(2009) Brides of year 2009

huh desjO,

I dun get you leh. Your parents side got 10 tables but she ask for 5 tables. OK leh mah. She only ask for half. Damm good liao. My parents ask for 15 give back 2 to my hubby leh. haha..even more shiong.

let say one table got 10 ppl lah and 10 ppl all give $100 so got $1000 so if your parents take 5 tables, means you lugi about $5K. To me I think its ok lah compared what we have spend on photos and honeymoon and housing.

Perhaps think of what else you dun require in the wedding and cut on other expenses lor.

Or perhaps have a chat with your family and tell them your difficulties. Hope they understand lor. But if you dont give them tables..then the Pin Li must give more. For me my parents took both lor..even more shiong 15 tables return 2 tables..and take $2888 return half. But of course..dun think my parents will earn a lot..cos i know my relatives are the stingy lot..meaning bring 5-6 ppl then give one small angbao type..

cheekrene> yap, me took up a package tour with CTC. 7 days but I extended 2 more days in tokyo. the tour was kind of a sheep herding experience, but i guess all tour packages are lidat.. i feel that unless you can speak/understand some japanese to navigate around, it still safer in a tour group.. except of the hotel and theme park staff, the general public dun seem to understand or speak english.. during my extension in tokyo, i had to use alot of hand gestures and simple verbs to ask questions on the road.. (or mayb i'm suay.. hahahha...)

but i still find it a great place and looking forward to my next trip there.. =)

Popprincesstrin> can help me update my info in the table too? Have confirmed my AD PG to be Jayce Photography. The rest are all TBC. Thanks!

Jasmine> i guess as long as both your parents side are ok with the date then can liao. alot of ppl dont really go count the dates i realise. only the pantang ones (which do make up the majority,haha) :p

starskyz ->

i see i see... i am planning F&E. I have colleagues in japan and they are willing to guide us if we go for our honeymoon there...

planning is quite tedious and i have to be kiasu as i hear the hotels will be very competitive around sakura blooming time.

Glamourous,

My pre wedding shoots shld b ard apr/May ba. my frens say dun take too late. haha..

so tink after CNY can start to go select the gowns le. so tat will have ample time for me to select slowly. haha...

Hi renne,

I tink my coordinator is Agnes leh. I signed up @ MS, bt she called me last mth cos she thot i getting married this dec. hahah

As for the MUA, Agnes did ask if i haf anyone i prefer. But i anything de, so she say she will assign someone to me.. I saw those external MUA sending me emails.. its nt worth it lor... Plus, i signed up wif WL cos its a comprehensive package.. i dont need to find myself other stuff i wld need.My sister, who is an ex- WL bride, also say their MUAs not bad de.. So, i doubt i will find an external MUA.. as u said, rather spend it on HM..

So fast its almost end of Aug le.. still gt 7 more mths til gown selection....

I've got a question....you gers wear the PR ring 1st follow by wedding band
or wedding band 1st follow by PR ring on your index finger??

Mashi Mashi, I am also going take in May 2009... Just wondering whether it will be on time as I will be taking mine overseas. Are you going to take MTM or OTR gowns? My Bridal designer's coordinator asked me go in Dec 08... Im just wondering whether its a bit too early thats all...

Peareys, For me, Im not so particular.. whichever order is fine with me. =)

peareys - i heard or read from somewhere that proposal ring is there to "protect" the wedding band hence wedding band then proposal ring.

but i think it looks better with proposal ring first then wedding band.

glamourous - i also think april/ may is the good time to take PS. Then u have 6 months or so to do up the album and more time to select/ design your wedding gown.

Hi Wildwood, i also signed up at MS with a sales person called Elise. I got see Agnes before and my sales person commented that she is a nice lady.
WL offer quite a comprehensive package and really quite value for $$$. I have already bk my MUA, Sammi. My friend was using her for her wedding and i like it ...

hi fanny, i recd ur pm. Thanks! I have recd their quotes and make appt to view his portfolio on Monday. We simply feel uneasy cos I couldn't find any review from forum. Seems like too dependant on the reviews. Haha. I find his pkg quite reasonable.

glamourous,

Most likely i wil take my BS exclusive range gowns. will nt MTM unless i cannot find the ones i like lor. (low chances) haha...

where u goin to take PS? tink dec will b too early liao lor. also depending on where u go to take. need to c the weather of that country that u goin...

Peareys,
I personally feels is up to ur personal preference. c u wan to wear which one first.

Twinfairy,

I choose apr/may is also becoz of the weather. haha. too early, raining season. then jun sch holidays n will b hot lor. so best is apr/may. haha.

Twinfairy & Mashi Mashi -
I think not much time ro select/design the WG + 2 EGs if you are refering to the 6 months after PG? Im meeting Ted Wu in December 2008/ January 2009... the designing session will be the only session where we'll discuss about the gowns designs. Bcoz Im taking the gowns along with me for my Pre Wedding shoots in May/ June 2009, hence, all the gowns need to be ready then.

