(2008) Brides of year 2008

thanks girls!! i already told my HB no more changes and no more comments.. We just concentrate of getting the wedding going.. Those traditional customs, I will listen to her.. but others, don't expect I will change my mind.. oh ya, she even says don't want the yum seng.. then i tell my HB, we are not that english english type, why don't want yum seng?? pls lar, most of our friends and our parents friends are chinese chinese one, how can don't want the yum seng?? she thinks very cool without the yum seng, like those ang mo.. but we are not their kind..

comments from nosy relatives i can really ignore.. but MIL leh.. how to ignore.. my own mother, i can still tell her directly.. difficult to tell my MIL leh... especially when my HB always listens to her.. haiz..

forget abt it.. i've told my HB, all the things are finalised, no more changes.. any changes, he got to do himself.. i will not do anymore.. i told him, AD schedule is out, just tell ur mum what time ur relatives need to come and what time they need to be at the hotel, that's all..

i will be staying with my in-laws after wedding.. hopefully not much conflicts.. i will not argue too much with her, cos it's not my house, so got to listen to her.. actually i'm fine with her telling us this telling us that.. but sometimes, especially things concerning myself, i wanted to make decision by myself.. that's the part that I'm not so happy about..

I heard of Photostory.. But I read somewhere that it doesn't work with Vista.. -_-... Nothing works with Vista, SIGH...

Anyway my PG is from JB and he has worked in both JB and SG BS before.. His comment is that JB BS go for a lot of hua1 yang4 (e.g. lots of different gowns to wear for PS).. So what they do there is just quickly snap snap a few pics of every zhao4 xing2.. SG BS less quantity but more quality.. He says in SG, he has more time to try out different angles and poses.. He also said the studio equipments in SG are much better (and I suppose that translates to better photos..? Heh)..

And just to share with those who are haven't had your PS.. One thing I learnt during my PS is that quantity will inevitably result in lower quality because of limited time.. Before my PS, I actually very gian to wear a lot of different gown / traditional outfit and requested BS to let me have more outfit.. But on the day of my PS, I realize even with 4 outfit, we were rushed like crazy and weren't given much time to pose properly towards the end.. On hindsight, I should have just forego one of the traditional outfit in exchange for a proper job done on the other.. My hubby also felt the same way, he didn't like our last zhao4 xing2 (which was done in a rush).. Oh well...

So you'll need to decide: Quality or quantity.. E.g. when picking OD locations, if you want to go locations that are far apart, or you want to go many places.. bear in mind that it just means the PG will take less photos at each place..

i realise all parents will try to invite ppl from everywhere..

i'm controlling my mom abt it.. i warn her to invite only those i know.. its weird that ppl give their blessing when i dun even know who the heck they are..

my guestlists is overflowing.. my budget also stretch to the limit..

We must strive on, once we cross the hurdle.. everything wil be good.. 加美加美. cannot 加油 (add oil, NO NO)

I hvn't been doing much wedding preps recently and hvn't been around. seems like u r doing fine except...

Rach, green
I think it's quite common to hv such thinking, to give up or reconsider the relationship, but maybe bcos we're too excited abt it and hv too high expectations. Nothing is perfect, men and women alike.

Green,
My MUA also said that I hv to pay $100 extra for every hour before 7am...

Crown,
My geomancer said my auspicious time is 7am - 11am. Luckily he gave a wide timing for us to play with.

Spoiltbabe,
You are sooo right. Those older folks who dun even know us.. haha... they'll increase the loss, but wat to do. Initially, my bf's father wanted to invited 30 tables of just his relative and friends only. We had a hard time looking for venue. And now he unhappily cut down liao, after my bf repeatedly talk to him.

Green,
I also used the money in our joint account to play shares leh. haha.. but I did tell my bf and he agree lah.

Fanny,
my GDL is 1 sept, AD is 14 Sept. I sms all my friends or verbally invite them, and tell them my invites not ready yet. So my guestlist is more or less confirmed, apart fr last min cases. But since I'm not pan dang, I might distribute the invites in Aug (lunar 7th mth). As for the older folks at my bf side, I let them settle themselves.

