(2009) Brides of year 2009

Hi erushie,

welcome. As for the printing of cards, no particular timing. But I already printed mine already and will send out in mid Nov as well.

For the GDL, usually the stuff will be discussed during the session. Parents will decided what to give and take.

saw my friend's gate crashing and we had a burst of laughter when the groom's buddies made to all wear bras. My jiemeis said that have thought of some games. but I told them no food tricks cos my hubby 2 weeks ago got a very bad diarrhoea from the gate crash as he ate some sandwiches made up of wasabi and chili sauce and mustard and some gross material in a drink.

haha...any ideas to have any fun but safe games?

Hi Ene,

Ya its 3 years ago when I had my ROM. At that point of time, the sale girls are not bad but the choices are limited. They say AD gowns will have more choices.

I heard from other forums tat Everbliss is a 'cheater' shop... Haiz... will go down this weekend and see how is it ba....

Hi Silin,

Mine dinner is at Furama Riverfront too
but mine dinner is on 10th May

Hi ahockz,

I only know haulage service = buying/transporting of sands... for 4rooms flat, the haulage fees is about $800 to $950 (depends on how U bargain with the contractors).

Debris Service I duno... cleaning up for the mess done ba... hehehe... got to check wz my HTB... coz all reno thingy done by him..

Sun_tan.. u shud get an email wif the PM lor.. not sure if its possible to read PM here..

ok thanx sun_tan for choppin seats for us

Janine - My package is both MTM WG & EG. That is why I am worried I am not on schedule. haha. I think I better dont worry too much.

Catz - oic. Your hubby is away. No wonder you PS in nov. Do you have multiple account. If yes, I can add you.

hpc - Which BS shop you intend to confirm? Dun forget to bargain for more freebies and make sure you have all details written clearly in your invoice. Just to play safe.

I check alr, and no leh, no email. I pm u too Lalaa and email Grace my contact. So what time u gers be there?

Xiaokeai, u still joining?

mashi mashi,

Oops.. forgot to to state tat 'very scare another couple will taken up the other ballroom cos the foyer is shared n very small' is @ Holiday Inn Atrium.. lolz.. i'm also praying hard nobody will take the Changi ballroom @ HIA.. hahaha..

I intended to do it after march-in but HTB say kinda embarrassing cos everyone's eyes will be on us.. so most likely be doing it during the cocktail time & was thinking of doing it ard the reception.. at least wont be having as many eyes as in the ballroom.. lolz..

Sun_tan maybe the email went to ur Junk folder?
I cant access my hotmail at work le.. later at nite il go back n check lor..

Grace I juz emailed u again.. weird..

Chris,

OIC. u mean HIA. keke... thought u saying abt FRF... lol...

oic. doing at the reception ar. for me. if i plan to do it on the same day will be b4 dinner. but will b in a small function rm. so tat only close family members ard only. keke... but hv to c the timing tat day then can confirm whether can do it or nt...

I am a Nov 2009 bride as well.

Please add me to the list.
Nick: Cecilia_ben
AD date: O1 November 2009 (Sunday)
Venue: Orchard Hotel
Bridal Studio: My Bridal Room

All others to be confirmed.

Yapz, HIA.. lolz..

I wanna do it at the reception cos friends n relatives can be ard to withness mah.. if do in another function room I scare nobody will go there.. lolz.. I also asked the master abt the timing n luckily the timing is good, from 7pm to 10pm, so we can do it anytime in the evening..

Just signed up today! Am planning my ROM in January too but not sure when my wedding date is going to be yet. Its quite a hectic job planning a wedding!

yaloh...the hyper-ness like died down during wkend where everyone geared to spend time with loved ones....sat n sun even better....u can swat flies here...WAAHHAA

Chris,

OIC... for me i worried is too many ppl walk here n there. then alot of noises. cannot concentrate on the ceremony. thus i prefer a small room wif my family members. keke... plannin to do it at ard 6-630 if do on the actual day. so tat i still got time to go bk to the room to change WG.

haha..

iris,

true lor. some places hv big foyer... so no worry. haha... lucky my hotel foyer still counted quite big. lol...

