(2009) Brides of year 2009

saggiegirl

littlewoman> so nice to go on leave

ytd confirmed timings (AM, PM, 2nd march in) with MUA.. also SMSed PG & VG

now just pending driver, brothers, my helpers

ytd night also went to jab for H1N1... after the jab, both of us felt v sleepy... today down with blocked nose....maybe a symptom??

yeah! tomolo GDL le
...then sunday packing for AD evening reception...

Saggiegirl: yes yes.. it is a symptom... I had mild fever for 2 days after I took the jab... drink more water and take the flu tablets..

I went on leave to take a special edition fliming with my BS... Went back SP... though pouring but the weather kinda of helps in some screens... Can't wait to view it next week..

andy_n_eva

nopez...end up they went back...next morning had breakfast together b4 coming to my place...

they din mention to me abt whose wedding they attending or where...or maybe they did mention but din strike mi...

noknok

Ha.. din strike me too when they told me got another wedding the next day.. so many ppl got married on 20th Sept. hee.. Sg is so small.. the next time we'll be attending theirs.. haha

andy_n_eva

dunno when leh...marcus dun say...keep saying after he grad...(which is like soon lar...)...

where's the rest ah...nov almost over...still dunno when meeting up...even xka disappeared...

Jascmy - Do let us know the Good News... Yeahhh... Me oso planning to have one soon... Hopefully, a tigeress or tiger... I love "it".. =)

noknok

ha.. think she busy looking for gynae..

they got budget problem lah... cos both family very big..

how did u get to know marcus?

saggiegirl

littlewoman> haha
ya lor...ytd was pouring cats & dogs... but lucky my laundry is dried at home...

yup...drinking more water & taking vit c and berry essence...

sillycouple

wow u gals planning for the B project already??

kekeke im not gonna plan for one so soon until after my honeymoon! if not hv to cancel the plan.. v sian :p

iris... y u want a tiger? haahah i wanna avoid if i can leh... i scared later i kena a mu lao hu! haha

yyingg2

hi BTBs, I've 12 bottles of australian red wine "Jindalee Shiraz 2003" to let go of. Normal retail price above $25, now selling off at $18 per bottle 750ml. These are all duty paid, left from my own wedding banquet. Self collection at my place in Bedok. Interested parties please email me at [email protected].

Wine Type: Red
Grape Type: 100% Shiraz.
Region: Murray Darling
Vinification:
Alcohol - 13.5%
Acidity - 6.46 gm/L
Ph - 3.56
Tasting Notes:
Color: Crimson/red
Nose: Spice with ripe plum and rich oak.
Palate: A rich full Shiraz that has sweet berry fruit flavors, white pepper and spice. It shows a small amount of well integrated and balanced oak.
The 2003 Shiraz shows pepper and spice on the nose and is full of rich fruit flavors on the palate. Flavors of plums and blackberries combine well with the vanillin American oak. It shows great balance and is a easy drinking Shiraz that is great with or without food.

yyingg2

hi BTBs, I've 12 bottles of australian red wine "Jindalee Shiraz 2003" to let go of. Normal retail price above $25, now selling off at $18 per bottle 750ml. These are all duty paid, left from my own wedding banquet. Self collection at my place in Bedok. Interested parties please email me at [email protected].

Wine Type: Red
Grape Type: 100% Shiraz.
Region: Murray Darling
Vinification:
Alcohol - 13.5%
Acidity - 6.46 gm/L
Ph - 3.56
Tasting Notes:
Color: Crimson/red
Nose: Spice with ripe plum and rich oak.
Palate: A rich full Shiraz that has sweet berry fruit flavors, white pepper and spice. It shows a small amount of well integrated and balanced oak.
The 2003 Shiraz shows pepper and spice on the nose and is full of rich fruit flavors on the palate. Flavors of plums and blackberries combine well with the vanillin American oak. It shows great balance and is a easy drinking Shiraz that is great with or without food.

gg_paradise

hi ladies.. I'm a btb for Jul'10. had just recently obtained the contract from my banquet coordinator... read the whole contract but have some queries.. can anyone give me any advice????

1. Beverage
- Free flow of soft drinks & chinese tea from 1900 to 2230 hours for 11 tables & above
- Free flow of beer for 25 tables and above from 1900 to 2230 hours
-> jus wondering is it normal for free beverage to serve only during 1900 to 2230 hours? what if my dinner ends at 2300 hours??