YL,
I envy you... now can relak one corner liao. I still hv loads to do.
- painting house and furniture
- gown fitting (hvn't even bought my shoes)
- trial make up
- photoshoot
- choose flowers
- buy wine
- buy stuff for GDL, An chuang etc
- Book transport
- invites
- songlist
- seating arrangement
- wedding bands

basically everything!!! hahaha... stress...

Dor,

You are practically listing everything. haha.

For me, I only bought my wedding bands, had my photoshoot and bought my bed frame and mattress. Other than that, a lot of things still need to be done. And my FH has no urgency and want me to make decision for everything. I was pissed also. Like I am the one getting married. But no choice, I have to quietly do everything. Hope all these quickly get over and I can go for honeymoon and relax

i am not sure about the quality of shots, but one thing i am sure about taking more outfits is, you will have a hard time choosing photos..and maybe end up top up cos can't resist temptations to see urself look so pretty.

my SIL took 2 days to complete her photoshoot. cos she got 7 outfit! OMG!

i personally think one day already so tirring...2 days... haiz... hope her pictures taken on day 2 will not be affect by her low energy level.

actually hor, i really duno m i behind time le?
cos i dunno wat to do le..
till now still dunno wat to prepare..
somemore lazy oso
then i no nd to do GDL..my parent in laws say they nv do such thing..so one thing off which i m v happi..cos save time n money..lolz..
then now still tryin to slim down BUT still eating..lolz..
PS is on 25th jun!! v near liao
lolz...

btw, when u all go food tasting..if e food not nice, wat can we do? tell them and ask them change food or ask them cook properly?
wat is e purpose of food tasting?

Lara.. ya lor.. i now actually very lose hearted.. no mood to borther the attendance.. haiz.. feel like telling the ppl, 'take it or leave it'..

Hi leely,

I think what ur PG said is quite subjective... I agreed that JB studios have more hua1 yang4 doesn't mean the quality is not that. Is depending on the quality of the PG. Many of my friends' BS were in Singapore and their style and photos are so simple till anyone can do it.

Eg like my package, though it consists of many gowns, I am given 2 days for my PS. Hence lower pace and at the same time, we can have fun. Isn't the sessions suppose to be memorable? I think is really depends on how the BS want to do it. Cos' I understand that not many BS encourage or allow 2 days cos' they have to pay extra for your transport and MUA.

Hence Quantity might not have lesser Quality... In fact, many BS in JB have better customer service than Singapore ones... They are more flexible and less 'ji jiao'.

Btw, my PG from Sg Bridal is an international award winning photographer in some Canon competition and have been awarded a Master.

I think regardless of in JB or Singapore, there are bound to be good BS as well as bad BS. So can't really say which side better...

neko> i think its to give feedback on the taste, the arrangement/looks when served, to do a test-eat if the serving is fillng at the end of the banquet.. n most of the time, the BQ venue will decorate the place with the theme of your choice (if the bq has any).. n hor.. its also the official get together for the 2 families before the final event..

frankly speaking, i think food tasting is of no use cos on the actual day when they cook in bulk, the standard will drops, keke

So i think it's like a get together for 2 families and to sort out the details

For me, i make the food tasting session as my ROM. I will be having 2 tables so i just need to pay for 1 table

Dor>actually, some of the tasks on your list I oso haven't done yet.

Waxie>Yes! That was me. I v blur de. It was FH who spotted you. He even remembered your nick! :D

Neko>Food tasting for me is more to confirm my contract, favours, last try to bargain for more perks. But PIL will probably critique the food. :p

Dor,
For my case, it's a guy who gambled into debts of >50K 2 years ago and he gambled away another 20K ($$ for resales house).

