(2008) Brides of year 2008

~sblbee~

jac,
thanks for ur well wishes! officially i'll b on leave frm wed onwards, bit i'll b going down to ROM to collect my ROM cert tm....boy, im so excited

i'll definitely keep u gals updated when my AD is over....:p

nelle,
omg, im so sad to hear tis news abt ur mum, send my regards....im sure she'll get better n hopefully b well enuff to attend ur wedding....most imptly is dat she's ok....do take care of urself ok?

msclaire

Nelle, oh dear so sorry to hear about this. Good to also know her condition is now stable. Like Mei said, most important thing is she is okay. Don't be too worried, things will work out somehow. You know where to come to if you need a space to pour out your feelings.

dodolet

Nelle, Oh dear.. so sorry to hear about it. *Sayang Sayang* I know you are stressed by this and it almost ur wedding date. My prayers will be with you and your family. I think you best talk to you hubby and ur in laws and ur aunts to see what is the best course of action to take bah.
For the GDL can get ur aunts to help as ur elders in ur side.

Fiona, i think i know who too.. but Jac's one still the most chio gown... ^^

lsntyl

nelle>hugs. hope she recovers soon. try not to worry too much, k? she must be better if they are transferring her out of ICU.

wah, I must be the only one who's blur and doesn't know who jac is referrring to...

nelle

Thanks, girls. I need all the encouragement.

The wedding preps are really alot of work. My aunts will be acting as my 'mums' on GDL. I am very fortunate to have them cos they make a lot of decisions for me and do away with a lot of GDL items so that it is a simple process.

My FIL are really nice to me, they also buy things on our behalf to make the GDL, AnChuang and 'move house' process easy.

All of us just do the 'have to do' and remove the old traditions (with no meaning/no one knows the meaning).

My partner and I are glad we are well-loved. Regardless anything, we are throughly blessed I would say.

fionachua83

sotonglet, ya lo i agree jac's gown still the most chio.

meiling, wish u all the best to ur successful wedding.

nelle, so sorry to hear tat hope ur mum will recover well in time for ur wedding dun be too stressed out.

summer_ice

anyone can help me?

i need to order cakes for my GDL... and we are looking for those rectangular sponge cakes with white cream and green/red coloured stripes on top, or choco rice on top type.. about 10 pcs per box..

anyone has any good recommendations? i dowan to go ard buying the cakes to test and taste before i order.. i tink the weight i lost over the months will all come piling back! hehehe

lynnqi

Jolene: ya hor. later chaos. Hopefully Neo Gardens does serve that early.

Lost: I did brown highlights for my PS. Maybe i will do red highlights instead of full head. See my colourist suggests bah. Cos my hair does not absord reds well, very fast fade one.

~sblbee~

nelle,
no prob, dun b too stressed, relax n concentrate on being a beautiful bride which u had started planning ages ago....juz keep in mind dat we'll all b here for u if u ever needs a listening ear
we'll pray for ur mum's speedy recovery

fionachua,
who r u referring to abt jac' gown? im curious leh....i wana go n kaypo n see oso :p
thanks for ur well wishes!

cynthia tan,
thanks for ur well wishes! will definitely need gd weather on my AD too....

eelin77

Anyone having a band? Are we obliged to provide meals for them?

And, any suggestions where I can get a nice folder for ROM cert?

Thanks lots!

ahnetsan

u gals still meeting up tonite mah? if yes, enjoy ok?

viv, relax hor... dun be stressed or angry, later not pretty pretty le....

yeah, me gg to cut my hair short after my HM.

eelin77

Jolene >>> don't be discouraged.
Try your best to accommodate la. And most important, it's YOUR big day, so try to enjoy it. Pamper yourself and arrange a massage a day before your wedding to de-stress.

jolene428

eelin = well... my situation abit sickening... coz my baby niece just born.. and my brother nt allowed to my wedding... and i m nt allowed to see my niece oso..

i find life very meaningless with all these craps......... coz long ago during japanese occupation...many ppl married with no time for customs and all and yet they are still together nw wat... i believe in mastering ur fate in ur own hands lor... abit pointless to believe ur family members will 'harm' u..

anyway we discussed the amt for helpers earlier on liao... i thk it depends on ur capabilities and the degree of their duties.. range from $38 - $88...

does the band belong to the hotel? If i use the band, it belongs to the hotel and i need nt feed them...

ROM cert? U will be given a folder for ur ROM cert during ur verificatn day...they also sell scroll container there...

porsche

Thanks Mrs Chiew... Once we give, does our parents need to give to?

Just want to make sure what we are doing are quite common among most couples these days.

jolene428

ehhh elsie kitchen is cheaper!!! 10 dishes for $12 each..mostly $12 is only 8-9 dishes....

but anyone tried elsie kitchen? Nice???

sighh... i thk i got pre-wedding depression..so many thgs not happening right

charma97

Jolene i tried elsie kitchen once.. not bad lar..

Yeah i also abit pissed with the custom thing. Last weekend just bought the baby basin.. I wanted to put at my own house. After I got everything done, then bring it to my mum place.. but my mil insisted to bring it over and not into my house.

