(2009) Brides of year 2009

Hi Chael!

I know you 2! Hehe...so we have chose the same date apprantly hahaa... so qiao ah! Its a super gd date ma??? Eh... how u know? Keke.. but 10th is gd too I know. So you are also taking Mercury Ballroom ma?

Ya Fri is abit troublesome...but no choice that date is gd leh. So I took it. Coz wan have AD in 08 one but cant find a gd date 4 me & HB so no choice delay till 09 Jan... a gd date is more impt ma.

So you are having your church wedding as usual since you change to Sat rite?

why people like cupcakes for wedding cake? hmm.. coz the stage in front, not many pple can appreciate the wedding cupcakes rite? haha...

oh.. btw, i'm shice.. dunno why my account got suspended last month and the moderator MIA.. no reply to email one..

Hi Shining Hoshi,

Nopes not having church already coz need to ROM first in Jan 08 for my hse...
Yah but 16 is super gd date apparently..the person who help me see keep saying gd gd then ask me to take ahha n dun really want to tell me other dates gd or not when i asked..maybe i keep asking for so many options :p
I took the Venus...

Truetrue..gd date more impt..thats why I gave up on waitin for 2008 Tong Shu..since no guarantee I wait then will have the date I want..since 10 also ok...
Was ur intended 08 date was late 08..I will be quite sian if I had to postpone my wedding..now liek 2009 seems so far away..ahah thought of where to honeymoon alrdy?

Oh my Shining Hoshi! Just went back to the thread and realise that you are with the BS that I am thinking of going to, coz it is near my HTB's hse...n always pass back n hear gd reviews..are they gd?
Do you mind to share your package details with me?
My HTB does not want me to go look for package yet..so dunno if I should wait to BOWS in Jan...if u don't mind sharing ur package..maybe can email me?

If not, maybe can just share ur experience so far with me..thanks!!!

Grace, Furama Riverfront available for bookings already? thats good....BS and Venue settled means 2 big things off the mind...

hi Karine, ohh.. so we r in the same stage, waiting to consult the shifu aft next yr CNY for our AD of 2009. u also planning in Dec?

ur colleague is righ le. go and get more of the BS pkg during their show case. u can get better & lot of freedie too. but must stay firm tat u will consider 1st, dont sign up immediatly there. lastly if u had decide n sign up the pkg, rem to write everything as agreed in black & white in the invoice to avoid their sudden changes & hidden cost. must ask clearly & state down everything.

i had signed up my pkg with bridal concept, u can drop by to look at their pkg n gown. they are not pushy type but u also must stay firm too. i was recommend by my frez who had her weddig on July07. love her gown n photo in her ablum, got special offer & freedie from them too.

Karine, for the choosing of BS u can get more information on wat to take note of the pkg at this thread http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/448657.html?1195308826

as for the dinner venue u can refer to SB url @

Banquet pkg (for yr 2007):-http://www.singaporebrides.com/banquet_price.php?day=Both&capacity=Any&budget=Any&sort=Price
can email them to req for their pkg of 2009 as to compare the diff b4 & after road shw.

Thing to take note for wat shd b include in their pkg:-
http://www.singaporebrides.com/banquet.htm

Piggylover, thanks!!!

Most likely I will have my AD on Dec 2009 but Dec is my Bday month, some ppl say Not gd to have ur AD on u or ur Hubby bday month. So maybe will push to Nov... Still dunnoe yet, everything got to wait till after 2008CNY.

The BS portion really headach... S$3K pkg can bargin so much?

I actually interested with Yvonne creations... :P

hi fatfat79, long time no see! hehe.

Now, i am relaxing... since most of the hotels r not opened for 09 bookings yet. Will wait till end of Dec or early Jan to pester shortlisted hotels.

Hi fatfat79

I booked le meridian hotel..bt date i scare mani ppl cant turn up..hehe..i address u as fatfat so weird..cuz my bf also address me as fatfat..like calling myself like tt..hehe..

Hi miu mui

u aimin which mth?