Who dares to marry such a man who can even gambles away the $$ for wedding and house? 20K is a big amount to us as we dun come from rich background. A divorce takes 4 years to settle, so I must reconsider the marriage carefully.

yl> i was wandering ard, looking out for seats... i wanted to call u LSnTYL, but isnt it weird.. i vaguely remember you are yee lin, but not sure so i dun dare to call out. shout wrong paiseh~

oh ya.. need to confirm favours also..

Dor,
I haven't done 90% of the things on your list. Dun worry, there are still 3 mths. Why not start clearing some tasks these few week? It'll make yourself feel safer.

pin&jie>> If your BS allows you all 2 days for your PS, that would definitely solve a lot of problems yah..

I'm not questioning the skills of the PG lah.. After all my PG is also a JB PG himself.. hehe.. Think all my PG is saying is that when given more time, he feels that he can take better pics.. Or maybe the BS he worked for in JB is a lousy one that rushed him to complete the PS in one day, so you're right, what my PG said may be biased from his own experience..

I'm not saying JB BS not good either.. I'm just sharing what my PG told me, coz it makes me realize that I shouldn't have gone for more hua1 yang4, something I regretted on hindsight.. Coz as a typical BTB, when I saw all the pretty gowns at the BS and all the beautiful OD locations, I wanted to take photo of everything if possible.. But I regret coz it was really very rushed and I feel that quality was compromised at times.. (Me not so lucky, I only have 1 day for PS..

So warning other BTBs, not telling you all dun go JB lah, but telling you all not to be taken in by temptations to have many zhao4 xing2 / OD locations.. Must plan the PS session properly to make sure got sufficient time to do it properly.. After all we only get to do it once in our lifetime, we want it to be as perfect as possible yah..?

hey gals, i'm back from the hell exams, and i'll like to come on 27th too!

ok now i go back and scroll see wad u all write...so much!

Hugs, fully understand your position, Green. If I were you, I will also think carefully too. Marriage is a big step and if you don't trust him... Are you able to meet us next Mon? If not, maybe chit chat with a good friend? Hope you are able to work out what to do.

Waxie>Ya, it was me. I didn't spot you at all till FH pointed you out. I'm quite blur de. Maybe one day we can meet up for lunch.

Neko>Ya, also heard do food tasting about 2 months b4 AD. So I'll be arranging mine sometime in Jul after FH comes out of reservist.

wondering if anyone knows where is cheap and good to stay/visit in greece?

from my exp with sg bs and jb bs, service wise, i think the JB ones were much warmer and friendlier, cos i visited all the BS first with a gf (rather than bf)...the sg ones know i won't sign up that day, so not as nice and some didnt even bother to entertain us.

as for photo taking, i guess to each his own bah.
maybe some brides prefer more zhao xing since you cannot wear the gowns for other occasions and this is the one time with full make up/PG etc, so they wanna choose more.
but leely has a point, in that you may feel rushed when you need to change so often.

how to balance time with zhao xing really depends on what you want in your album: more poses in the same costume, or diff costumes but you may not have a wide selection of poses to choose from. so nothing to do with JB or SG bs.

LSnTYL > 春秋乌æ¥ã€‚。thats the one me and my fh went to @ wulai.so sorry for the late reply.I had been very sick lately,can't even go on the net for weeks.and my mil was here...and my fh is here..and I was looking for a flat..haiz..

rach > Step aside for while and take a fresh air.Its always impulse decision that makes ur regret things later..Cool down and think logically. There will always be a solution for everything,its a matter of time and perserverence.*hugs*

So...are we still meeting on the 16th? (^_^)

Lsntyl,
I would love to meet u gals but I decided not to. Becos I'm scared of dampening all the ladies' happy wedding moods.

My 2 good friends in late thirties got lend me their listening ear and gave me advice.

Green, I fully understand how you feel. If for me, I will definitely think carefully too cos I will not want to be in debt in future. Hope you sort things out soon.

Waxie,
I plan to allocate certain no. of tables to our parents. They themselves shall decide who to invite for those tables. This saves me hassles. Are u able to do this?

