(2009) Brides of year 2009

nok, xka,
Hope you gals are feeling better and issues resolved with your respective HTBs.

I flared up at my HTB on our gown choosing day too, which was last weekend. Coz he only came home after 4am the night before and ended up oversleeping that day. I was tired and frustrated so I ranted at him.

Cher,
My PS is with SG Bridal House. Outdoor shoot was Desaru. Yeah, I liked the cheongsam too. Didn't know I can wear one. =p

nok,
Yaloh, BS tends to have little choices for outdoor gowns. Guess it's bcoz these gowns are going to be trashed frequently bah, so shorter 'life'.

Btw, get PR after your ROM la. Then buy new HDB. More worth it than resale la.

aroh,
I thot that's your eva.

Yah, won't affect me. Monday morning, a bit disoriented! =p

We've not bought a place coz wanted to get resale HDB after HTB convert to PR. We heard that once we've bought private housing, we're not eligible to buy HDB anymore. Thus the waiting...

hello saggiegirl...

thanks. i'm ok.. feels like i'm slacking quite abit for now in wedding preps! haha so much for starting early :p yday went to see rings again, n we might be going to place our order by the end of the week, if that design still sticks in our minds. haha.
what abt u? seems like u have gone for ur gown selections n stuff?? btw when u went to do selection right, did u need to bring ur actual pair of heels??

have to wait 30 months after selling ur condo then can buy HDB resale...

nok, u know y they rejected? knowing the reason can help if u wish to apply again...

Hi freeesia,

can you kindly PM me the contact no. and address of the jewellery supplier again?
I can't seem to find it in my email.

thank you so much!

pebbles> hee hee... i see...hmm yes already settled my gowns and PS stuff...my BS already handed us a list of things to prepare for BS... and already more or less confirmed our props ... hmmm... it will be better to bring along your heels for fitting
if u dun have, it shd not be of any prob as BS have those "spare heels" ...

Hi Elyse,
You look so pretty in your gowns!i am going to desaru too for outdoor shoot. mind telling me what are the scenes you took in desaru?

hello everyone! Thanks for all your tips! I didn't know that you're all so active on the thread over the weekends! hehe...

Thanks Andrew and Yvonne! I shall check out the syle magazines, etc.

Suzanna - that's very useful! I'll print this out and make it my check list... hehe...

Btw, just to update you all. I went down to Raffles Hotel on Saturday, the place is beatiful. The Ballroom is a pretty small but cozy feel - like those family gathering, victorian looking style. The only thing I don't really like is the reception area which is right out the ballroom but it's not air-conditioned...
They do have some 'fans' but I don't think cooling enough lei.

My HTB suggested getting those 'air-con fan' but not sure how it looks like and if it will look awful if the size is big... haiz...

Saggie - can you please share your whitelink package? Thanks!

nok,
Try again after you're married la. It'll be easier to get.

aroh,
30 months ah?

fifteenmay,
Bring insect repellant and sunblock. Our scenes involved: walking on the road, in the field, on a swing by the beach, walking and running on the beach, sitting on the beach etc

saggiegirl: wah urs really very early. when is ur PS btw? tell us how it goes ok? share tips also. haha. do u have a trial make-up session from the BS before PS?
spare heels ah. ic. i think then i'l just wait till i've chosen my gowns. i'm really hesitant to buy now before the selection leh! how would u know what matches!
any recommendations where to get glam n comfy heels, but not so ex? i think leapin lizards abit out of my budget. haha...

Anticipate: hello!
u sound really excited abt Raffles ballroom. heh. i guess that's all that matters alr. at most u get ur helpers at reception to usher everybody into the ballroom quickly! getting fans just for the 1hr plus is extra cost leh... really need not? haha my 2 cents worth :p

hee.. actually i dun care if I get PR, since i'm getting CPF in cash.. haha

why they reject ah.. nv say, but i think i know why.. cos i rejected their citizenship mah.. then they dun wan give me PR loh.

elyse, if u both get PR then can get HDB hor...if only 1 is PR still cannot get...

correction...i just checked at HDB website...PRs can have pte property and buy resale HDB...but the catch is cannot take grants and must stay in the HDB...

Anticipate> no problem...what's ur email ya??

Teresa> u mean wedding timeplan?? i can share mine too~~...

Pebbles> no lar..just that our PS is early...mid May coz hb gg for reservist shortly after that... hmm..i used my trial makeup for my ROM last June
everybody commented i look gorgeous *blush*... hmm a few places for shoes: Far East Plaza (try Anna Nicci), Tangs (Orchard & VivoCity), Aldo, C&K...

Hello pebbles!

Ya, kind of excited but think it's more about "I'm getting married" then the venue... hehe... :p The ballroom is different from those hotel so kinda of different ba. And we're keeping the list to just families so I guess the cosy feel helps - hopefully!

For the fan, the hotel did provide for free... for the air-con fan, ya... I think it's going to cost quite a bit. I'm thinking that maybe this will 'force' the guests to the dining area sooner so we can start on time and end early... So maybe shall skip the air-con fan.

Btw, when the door of the ballroom is open, can actually feel the cool air... haiz... so contradicting. But i guess those are not major issue for now, can decide again later... hehe... maybe bring parents then to view and they can decide lor.

Btw, there's a bridal exhibition this Fri-Sun at Suntec for those that needs it though I guess most of you are pretty much done...

Saggie - oops! it's aggy_sg @ yahoo.com And can you also share your timeplan too?? thanks!!