During we purchase the baby basin. I got not enuff cash with me. So my hubby paid for it and my mil went "you must pay back the money to your hubby. it shld be paid by your side" Kaoz...

eelin77

Jolene,
The band is not the hotel's. I engaged them on my own, and they've requested for me to provide them with lunch pack. You think it's fair?

necrosis

mei,
so kpo ah? heehee...i think i know who fiona is talking abt also...
clue: WGs spree.
fiona, is the clue on target? :p

and yes, i think jac's tulle-sequins combi is much more elegant and the whole gown has a more gao gui (atas) effect. as my mom likes to say yi fen qian, yi fen huo... plus you wear your gown really well, literally made for you i know, but not just fitting, but carrying it well too.

msclaire, i think you're in my multiply long long ago liao lah!!!

nelle,
am very sorry to hear abt your mom.
at least her condition has stablilzed and she's well on her way to recovery. don't worry too much and yes, you are blessed. ;)
very good of you to appreciate those who help you in your times of need and distress.

blurz_ger

summer_ice: maybe you want to consider Pine Gardens for their cakes. many good feedbacks from my friends who bought from them. i will also be getting my GDL cakes from them but i have not tasted their cakes before lah.

keer: glad to hear that your dad is making improvements. may he recover in time for your wedding. take care.

jolene428

eelin, urs is lunch event or dinner event? Mind giving more info abt ur wedding? ROM ceremony? or wedding dinner?

Ohh.. hmmmmm aiyohh..i very stressed to choose the food..wait my MIL and GIL dont like hw?

i very heng choose the right clothes for them when we went shopping yest and they kept praising me to other ppl :p

nw to remind my MIL to bring my FIL to buy his shirt..alamak..i thought he will follow yest 0__0 now must bring him out again..haizz...

charma97. aiyohhh.. why ur MIL like tt... it's nt as if u wont pay ur HB back 0__0 my mum bought the pork legs for my HB oso mah then my HB give my mum $ back lor. We also dont have two bottles of same martel so my HB 'bought' a bottle from my mother...Aiyohh.. my 4gold lagi best.. i bought with my mother and HB so i left it at my mum's hse lor...until lately then we go and bring it over to my HB hse...

how come ur MIL knws ur HB paid for the baby basin? U went w her??

Haiz.. thk we all BTB very fedup with the customs...So ma fan... aiyoh.. can just have dinner or nt :p

Ahh..my GIL keep asking me to tell my mother to buy the da yuan and xiao yuan to bring over w the rest of the items...may i knw where to buy.. hw come my mum nv heard of the customs before?

eelin77

Hi Jolene,

Mine's a wedding luncheon. Band will play during lunch.

Do you have food tasting? If you have, then MIL and GIL can go for food tasting and then let them select menu, so they won't complain la.

Well, good that you already sorted out the outfits. My wedding is 30 Nov and my own mother has not yet gotten her outfit! She's so bo chap that she wanted to wear one of her old dresses!! (I almost fainted when she told me.)

For me, my problem now is finding a Kua that fits! All my MIL's relatives kuas are all too big for me... Pity, cos they all spent almost $1k each to have it embroidered in HK. Last resort is to rent, but really hoping to avoid that.

jolene428

Eelin, ur BS doesnt provide Kua or tea dress mah?

So urs is tea ceremony and a lunch buffet? Where are u holding it? Or just ROM and Lunch?

Actually my MIL and GIL v qingcai one lah.. haha and anyway everythg paid by my HB.. even the pinjin, 4 golds, bride's tables, GDL items...

Food tasting for catering? Ehh i dont thk have right? Hmmm no time liao oso..my wedding on 2nov.. haha..i better book my catering quick..

pinky81: are u ordering ur wine from Rasa? The one u tried is it charolette street? I am so lazi, i was thinking of ordering everythg frm Rasa...but then ask the coordinator to control for us...

Ehhh Check with u all ah... have u estimated the max loss u may kena for wedding?

jolene428

eelin: if urs is a buffet lunch then just count them in lor.. but if nt lor.. they will be playing throughout the lunch rite? then where got time to eat?

eelin77

Jolene:
I'd be happy to count the band in for buffet lunch, but hotel charges $100+ per head for buffet lunch, eh. I guess I'll just get helper to da-pao something nice for them la. At least it will be easier on the wallet.

lynnqi

yaya. the chinese customs are driving me nutz too. Why do we have to have to do this and that? Why stil have auspicious timing. Argh. Faintz

nelle

hi jaye. Welcome to our little-but-not-that-little family...hahaha....

You still have alot of time, if you have a simple wedding.
I presume the wedding lunch/dinner location has been booked?

jaye_yeo

No, decided , verbal booked" but not deposit.
deposit this sunday.
not exactly simple
initially wanted just rom, then his grandpa passed away so we have to do it within 100 days
then we nt ready with such a large sum of money,
so now everything -__-"
esp the Guo da li, ping jin my mum ask for $240 x 4 angbaos. she will pick and take abit and return but she wants to see that amount.
most of my friends just bao $88 or $188 or $688
Think stressing me n dh out...

jolene428

wahhh $100 per head for buffet?? So expensive!!!! why dont u have table lunch instead? Like more worth it...

haizzz.. lucky i dont have auspicious timing....

i m so sianz lor... itchy all over and wish to see my baby niece

where to find da yuan xiao yuan...... tis sat my GDL liao! Panick!!!

Lsn,
No sashimi. Got a few dim sums.

Ivy,
Try to apply hair mask regularly, it will help. I 'overcut' my fringe last week, so it's too short and strands are sticking out in funny way.

It's my birthday, not my bf's one hehe.

jolene428

hey hey! I realised u can find really low cost PG and VG who is freelance and can do almost equally good job from Clubsnap forum..

i knw of some PGs who are very experienced in freelance PG and only collect $250 for half day event... and if full day, thk still less than $600 lor...

i gg to check out the videographer there ^^

charma97

Jolene: Ya, they went with us to buy those stuffs. I did not answer her back but show my unhappy face to her.

So far I am expecting the maximum loss I had shld be around 3-4k ba.. Hopefully there wont be any loss.

jolene428

same goes for MUA, there are alot of freelancers there and the charges are really good lor ^^

Search under 'Personal Service Offered'.