Crown,
Thanks. I'm giving myself these 3 weeks to observe my bf. Brooding over $$ lost is no use now, I just hope Bf doesn't repeat his mistake.

I've requested for: 1.admit mistake to his parents 2. put his savings into joint account 3. go counselling for gambling 4. close trading account

Hi leely, I understand where u r coming from... Cos' most BSs show customer fancy portfolio which plenty of time are given for the photoshoot as well as the production hence quality and style all very impressive. But when coming to the actual things, the lack of time become 1 big issue...

So is really very important to choose a good BS. If possible, try to avoid signing up during fair or maybe at least do your homework before going to fair.

No need to regret lah.. In future, can still take family photo or anniversary photos with more hua yang... Sometimes, simple is more lasting too... At least u won't get bored... kekek....

wor.. Greece.. my dream destination for honeymoon...

strawclare>no probs. Prob need to ask you and straylamb for the names of the mochi and other yummy food places again. Don't think I can find it back in this thread. Yeps, meeting next Mon. You got preference for makan place?

green>won't dampen our moods lah. At least won't dampen mine. Come out and meet us oso good. Can relax a bit. but up to you.
Your requests sound v reasonable.

Yah.. Greece sounds really exotic and romantic neh... Wonder if I can squeeze Greece into my Spain-France-Italy itinery.. haha.. Probably not.. >_<..

Cheryl: you means the guys one ar?? hmmm actually inside wear what also ok la.. u dun wear also ok..Singapore v hot le.. your hubby can tahan wear double collar?

hi leely, i think dec will not be the best time to visit greece... so I going there for a belated (or 2nd) honeymoon in May instead.. ;)

eee.. your itinerary is quite tight already, right? oh yes, over the weekend, we were talking for a few friends about going to Eur for holiday and my HTB made this comment. He will suggest not going to places like Italy for your 1st Eur city, cos it will "spoil" your image of a Eur city. I can understand where he is coming from. So maybe a good idea for you to do 1 loop starting and end in Paris.. ;) If you have more time, maybe wanna try to explore maybe Nice.. I think not too far from Paris..

Hi R&amp;J... calm down gal. really got 2 compromise cos a marriage involves two families. Me also trying 2 cope with it. Guess we all are.

Hi BBIguana... you also stay hougang area??!!! Me staying near the HGCC after marriage at my HTB's house. Keke. Intending to get a flat in Hougang after honeymoon.

Hi berry egg... for the ang bow box, it depends on you. Since your mom is collecting them on her own, you might wanna check how she wanna carry them. cos usually relatives will pass the ang bow directly to our parents and not at the reception. Mayb u can tell her nicely, dont think she want to carry a bag to put all the ang baos and carry them all night. U can use the two boxes tt you've gotten? Put all your parents' invited guests in one and the rest in the other. So later no need to sort out. Hope this helps. Hee...

Hi Mary Chan.... welcome!! have you solemnised your marriage? If so, mayb can show your ROM photos on screen display?

------------------------------
Update on my status....

Done video shoot on Sunday. Tiring day but the weather is on our side. Everything went on smoothly. Finished all in one day. Amazed. Think God is watching over us. haha! Our story needs alot of inner feeling scenes. Luckily not much NGs. But too much inner feeling overflown... Cant wait to c the final result.

Construction is done at my HTB's house. So will b shopping for funiture tml evening. Haven't bought our bed ah!!!!! Opps! Stay calm....

N now we got to look for London accomodation for our honeymoon cos last min cant stay at my friend's house (which was the inital plan). Additional cost for us!!!! :P... Stay calm....

A friend is in France now and sms me she has bought a guest book there. Wah! So touched. She even found light purple one. I like purrr...ple... ha!

Think tt's all for now. Let's all stay calm and communicate with our new family members.

same here, my JP is Mr. Chia too....
i have yet to book my date in rom...
wonder if for solominsation ourside, will there be possibility that the slot is full?
mine is in sept..