(2009) Brides of year 2009

thx for all the encouragements n suggestions.
i cant exactly do a small wedding now as i have already booked my banquet of 30 tables, i do not wan to forfeit my deposit of $3k. i've already suggested to postpone till next yr then my MIL say next yr is the tiger yr not suitable to get married blah blah then following yr clash wif our zodiac or watever. not so nice to postpone for 3 yrs when most or all of our relatives already know we r getting married this yr. so i guess i really have to do it this yr. its really expensive to get married!!!

i have been researching on ala carte and diy for gowns, flowers and make up and they r actually much more expensive than packages from bridal shops so i'll hv to give tat up.

anyway, i jus booked my bridal package wif La Belle this afternoon and i am giving my wallet a long rest for now till Oct!

wish me luck gals, hope we tio 4D or toto soon hehe

haha.. me too.. finally sent out the invites for frens and colleagues.. relatives ones need to wait till aft guo da li then parents will go send..

now counting down.. still chasing my BS for my album.. 3 wks and 3 days to 25th April!

yes of cos the sisters need to meet up before hand to prepare the materials. it'll be good if u wanna a good effect on the video

Yip, i dont have a VG too. only a PG.

I'm so happy my photo album is ready for collection haha. my hubby going to collect it tomorrow. I cant wait to see it keke.

jaq, welcome to the Dec BTB forum! im using OH too! One day after urs. haha, but different ballroom. wanted to change ballroom but taken up already

maybe i'll be seeing you around Orchard hotel when you check out and i check in. hee..

Ashes,
ur wallet wun rest for long de.. very fast u need to fork out for other some tings. but do hv a budget in mind if nt will over spend..

gd luck gal. dun stress urself too much.. shld b ok de...

hi yip, basically u have to decide whether you want impt moments captured on video, and whether it'll be worth the money, then also have to look at your budget.

for my hubz and myself, we wanted our wedding day moments to be captured on film as well.. anyone wld know that viewing moving images is v different from viewing still images. Of course we also want to capture the impt moments (vows, etc) on film cos its once in a lifetime, and we want pro quality as well. It all depends on your individual preferences and budget. I had to cut down on other things just to get hubz to say yes to my vendor. :P

just settled my flowers!! need to chase for animation, and gather RSVPs liao!

Morning guys...am going for my PS soon.. had some drama with them again last evening.. tell you guys more some other time..

So excited..but scared too.. heehee..

See ya peeps!

Mine is next friday!!! Hahahaha.. 8 more days to go.. *nervous*
For me, ive done almost all my preps.

1. Confirmed timing with MUA, PG & VG.
2. Need to order buffet.
3. Morning Schedule is out.
4. Confirmed JP's attendance. (utmost important)
5. Final fitting at Bridal, chose accessories and flowers. (Yippeeee)
6. A final confirmation with hotel about everything.
7. Need to buy preps for gate crashing. (devious plan.. hehe)

Wish me luck and have fun girls!

akino> i have FB; will add u ya

hmmmm.... still wondering what time is good for parents' meet up?? maybe during food tasting to finalize GDL matters???

desjo.... u have your solemnisation by the Sea ah?
So Nice... i didn't know got all these places!!
i always wanted a Solemnisation by the Sea too..

Ashes, i'm not exactly sure what bridal packages will cover as I didn't take up one. But I'm guessing its gown/s, photograpy, flowers & reading from the thread here - video montage etc? If thats the case, the high cost items are already covered.

The mid year Great Singapore Sale is coming up. Clothes, shoes & jewellery may be worth checking out. Start saving up now. And if you are not particular, i've seen brides in this forum selling off some of their bridal items too & at a good price.

Good luck

aye, Lalaa...that fragrance at selegie is quite ok...checked with my frd who stayed there before when he was in s'pore...but seems tat the bed had bedbugs when he was there so wasn't tat gd experience for him though...but yes, it's not sleazy like alot of budget hotels...

is it for relatives to stay when ur AD is here? cos i did some research when i was sourcing for some accomodation for my inlaws too...

Hello ladies, Good morning!

Mashi> i understood that nowadays some BS dun have bridal car liao loh.. MBR dun have this le.. not sure abt the rest.. Today is thursday liao.. 1 more day to weekend!!!

