(2009) Brides of year 2009

Our Love Nest is at Fernvale Vista II and will only be ready in 2012. Still a long wait

emeraldbride, piggylover, yvonne, shir and renne, you all have mails!

but then again, dun depend too much on it.. if you are those pang tang type, think better to check with the shifus coz they will take the birthdates into consideration too...

cheeky--> ya i understand i should listen to the elders. im probably gonna change the date to 19/12. (although i dun really believe in this kinda thing..)

i think 26/12 is a hot date too.. apparently, based on that tong shu, 19/12 and 26/12 are both good days to get married.

Morning people once again... ;)

hui~ good question...

i tink i saw at my cousion wedding, both PG & VG got a seat at the banquet... and for some have to arrange for transport for them... as in bros or jiemei need to have 1 car that can fetch them around. But if PG or VG have their own car then easier lor...

suzanna, thank u! rec ur email le.

hmm... ya lor. agreed with cheekychick, like for me at tat time i instead on 12/12 but shifu say the date dont suit. sad but for the elderly they will pantang, so i gotta giv up n chose 26/12. my bf like this date as it is a long wkend, friday is christmas so we think our helper can rest both on friday n sun.

Hi Suzanna,

Thanks for the mail. Actually we got our dates from our shifu already, just curious to take a look.

Just to share with u abit of what the shifu told us. According to him, our dates are calculated based on our ba zhi (meaning birthdate and time). So the dates that he chosen for us is a good date just for the two of us. And even if the tongshu is showing a bad date etc, its fine as the tongshu is just a general guide and its based on the zodiac of that year. Meaning the date is consider a bad one in the tongshu is because that date 'clashes' with this general zodiac, hence got nothing to do with us.

We didnt know about this until the shifu explained to us. I guess most people didn't know and just check the tongshu for 'good' dates but these dates may actually be not good for them since its based on that year's zodiac but not based on their info.

So my thinking is its better to check with a shifu if the couple or their families are pantang or particular on such things.

Hope u get your preferred dates.

hi there im new here.. a Jan 09 BTB

I need help and suggestions. I like to have a chalet wedding,esp fairy point 7. however aloha has changed their rules recently. besides aloha, which other company operates bungalow...

thanks shir, i feel better after reading your msg.

hmm, you guys ROM-ed already? Who's gonna do both on the same day?

andrea, wow.. u r early ger. hehehhe..

excited? hmm... nw is fan le not excited yet. cos having problem deciding wanna held it on noon time aft family side tea cerm,cos i wan the VG to capture this special moment n show in the express highlight to my guest during dinner time de. but alot comment too rush for us running up n down, worry not enough time also.

still deciding whether to do it before dinner start next to the function beside the ballroom.
.. fan fan fan.....

hahahaha i was struggling thru breakfast to go see doc...caught the flu bug from my hubby *ahchoo! =P

Hmm...is it possible to do it at a more "scenic" spot at OCC? if they have anyway =P I agree it might be a bit rush...coz from past experience as a jiemei, if either side has a big family, quite likely to have delays. My friend's family got the timing wrong n some showed up when we're supposed to leave liao....so yeah =P

ohh... andrea u sick le. must take care n drink more water okie? rest well at home.

oya lor. OCC tot those scenic spot but hor nd $$ le. heheh extra $$ to top up. so i intend to hold in my room lor. alot of thing to worry lor, time, check-in early possible mah, enough time for my jiemei n bro to rest mah.. all under concern le. nw try nt to think so much 1st ba. walk 1 step den see. heheheh :P

Hi, I'm also getting married in 08 Mar 09. But till now I had only check out on hotels. Mostly I will be having the wedding at Park Royal on Kitchener Road. Wat's all ur advice on this hotel? I had visited the hotel. it looks very nice.Can anyone advise me on what's the next step? Bridal shop etc.

I romed already. So 1 more item off my list. hee.. We also engaged a vg for tat day, and captured everything on video. So most probably will show this video during the dinner.

Piggy.. don't fan.. maybe u would like to consider doing the solemnization during dinner. I attended 2 dinner where they had the solemnization on the stage. They are quite nice and romantic. The couple marched in and went on the stage where they said their vows infront of all the guests. All the focus on the couple and i even heard some 'older' guests saying that this is very different from the past as they didnt have such thing in the past and they felt very blissful & romantic for the couple.

The whole process is just about 15mins, at most 25mins. Quite fast, so don't have to worry taking up too much time.

I think its much better than just viewing a video. Maybe you would like to consider doing that since u still have an option, unlike some of us who rommed already.

andrea, oya lor. nd $$ de.

