(2009) Brides of year 2009

Boygirl,
that are good tips! thanks!
we were thinking of driving the great ocean road though but take day tour for blue mountain
SS,we think 14 days enough for the 2 cities la.

Doll: I wanna get cup cakes too, at reception! Thinking of 100 cupcakes although I have about 320 guests cos I expect not all will eat.

Queen: My wedding also on Christmas Day!

mashi> I've PM you the Hokkaido trip thingy

morning gals...

haizz..collected mi invites and i almost fainted...my bf's dad's name gt typo error..need to reprint n pay double e amt...sianzz...

wld u guys reprint if it was u??

Yvonne> our hotels already provided their samples...so wat we do is to go down, confirm the design, and then design the inserts...

we need to send out cards early coz hubby has a number of overseas guests...

xka,

My htb went to collect our cards last week as well. They used the wrong approved artwork to print. Saturday was spelt wrongly, so they agree to print again FOC for us. We brought the wrongly printed one home, show it to his parents and his mum was making a big fuss over it. Say the chinese positioning is wrong... What angered both of us is that we showed her the soft copy before and she say ok. So we email the printing shop to ask them to stop printing. They din charge us extra for the printing again although it was partly our fault.

If I were you, definitely will change it, especially when u are not in good terms with your FMIL. She'll use this as a weapon in the future. Spend a bit more money now, have an easier life in the future.

Why not talk to your friend and see if you can share the costs? Were the spellings correct in the draft??

nok,

issue nw is they blame me for it, bt they dun wan me to reprint...so i oso duno wat to do...
haizz...

furthermore, it wasnt reali mi frends fault..coz he did show us e soft copy which we approved before printing ma..haizz..

wat i cant figure out is hw come mi ar work was correct in version 5, but was wrong in version 6...i just cant figure that out...

Xka.. nvm dun stress urself over wad has already happ.. like wad Noknok said, better redo in order to appease empress dowager.. juz get it over n done wif.. den it's 1 worry less!

oh ya, n toking abt 1 less worry, i went to Chinatown ytr n combed everywhe, n i cant find a single goddamn starfish...sobsob..

n wats worse is e fact tat i went to kushinbo wif mi colleagues last fri and there were MOUNTAINS of scallop shells for mi...n i didnt take them coz i was sure tat i cld get mi starfishes..sobsob

I'm going for my photoshoot now! Haha...Excited and nervous...Nearly couldnt slp yester nite...Haha.. Hope everything will go well..

Hi. I already help my MIL to order her buffet on our AD for lunch. Order from Neo Garden too

Poseidon gal> I order my GDL cake fm Swee Heng and they say 2 weeks before can liao. Their cake is cheap and nice.

Buffet> I personally think Orange Grove, Deli Hub & Neo Garden come from the same kitchen. I looked at Orange Grove & Neo Garden food like the same and price Neo Garden is cheaper. But I get lots of comment that the food qty in Neo Garden is not alot one. When you order for 30pax it really come in 30pax no really extra. So if can order a little more for the wedding else.. no food paisey le.

xka, dun worry so much.. hey.. if you say v5 is correct, v6 is not, that maybe part of your friend's fault. But then, since tat's ur friend, might hurt relationships.

Go back to kushinbo to get the shells??

One thing I can't figure out, won't shells or starfish make ur card heavy? postage costs will go up too.

NOK,

haizz...worse come to worse go back there to get e shells lor...

most of mi cards will be sent by hand...nt inviting tat mani peepz firstly, and secondly, all are mi close friends that i see quite often..so nt hard to pass to them lor..kekeke...

n btw, u all koe usuali chinatown sill sell those gold ingots, and etc during cny rite...bt now nt cny..anione koe whe got sell ma? n nt too expensive coz i need a number to fill mi treasure chest...

jascmy..

i also want my HM @ Europe..but really wonder got any left over money afte the whole weddin anot..