2. Food Tasting
- within one month before event date.
-> when should we go down for food tasting?

- complimentary table of 10 persons for food tasting is only for above 50 tables. For 25 tables to 49 tables, food tasting is only for choice of 5 dishes.
-> Does that mean if we only have 40 tables, food tasting is only for choice of 5 dishes? not all 8-9 dishes ma?

3. Optional arrangements
- Should you required service crews to extend working hours after 11pm, special rate $12 per hours for per staff will be levied for their OT charges & midnight transport fees charges.
-> anyone have this? how shld we deal with this?

4. Cancellation
- if cancel less than 60 days prior to event - pay 50% of total value booked
- if cancel less than 30 days prior to event - pay 100% of total value booked

5. Guaranteed Attendance
- Any changes made to the guaranteed attendance must be advised in writing 14 days prior to the date of the event, only an increase in attendance will be accepted. Should the attendance fall below the minimum guarantee, the restaurant reserves the right to levy a charge on the reduction.
-> does that mean that if we would to confirm that the guaranteed attendance is 300 guests, we can increase it to 350 if we want to? but if we want to reduce it to 250, they can charge us for that. Guess this is the norm right?
-> but does that mean that it would always be beta to give the minimum guaranteed attendance rather than telling them too much den later cannot meet the minimum, have to pay a charge??

saggiegirl

Mrs chua> pls check with ur hotel coordinator on ur contract details. Each of us will have a different contract etc... Even if we have the same hotel as you, due to the timing of booking, the perks etc will be slightly different

junel

Mrs Chua, which hotel you are looking at? How come the conditions so strict one ar?

1 -> depending on the hotel ba try to talk to them to extend to 11 lo..
2 -> depending on your availability and the hotel's condition. I went 1.5 months before.. some of the ladies here went 3-4 months before also have..
you try to bargain for full table food tasting la...
3, 4 -> i dun have this condition.. dunno whether norm a not

5 ->better to give minimum. but do you have any freebies that is attached to your tables?

weddingdoll

Mrs Chua (gg_paradise)

your contract sounds very rigid.

Food tasting, my hotel didnt specify when.. i just made an apointment to go. Mine food tasting was 2 months before my banquet.

My hotel dont have this. By right, shdnt have ma..

My hotel have cancelation fee. but its not 100%. at most 75% only..

My hotel also can increase, can decrease. no extra charges if ppl fall below the confirmed attendance. just pay lor. (eh only 25 tables turn up, i still gonna pay for 26)

gg_paradise

hi ladies.. thanks for ur advice.. I oso think my contract is very rigid.. now thinking of changing venue... but haizz.. thought is already settled.. but have to re-source..

Mrs Chua: I will suggest you confirm another venue asap before cancelling your current venue... Do a proper comparsion before signing any contract with the hotel/restaurant.

akino

yup. everything settled. informed the timing to all ppl. but i havent print out the table plan yet... GDL 24th nov. 1100 hrs.. not feeling excited lei.. why huh....

Mrs Chua. i think u better search for more. this one doesnt looks good. or if u really like then must bargain with them..

Akino: Could it be that you are having mood swings? I had that on Monday... Feeling so lousy... but it is the norm... Try to relax and don't be over stress..

weddingdoll

Mrs Chua,
can i KPO which hotel it is?

yeah yeah my GDL is tomorr and I haven pack anything yet and i m having steamboat with uni-friends later!

weddingdoll

cause i will be living with him and his parents for 1year plus before our BTO comes.
so i gonna pack at least half of my clothes and belongings over already?

like bags, makeup, clothes etc etc.
makes me quite faint just thinking about it.

and I just shifted to my current place a few months back.. im like homeless wandering .. haha

cha_cha

Any of you ladies "An-chuang" by urself and hubby? My future MIL pass away 2 yrs back. My parents suggest that we "an-chuang" ourselves..

akino

hey ladies how was the GDL today?

btw you know on AD that the groom will be coming over with MEI PO? so our parents also gotta give mei po angpao right then normally how much would that be?

felifeli

hi babes,

cheer, rite... i gt it already...

jascmy, same same... i gave up in fb ... too big already... do let us noe ur gd news...

iris, same same i wan to hv baby tooo... hopefully before end of this yr i ll hv a gd news...