Oh ya... you mention about reservist... totally forgot to factor that in! Mine is going in Aug...

Suddenly feel abit 'free' now that the venue is sorted... hehe... not sure what else I'm missing apart from waiting to sort the BS... fingers-crossed!

Hi Elyse,

To my best knowledge, there are 2 scenarios for private property owners.

1) Option of Resale Flat
- As a private property owner, you can still buy resale flat as long as you occupy the HDB RESALE UNIT, NOT your private property.
- However, will not be eligible for CPF Housing grant and HDB Concessionary loan.
- Must stay in HDB RESALE UNIT

2) Option of New HDB Flats for private property owners
- provided they dispose and sell away their private property, WAIT 30 months later in order to apply
- Provided meet Income cap of $8K
- All other terms n conditions apply as well like the other applicants

Anticipate> no problem... hmm..ya lor...like my hb (aka freegoer) he gg for reservist for 3 weeks so he dun want to turn into an african for PS so that is why we put it earlier
haha

aroh,
Yah I know that. That's y I kept saying got to wait for HTB to get PR before we can purchase our home.

2 PRs automatically cannot take grants liao, so if that's the case, we can buy private 1st lor...

15may, I asked the other thread b4, someone called Rasel and say they'll only send out the confirmation email 1 week b4 e event. So jus wait ba, since it's free. I'm going for the evening session one. so won't be able to catch u.

Anticipate: haha i know what u mean. when i was sourcing for my venue last yr, i felt that way. n yday when looking at wedding bands n trying them on, i also got that new wave of excitement.. heh.

Saggiegirl: i've looked around tangs and OG.. haven't really found a pair that is what i have in mind. mayb i'l check out anna nicci and aldo like u recommended. thanks!

hey gals... ur hotel/banquet venue do not provide the invite cards?

im starting to shortlist photos for montage... this is another headache... cos still gotta decide songs

elyse.. i saw ur pics on Facebook yest.. all the gowns look nice on u!

oh ur htb work in bukit panjang plaza? dats quite near my place! which part he workin at?

Noknok.. on sat they came to repair the air-con, den on sun not workin again.. dats y wanna get new 1 instead.. dunno which brand is good.. Daikin is ok? dunno to get inverter or non-inverter..
alamak Nok.. i forgot to go see ur pics from my home laptop.. nvm tonite i go see.. hee

lalaa, my new house is using mitsubishi.. the ez clean one... advertise by liang zhi qiang on tv... i find it quite good... very quiet...

pebbles> no problem...hmmm...actually u can try Metro too
haha... u can take yr time to check out the shoes
find a height which u are comfortable with... average is 2.5-3.5 inches... my ROM shoes are bright silver in color and then my AD shoes are silver with swarovski crystals on it...both are on sale items and quite easy to match with outfits...

Dun get Daikin.. my house daikin died quite early.. haha..

I'm also considering mitsubishi star mex.

Inverter save more energy right?? if on both at the same time then buy inverter loh.

See you on tat day Cher.. hee

paradise,
My hotel do provide. but quite plain de lor.
so we decided to get ours in JB. price wise reasonable. n more cute lor. haha...

me also looking for photos. haha.. hope to get some nice de... headache.. but montage song i settle liao. haha...

yea my both room tenants use air-con like crazy! raining so cold also they use air-con! i cant say anythin cos their rent is inclusive of air-con.. but still i find they over-do it lor..
electricity bills damn high lor.. has gone upto 500 plus.. dats y i wanna get sumthg dat saves energy!
which shop to get from? is Gain City good?

mine i get from n@tural cool... i got the non-inverter one cos only 2 of us... so at 1 time only 1 unit will be on... i went gain city see be4.. i forget but there is one thing i didnt they need include so have to top up... n@tural cool the price is all added up... maybe u can check with them...

Try domanchi? they have big and stiff collars for most of their shirts.

If really hard to find, then prob tailor made cld be the next best option.

Does it cost alot? We are still thinking if we should get a wedding band for both of us or perhaps just get the groom ring to match the proposal ring... haha...

Wanted to walk into those shop to see but they just come in swamped... can't really look around at ease... hehe... so thought of checking here before going to the shop physically...

lalaa, my place came with the aircon so i din need to get...but inverter is better cos save electricity...something about the compressor not starting and stopping to get to the temp u wan...it's more constant so use less energy no matter how many is on...

my fridge gonna be inverter too...hahaha...bombarded the sales guy abt the inverter thing that's how i knew abt the difference...

many people say gain city price not bad...but sometimes i prefer to get from neighbourhood shops...no fancy promo or credit card discounts...just lower price...

aroh.. i need to get it on installment lor.. dun think neighbourhood shops will haf credit card installment interest free facility rite?
which place has better reviews? Gain City or Natural C00l?
is is tru dat a system-3 inverter usually comes wif 2 compressors? so must install 2 compressors outside the house ah? im quite blur wif air-cons.. sorry

Noknok.. by the way ah.. do u still haf the furniture u wanted to throw away dat time?
I need a study table & cabinet for a tenant.. haha

yah.. have, jus arrange for transport. what height cabinet you need??

I'm starting renovation 13 april. must arrange at least one week before that.

Anyone know anyone who takes in Guan yin statues?? I'm a catholic but I have 3 statues to get rid of.. arghh

I got one rose wood altar too.. anyone keen?? help me ask around can?? need to get rid soon.. quite sayang to throw away the altar table.