(2009) Brides of year 2009

hi suzanna, oh ya lor. for me n my bf we also not pangdang type but my mother & PIL need lor. so we go see shifu to get AD, tot can secure my planned date on 12/12 but too bad, cannot. sad for quite sometime liao. heheh

Jazreel, hw is their pkg for u? ther is another 2009 in another thread also getting Jazreel as BS.

i tik u gotta fast chk with Carlton for the pkg & date available 1st. can ask them to secure 1st de. but 1st u gotta ensure there is no changes on ur AD.

yup, already confirm BS as bridal concept (got them since last Sep07) heheh... me also KS de le. But venue still in mid of sourcing & compairing but aiming at OCC now. hope aft tis wkend can confirm already. most of the BTB2009 venue already confirm in another thread frez. hehehe.. ;P

good morning hoshi~ u're so early...

thanks for the info. cos i just contacted a freelance photographer and he quoted $900. my cousin who just got married tell me her PG and VG cost $1,600 so i'm wondering the rate...

as for the honeymoon thing, thanks u all for highlighting~ =)

Hi Suzanna, i had the carlton package but i deleted it liao....sorry else I can send to you.

My AD also 12/12 =)
Tt time i was considering they said that date still available (hopefully it still is for you =P)

I agree with ur FH...go shop around first if u can =) coz u must like the gown designs n stuff lor...=) BS can still shop around, hotel more urgent =P hee hee hee

Piggy, u still haven't confirm yet? *grin

Hi Piggylover,

Thanks for the email.

Can I check with u, apart from me and hubby's birthday and time, does the shifu need the parents' details?

So i just need to pass our details to him over the phone and he will ring us up to go his place for collection right? And at his place, need to pray or go through any praying ceremony etc anot?

By the way, we does not have any specific period (eg. early, mid or late 2009, or early 2010) in mind. Will he automatically get the auspicious dates for all the 3years (ie. 2008, 2009, 2010) for us. Or do I need to tell him specifically?

Sorry for asking u so many questions. I never been to any geomancer before.

Really appreciate your help.

Michelle Lee Huimin is from Bridal Veil right? quite nice also..my colleague had that for his BS..

i'm practically dreaming of amanda lee's gown everyday hee.. cos every week i will definitely pass by when i go for my dance class (the dance studio is just few shops away in cantonment.) that's how i discovered and fell in love with amanda lee's gowns way before i joined this forum.. that time i was thinking i want this BS for my future wedding. and i didn't know it's actually a designer boutique BS during that time..haa.. :p

anyway do u think it's weird if i go to the BS alone? cos my bf said and i also read in an article before that first visit to BS do not bring bf..instead get some gal friends along.. but b'cos amanda lee's studio doesn't open on sun..so quite hard to get someone down..

hi II, such a coincidence!! Im oso a 25th Oct bride. hmm tell u must go source early. Nowadays hotels very fast being booked. Since u already have a date i think u should start to book hotel le.....

for me i have already booked my hotel, BS, VG, AD le...i lagi kiasu loh but better than no venues....

Hihi...

Just a quick check... the 2008 tongshu is up till end of 2008 (chinese calendar) year correct? Means till eve of CNY 2009 (25th Jan 09 in english calendar)?

Reason for asking was coz i'm looking @ Jan/Feb 09 AD. But Feb is considered the CNY 2009, gotta wait till Jul/Aug 08 for Feb 09 dates... thus dunno shd I get wait or get Jan dates...

How how...?

Hi blinco, I am not going for honeymoon immediately after AD, will go around mid May cos' the places I want to go is better to visit during near summer time.

oic...kewl...didn't know u get to know of Amanda Lee so early....
it's good to have sth in mind..but dun outcast other places...maybe got even better ones...

no lah...it's not weird to go BS alone...but i tik it's better if u go with 1 or 2 gf like u said...how abt sat? or when any of ur gfs on leave....if they close to u, they won't mind going with u lah

it's true lah..cannot focus only on one BS.. hee..

think sat is the only available time.. provided my gf is free.. cos we are not those close type.. but anyway lucky still got plenty of time..haa..

hi Queen, are you able to secure the hotels based on 2008 rates since i had emailed to some, and they claim they dont have 2009 rates yet. Can you share with me your packages for your BS, which BS u taking?

andrea, heheh.. ya lor. still not confirm venue yet le. cos too much choices & thing to consider. so gg to another 2 more place to see 1st.

hi shir, no worry le. asking cos u wanna knw more before doing it.

u can jus giv him both of ur english b'day. den he can calculate for u n u nd to giv him both ur parent n PIL 生肖 n he will reply u when to meet up with him.

dont worry abt the date. he will giv u 3yrs gd date which suit both ur bazhi de. can use it as ROM, GDL, Anchuan, AD or moving new hse date. den u can chose among the date available.

no wor.....i have to wait til 2009 rates then can book. all hotels are like dat.

my bs is with julia wedding news....simply love their gowns very very nice....the 1st stop i went to n i sign le hahha

Hi, i'm planning my wedding in feb 09 but do i choose the date & how do i know if it's suitable for me & my HTB's "8 charather?" i hear to ask from temple but any recommdation?