We'll be heading to Paris in May/ June... that will be Summer in EU... coz my wedding in Sept... so cant possibly go in August too.

Glamourous,
By the time u take ur PS, ur gowns will sure b ok n ready. y still need to redesign?

i tink u better take PS in Apr. to be safe so tat ur albums will hv time to b printed n able to do changes if got probs.

so u hv to mit ur designer by dec to discuss. so will hv enough time for him to design n tailor ur gowns...

tats wat i feel lar..

glamourous, i mean if you are taking PS in april/ may, that leaves you more room and time to make changes to your gown. So is good that you start designing your gowns in Dec, still need time to tailor and sew your gowns.

I also hope to go overseas for PS in May, at that same time, celebrate my birthday and also reward myself with a good holiday. Haha.... *cross my fingers*

Cant redesign too once the gowns has been designed and set wat.

Wont be considering April as its Spring in Paris.. will still be cold (U see, I have a low threshold for cold... U may be wondering how I survived my winter days in Melbourne during my uni? haha. But winter in Australia and Europe is different mah.. Wearing a bareback WG for shooting is no joke!)

Im looking at May or June instead as it will be end of Spring or start of Summer in Paris. Not the best ideal time too, but no choice coz AD in Sept.

Glamourous,

If i were u, will choose may as end of spring. wun b too hot also. as it can b quite hot wearing ur gown under the sun for long hrs lor.
haha...

tink end spring will b quite nice to take PS ba..
so envy. lol...

I'm also May 2009 Bride, I had booked my hotel, bridal package and my indoor shooting was done, left with outdoor shooting, shd be done on Sep 08.

I'm also having my ROM in Sep 2008, I'm reali in a lost of how to go about doing it cos i was reali tied up with my work. Tot of a simple one with onli relatives and some close friends, but end up, still have to spend so much. Can anyone advise me???

from wat i understand from my parents, the number of tables our parents asked for will be paid by them from their ang bao money.

eg if guy give them 10 tables, they request for 5 tables, which means the ang bao money for the 10 tables is theirs and they will used it to paid for only 5 tables money.

anyway, this is wat i know from my parents, but we only intend to have max 16 tables, to min losses. ^_^

cheekrene> wif the locals to be ur tour guides, you'll sure have a fufilling trip there!! =) you can take your time to enjoy and absorb what you see/experience there.. like i say, a tour package is kinda sheep herding experience..

yeah, understand.. the hotels are generally more expensive and taken up fast during that period, hope tat you'll find it worth it when you see the sakura etc.. if u dun mind, you can try taking a 3 star/lower grade hotel, as they are cheaper..

princess> went to see ctc webbie, the package i took up is still availiable..
http://www.ctc.com.sg/tour.php?tourcode=JJ7C

as for the service, the hotels we stayed quite alright.. the food we ate oso quite alright.. our local tour leader(i.e juz accompany us to jap frm sg) is bery nice, bery humourous and take good care of us.. he oso gave us alot of tips on what to see/get at some of the destination.

but i'm a little disappointed with the tour guide frm jap (i.e the tour guide who picked us up in jap), she din seem to do much homework or explain well on the places we went.. eg. someone in my tour group asked her questions abt why the rainbow bridge was named rainbow bridge, and she couldn't explain it. but again, mayb i'm juz suay to get such a "blur" tour guide. my colleague who went with ctc previously says that her tour guide is quite good.

overall-wise, i'm still quite satisfied wif ctc lah..

Bubbly> Hahaha seen from Melvin's website mah... I am almost done liao for ROM only need confirm the menu list and than get my FH's shirt & shoe. AD ah... got to meet up with Melvin and than pay him the deposit. Other than that I am done even my AP list and AD agenda is list out liao.

The countries seasons varies... Winter in Aussie can never be the same as winter in EU! Think Australia's winter is probably equivalent to Europe's Spring? Haha.

Spring in EU probably around 10-20 deg, and by late May/ Early June prob just around 13-23 deg. U know climate dont just change like that or as per months indication...To me, its already cold and not in comfort zone for PG if I go too early. I may even be subjected to below 10 deg!

SG weather is hot all year round.. so even our coolest is not their hottest in summer!

Actually it all depends our parents decision. From my part, my daddy has secretly talked to me tat he will give me all the 10tables angbao that he has requested from my inlaws to me as a gift.

But got 1 condition, i cannot tell my bf and his family. It's meant for me to keep. LOL~! I guess my daddy is worried i get bully/ill-treated by inlaws should someting happen. =)

haha... no way to compare sg weather with other countries as we dun hv 4 seasons.
so whole yr abt the same weather.
juz tat whether will it b a rainy season or nt... haha

Ya lah, anyway our parents also dun wan us to be tied down by all the expenses...

but i also heard from my friends(bridemaids) that ang bao have to catergorize carefully, in order to min dispute later... so wat vallous did is good also ^_^

Desjo, my sis actually went to help us on PS, den to take some behind the scene pics for montage on AD, didnt know she secretly took so many pics (abt 300++) i just selected the better ones to pose on multiply. ^_^ anyway she loves taking pics ^_^

woah...luvlove,

your sis damm pro manz...300+ its like the PS photographer lor..haha. tats a lot.

nice of your sis to do the montage for you.