All> Yeah, GSS coming! Good time to check out on wedding shoes and other barang which need to purchase.. I still need to purchase a bed and mattress.. haiz...

kath,
Congrats to you too! Wow! We have 2 Style Weddings' couple here.

cher,

xka,
Morning! Have you found your solemniser yet?

Hui Ling,
tink it depends de. my BS still got that offer. but of coz depends on wat package u take.
i actually change the car to other tings as planning to use family car. keke. but they still hv the car deco lor.

ya. wkend coming liao.. yeah...

ya lor. tink also time to go c bed n mattress as me also need to buy. haha...

nw recession. so need to c those sales whether got nice n cheap tings to buy. haha...

Morning Elyse,
nope..not yet...ytr was busy wif curtains so didnt call her...will do so during lunch....if she cant make it, then mayb will call grace's or yuki's solemniser lor...dun get e popular ones le la...bo pian...muz trust their recommendations...=]

thanx Aroh & Grace for the Fragrance suggestion.. at 1st thot it was sleazy.. but since u gave gd reviews will check it out

Elyse.. dun think hostel is appropriate le.. cos its for 2 old uncles to stay.. my htb's distant relatives who's comin from m'sia dis weekend to give out some invitations.. thanx anywae

Grace.. for relatives to stay wen they come down for my wedding, im plannin to rent an apartment for dem to stay.. since its durin F1 weekend.. hotel rates can be a killer!

Kath!! yayy ur in the top 10 too!
I'll be callin my BS today to go for gown selection earlier lor.. r we supp to wear WG or EG ah? n make-up will be done by who? we dun haf to arrange for it rite?

hey, congrats to both Kath and Lalaa!!!

i can totally imagine leh, Lalaa....tat time i was looking n looking for a place for inlaws to stay....simply can't find any tat's S$100 or below...heng managed to find a hotel tat's reasonably priced n convenient to our hotel...

xka,
Then u don't trust mine? Hehehe... Joking.

lalaa,
Fragrance is not sleazy but location-wise, you've got to check properly before booking.

I see, I see. Then there's a hotel near Tiong Bahru which is like 3-star or so. My HTB's family stayed there before, during their yearly XMas visit. It was 100 bucks per room per night.

Forgot the name of the hotel. Tried search Street Directory and it says 'The Caine Inn'. I'd suggest you go there directly and ask for rate and ask to see their rooms.

Here you go: http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel_id_1180/travel_site_12100/

lalaa, i never stayed there b4 hor...just that when i take bus from orchard back home will pass by then can see the lobby...so i know mostly indian tourists stay there...even got tour groups so should be decent enough.

their webby got promo for stay during f1 weekend...since u know your date already might as well make a group booking or something soon...

it's near little india MRT so should be considered convenient enough...1 stop to dooby ghaut liaoz...

congrats kath!!!

yes, have my solemnization by the sea.we chanced upon this venue & love it at the first sight.it was lovely..however it rain on that day..sad..u wana book there to stay?is nice.u go down see see look look if u like it
u can walk along the bridges

Just found this online for those guys who's getting their own suits...this is for CYC...

UOB Wedding Privileges
• Purchase a made-to-order suit* plus two made-to-measure shirts^ at $650 (UP: $900)

9 Raffles Place, #01-21 Republic Plaza II, Tel: 6538 0522
328 North Bridge Road, #02-12 Raffles Hotel Arcade, Tel: 6336 3556

• Valid till 30 September 2009 • *Suit includes jacket and pants • ^Valid for selected range of fabrics • The suit and shirts have to be billed in one single receipt, per person and per order • This offer is not valid for further discount and cannot be accumulated with other vouchers

wah, tat's pretty good offer leh, aroh...

oh ya...we managed to go to tis tailor at far east plaza...they charged us S$800 for 1 full tuxedo suit + 1 suit n pants...hb said their workmanship not bad...as usual, i'm clueless abt tat :P

saggie> ohh... so can use cake vouchers ah... is it given to all relatives? Can enlighten on how that works?

jaq> welcome to Dec BTB, i'm the day after you!