Hi Miu Miu

I thought that most hotels are open for booking till the first quarter of 2009? I now have booked my Hotel and BS liao.

Now looking around for AD PG and VG. Wow! I was shocked by the quotation that I have recd from the PG and VG.
Average PG quote me 1K to 2K and average VG are 1K to 1.5K. My budget is 2K for both PG and VG.
Those who quote me below 1K are those freelance or with experience lower than 3yrs.

I think that AD PG and VG are the most important ppl for my wedding cause what they take will be my memory forever.
I believe that pre wedding can always take again if you don't really like the BS PG, but I can never retake my AD.
My HTB thinks that it is just photographs no need to spend so much, but my sister warn me to get a good 1.
During my sister ROM, she wanted to save a little by going to a freelance. As the result, the photo are badly taken. So she say no matter how we save, we must get a good PG. Errrrr I really don't know what to do.

Hi Joyce

Haha Your bf also calls you fatfat? My HTB also calls me that. hahahahaha

Don't worry about the attendance la. It is a very romantic thingy to have a wedding on V day.
The ppl you invited will never forgets your anniversary especially you HTB. hahahahaha
I also worry about the attendance cause I have a very 'big' family. So worry not enough tables.
hahahahahaha

Karine,np le. we shd hav to wait till aft next yr CNY to get a firm AD. which shifu r u asking for the date?

for the BS portion is headache but no hurry to decide nw. most impt is book ur dinner venue as soon as got the AD. aft tat will b ur AD PG, VG & BS...

Hi Ladies...

I'm also 2009 mar btb...haven't settle on my AD.. most prob will b 7th Mar.. but must wait for tong shu for 2009 to re-confirm the date again..

wow.. ladies u r fast... so fast settle on the booking for hotels.. now me still sourcing for solemnization venue which will b next yr mar..

No idea leh, those temple one can?
u leh?
Some ppl say this AD date is the male side settle, we female dun do anything.
very xian...

PG and VG I already found

http://www.weddingfilmlet.blogspot.com/

Karine, hmm... did ur hubby talk to ur MIL abt ur wedding plan? normally MIL who is the one who will b doing but i prefer to do it our own as the date we can choice ourself (like wkend date), cos some older ppl jus wan a very gd date which suit both of u (mayb will nt care if it is wkday lor).

we will be gg to meet Long shifu as only get to knw tat he can calulate for yrs later without waiting n seeing thong sui in 2008.

so will call him b4 CNY n try meet up with him aft tat to chose our AD ba. let me knw if u req, i can email to u for ur reference. ;)

Okay, I'm totally new to this thing, so if I've posted already, I'm sorry.

How soon should we start planning for wedding? Have you guys already started looking for BS and all?

i no idea did he talk ti his Mother or not. But wat I heard from his mother is, we can settle on our own, becoz his brother also do the same thing...
I wanna do our own too,.. but I scare this is the wrong way...
Long shi fu = Yu Long zhi?
need to get the Shen chen ba zhi of Both side daddy and mummy + Us rite?
other ppl like sibling no need rite?
Can the Long shifu give u the "Guo da li" date too?

hmm...sapphyr, nowadays ppl start planning very early for their weddings...so there's no specific period...i guess u have to decide whether u want to solemnize then or earlier, say next yr??

hmm....as long as urs is not a "good date" as accordingly to the lunar calendar or sth...and that urs is not on weekend, it would not be hard....but my suggestion is, when u can, try to book ur banquet venue soon...so that u won't have to tik abt ppl taking the date u want...

if u noticed, some of the BTB for 2009 alrd booked their BS...i've also booked mine....just going to book my banquet venue soon....i tik u better start doing research and making decisions on certain things like holding in hotels or restaurants, etc etc....better to be early than late...at least, if u haven't done sth, u still have time to do...if not, if ur work becomes busy, then with wedding preparation and everything...can go crazy...

Hi Chael!

