(2009) Brides of year 2009

Suzanna> depending on ur mum's requirements... Typical guo da li cakes are bought by guy side family. For my mum is anything also can
coz i m the youngest already

xka,

i see... if she can follow best... i know chinatown got sell cloths.. but dunno wat the price is like... maybe u ask ur seamstress see where can get cheap and gd ones hehe...

hey gals.. im back. so sorry MIA again! haha.. by the way, anyone of you plan to take PS shoot with background showing sea and yacht?

Was thinking of something different then the normal sand and beach.

Hi all...me and my HTB r really helpless on the traditions to go tru, for ex 'guo da li', 'ping jing'...any specific items to prepare or dates to be carried out b4 the AD? and any other customs that we need to prepare or go tru???

No customisation wor, xka... But the chocolates are delicious. We did it for our book launch as door gift and some of the participants came back and asked for more! Heheheheee...

michelle> u can arrange for a parents meeting session. So this session both sides can discuss abt ROM matters, banquet matters, traditional matters....

gal,
most prob will go arab street....there got more variety n is cheap...alot of seamstress n tailors go there to buy materials...

elyse,
any pic of hw it looks like?? n got tester??
wahahah....

his mum passed on and dad remarried
so no aid frm his side...my mum wanted the customs and traditions but not sure as well...so both of us r lost...
as for parents meet up session, HTB wanted tat to happen over the food tasting session wic is like 1-2 months b4 AD..,too late for any preparations...tacky ya?

xka,

oh... my CS material also brought from there... but find there too many shops, hao luan dunno which one to go in too :x

Morning all,

Went for my fitting last night.. my gowns all grow bigger.. haha.. all thanks to the renovation works..

elyse, think choc. is good, no wastage. Is there a budget for your wedding favors? Dun think the boxes come cheap.

Gal, do you recall the wordings for invite to ask guests give cash instead of buying gifts for us? Think it was told to us on e 1st day o e MPC.

Am going 4 my photoshoot this friday but I'm having outbreak.. sigh.. anyone has any express remedies to recommend??

michelle> hmm.. do you or ur htb have any aunt who is able to help out with such things? what dialect group r both of u? if u r teochew i can prob help abit.

xka,
no pic le. and no tester. =p maybe if there's another event coming up and they order the chocolates again, then i can keep some for u. =p

nok,
that's what my colls, chocolates no wastage plus it won't ended up collecting dust on people's table or something. haha. i haven't gone to look for boxes though.

dun worry about your outbreak la. your MUA should be able to conceal for you plus the touchup artist can perform photoshop magic on your pics mah. =)

Hui Ling,
if u wan to show yacht, can only go yacht club.
but then there is nt everybody can go in de. tink unless u member or wat then they allow u to take PS there...

gal,
i tink ur tailor/seamstress wld recommend u whe to go ba rite..haha...

i will check out the prices n let u koe..coz i will be tailoring them in june....btw, mi seamstress onli takes in orders in june or december coz normally she does tailoring for costumes for schs...thus only during sch hols then she free to do e rest....

elyse,
same here...we didnt want smting tats not tat practical...so was tinking of DIYing cookies or smting edible...though i liked the M&M idea alot, but its wae too expensive...dun wan spend tat much....

I want to try ur chocs...if they are reali tat gd, then can consider getting coz nt tat expensive oso...flavour box can DIY in advance..then can customise to my wedding colours...haha

noknok,
wah u alreadi so thin stil lose wgt?? wait become stick le leh....

hav u decided whe to go for PS??

actually staying with in law got good and bad.
good: got dinner everyday, dun need to do so much house chores. hehe.
bad: conflicts and "mei you er ren shi jie" .. hehehehe ....

hey .. my hubby birthday fall on our wedding day, got any ideas to share with mi to give him a big surprise ... lols

nok,
this are some verses u can use....

"If you are pondering over a gift
Here's a little hint
It's something they print at the mint
Above what you may decide
Having you with us is our delight"

'If a gift is on your mind,
Cash is one of its kind'

"Your presence at our wedding is present enough!
But if we're honored with a gift from you,
may we respectfully request a gift of money
to help the dream of our new home come true!"

"We have our hearts set on a trip to Hawaii,
We're saving every nickel and dime.
So if you aren't sure what to get for a wedding present
A gift of cash would be just divine! "

"We have two of EVERYTHING because
joining lives means joining households, too!
So please don't give us another toaster --
a gift of money is what we'd appreciate from you!"

"No gift is too small to give, nor too simple to receive,
If it is chosen with thoughtfulness and given with love;
Our life together has just begun,
And we have almost everything under the sun;
We have enough dishes and towels for two,
So we have a favour to ask of you
To save you searching a gift for two,
A generous monetary blessing would be pleasant of you;
We hope our request is ok,
For this would really make our day;
And when we choose something new,
We can say it was all thanks to you!
Love,
XXX"

" Cash is King,we prefer be a one day king and queen"

3 small pictures of gift, angpao & flower, with e gift & flower crossed.

xka, not tt I wan one.. imagine packing up 4 ppl's rubbish 4 17 years.. Tired until no appetite to eat. Went 4 manicure n e lady commented tt she can see muscle on my arms liao.. I was like that's bad cos my arms is e most not lean place o all..