Shir, oh thanks for ur advise. my cousin had her at the stage during her 1st march in too. hmm... but hor, not gd cos the guest like those uncle, aunty talking so loud n non stop de. children running abt, really sad to see tat. worry mine will b same too. but do on stage is gd as all guest can see at same time.

haiz.. is just matter of the pro & con lor.

I've shortlisted a few BS from the forums here.. but don't think i can go down personally to see so many of them.. If you have been to any of these BS, could you give me your comments (design, service, price, etc)? thanks!

Currently, thinking of having lace and low back kind of gown.. =)

Sophia Wedding Collection
La Vie
Milan
Divine Couture
Silhouette the Atelier
Flamingo Bridal
Julia Wedding News
My Bridal Room
Precious Moment Bridal
Silverlining Bridal Couture

Btw, if i dilly dally till march then visit, will it be too late? Coz now quite headache over my house reno plus work..

hmm.. serious ah? all my choices here are on the high range? sob.. me only looking at budget of at most 4k.. excluding photos..

hmm, i'm planning my rom juz 1/2 hr before dinner, i think.

aniwae, piggy.. can send me the contacts for the shifu? the one i was due to go tell me she busy until end march :x

do let me know how much it costs and wad info is needed? thanks!

girls..do u all have a list of stuff that we need to budget for?

I am starting my planning and need some advise on what items i must budget for.. me n hubby (we rom-ed) are not veri good at planning..everytime become 'robert'.. haha

Carlton Hotel.. the coordinator don't even know when would the package for 2009 be available.. the price is definitely increasing.. but anyway this sat we are going down to check out the venue..

yeah, Sharlin..u might want to check out uksportgal's blog...quite useful and very down to earth tips as well...

yup, u could look into bridal studio next...check out wat kind of gowns u like...go to a few bridal shops like say, Tanjong Pagar...check out their dresses, packages and prices...compare and see which ones u like...

perhaps after that would be ur AD PG/VG...

really? that's strange...some hotels alrd have so many brides booking for 2009 and some r not even sure when it would be available? that's kind of weird...i mean, it's alrd going into feb 2008 liao somemore...perhaps u might want to go into the Carlton thread to ask?

hehe...perhaps i can feedback to u abt the food, decor etc after i attend my frd's wedding in mar this year

Hi emerald, I think that's a good question.
Maybe we all can chip in here so that everyone has an idea? =P

I'll chip in some:- (even if it's like super obvious =P)

WEDDING RINGS!!!
Bridal studio package
AD PG & AD VG (Check how much they charge if you need them to be there earlier)
Bridal car and driver (if not provided by BS)
Decorations for other follow cars
Shoes for AD =P
Ang bao for jiemei and xiongdis
Ang Bao for tea ceremony (if got younger relatives)
Ang Bao box (whether to buy or DIY)
Corsages for jiemeis (whether to buy or DIY)
Gifts for helpers (up to you)
Hotel banquet (roughly how much loss you think you might incur =P)
Makeup artist top up (if you need to start super early or if your mom/sis/MIL/SIL need makeup also)
Suit for FIL/Father (see if the BS can help)
Wine/hard liquor/bear charges (if your hotel charges corkage or if u wanna bring in the alcohol)
Food tasting (some hotels charge for food tasting)
Invite printing & additional invites (Not all hotels provide for the printing and if you change the type of printing, there is extra charges.)
Pens for guest book (Guest book hotel will provide but you can ask for it earlier to decorate it smemore if you like)

(If you're having church wedding)
Booking of chapel and canteen
Ang bao for celebrant and other helpers
Choir/music team
Catering for food
Guest book
Pens for guest book
Ring pillow (see if can borrow from friends who married liao/rent from somewhere)

I think that's more or less it liao =P
Anyone wanna chip in info? =P

oh forgot to add something for church weddings:-

Invitation cards (see if u can use ur hotel invite to include the printing for the church invite, else make ur own or get someone to make for u)
Church wedding booklets (if ur church uses powerpoint, so much better!)

Andrea's list is quite good. I think only those traditional items like GDL, An chuang etc are not included.

And maybe Honeymoon funds as well. Hee..