Vallous,
I actually restricted my jiemeis from playing wearing bras, undies cos i find them too humilating for my hubby to take it... and also no jumping or push ups tat make my hubby and his xiongdis sweat like mad.... Cos guys once sweat will be very smelly de.. i not going to marry a smelly husband with a group of smelly xiongdis... Haha...

Food tricks still can bah, but don mix too much of spicy ingredients together. like wasabi is already a very hot stuff, no need to add chilli sauce or mustard le.. i would suggest to play some games then if the guys could not achieve or they forfeited, then food trick comes in. Like out of 10games, the guys have to pick at least 8games to play. As for games ideas, must really sit down and discuss with the jiemeis.

Hey tulips, I went for option B cos I got my photog first b4 I got my BS. (needed one for my ROM next week and I got my ROM bridal dress from The Link Wedding which is totally a la carte). Personally feel that it depends on your perference cos most importantly u need to like the photog's work and designer's dresses, no pt going to the one-stop stores for convenience cos it's a once in a lifetime affair unless you are facing other constraints. I would have preferred going a la carte which involves a lot of time which is a luxury for me.

Thanks for the feedback.

I have a friend who took option C. She even did that for her house renovation, driving all the way to the factory to buy floor tiles. But she works as freelance. Have time to research.

Those one-stop bridal shops i had visited, only 2 edged out more.

I have someone in mind for option B (wedding gown). I feel that if I want to MTM a wedding gown, I should speak to the designer before I sign up for the package. But for one-stop bridal shop, usually is the sales.

Tonight going to meet one photographer for pre-wedding/ actual day. Hope it will goes well.

hihi...r ur still here?suddenly i realise 29th is mon. keep thinking our gathering is tml...:P luckily i double checked. but im fine with mon today. at nite then need to work. so wat time?

grace, i went macau before. unless u plan to gamble n stay over, u can tour e pl in one day, either on foot or take those trishaw rides.got some historical stuffs to see n can try e authentic portugese egg tart n portugese cuisine. other than dat, nothing much liao.

kath, see we all so guai...listen to u today..nv flood the thread like ytd wor...hahhaha

yup, 29 sept is mon
shd be ard 12.30pm or earlier abit i tik...

yeah, was reading abt tat also....any specific places u went for egg tarts or zhu pa bao or watever tat is nice?

yalar..ur super quiet today.
theres this pl called madelene egg tart or something..i cant really rem clearly leh cos it was 3 or 4 yrs back when we went.but e locals shld noe if u ask ard.. its juz a small cafe but their egg tarts r quite popular. as for zhu pa bao, i never try before. but they r famous for their almond biscuits.(Da4 shan1 ba1 brand) u'll see on e way to e famous fort. when ur gg?via hk or flying there straight?

oic...yeah, the magdalene tart is the portguese egg tart....tat's the brand i tik...

yup, the zhu pa bao is apparently so good tat it's even better than the ones in hk!! hahhahaa...

confirm almond biscuits on my shopping list liao...hahhaa....

yeah, going there in mid feb...frm hk

oh...ur pre-honeymoon?dats nice. ur shld be taking ferry over from e queens pier.Pls pls...rem to bring passports cos e last time we totally forgot abt our passports.upon reaching terminal, then we realise need passport. then we had to go back hotel n back to terminal again lor. but luckily we set off early so stil got time.

btw, r ur keen on shopping?cos i noe of gd shopping outlets in hk leh *wink wink*

Ladies, fyi, there's a FJBenjamin inhouse sale at Grand hyatt hotel from today til sat 10am-7.30pm. If nothing to do, then go see see look look ba...hehe

yup...i agree was kinda humiliating cos i saw my friends' in laws and relatives all quite black face. So not so good. I also dun like sweat so much cos wil be smelly

