(2009) Brides of year 2009

sun_tan... my solemnization will be in church.. by the priest..hehe..

starwee, haiyo.. wat ashame! no such thing lah.. maybe we can try to help u? bt firstly, hav u set the date yet?

we talked about it and we are keen on 20/09/2009... but i think looking at the list you compiled, we can't possible get a decent venue for ROM or AD...

Starwee,
You can try calling up the hotels. Judging on the no of tables that u need, they will recommend on the suitable ballroom. One hotel normally has more than 1 ballroom, so can try.

Sun tan
Lalaa
guinguin

Haa.. thanks for created the list for me

Yalor, only me still have not book for banquet.. haahaa.. very stress now.

we went to see GCW last week, but still not yet decide coz his mother is vegetarian.. GCW is using same wok to cook! abit problem here and there lor.. we have try to asked for few banquets leh.. they are same too.. hmmm.. most probably will ask his mother tao pao ba.. but v funny rite??
kao_shy.gif

gal, dun sound so demoralize leh.. sun_tan is right, singapore have many hotels wat.. try to estimate ur no of tables 1st then call up selected hotel. every hotels have few ballroom, diff layout..

u have any hotels in ur mind now?

we're planning to announce it to both our parents our plan.. and based on some comments i read from SGbrides, seems like 20/09/2009 is not a good date for couples born in year of Dog and Pig... both of us hit the jackpot....

my boyfriend's parents quite into fengshui.. so we really REALLY need to consult them soon so that we can start actual planning

Hello darkchocolate & starwee, welcome...

starwee, do u need a master to get an auspicious date for u? cos this date might not be auspicious for every1. Wow... 20/09/2009 is a popular date, i think its quite hard to book hotel venue now. can try country club or restaurant too..

Darkchocolate,
Maybe you can discuss the arrangment with the hotel ppl. Ie, you buy separately, the vegetarian food from outside restaurant, then ask your hotel banquet staff to present the food to your mom, dish by dish, following the order of ur banquet. So in this way, u wont need to use their wok, and its also presentable.

chloe, exactly. i just started visiting sgbrides today.. and i saw a post somewhere that says not a good date... esp those born in year of pig or dog..

and that means we may face a problem with his parents.. who do consult fengshui... so this will be tricky.

no matter what, we want our wedding to be in Sept - cos both our folks wedded in Sept. so we like the idea.

Hey Raine & everyone,

Thanks for the update abt the band. Hmm... think we'll prob save up $$ for the house & honeymoon instead. Will prob go for ultra simple wedding.

Raine - u're gonna be in a kebaya too? Me too! HB is Peranakan. But will not be making the kabaya here. Will prob head to Malacca at the end of the year to tailor it there. My FMIL said it's much nicer and cheaper there.

yeah.. sun_tan idea is great! and is it a must that ur dinner in hotel? hav u tink of restaurant? few restaurant have very nice food too like peony jade..mayb can ask? i tink you shud look for tungshu master to chk for u 2.. actualli 20/09 is a very good date for most of the year.. try ask.

fengshui is relate to auspicious stuffs, i tink is advisable for u to look for tungshu master to get help..

Starwee,
Added you le. Wow both parents wedded in Sept..hmm..i also dunno my parents got married in which mth..later must ask them. Hee..

Ya consulting fengshui is tricky..actually me and my parents are not very particular with the fengshui thingy, but my htb and his parents are into such things..so no choice got to follow loh. We got a few dates, from sept to dec..but all the dates have been booked for the few hotels that we have checked with. So its better to set ur date and start sourcing for hotels le.

if u need a master, jus let us know, we can intro. get a date fast if u wanna wed in sept so date u can start planning now. saw the news last night, sept is a popular month for weddings!!!

HAIYA! how come my line all so messy!!!

yeah.. sun_tan idea is great! and is it a must that ur dinner in hotel? hav u tink of restaurant? few restaurant have very nice food too like peony jade..mayb can ask?

i tink you shud look for tungshu master to chk for u 2.. actualli 20/09 is a very good date for most of the year.. try ask. fengshui is relate to auspicious stuffs, i tink is advisable for u to look for tungshu master to get help..

Four seasons just called me - say 20/09 fully booked.. so is 19/09... i kinda expected it judging from the list by Sun_tan... (it's a fantastic list!)

We intend to break the news to our folks during the wedding anniversary celebration dinner -- so hopefully, by Oct, we will firm things up.

Worse come worse, i will just do ROM first to secure 20/09/2009. That's the date i'm after. for AD, i dun mind keeping it for later date, if not at all.. haha

Wah,..suddenly tot of this: If sept 09 is a popular date for marriage..think we have to inform our guest earlier? If not they kenna "book" by other ppl then die?

Starwee,
The list not done up by me..its by the other forum member,,me just helping to update only
No prob, do let us know after you have confirmed your date, so that i can help to add you in

speaking of informing guests, have you all been talking abt the wedding to friends and relatives? or issit a private, behind the scene thing for now (since still 1 year from AD)

Wow! You all have already started planning so early. So meaning if i want to held my wedding on nov 2009. I should start the planning now..