you done any research yet?? goin HM together sounds good..got partner can help each other take pics too..hee

btw.. do anyone of you heard of this tradition:

if the bride name got a chinese character same as the MIL, does it mean the ger got to change her name to put on the invit card?? i asked my FSm and he say no such thing..but anyone of you heard tis b4?? i getting very pisses with MIL ..ytd my hus had big quarel over the things she demand for GDL and the chg of my name.. both of us only wan a simplied GDL and no buying of those "rubbish " items tat is uselss or ugly in our new house eg "tan pui",toothbrush cups??slippers??

kv, i nvr hear it before... abt gdl stuff... ur mil demand to hv it tnk must hv a meaning on it... jsut go buy small small 1, as a display... i saw it before... at chinatown... very cute... just buy tat... unless she wan the real 1 big big 1 for using... like tan pui is for baby use is downy ...

hmm acutally i find tat gdl got alot of thing to buy nt easy at all...

evelyn: inserts are those extra piece of paper u see attached inside wedding cards. usually slightly translucent.

dzxz: what kind of ecard u using? able to share which website? or u designed it yrself?

doll: I getting cupcakes for pre-banquet cocktail as well..ordering most prob about 80-100 pieces..as I think only those who come early will eat..moreover my AD is christmas day..

babyfaery: have fun!

XKA, spend the money to print...dun let them have another reason to make noise in future...

point out to your friend that v5 is correct and v6 is not lor...

lucky both sides parents not that fussy abt this...n now i have alot of cards left over...

XKA just go to kushinbo...ask them for the shells...they are going to throw the shells anyway...dun think u need to eat there to get the shells ba...

aroh,

haizz...i koe..nw reprinting le...wait 2nite collect frm him...

im going to chinatown now to see if can find e starfish..if reali cant find, then i will go take shells frm kushinbo lor...

i will eat there ba...dun tink any staff would wan to pick out e shells frm the remaining food on the dishes ba...at least, i wun do it lor...

btw, who was e one who left a huge bag of btls at mi frends pub?

pekochan81,
received. thanks. keke..

Kv Tan-Teo,
never heard of name change. but those items for GDL hor. got the meaning. tink tat one ur MIL insist is for the believe of gd lor. i shld b buying those. small small de can liao. so can keep aside then...

Kv Tan-Teo,

I just started my research on Europe. Thinking of going for group tour cos really not enough time to plan for free n easy. Have you done any research? We can share. If we going together, we can also share out the planning work. It will be earlier for us too. We can talk more when we meet up.

Best is to go group tour and whole group is our ppl on honeymoon. Anyone else interested?

haiz..gettin so bad mood over those things.. actually me n hub don really wan a customary dinner one..cos we already got our dream rom.. sickening.. my FSM say i not her real dau..no right to change my name like tat.. i also feel so lor.. later all my classmates relatives who know my real chinese name one will keep askin why why why lor.. the English side of the card write my eng dialect name then chinese side the character don match with my dialect name??if i tell my mom abt this she sure will boil de.. now tryin to get my hub to talk to his mom to drop this stupid idea..

jascmy..i didnt start research yet.. i do have some notes from frens and some europe travel magazine can use (got them from travel fair).. so you alrady saved up the money for the HM??

kv, i m sure if ur mum know abt it, they ll sure quarrel ... trust me... no matter wat... we marry out still their daughter tats wat my dad always tell me... cos i always feel left out at hm...

better get ur hb to talk to ur mil first...get it settle asap... if nt wen ur mum find out it ll get worse... u ll be very stressful abt it...

hey gals, i heard a europe trip for HM eh? count me in! but dunno whether i could fit into the schedule or not..cos me can't go immediately after customary as my staff is on maternity leave..prob can only consider this after dec this year..haiz..

Kv Tan-Teo and supergal,

I'm planning for Europe HM in end Oct 09. Cos its still Autumn, not as cold as winter.

Will be starting to go tour agent soon. Will let u gals know once I got more info.

