are evolving to become a lot more involved and sensitive, tho when my HTB is blur at times, I assure myself that it's bcos he is ultimately still a man hahaha.

As for colour themes, really depends on the bride I think, if you want a coordinated feel, or you're ok with a free-flow style. When I was invited to a wedding dinner with a colour theme, where guests were asked to dress according to the theme, my HTB was actually quite shocked, cos he feels it's rude to expect your guests to have to buy clothes to fit the theme haha. Guess it may be a cultural thing
For my wedding, we're having a colour theme (white, creme and gold) for the decor and wedding cards etc, so that it all looks nice and coordinated. We're not asking our guests to come dressed for the theme tho, but if anyone asks, we'll tell them what the preferred colours are, tho def no obligation to have to buy an outfit just to suit the theme lah ;)

celine> same as me. my GDL items have not been discussed yet. will be collecting my invites from tdragon hopefully next saturday or the week after.

settled the items to make my guestbook, halfway thru the angpao box. will only get to view my PS layout for the 1st time at end nov. still got wat else?

hey gals,indeed kan cheong now..we also din really discuss much abt the GDL items with my inlaws too.we making it very simple also.still got alot loose ends hvnt settle..haha..

dreamz81,think now also can start arrange seating arrangement or confd ur guest attendance

hi piggylover... my banquet room is cinnamon room - thanks for helping with the updating

in fact shd have 12 brides for 6Dec09, coz the Phoenix Grand ballroom of Novotel Clark Quay has been taken on 6 Dec 09 too. i guess the bride didnt join us for a chat

purplzz> wow...that date so popular...my hubby was guessing that maybe there are even more couples who are getting married on 6 dec 09 (ROM and/or AD) but did not join in here

tanks vallous and desjo...

stress... same here.. GDL items nt settled yet but the date seems to be getting nearer... arghh.. haha...

hey gers.. does anyone here face similiar situation? My mom jz told me that i need to prepare a NEW complete set of facial products/clothes/toiletries/etc (basically anything that u nid to use) as part of the dowry... Reason is: I'm not supposed to bring/pack anything 'used' to my new place...1st time i heard this.. so i'm quite confused..

saggiegirl,

6 Dec 09, is very popular. I know that peony jade clark quay, Copthorne king hotel, furama river front other 2 ballrooms are booked. Most likely for wedding.

ya, i think so. some of the places i had checked before HTB and i settled on Keppel Club were already booked on 6 dec 09. my future FIL insisted on this date. when we suggested other dates, he got angry.. anyone checked "tong shu"? maybe it is "listed" as a "good date" inside.

Starskyz> Thanks for your suggestion..I ask liao.. but my BS do not have, they only provide father jacket. That's why really headache...

Anybody has good recomendations??

Starskyz> I recommend my JP Mr Chia. I believe there is a thread on him. He is really professional and can speak in both english and chinese fluently.

Hi, according to my fren (Wedding coordinator in one of the hotel), dec 09 have no popular dates leh... But tink it will be fun to have so many brides on that day!

vonHSY,
I have not yet heard from my mother that i need to get a NEW set of needed items as part of my dowry. If she mentioning about the sewing kit, nuptial lamp, etc which symbolises luck, career, baby, etc, most probably is the traditional items. Other than tat, i don tink we have to change toiletries items to NEW cos cant be really hacking the whole toilet of my in laws's house just to get married. Haha...

Hi smurfz! Welcome! where have u booked??

yup 6th Dec 09 is listed as auspicious leh.. my hotel coordinator said their calendar is highlighted red on 6th Dec cos it's a good day for weddings. in fact we initially wanted 5th Dec cos it's special for fiance and i, but his parents checked and said 6th Dec is auspicious so we will have it on 6th Dec instead.
i'm very sure there will b many other ppl having 6th Dec as AD too.. makes me worry about the drop-out rate of our guests u know.. i'm sure we will definitely have overlapping guests in our 6th Dec guestlist.

I booked at MM. Yes.. I share the same sentiment as you too, somemore I'm at that popular age to get married, so keeping my fingers crossed that at least my good friends only have my wedding to attend that day.. Actually before I booked, I didn't know that Dec is actually a popular month to get married.. cos it's the rainy season. Imagine if it rains heavily in e morning.. how soiled and heavy our gowns will be!

MM as in Meritus Mandarin or Marina Mandarin? heh ya u have a point, it'l b quite worrying if it rains.. yeah hopefully the closer friends will all be able to make it for our respective weddings...

When visiting the PGs/VGs, how much time do you all 'allocate' before fixing the next appt? Looking for a rough gauge so tt i cam maximise the time.

Starskyz, My JP is Mr Chia Ti Yu, and my solemization is in chinese too, haha, same as you my parents don't understand english, he's friendly and guide us on the whole solemization process

Hi skywolf,

my average for each VG and PG is 1.5 to 2hr. VG usually abit longer coz got video to see. try to chat alot with them like their encounters with other couples so u can gain some tips from them.

usually gd VG and PG will ask u to take your time to see others before making up your mind, they wun force u to sign with them.

I feel that try to meet-up with your shortlisted PG or VG within the same one or two week so that your memory is still fresh with their works.

Just met up with one VG today.. tiring day

Hi Jolin,

I'm used to wearing heels, everyday wear high heels like crazy.. haha! but it's not easy getting a nice pair of silver heels..