I've email you.... hehe.. Haha. you went back to the prev thread ah... hehe... okok I just share abit on my pkg with u... It's bst if you go down talk to them n nego with them. I am sure they can give u, they sure will give u one. They are v open. Look for their Boss (Roland). But I liase with Jenny ah... so you see hw ah.. I go there as its near my HB place 2 hehe...

Actually I wanted mid-end of 08 one... but no gd dates for me so pushed all the way to 09... But beginning so heng lo. Venus is due for reno so hopefully by your turn it will be nice and grand! Haha....

10th Jan also gd date. Actually for Jan 09 quite a few gd dates like 03 Jan is popular too. I was given that date as well! Haha.. mayb near CNY so like alot Xi Shi is gd ma! Haha....

So I am thinking of hanging those CNY stuffs in my hse during my AD liao ma.. since its just a week from CNY... like so 热闹ï¼ï¼ï¼so excited man thinking of it! Keke..... then aft Dec somemore can take AWS and deco the hse for AD! Thinking liao man ... haha I bet you are excited 2 man since urs is earlier than mine. Haha But its gd! We are recruiting more ppl... last time this thread v quiet one... haha...

Me & HB know where we wanna go already! We gg Europe!!!!!!! Haha he is agreeable so we decide go there since both of us have not travelled so far b4... it would b nice man! You leh? Where you going? Have you plan anything yet?

Hi Shice,

I think cupcakes is really getting popular nowadays as its nice and presentable... Couples use it to distribute out to guests @ the end of the dinner... Shice, you have not try b4 ma? It can be v nice... go explore ma

Hi grace...

Thanks for your help. Currently, still in negotiations about the theme and style for the wedding/solemnisation with the bf, so can't really start booking the hotel yet.

How much should I prepare to spend on my wedding?

Karine, no no. the Long shifu is not Yu Long zhi le. 2 of my frez went to him so i will let him do for us lor.

for him only require u & ur hubby ba zhi with time. den he can help ur calulate already.

yap, he will also provide the GDL date & timing too. through phone u give him ur ba zhi & prefer mth of wedding 1st den he will tell u when to go meet him. so when meet up with him, he will prepare calulate afew date with time for ur to chose de.

hmm...sapphyr...that would depend on a lot of things...firstly, determine how many tables u need for the whole AD...that would be able to let u decide partially...then decide how much per table u willing to pay...not forgetting the wine, beer and corkage that u would possibly need to pay...

next, determine if u r doing ur wedding and solemnization together cos if yes, then the costs is lesser...if not, it's another cost again...

also, it would definitely depend on how grand u want ur wedding to be...dun forget that wedding got lots of stuff to get etc etc....u want wedding budget spreadsheet?? at least, it would be easier for u to do draft budget and list out all the things u need so u can determine how much roughly u need...

if so, just let me have ur email address..

Karine, ya this is his no le. i dont knw he has another no le.

hmm... i cant give comment nw. cos i havent meet up with him yet. my 2 frez went to him for their AD, both say he is gd. it depend de lar, if ur parent or in-law are those very "paideng" type who totally believe only when tongshu out den u cant ask long shifu already, cos he will nt calulate base on thongsui le. like for us BTB in 2009, if wanna wait for the thongsui gotta wait till aft 7th mth in 2008 (from 01 Aug to 14 Aug)... to me it is too long ahead liao. worry too late book for the wedding venue le.

Hi Shining Hoshi,

So nice to talk to u yest...hahah anyway Venus is due for reno really? Never hear anyone mention leh..we like the look now..hope it doesnt become ugly? ahhaha

Hi Sunny

Welcome! Wow if you confirm 7th March 09, then you, me and miu miu will have the same AD liao. hahahaha

Like my HTB said, Im a very KS person mah. Anyway I think book early better. Nowaday the prices for Hotel, BS and PG are increasing every yrs. If Im not KS, I will have to spend a few thousand more liao.

I dont understand 1 thing. Y must wait so long for Tong Shu? I thought Tong shu is for a few yrs 1? Sorry for being blur, cause both my mum and my FMIL did not wait for any tong shu.

