(2009) Brides of year 2009

ete, for old shanghai songs, look for anything by Zhou Xuan, Ruan Lingyu or Hu Die. If you go to Food Republic at Vivo, u can hear some samples (but I dunno if it's by them lah.

i think it's nice to wear yellow gold pcs during AD if your gown is more offwhite than white. if it's stark white, then white gold will be more suitable... but like mashi, if u wearing kua then yellow gold will definitely go with it.

but isn't it more practical to get a few choice pieces which you can wear during normal days? i think rose gold is lovely, and it looks very close to yellow gold. or is it a must to buy yellow gold?

dac, if you go changi boardwalk, be sure to bring insect repellant!

jennyd,
rose gold is more ex than yellow gold lor. haha..
but there is no restrictions on wat gold to buy as long u happy lor.

so depends on ur budget n preferences..

Suzanna>> i'm a abit KS so just two... one in ivory color and the other in silver, I think it should be able to match all colours. Hesitated about getting white too cos I can't seems to find any occassion to wear it after the wedding... hehe...

pearly>> thanks for the suggestion!!

Btw, any bride carries any bag on that day?? No bag right? Usually all pass to jie mei's safekeeping hor?

mashi,
oic, i didn't know that. thought about same price.
but i'm not planning to buy the shi dian jin 'cos in the end sure is my hubby pay. i'd rather save on that. haha... i think some relatives will give gold/jewellery instead of ang pao during the tea ceremony so make up for it. haha...

hi lorraine,

i asked both sets of parents to handle the rsvps for their own guests, and yes they had to call up those who did not rsvp (this was abt 3 weeks before the wedding). Thankfully its not many, but no choice, this has to be done. At least here yr parents can help you out, save u time and effort.

even tho ppl rsvp, the list will always keep changing cos ppl will drop out, less likely to have increase in number, so u shd tell yr banquet coordinator e.g. if there's 320 ppl coming, shd tell her 31+1, instead of 32+1. (+1 being the spare table)

with my own friends, i asked most of them face to face, some stragglers i had to sms. But all replied me at least by SMS if not FTF. i wld assume those who don't bother to reply are not coming? they can't be close friends if they can't even be bothered to sms back rite?

my hubby is teochew, i'm hokkien. yah, i heard it's teochew custom also but his mum say they're christians so dun follow the customs. dunno leh.

haha.. now never say cat customs follow or nt.
if elders wan then will give lor.
haha...

hmm. come to tink of it. is rose or purple gold ex ar. tink is purple gold. tink rose gold is cheaper. lol... cannot remember. lol...

can go c n compare...

yah lor, i also think religion and custom dun mix but since she said, then i keep quiet.

mashi, yes purple gold is the expensive one. rose gold i dunno but i think it looks better. more modern but.. also less value than yellow gold. haha.

iris> hmmm.. maybe i should just wear slipper / sport shoes there.. =P

ete> it looks like HTB buying for you, instead of your MIL give u as a "token" for welcoming you to the family. just my thought. but diff people diff thinking
Anyway, will wear if required ba, like they took out the chain and ask you to wear during tea ceremony.

mashi> agreed. it is more on safekeeping.

jennyd> let your parents decide ba... if it is necessary to get 4dj. MIL say dun need, just follow. save $$ too =)

dac, actually my friend wore platform slippers - so look taller and still comfy to walk around in. i'm still trying to think of shoes to wear for OD.

hi shirley, welcome to the group! lots of time btw now and AD, dun worry.

Bubbly19
Horte park is at alexandra there. ur PG sure knw the place. hot place. haha..

I dun tink dempsey hill is a gd place. unless u got specify tings to take ba...
u went there to racee le ma?

HortPark Address: 33 Hyderabad Road, Off Alexandra Road

Not to sure if Dempsey is a good location not.

My initial plan is to go Sailing Club.. Have given up the idea

Plan to go Thian Hock Keng Temple,, I'll be wearing a Cheongsam.. can match

I was discussing with my PG yesterday with regards to the OD PS. Mentioned Marina Barrage and SG Flyer to him. His first reaction is "AGAIN"!!!...
Wahahaha,,, he said too commercialise and alot of ppl have been going there to take pics.. not interesting anymore...

iris,
haha. ur PG reaction is like tat.
mine is diff when i mention marina barrage.
he tell me tat there look nice. but when come to phototaking, there is nothing much to take. haha.. so i give him the choice to go where to take. lol..

Yalor.. guess alot of ppl keep mentioning these places whenever it comes to OD PS..

I've already plan my locations. Will discuss again tmr and "work" according to the weather

Plan A or Plan B... Hehehehe...

iris> i haven't discuss with my PG where to go for OD yet... cuz I still dunno where I want to go yet...

jennyd> Ben & Jerry sounded like... imagine eating ice-cream together ... so sweet~

dac,
demsey ben n jerry got 1 ben n jerry car outside the shop. which is very cute. so take pics shld b ok de. haha...

so if u wan to go there, muz hv a specify tings to take. if nt i dun tink there is a nice place lor, haha...