Hi gals, I've yet to schedule the PS because I have yet to decide on the
BS..:0 Although, I've narrowed it down to Dang or Vaughn Tan..what do u
gals think of these 2 BS? Personally, I prefer Dang's designs to Vaughn's,
but I must say that Vaughn is a really nice, friendly, helpful and
understanding guy..it's easier to negotiate with him and he seems more like
a friend..his pkg is straight forward (not much top ups required). As for
Dang, they seem more commercialised with quite a few top ups required..but
Dang's designs are more to my liking (classic and elegant), and she's
really experienced..so I guess I'll likely sign up with Dang, but have to
make sure everything's in black and white (as much as possible) else I
might have a Big Surprise when it comes to footing the bill...and
hopefully, the gowns will be ready for PS in end Nov..

So which BS did u gals sign up with? And do you prefer a cheongsam inspired
gown for an evening gown or a non-cheongsam evening gown for ur EG?

wah, kath...u so smart leh...nv say but u noe it's pre-honeymoon liao..hahahhaa....no lah, confirm we'll bring passports cos we going to stay in macau for 1 day then fly back to s'pore frm macau

gd shopping outlets?!! now my eyes really sparkle liao....wahahaaha

btw, who was the one who said she's looking at ichiro for her AD VG ar? just saw my gf's frd whose wedding was on 21 sept...express highlights really quite good....i'm impressed

I plan to sign up with Jawn happy.ever.after. Met him once and chatted and saw his designs. His shop looks very humble but his service is very good and people on the forum thread give very good comments that they are willing to advise and design something that fits your unique style.

Josie, any idea what other freebies I can ask for other than what's stated in the package?

hi gals, yup it's mi again...i'm always very impressed by the energy of you gals...haha.. i've been so busy with work that the last thing i want to do when i reach home is to log online..sigh..
aniwae, i hv started to source for my wedding banquet venue..but realised that i'm pretty quite late! oh gosh, left with very limited choices actually..so now only hv 2 shortlisted, which are grand hyatt or marriott..anyone of u attended wedding dinner at either of the venue? hee..care to share 2 cents worth? i went to the other forums, both seem equally ok, but if given the choice, which one will u choose?

ps: btw, i shld b holding my dinner in oct, hvnt has time to figure out if i shld hv my ROM in sep yet.. haha..but since i hv started my post in this thread, i thought i might as well ask u gals too..=)

pardon my grammar/spelling mistakes..too lazy to amend..think i shld head for bed le..

will like to add myself to this thread too.. i'm in the mid of sourcing for wedding venue for Oct..=)
i also has the intention to hv my ROM in Sep thou..not confirm yet..wonder if it will be too troublesome??...

Have to have them ready... I'm getting them printed in Indonesia as it's much much cheaper there and there's a wide range of materials to choose from. You can opt for hardcover, padded cover, triple fold, envelope fold, pocket invites or just the simple straightforward ones.

The most expensive and elaborate ones I've come across (with padded satin / thai silk covers, hot stamping and reads like a mini brochure(!!) complete with pictures, pre-wedding details and AD details come up to about S$8 apiece - which is a pretty good deal if we compare the prices in Singapore. The simple ones on artcard with ribbons and print will cost about $1 - $2 each.

Being the pedantic fussy but lazy person that I am - I have to plan and design early early lor... fiance and I did the artwork and formatting ourselves; so all we need to do is send it out to print. Materials and paper preference has already been discussed with them. He's sitting on it though... cos knowing me as well as he does, there are bound to be small details that I'd want changed along the way! :D

poohise - when do you show them the banquet receipt? On the first appointment or before that, when we send in the photocopies of our details like BC, etc?

raine,
think during the 1st appt, you can show them ba.
or to play safe (and KS abit), when you send in the photocopies, also include a letter + the photocopy of the receipt.

But best to call them up and check with them.
Their response very fast de! :D

babiebreath,

hmm. i will say depends on the budget u hv. might nt b cost effective. depends on hw many ppl u intend to invite n where u wan to hv ur ROM lor..

but if given me a choice, i will wait for the AD to ROM since only 1 mth diff. save the $$ for other usage lor. keke..