saggiegirl

hello all

had our GDL today
at 8am onwards

for my side everything settled by 2pm as we only have 3 tables for relatives
had the famous fried prawn mee at Cambridge Road hawker centre for lunch

hubby side need 2 days to go ard as he had many relatives
his relatives occupy about 14 tables .... so i guess tomolo (and maybe me) will be running ard SG

now back at home to paste xi stickers, prepare the red cloth, and of coz wash all the accumulated laundry

saggiegirl

akino> for us we have no Mei Po. On AD, hubby and his 2 brothers will carry a tray of oranges (da ji da Li) in the morning

ours is much simpler in that sense, no mei po, no cakes, not much of sabo-ing
... hmm... the angpaos has no market rate de

saggiegirl

akino> yes i paste alrdy once GDL completed as according to both sides instructions
....then hubby hang the red cloth tied with 3-D xi letter at our love nest door...

now left with An Chuang on 1 Dec 7am

taime81

Just went to my hotel to confirm my stuff last night. Hotel change a new ang pow box so selling mine away.

1271526.jpg

1271527.jpg

Btw, which dishes did you all choose for fish and abalone?

For Fish:
Steamed Soon Hock with Superior Soya Sauce or Steamed Red Garoupa ‘Teochew’ Style

For Abalone:
Braised Sliced Abalone and Mushroom with Spinach
or
Braised Sea Cucumber with Abalone and Spinach

saggiegirl > Went to OCBC and change for some $10 and $2 currency .... though not totally new notes.
Going to pack them into ang pow later on.

I am just not sure abt the traditional, i need to give all brother's ang pow, i know. But when i go to fetch my bride, i also need to give all her sister ang pow also? Then my bride gave her sister's ang pow liao, come over to my side, also need to give all my brother angpow?

During tea ceremony, we need to give an ang pow each from the bride and groom to those who are "smaller" than us when they serve us tea?

akino

for me, my mother and i give my sisters angpao. HB only need to give the gatecrash angpao for sisters. then i'm not giving his brothers. but my mother is. is just for yi shi yi shi.

from me- sisters, MUA, my youngest cousin to open the door. yi shi yi shi

from hb- gatecrash, PG/VG, brothers, driver, open car door angpao, emcees.

for the tea ceremony i think u gotta ask ur mum. i asked my mother in law, she said we need not give my brother-in-law n sister-in-law's children which are our nephew n nieces. because they r too young to serve us tea... well thats what she said. they are around 12 years old.
mom says cousin no need serve tea. only immediate family. eg ur younger siblings- then u need to give them angpao

blurbaby

for mine.. not sure if i need to give his brothers AB?? I will give to my cousins & siblings(20) & jiemei though i will be sponsoring them the dress.

can i ask if there is any teochew bride here?? As the auntie from the shop said we don't need the umbrella but my mom insist that we need to have... i just wonder..

not sure about sil & her hubby & daughter...

saggiegirl

Charmaine> our fish = steamed garoupa in HK Style... our abalone = braised sliced abalone with mushroom & beancurd

Garfield> i exchanged all my notes alrdy
with my MIL ... $2 & $10...

for me, i give my helpers a small token..

for hubby, of coz he must give angpao as gatecrashing... FMIL will give angpaos for my helpers & his brothers when they come over with me during the morning tea ceremony

i will give an angpao for hubby's sister when she serve tea to me as i am officially her "da-sao"

for myself again, i will prepare all angpaos for my MUA, PG, VG, Evening reception helpers, Emcee.

taime81

Which dishes is better actually?

For Fish:
Steamed Soon Hock with Superior Soya Sauce or Steamed Red Garoupa ‘Teochew’ Style

For Abalone:
Braised Sliced Abalone and Mushroom with Spinach
or
Braised Sea Cucumber with Abalone and Spinach

jenshines

Hello everyone,

I have finished my GDL today! Went to so many of my relative houses. It's quite tiring but a happy one
I also have a meipo.

Charmaine > I feel steamed red garoupa in Teochew style is better cause I think it tastes better and red garoupa is a more expensive fish compared to soon hock.

junel

Charmaine, i would choose Steamed Red Garoupa ‘Teochew’ Style & Braised Sea Cucumber with Abalone and Spinach.

Just had my hens night yesterday!! its fun!! hahaha... With all the laughters & MEN!! hahahaha

angbao:
XD -> us + both parents
JM -> gatecrash + both parents
VG, PG, MUA, Chauffer for bridal car -> us , dunno parents are giving a not..
open car door angbao -> one for my side, one for his side
the ppl who help in the tea ceremony -> us

We will also be giving additional angbao to those who drive their car.

us = 1 ang bao as we do not separate who pays for what..