Dac - U may want to think of some places first then discuss with your PG

Airport Terminal 3
Alexandra Colonial Style Bungalows
Asian Civilization Museum
Boat Quay
Botanical Gardens
CBD Area
Changi Beach
Changi Boardwalk
Chijmes
Clarke Quay
East Coast Park
Fort Canning Park
Fullerton Area
Jurong Bird Park
Kent Ridge Park
Labrador Park
Mount Faber
National Museum
Pub venues
Pulau Ubin
Punggol Beach
Punggol Lalang Field
Restaurant venues
Sentosa “Big Tree”
Sentosa Tanjong Beach
Shophouses at Telok Ayer/ Neil Road
Singapore Zoo
Tanjong Pagar Railway
Thian Hock Keng Temple
Vivocity

iris,
wow that is quite a list! one thing to note about restaurants is some of them allow photography but must pay a fee. some clubs/pubs also same.

dac,
B&J my hubby & i frequent it so it's a special place for us - moreover it's sheltered and has aircon! lol... they have quite a few looks inside: there's a booth seat with chandelier; there's the wooden benches and i think the word "gorgeous" or something written on the wall somewhere; there's also the wooden swing outside the cafe. i thought with these i can just run around the cafe and take countless pics... and can eat ice cream! bestest! lol...

the B&J volkswagen combi is cordoned off so taking pics with it will be rather limited.

i suggest u choose a few places then take a drive around to recce them, see if u like. then shortlist from there.
good luck!

agag> ya all bags pass to jie mei. brides so beautiful then carry a bag like a little off...

saggie> my PS also soon @ 27th may. but i'll be wearing my ROM heels. dont wanna buy shoes so early afraid tat might spoilt if u dont wear it often after buying.

i ask u all 1 question... my WG will be off white with 1 layer of light purple from waist down. evening gown will be red. outdoor gown (white) so what colour should i pain my fingernails? i'm thinking of RED.( bright) ur view?

wahahhaha... think of it as practice to AD. we will need to bring them along also. guys reservist every year, for us just 2 days. easy lah.

akino> haha good question about the nail color...

for me, my fingernails color should be rose color..
and then toenails will be burgundy...or dark red...got to see the color chart on thursday when i go for my nail spa...

for my PS, i plan to wear the nicer heels at the studio, then ROM heels for outdoors

gals.
dun tink is easy. i brought my soft toys n clothes n shoes there. haha. then when goin for outdoor, pack all the tings like siao. nt easy. somemore i got my sis wif me. rush like siao when packing for outdoor.

so best is after using keep. n remember to keep ur clothes also hor. if nt later forget. haha...

wah u wanna bring 2 heels there? i lazy bride. think 1 enough. then bring slippers too. where r u going for PS? i think i'll just follow the PG. i have no idea lei... so how how my nails?

i tink no need loose powder. compact powder will do lar. lip gloss a muz.

for my case, i never touch up my make up at all when i go for my outdown. mayb becoz i never sweat alot ba. haha...

if nt is becoz i went out ard 4plus to 5. thus the make up can last all the way to nite.. keke... last touch up is b4 i leave the studio...

iris,
faintz. haha..

but then mah, weather shld b gd. but tink will b hot as 3.30pm.. hmm.. better bring umbrella along to hide urself fr sun if need. haha

akina>> ya.. a bit off... so I can save money on the bag... LOL

As for nails colour, I think red would be fine but not those bright blood colour red (not sure how to describe :p) or maybe you can try pearly purple-ish white? You know those reflective reflective... although doesn't seems to be very obvious.

I was thinking of the same the other day too... was thinking of french for mails but it's like cannot see like that.

Oh ya, or you might want to try those light colour with simple nail art?

wahahhahha... then must be both iris & ete's complexions are very good, no need powder to cover.

ete, loose powder is like johnson and johnson powder u know? loose one. compact powder is pressed into a "cake" so it's not loose.

loose powder gives a more natural look, lesser coverage. compact powder has more coverage and gives a more polished look.

both also can use lah, but if u really dun have powder, then i suggest just bring tissue paper and dab on the oily spots. key word is DAB, not rub. this way your make up should last u throughout.

ete, no prob!
but make sure u test the compact powder first - see if the colour is the same with the one your MUA put for u. if it's obviously different, better don't use else you'll end up with streaks or patches. test in the studio before u go out so MUA can see for you.

for those with compact & loose powder, loose powder is better 'cos their colour is more translucent and you can't see obvious difference between MUA's foundation and your own loose powder.

wah, ete and iris, dun need powder to cover!! how did you maintain your complexion? must share share... keke

jennyd> i think i will sweat throughout... got to bring a box of tissue... keke