Kv Tan-Teo
I understand how u feel. Cos I'm having similar problems with IL too. Try ask your hubby tok to his mother. Only he knows his mother well not us.That is wat my marriage consultant told me.

KV,

Totally understand how u feel. My MIL also say funny things.
21st Oct is a special day for my HTB and I. So when the geomancer gave us a few dates for GDL+an chuan+GDL, we chose 21st Oct.
And my MIL starts saying huh not good leh chinese date is 4th sep. Got 4 not good. Till now she still ask if we r gg to change our AD!
But now I ask my HTB to handle her cos if I say nasty things she will remmeber for life. But if my HTB, she will 4give one cos her son mah.
So cool down and let ur HTB handles it.
But try not to let ur parents know, or else once got bad impression veri hard to amend. Then if both party try to make things difficult, u and ur htb may b 'sandwich'.

Saggiegirl> Oh... Ours are all local guests, so can send the invites in Nov

Anyone has lobang for the cupcakes? Haven't decided whether to get some pastries for the recep... Worried that relatives might feel hungry as I will be having my ROM an hour before the banquet..

gals, i tnk regarding watever mil talk ask hb to go settle... we dun involve... it ll get worse ... just like me.... i dun like my mil to tell me wat i shd do wat i shdnt do... cos i noe wat to do... den nvm also involve my hb auntie den my mil everything listen to her sister... whh make me very angry.... i told my hb off ...

so kv i totally cn understand hw u feel.... i also hv face this pro... hai... now i only listen to my parent lor... i dun bother so much... more pro ll cm lor... i ask my hb go ask his mum wen ll the an chuang date... until nw still nvr let me noe.. hai...

hahaa irene, i tot i was the only one hvg this prob.
few weeks ago MIL oso ask us change our wedding date
sickening! say change can change meh
1.5 yrs ago we oredi set this date. now then ask us change? there r oso a series of other matters surfacing suddenly
makes me feel so sian
now make me dun look fwd to marrying into this family at all

Conclusion, all MIL are still as bad as those long time ago MILs. Why our own mothers can understand and love our hubby but our MIL can't be understanding and love us. Can't understand leh.

Like wat my sis say, we will only know how our MIL feel when we become MIL of our son's wife.

Hmm....not all MIL are bad lah. Mine is okay, maybe coz she more chin-chye. But instead, I'm having prob with my SIL! Just find her mannerism very fake and I simply can't stand it!

but my MIL wasnt like that in the past leh
she even suggest things like dun wan go for our food tasting
i was very upset when i heard this
i even cried!
i dun think she has anything against me la but dunno y she hv such tots! there's no arguements or quarrels between us so far. so i really cant understand!
makes me feel like im not welcomed to her family or that she doesnt want to meet my family. its very hurting even thou i know that is not what she meant.
in the past, i really like her a lot n i tot i v heng to hv a good MIL. i jus hope she will be the same old her! if not i really gotta take back my earlier words abt a good MIL liao. =(

kv, paradise, jascmy, tnk nt all mil are the same ba... i duno ... i dun bother at all... everytime talk abt my mil my hb ll angry... so i also dun bother to talk anymore... jsut take it easy ba...

Yup, in future may have to. They will give a lot of excuses like they have to stay with their son, his their only son or most love son, very lonely to stay alone, want son to take care of them etc etc...... But when I say I want my mother to stay with me now cos of her illness & no one take care of her, they told my hubby not to. Like I have make a super big mistake for taking care of my own mother. Pls loh, we are also our mother's only daughter or most love daughter and its our duties too to take care of our own parents rite!

I know my hubby and I have the duties to take care of them. I don't mind to stay with them in future. But why they can't be more understanding. They want me to be a bad gal by throwing away my parents totally after marriage mah. If I really do that, won't they worried that I will do the same thing to them in future.

Sickening! I tot we are living in modern days now but in fact no loh. Wat the guy can do not all we gals can do loh. Eg. Taking care of our own parents!

paradise, not to scare you but to be mentally prepared.