Grace! Good to see you here too.

fat_fat_79 - I'm a HIPV BTB too. AD is on 2 May 09. Who's ur coordinator? Mine's Vasanthi.

I've gone for my marriage prep course already. Went for a 1-day workshop organised by Hearty Care Centre. The counsellor is Angeline Chan and she's a really nice lady. Great facilitator. It's a good course, really helps to set the couple's role expections out in the open. Highly recommended!

*waves to itzbitz*

eh, got marriage prep course that's 1 day only meh? mine is 5 days...maybe mine is only few hrs...

sillygal, congrats and welcome...although i never consulted any shifu, i tik u can get some contacts or recommendations from others in the other threads...

sillygaL,

Depends on yourself. There are quite a few charlatans around. Best you ask around and if possible speak to the geomancer/shifu first to get a rough idea what the charges are and what would the "package" entails.

andrea, did u check your date (12/12) with the shifu? is it a good date? u checked with carlton already? what's the price like?

seeing so many people with confirmed venues, BS and know so much stuff.. i feel so stressed.. :x

tough to prepare for any wedding w/o much help from my bf...

aniwae, if you girls wanna know more abt the Jazreel package, its abt 4k+ with a throw in 2D1N stay at Banyan tree resort villa @ Bintan. can use as honeymoon / outdoor venue shoot. (without that its 3.4k) quite a comprehensive package, in my opinion... if u girls want more info, there's a booth at bugis till sunday. i believe they will throw in more freebies..

but i think i will wait till another big scale exhibition before i actually decide...

piggy u ah....haha =) where else u considering? but still got venue for u to choose that's good lah =)

suzanna, i didn't =) Coz my hubby and I aren't really bothered =)

I unfortunately can't remember the exact price but I think it was about 828 per table. Don't quote me on this but I think around there =)

To be honest, the only reason why (personally) I "know" more is coz I was supposed to get married end of last yr but had to postphone till dec 09 because of my hubby so BS and all that I already chose..it was just the hotel that was a pain =P

The Jazreel package sounds pretty good..can use it to compare agst other studios =)

thanks andrea. have forced bf to do the hotel stuff.

i read thru the forum, found that Jazreel has really bad service now. despite the tempting price, i doubt i will take it up.

andrea, hehe..oya lor. still comparing le. hopping can settle wit all this last wk to view the venue.

suzanna, to me most impt is service. if they got really bad comment, better avoid. cos all of us wanna be a happy & pretty bride on our wedding. ;)

hahaha suzanna, my hubby smarter...he let me do everything and then later when i need his opinion then he open his mouth =P hahaha....but heng u did ur research first =) I agree with piggy, service VERY impt...esp being able to connect with the designer..else u dun feel free n open to share your opinions about what u want, very hard to work then u also dun feel comfy

Actually what's your budget and style like? Maybe we can offer suggestions =)

piggy, u super cute lor....but dun take too long lor =P

Hi itzbitz

Mine is also Vasanthi. My AD is just a few months before you. hehehehe

Your HTB are so good. Willing to go for the marriage prep course with you. My HTB will never agree to go for the marriage prep course.

Think is a good idea to attend a marriage preparation course. Should there be any issues that need to be resolved, better iron it out before proceeding further.

hehe...dearie, not really issues to be resolved also lah...i guess it's the fact that it's true that many ppl get married but then, also many ppl get divorced as well...yes, every case has a different reason...

however, i do tik that many a time, couples want to solve their probs but although they really want to do it, they dun know how...i guess this course would further equip u with knowledge of how not to turn ur marriage to sth bitter and also, to learn to accept each other for their faults...

cos afterall, we also not perfect rite? so how can we expect our spouses to be perfect?

fat fat 79, hehe...totally understand how u feel...guys will tik that this course is a waste of time and $$...but then ah, they would spend lots of time on watching soccer, lots of $$ on PSP...but not a meagre S$200+ on this...very funny rite?

hehe...anyway, just a little hint, one of my frds actually went ahead to book it and in order not to waste the $$, the hb had no choice but to go...WAHAHAA....dun say i 'hint' hor...:P

Heh... in my case, it's actually my HTB who suggested going for the marriage prep course.
Well it's a pretty good experience cos it does help clarify some matters, e.g. financial management, dealing with in laws, communcation styles, which we sometimes take for granted or prefer not to discuss or even assume that our partner knows and concurs with our own thinking.