Same here, still deciding when is good for the parents to meet... his dad said they will need to find a day to 'meet' my parents and sort of 'officially' tell them about it lar.. so i guess i'll wait for them to say ba. Just wondering if the whole thing would feel weird cos don't know each other and don't know what to say... is it just talking about GDL matters?

Anticipate> hmmm... i tink hor to simplify matters, if u want to use cake vouchers, can distribute during GDL together with the invite cards lor...

Hmm...for us both side parents have met before during our ROM already...but i leave it up to freegoer's parents to decide lor.. and see how my side can accomodate...haha...

saggie - so can be any cakes from those 'normal' bakery right? don't have to be special wedding cakes right? It's like those baby full month type huh?

My ROM is probably in Nov, then AD in Dec... meeting up on ROM is a little too late for me i think.. not sure how to bring it up too... hmm...

Anticipate> hahaa the bringing up is the key issue...aiya just tell them straight lor :P hahaha...

actually now a lot of bakeries got do wedding cakes de...small small type... e.g. bengawan, prima etc...

suzanna: ya hor..hahaha..but check out is 12pm check in is 2pm right, might not meet leh like that..who's ur coordinator?

seems like alot of 06 n 26 Dec 09 brides..keke..

pearlypearl: ya u r the other couple actually at the same day when we wanted to sign with C&T. But end up we din take up their offer coz of budget constraints.

Ya desjo...
my hus and i plan to have a party to celebrate our birthdays, 7 year dating anni and 2nd year ROM anniv... because the dates all very near to one another... kill many birds with 1 stone
HAHAHAH
i dun like parties one but i tink he like friends to Sabo him, so now looking for any venue by the sea....
that day i pass by changi boardwalk, chanced upon this Changi Haven Chalet also... love it too, but can't find any website... wondering is it the same as yours...

Thanx guys!the glamour bash is on 26apr.if ur free, can go swissotel to take a look
i juz hope i wun fall down on the runway :p

Lalaa,im not sure abt the gowns too.but i emailed them to ask aredi. will let u noe when she gets back to me. Tink make up shld be done by them.so we juz hv to go w our gowns ,suits n shoes.

N the hotel along tiong bahru rd is called The Link.ALtho it looks like a 3star, i tink prices are nt cheap.but maybe they hv recession prices, no harm checking out ,Lalaa.

Fot those HTBs working at raffles pl, can try Oxford tailor at oub centre.the boss is a ypung chap, very fashionable so can give gd advice.n suits cost ard 600plus.

kath,
I wasn't referring to The Link. Anyhow, The Link is a boutique hotel thus it's price.

There is another hotel at the street behind The Link. It's beside a row of shophouses. That's the 3-star hotel at $100 per room per night.

hi mashi,
mine also have.. but i exchange it for pictures loh.. cos mi using my friend lexus.. hehe.. car deco they definately give u loh...

u also buying bed and mattress? hoho..wait till GSS, i think mattress and bedframe can get at good buy..

U doing your own childhood montage? me doing it myself.

By the way, u using english or chinese songs for 1st and 2nd march in?

saggie: wah shuang xi ling men..keke.. my fren's fren also 6 Dec n taking same hotel as me too..

pearlypearl: ya my bf wanted 2 PG coz for backup n also morning session can take at my bf side.

hmm..i dinno theres a hotel there.

XKA, they din state wedding fotos mah, so juz send in 2 fotos to try our luck lor.act next yr oso can join leh.they never state dat married couples not allowed.meantime, u can send in for their monthly wedding couple contest oso.

Hui Ling,
haha.. i c.. me still nt sure using wat car.most likely wil b my FIL car. lol...

yup. hv to buy lor. hope so.. since mattress so expensive nowadays.

me ar. doing. but is done by my PG. still yet to pass him the photos. hope to put couple wedding photos in it also. so by jul muz pass everything to him... haha...

me ar. most likely wil use chinese songs for both march in. since i like chinese songs. but still looking lor...

u lei?

wow..me n my hubby oso together for 7rs + liao..
shld hv a romantic gateaway jus the 2 of u ma..so many light bulbs ;p

eh...changi beach club is oso facing the boardwalk..walking distance from the guest rm..dun tink is call changi haven chalet le?shld be differ