I might be also Mar-Jun 2009 BTB.

Just curious to know, most need to set date for wedding as we need to book ballroom or restaurant well in advance especially if is a hot date or wkend. However, tong shu will only be out next yr for 2009, if the date we book with hotel before jun 2008 (we have to be so early right?) happens to be not a gd date..then how ah?

fatfat79, the Tong Shu is a yearly edition instead of a combination of few years. That's most BTB often mentioned they need to wait for the release of the Tong Shu for certain year, unless they seek help from a Geomancer.

ya.. think is something like wat miumiu say.. anyway is my mum n FMIL tt wan us to choose a date for the AD..

so fatfat.. have you short-list any BS n banquet?

Oic So blur of me!

I have already booked Holiday Inn Park View as my Hotel and My Bridal Room as my BS liao. hahahaha very KS of me, I know. But lately I found out that by booked early, I got more perks and save a little on everything. hahahahaha

omg sapphyr! The FH and I were thinking of holding our AD on 090909 too! but I guess we'll be doing the solemnization thingy in 2008. i'm currently looking ard for hotels for the AD but I guess it's def. much easier booking a venue for it since it's gonna be a weekday.

yah I guess but I kinda need to double confirm the date before booking the AD and BS. will u be doing the solemnization on e same day? where did u get the bridal package from?

Hi Chael,

Nice talking to you 2! Hehe... nice knowing you also! Ya Venus is due for minor reno ma... like changing the carpet la... re-painting la... etc.. they are not going tear down and re-build ah dont worry hahaha... so I think the lighting everything would still be there. =)

yup..will be doing my solemnization, tea ceremony and wedding dinner on the same day...just make it siong for 1 day only...

i got my BS from penang...cos my bf from penang and we always go there so ok lah...

if u getting from s'pore, pls check thru the whole package...also remember to ask how much they charging for each xtra pic....also, ask if the pics r digital or full pic type...must be careful cos a lot of BS charge exorbitant prices

Heh.. that's actually cos it's a very significant day for us. We got together on 090905. hahaa. But my plans are all pending and waiting! :D

hey cool! it's so sweet. If I had my choice I wld want to wed on the day we got together but I guess it's going to be kinda difficult! are you going to get someone to see if it's a gd day to get hitched?

popprincesstrin, u meant my BS package? yup, they r for studio and outdoor...

u looking for urs still? shortlisted any alrd? have u gone down to ask ard and perhaps check out the gowns?

I don't really care about that... not traditional AT ALL. but... think he might want to. although he suggested the date. :D

haha. dunno lah. it shouldn't be a disastrous day or anything like that right?

when's the day you guys got together? it can't be harder than 090909. Imagine the number of people queueing up to get solemnised on that day. Sure will be a problem man.

I don't really care about that... not traditional AT ALL. but... think he might want to. although he suggested the date. :D

haha. dunno lah. it shouldn't be a disastrous day or anything like that right?

when's the day you guys got together? it can't be harder than 090909. Imagine the number of people queueing up to get solemnised on that day. Sure will be a problem man.

we got together in 090402. i tot it'll be rather to get married on 9th April cos it's right smack in the middle of term time! Think 090909 will have a super long queue but I m thinking of doing the solemnisation in 2008 and will most likely engage my own JP. Hopefully everything goes ok!

I'm still looking for mine. I'm thinking of either Amanda lee weddings or Ted Wu. They seem to have rather interesting designs but I havent been able to go down as yet. THe FH doesnt seem to be very enthusiastic abt visiting BS and I tot it's rather silly to go down on my own

good for u leh popprincesstrin...it would be very meaningful for u guys...

haiz...i also tot of doing solemnization in 2008 also...but then we both feel it's too much of hassle and at least if we do it in 2009, it would be done in a go...easier lah...do it on the AD instead...but we worry not enough time...

dun be silly sapphyr...no date is disastrous...i mean, if u believe or prefer, then go see some shifu...if not, take memorable date shd be good enough rite?