"waves back at Grace
" Yup, there's the one full day intensive single couple session. Since we were both busy at work, we decided to go for this one instead of spreading it over a few weeks.

fat_fat_79 - Ya, Vasanthi is really nice. Quite thankful she's our coordinator. Are you taking the Crystal ballroom too? Hey, just wondering, are you born in 1979? Heh, cos I am!

do agree with u itzbitz...a wide spectrum of things that we didn't even realise that it's impt to know rite?? gd for u....esp communication which is the most fundamental...can't wait to do mine liao...:P

hmm, for BS roughly 4k (without top up of photos)
best if can MTM (coz i very insecure with my figure)

any place to recommend with a wide range of gowns?

I PM u some venues =)

oh wanted to tell u also that Carlton is actually having a wedding show on jan 20th...so maybe u can ask them if there are any extra perks thrown in during the show and whether it's worth signing with them or not =)

hi skywolf... my pov is that jan and feb 09 for AD not much diff. if u can get a good date based on 2008 tong shu now... why not? at least u can already start planning. Rather than u wait till Jul/Aug 08 then plan for your Feb 09 wedding, u'll be left with around 6 mths to prepare which might be quite rush. And also alot of venues will be taken up.

Quite a few of us here are Jan 09 brides... AND we are very KS... :x so it's always better if u can plan earlier... and also can be more relax rather than last min... ;)

just my 2 cents worth ;)

hi sunqian... tink i also wont go straight after my AD... the place i wan to visit is winter in jan...
will get my FH to book the package first... hahahah~ so tat my honeymoon won't 'runaway' =p

hi Queen, Julia....i heard about it before that they have nice gowns. I am also going to visit MM wedding show this sat, they are showcasing Di Gio. Planning on Dang bridal too, but i guess that would burst a big pocket in our wallet.

Haha...how much is ur pacakge at Julia as well as Novotel? Do you need to do alot of nego?

Hi blinko

My PG+VG is $1200.00

Its a promotion rate, usual price is $1600

If i rem correctly, if u book before this year Feb, u still get to enjoy this rate.

Hihi...

Blinko...U sign up MBR ah...my fren recommending me to go there too...maybe after CNY den i go and see see look look...My FH wanna try GHA leh...he heard from ppl the package is cheap...dunnoe true a not...

Shice...high 5 man...we r having the same AD date...maybe i'll see ur car passing by...hahahahaha...anyay...which PG and VG u sign up with?? Me still thinking here..thinking there...

And for the honeymoon thingy...i'm not staying in hotel...hence my bill is settle on tat very AD night itself...my mum say she will help me return my gown...hence...i can fly off the very next day of our AD...probably will get an afternoon flight...hahahaha...

I'm a Nov 2009 bride too. Our AD & ROM will be together on same day, tentatively on 30th Nov 2009 (10th year anniversary). But cos hubby side abit 'patang'. Still need to check if it's auspicious date or not. ^_^

hui... ur PG + VG book from where? can give me the contact/website... i go take a look... Thanks....

hi happyangel... initially i more or less set on GHA cos like u say alot of ppl say package cheap. but then when i went down to GHA at yishun, i find the photography style so so only. They have wide range of gowns, but my FMIL say the material and handwork (dunno wat words to use) not that good. She's a seamstress so i trust her to know these bah. The day before when i was at MBR she's also there and commented that the material use for the gowns is really good and their "shou gong" very xi. My advise is to go down to both BS to see it and feel it for urself. I choose MBR becos of Sam's photography style and the overall service they provide. All the sales person at MBR is friendly and approable... give it a try~ ;)

Hmmm...my fren also told me their photography is gd..coz her hubby hobby is photography...hence when they look at the packages...he will first look at their photos...my fren also told me that they have a wide range of gown...so ask me go take a look...

GHA is near my hubby house...tats y he say he wanna go there...but if i'm not wrong...their package also not very cheap...and gown selection also not tat much...

Hmmm...think i'll start to go ard and source for BS le...else i have to wear home clothes for my wedding already...hahahahaha

my packahe at julia was 4888....nego wise yah did TRY to ask for more photos loh...but julia quite strict so very much depends on ur nego skills....too bad i love their gowns....

as for NCQ, worse they dun budge at all for nego....so i just took watever it is in the package but lucky the package still ok....the menu starts from 798 nett.

anyway di gio gowns are very nice as well...u can try to nego for more photos, if OTR gown try to ask for MTM instead....then fathers jacket etc....must skin thick thick ask de....good luck.

ya. i juz got their email from them and they invited me to look look see see. but the BS they collaborating with. dun really like leh.. hee.. but i'll be going over to take a look. anyone wants the carlton wedding package. leave your email address..

andrea: my email add is [email protected]
thanks so much.

Back from MM wedding show! Yes, i think they are offering quite good deal for their wedding show, i am looking at their lunch package, my hubby say they only have 2008 rates. But when i come back, pple in MM forum said 2009 rates are out! Pengz!!

Saw my poly mate there who win the 1st prize of the di gio gown. But when checked with her the design, she claim its not her style, in fact quite out of fashion WG. Made me abit doubtful of whats the point of the lucky draw when you give the couple OTR gown for keeping.