Oopsy.. I am late already...

starwee,
For me, all of my close frens and colleagues alr know that i am getting married next yr sept..some ppl sometimes will auto ask "when u getting married"..haha so when they do, just tell them loh..especially when attending wedding dinners, ppl like to ask "So when is your turn". haha..also i have a wedding blog..so my frens can be kept update of whats happening..

hahahhaa....seriously i had to go thru all the posts since morning till now....u gals really rock man....so many see until my eyes become like tis liao @@ WAHAHHA

sun_tan...doing the wedding blog is one thing...u can also do it an angmoh way where they like to inform their guests earlier before giving invitations by doing a 'save the date' card...u can send them online also....save $$

hehe... so do i.. i have it in my facebook too, the website countdown ticker! haha.. in blog too..

mayb by may/june we shud remind ppl liao.. hehe, super KS.

we realli jamming this forum.. haha...

actualli i did hint my friends my wedd date, sum said, wa lao.. still 1 yr to go leh.. who will knw wat happen ah? like tis leh.. so sad..

Grace,
Yup, cos the blog has a RSVP function, so can use that. ya mine too, when they ask, i tell them to mark down on theit calendar too..so i "book" their time alr..haha..

Haa..sorry for jamming the forum..am free today and tomolo..so would be online most of the time. From Wed onwards busy up to next week le..so pls bear with me :P

Btw, seems too early to ask this, but will u gals be making/buying dresses for your jie meis? Me thinking of getting them same/similar dresses so it would look nicer.

Guin,
Wah..why they say who knw wat will happen? wat they trying to say...nowadays its very common to informally inform ur guest 1 yr in advance. My colleagues also do that..got a few getting married this nov and dec and they alr inform us since last year.

Its only a natural thing that when u have confirm ur date, you wanna share this happy celebration with others mah..duhz..all my frens congras me when i tell them.

i will jus let them wear watever they like, maybe ask them to wear same colour. will get them wrist corsage.

i only tell a few friends. they are happy for me too.. guin, ur friend so bad.

ya, those not realli close lah.. like ex-colleagues.. they dun wan to promise bcoz in case they cant make it. but i feel bit sad lor.. so far my close friends all alright, wen i told them they all congratulates and happi for me too..
dun tink 2 much lah.. no point also.. yeah, RSVP quite useful.. hehe..

i wont making/buying dress for them, juz inform them wat color theme for tat day lor.. corsage will be the same..

hehe, im quite free also tday.. keke..

Icic..cos that time my sis bought us same dresses. Each tube dress only cost $48 (plus altering to), but too bad the shop closed dwn le. With the same dresses, the photos turned out very good! Trying to source for cheaper dresses.

Hey so u gals still wanna meet up?

Hi Starwee, it's best to go check with your master on the auspicious date suitable for you and ur FH. Initially me and FH like 20092009 but then it clashes with my MIL coz she is born in the year of Dog.. Then we were given 3 other dates and 27th Sept '08 is one of the auspicious date given to us. I believe there are other suitable dates for you in the month of Sept.

Sun_tan, me also same as most of you gals, when people start asking me when is my big day, I would tell them coz scare wait they kenga booked by other wedding couples. Hahaha..

I can only log in after office hours, really envy you gals.

next week i'm alright... fav, chloe, lala, grace, darkchocolate, starwee, u gals ok with 23rd Sept(tues)? welcome to suggest any date/venue

im logging off now...tomm chat again ya! tata!

Fav09.. im envious of u le! u at home so fast oredi?? i now only knocking off from work leh..

err guinguin whole of next week a bit tough for me le.. how abt the followin week? maybe oct 2? sorry for bein so troublesome

Woah.. so many posts jus in 1 day :P hehe everyone seems to be getting very excited. 1 more year to our big day!!

Chloe: Did you ask NCQ for 20 Sept also? How come u got $888nett? Mine is more... cos HL said is PH pricing.. $999 nett
But did manage to get abit more perks in exchange

Sun_tan:
I told all my good frens to reserve that date next year already. hahaha... must make sure they give me priority :P
I had a few frens who got their jie mei dresses done at a tailor... same cloth but jie meis can choose their own design. Dunno if i shld do tt also

Darkchocolate: I confirmed my venue quite recently only... hv u tried sheraton?

Hi Hui

Yeah hehe u 2?? i intend to go late Dec leh... the boss tht time told me to go 1/2yr before my AD, he say nw too early later 09 gt new design

"next week i'm alright... fav, chloe, lala, grace, darkchocolate, starwee, u gals ok with 23rd Sept(tues)? welcome to suggest any date/venue "

where are u all going? girls night out?

Hi Wan Yi,

You can start by confirming a date and secure your venue.

You are not very late. I am still waiting for my venue confirmation. The rest, haven't done yet.

raine,
haa.. quite okay. I had to cook and clean also wor.
I see.
But do take note, usually renovation contractor/ID don't work during CNY for up to 3 weeks. :p

Hi Rain, u r going to Marg's? Do make apptment first! =) I have her wedding packages should u b interested. But not in depth details lar... hehe just let me know ur email then i will send it to u. =)

Btw, i went to select the pre wedding photos last sunday. Took me 2hrs to select 38 photos. Quite satisfied with the photos.

But co-ordinator do not let me take the raw photos back as she mentioned they needed for further touch up as they don return raw unedited photos to customers. So me and my bf make a special request that we wanted raw unedited and edited photos back. Now pending for their answers though.

And we also add another 12 raw unedited photos that we did not select for our album to be added to the CD ROM for our keepsake. So total i will have 50 photos in CD, main album will only have 38 photos.

Once i gotten their answers in regards to the request we have make, i will try to get the photos to share with u all. =)