Haha.. yesterday fitting e coordinator has 2 stuff a lot of padding 4 me man.. She also say no need to wear nubra, cos there loads of padding liao.. :p

Only 2 places confirm... tt's ECP n Crown Plaza hotel. Think my HTB wanna take at Duxton hill as well 2 get e building look. Maybe taking at Joo Chiat as well to take those old old buildings.

I did my manicure on sunday n today e nail polish chipped off le.. how ah?? go back ask them touch up can or not ah?? my whole week schedule is pack le.. sigh.

xka,
yah the M&M too damn expensive. really not worth it to get. ok, i'll try to see what i can do for the chocolates and let u know k? =)

nok,
u got to take a break la....try to delegate some work to others...if not u sure burst de...

hmm..i tink u shld do ur nails onli e dae before PS lor..esp when u stil packing now...wait u ask them do for u again, then another dae or 2 chip again how??

heng i alreadi do mi invite le...montage u can ask zhirong to do ma..then u not so stress...i oso throw some tings to mi bf...ask him to do....haha....

elyse,
thanks loads babe!!...lurce u to bits...

btw, have uploaded my trial make-up n 2nd selection pics in multiply...still in e midst of uploading for FB..those who have me in their contacts can go lk c lk c n giv comments....=]

noknok,

i cant remember:x u going to the msg in ur invite?

xka,

is my bf's family tailor so normally his mother juz buy the cloths and tell her wat design she want.. she nv recommend... so i need to buy cloths and pass it to her...

Iris,
tink all yatch clubs is the same.
but then u stay there doesnt mean they will let u take photoshoot there lor.

tink still need to ask for permission de ba...

gal,
oic...hmm...do u tink its possible to ask the tailor wat material he/she rcommends?? coz diff materials makes e design turn out differently leh....since its a regular tailor, then i tink shldnt b a prob asking him/her to recommend....

Now no more packing liao.. so it's still ok..

The thing is, I hv facial tml, thur need to see e priest, fri my photoshoot liao, then yesterday is fitting, 2nite suppose to hv lessons.. no time at all so I went on sunday loh.. I cancelled my lesson 2nite. go down again 2nite n see if there's anything they can do ba. if not I jus paste the fake nails for all the shots lah.. dun care.. sure won't chip le.. haha.

Problem w montage.. photos all at home, but my house under reno n I dunno where I chuck my photos to.. cham ah... ZR is in charge o e montage, but he chasing me 4 e photo.. sigh.

Gal, it's ok.. think xka's quote quite good. Hee.. yah.. I wanna put inside. I dun wanna be like ppl selling off gifts online.

haha..i was tinking of putting e pic behind mi invite...coz mine is like a card...onli front n back....so front will be e wordings, back will be e map...

wat u all tink, putting e pics at e bottom on te back...looks like logo, not too obvious, n not too offensive....

iris,
haha...

get into but cannot take then also waste lor. haha..

tat time my HTB also got tink of the yacht. but tink my PG say cannot. need permission de.
so give up the thought...

hmmm... i remember i saw a yacht photo by the PG from my BS... maybe I check with him whether they have the lobang to go in. hehee

p00h, thanks! actually... outdoor didnt show shoe much, u can wear back the same shoe. hehehe!! spend the money on ya nails instaed ba.. ;p Dun forget to bring snacks, water, fan, slipper, insect repeller out for ya ps.

This is a very very active thread! wow..

Hi Michelle!
Below are my experience:
Ping Jing: Roughly from $1200 to $2800, some mum may ask for table's(abt 6-10 tables) ang baos too. but depends on how much $ ur mum asked from ur HTB.

Guo Da Li: normally takes place 1wk to 1 mth b4 ur AD. Items for my GDL: 8 oranges, 2 Martell, ping jing angbao, 6 can pig trotters,2 bag of peanut candy,2 sets long feng candle, etc. (also depends on wat ur mum ask from HTB side.)

The parents' meeting will be during food tasting dinner, so in the meanwhile we convey and talk to our parents b4 tt.

There's more, but u try to settle things and details earlier, so it will not b so rush when AD is nearing!

Let me noe if u wanna find out more.

Hi Suzanna!

My mum prefers unique but with a tint of chi traditions for my GDL cakes. Were looking at this webbie www.kyo.com.sg. there was some thread for this website, and was raved by alot of BTBs! Guess it's really yummy... Hahaha!

i tot bm = jm?? bridesmaid n jiemeis??

im making for everione...i onli coordinate colour n material...if they wan wear pants oso can...=]

oh mine got mine church wedding so i chose one to be my BM to walk down the aisle... and 2 other JMs lor...

u making dress rite? why need to wear pants -.-

noknok,

urs also church wedding? morning ur htb will come and pick u up den go church?