For us, my hubby is doing it. He is good at the montage.

yup...my parents wil be taking, but my mum did mentioned that she is keeping for me too. She also dun wan me to tell my hubby side that they setting the money aside. Family meant well. With them asking more tables..in their eyes its gaining respect for us. They dont wan our in laws to bully us or look down on us.

We may not understand now but perhaps next time when we are parents..will understand their pains.

I needed 3 boxes is to prevent disputes. Its true...dun wan later says this angbao looks like from my family not yours...problematic..although some family will not take from their children but some parents like to know the amount collected from relatives so next time can return the favour. So better to prepare more boxes.

oic.... hmmm i oso dunno leh ..
wanna to ask my mum .. is it she take all the table $ ...
actually my HTB n MI thinkin.. if we have extra $ for the balance will give it to her.. ..

For me is simple, friends and guy's side in 1 ang bao box, my parents another 1. But now tinking, donno the ang bao box for guy's side enough to contain 28 tables of guests' ang baos.

ixoral,

I'm not pantang lah...but my mom is! =( hahaha.. my bf say shouldn't tell my mom now. Tell her @ a later time so that we can't change the date liao lor.. hahaa..

tydy,

hahaa.. yeap! we'll let each other know when we go down to WL ya? hahaa.. Coordinator is Irene.. =) Which PG n MUA have you chosen?

Thanks for sharing with me & your kind advice.I think what luvlove said is something like the 'normal practice'.By right if parents side got i.e 10 tables of guest,or rather they ask for 10 tables, all ang paos should be keep by them??For my parents,our own relatives occupy 10 tables,but my mom dun want add our burden,so she said out of 10 tables, she just take 5 tables from guy's side & another 5 tables she pay herself.In fact those ang pao she suppose to keep she want to return all to me or maybe jus tk a bit as a gesture.The problem is shall I keep or insist she take?coz to me parents are the only ppl in the world that love & dote me the most.I wanted to give them as a gift..duno can afford?sign..

Hi Vallous,
WOw..15 tables from ur parents meaning after return 2 tables, so u & ur hb paid for 13 tables?Isnt it a big sum..very xiong wor?!

Just wonder, those tables or pin li ask from 'nu fan' suppose to pay by 'nan fan' as in in-laws pay?

Hi Dianna,
When u said ur daddy will give you all the 10 tables ang pao, so who is paying the 10 tables?ur hb or in laws?dat's really nice of him..think parents are always think of our welfare?keke
As for ur ang pao box, maybe u get a bigger one for both?else 1 big & 1 small also awkward ba?

Hi luvlove,
Even ur sis secretly take pics behind the scene also can capture so close up one?very good le..

Hi desjO,

when i say my parents ask for tables ah...its just a formality or gesture nia. All 31 tables are fully paid by my hubby. My parents not paying anything.

The pin li is asked by the lady side and usually its the in laws that pay for it.

Hi desjO

the 10 tables is paid from me and bf lor. Tats y my daddy wanna return me the angbao collected. Cos inlaws nvr contribute any.

My bf reassured me his parents wont take any angbaos collected during the dinner. So i guess our tables will be paid through the angbaos collected.

All the things we bought, ordered, prepared are paid by cash, no involvement of credit. It would be better this way for both of us. Everything is CASH. Haha...

wow... i tink mine is simpler...
i only have one angbao box for everyone.. because my parents and my PIL never mention want how many tables and also never mention about our angbaos...my mum just say hope our angbao is enough can le... we just ask which relatives want to come.... because our relatives also Not many lar...

jasmine, i also didnt choose the date thru tong shu. I think to choose a date is only giving self assurance. My ROM is on 28Jun so we chose our wedding date to be 28Nov. So only 1date to celebrate for anniversary. Haha. Too economical liao.
My coordinator is Jimmy, MUA is Sammi. PG havent decide yet.I think Sammi is good cos I used her for my ROM. Her makeup is natural and my guests praised that the hairstyling is very nicely done.. So i think will stick to her.. Haha.

Hi desjo
my sis enjoy taking pics, lucky she is ard to help us on that day... as for montage my hubby doing it also, afraid not enough time as only taking soft copies from BS during nov-dec.

So far my parents & in-law didnt say much, the angmao from my hubby's side should be used for the banquet, my mum also told us if not enough she will top up. Cos end of the day, we dun wan to hold the banquet, my parents insisted. sign*

The thought of preparation is tiring... we havent even do the guo da li etc