Hi Mrs Ang,

i also nt sure where she 'heard' it from... jz came to me 1 day & tell me that i cant bring any of my existing stuff to my new place...(at least nt for the 1st mth).. which caught me in total shockness!.. can u imagine.. i gotta buy everyting NEW just to 'tahan' for the 1st mth...haha.. or mayb she's trying to 'help' me find an excuse to buy everyting new (in terms of personal stuffs lahz).. hehe... =X

yes according to the tongshu, 6 dec 09 is very good for weddings, new shop opening, GDL, etc...but not good for ppl born under the Rabbit horoscope...the rest are quite ok. Auspicious hrs are from 6am - 9am...

me booked Hilton hotel way back in June 08..and there are already like 3 couples fighting with us :P we quickly placed our deposit the very next day after our ROM and secure the deal. Already started to discuss with the hotel on the menu, guest books etc...

Hi Glympse and PK - am happy to know that our HTBS are very involved and interested in wedding prep. This makes the ladies feel very proud and loved.

I have no color theme, maybe go with cream color for the flowers at the pews and gold ribbons or something.....but depends on the gown, i like light apple green but don't think my gown design has that color. I selected the designs early this week, paid a little top up and will go back in a month's time for fitting.

Glympse - My HTB was reading this thread and he asked if you know Serene or Norman from Emmanuel. Think he knows them. You sure have a big crowd and its like that when growing up in youth ministry. Yours will be especially meaningful and special. Enjoy it and cherish it

Btw, does your church open its premise for rental to non-members? I am expecting about 500 people and have yet to confirm a venue.

I think there is this custom that you bring some new personal stuff for dowry...but for ONE MONTH?
Most people just buy one set new toothbrush/toopaste, shower gels/shampoo/facial wash, bedsheets, one set pyjamas, new face/bath towel, bedroom slippers for yisi yisi. More for those items that you basically only use at home. The rest of the stuff they use back their own la..like clothes. But all my frens only buy ONE SET - ya sorta like dowry to bring there, and they just take it as an exercise to replenish their toiletries. Try negotiating with your mum to just bring one new set AND your existing stuff

hpc - YES! I know them!!! Grew up with them .. they aren't in Singapore right now tho (they are in Aussie land). Wow what a small world!!

Unfortunately tho, my church only opens its sanctuary for church members. My HTB had a friend who was also planning on holding the wedding at Emmanuel, but wasn't given the go ahead by the church cos he wasn't a member. Sorry... Let's hope Living Hope works out for you! Are there any other church venues in consideration?

hi Noknok.. I dun haf tea ceremony cos i not chinese.. haha.. my schedule will be bridal car fetch groom to church.. den bridal car fetch me to church.. weddin mass from 4 to 5plus.. no catering in church.. from church guests proceed to banquet venue.. cocktails start at 6:30.. think will be juz nice cos all haf to travel from bugis to expo :p will probably arrange transport for those who dun drive

hope dis gives u some idea on how to plan ur schedule..

Hi Lalaa,

Thanks.. was thinking about that too.. for mine is travelling from Aljunied to Changi Airport. Still wondering if I should have a small catering after church service. Maybe not to cut cost.. hee

oooh.. i'm counting down 50 days!

thanks hui
but do u girls actually got an aunt to go down for the "GDL discussion" with u? cos my bf side having 2 aunts to go and I thought it be not nice for my mum to ask for the items, so I shld get an aunt to go with us too?

dreamz81, i be only collecting my cards next week. be printing at tdragon too, hw long does it take? and u be only viewing ur 1st layout end of nov? hw long do they need to print? i already doing my 3rd revise of the layout le, quite frustrating.

vonHSY, yes yes, i do heard tat we need to get a set of new towels, a set of toothbrush, a set of etc etc etc... but not able to use ur existing stuffs for 1 mth?? tat means u gotta buy new clothes to last u a month? i dont think so ba. like johra4 said, yisi yisi. My friend even told me tat i need to get a set of loose powder, a set of lipsticks, a set of blusher and tied with red ribbon and display on ur dressing-table lor! I tell her i don use lipsticks, she say but still must buy!

thanks, Mrs Ang - will go add u :p

Noknok.. wad time is ur weddin mass?
yea lor.. cut cost.. everyone gonna eat at the banquet anywae.. hehe.. unless u not inviting church ppl to banquet la..

ur banquet venue at Changi airport?? or flyin to some other country to haf banquet? haha

Lalaa,
Haa wat i mean is that the rest of the planning / things buying / gowns trying / photo taking can wait till next yr mah. So now waiting for next yr loh..lol

haha sun_tan.. oo icic.. kk now it makes more sense! lol.. thot u juz waitin to get married! haha.. ya i cant wait for next yr too! gettin bored of waitin oredi.. hee

XiaoKeAi my BS providin dresses for my bms too.. so il probably get same color for all 3 of dem.. they shud choose the type of dress accordin to their taste mah.. some mite like tube.. some mite like all covered.. etc

Xiaokeai, I'm going to tailor for my sisters. But im doing it in shanghai where i tailored my cheongsam teadress and rom dress. the sisters will wear the same colour but diff designs. I let them choose e designs they like. abit troublesome this way, but i tink not nice to make them look like clones n wear same thing leh. I did consider doing in singapore but the prices really too high liao. I can't really afford it :P

Lalaa, I tink nok's location cld be the new crown plaza hotel at changi airport. Heard they've got a nice ballroom overlooking e runway n no pillars in e ballroom.

aroh, st james is my playground in singapore leh but 6dec i'm not ard. if not, my htb n i sure go 'lim' with ur. 12 dec will be gd...keke

Lalaa, how come ur BS so gd...provide dresses for bms too?so ur having 3 bms?wat exactly does e maid of honour do, may i ask?is she 1 of the bms too?