Suzanna, u also plan for rom on ur AD? im still thinking of the timing to hold.

i had email u the contact of Long shifu, he chrg me $80 at tat time i had visited him. u can call n chk with him on the chrg again. gd luck!!

emeraldbride, wat are the thing u wanna budget n buy? for me i had bot my ring pillow and new bedsheet (bed will decide next yr whether our hse will b ready). as for others like wedding car decor maybe using my hello kitty couple, angpao box doing DIY de. Other GDL, An chung stuff & angpao ($) for our helper will plan it next yr too.

most impt is to settle on ur wedding date, venue, BS, AD PG & AD VG (for me 1 more will b JP on AD) den come with buying those wedding stuff as mention.

hahahahaha Oooppzzz thanks Shir for ur reminder =P Coz I not having all those mah so no wonder I forgot (after I posted I knew smething was missing =P)

List to budget for AD

WEDDING RINGS!!!
Bridal studio package
AD PG & AD VG (Check how much they charge if you need them to be there earlier)
Bridal car and driver (if not provided by BS)
Decorations for other follow cars
Shoes for AD =P
Ang bao for jiemei and xiongdis
Ang Bao for tea ceremony (if got younger relatives)
Ang Bao box (whether to buy or DIY)
Corsages for jiemeis (whether to buy or DIY)
Gifts for helpers (up to you)
Hotel banquet (roughly how much loss you think you might incur =P)
Makeup artist top up (if you need to start super early or if your mom/sis/MIL/SIL need makeup also)
Suit for FIL/Father (see if the BS can help)
Wine/hard liquor/bear charges (if your hotel charges corkage or if u wanna bring in the alcohol)
Food tasting (some hotels charge for food tasting)
Invite printing & additional invites (Not all hotels provide for the printing and if you change the type of printing, there is extra charges.)
Pens for guest book (Guest book hotel will provide but you can ask for it earlier to decorate it smemore if you like)
Ang Bao for JP
GDL items
An Chuang items

(If you're having church wedding)
Booking of chapel and canteen
Ang bao for celebrant and other helpers
Choir/music team
Catering for food
Guest book
Pens for guest book
Ring pillow (see if can borrow from friends who married liao/rent from somewhere)
Invitation cards (see if u can use ur hotel invite to include the printing for the church invite, else make ur own or get someone to make for u)
Church wedding booklets (if ur church uses powerpoint, so much better!)

(For Honeymoon)
Tour/Free n Easy trip
Visa
Clothes
Food money
Shopping money
Souvenier money

Wow , that really comprehensive! Thanks gals.
Btw, long shifu have nt increased the price hence those interested nd nt worried. I just checked last week =)

thanks piggylover and renne. still waiting for the time of my bf's birth. lol.

piggylover, i forogt all about asking a JP. haha. luckily u reminded me!

hmm, i think ang bao box can diy.. i saw a few weddings where the boxes are diy-ed. they even have cute cute pictures on them.

i guess as a teacher myself, i'll juz use one of the holidays to diy a ang bao box.

chinese new year approaching.. last 2 years to get ang baos already!

PS: if im not wrong, ang bao for xiong di and jiemei is provided by both parents side (i.e jie mei's ang baos girls' parents give one and vice versa)

ya.. by right the package should be out.. cos i read in other threads a lot of couples already booked for 2009 for most hotels..don't tell me carlton is the special one b'cos of the F1 thingy.. anyway i've already posted in the carlton thread.. waiting for replies..

ur friend is having wedding dinner?? both of us luv the hotel..

Suzanna, no problem le. gd luck to u! do keep us update once u got ur AD!

hehhe.. for JP still hav not shortlist any yet. think will start by 2009 as my AD fall on Dec09.

yup, me too doing the angpao box myself. hahha.. can test our own how creative we are. :P

ya lor. we left last 2yrs for taking angpao le, so much get as much as possible le.

hmm.. frm parent is different de. for the xiong di before go up to bride hse, groom will giv angpao to thank them for helping and for jiemei will b during gate crash angbao. oya.. heard frm my frez for those xiong di and jiemei who r driving gotta give extra angpao too (dunno issit travel de). so mostly will be giving by the groom = bride also lor. hehehehhe

wah..u gals are the BEST!!! I ROM-ed last year liao, so dun hv to prepare wedding rings.. i have a pair of shoe, can re-cycle..
I tot of budgeting for bigger ticket items onie like
1. Banquet
2. BS
3. PG/VG
4. Flowers
5. Favors
6. Ang Pow $$$
7. Stationeries

But need to consider, i will be holding 2 dinner, so my cost is double!
kao_cry.gif

i dunno for the norm, but i told my parents that they should go tailor their clothes next yr.. i dun think they expect me to pay for it.

with regards to my in-laws side, i think they also paying for themselves..

ya, will inform u girls when i get my AD date. excited eh... hee

PS: Comos, you've got mail