(2008) Brides of year 2008

oh..by the way, i ain't a bride to be..hope u gals and guys dun mind my existance...
but i think I am more kan cheong to prepare for my SIL wedding than mine last year.

kokobrok has the same wedding day as me.

hi pin&jie
are you prepare to top up pictures? if yes, have an agreed amount on the MAX u r willing to top up.

then stay firm but poliet to refuse topping up more that what you r willing to.

my own point of view is, choose more of gowns u not going to wear on AD.

flora_bliss

I not sure if we can make reservation at Shokudo leh. And it can be very crowded. I understand from my fren that they don't allow you to go in until all your guests arrive.

lsntyl

Last time I went Shokudo, they allowed me to go in first and wait for FH. But not sure if they'll allow that for bigger groups.

eunicet

Rachel: I added you to Multiply also! And I set up Multiply solely for my wedding prep pics, so nothing much there too!! :p But looking forward to more of your pics uploaded!

SotongLet: I also got my rings from Meysons!
Simple design as well, and very affordable right...Quite happy with them!

Cynthia: I saw a checklist on this website: http://woyaojiehunle.blogspot.com/2008/02/time-checklist-for-wedding-preparation.html
There are also other useful links there! Hope it's useful! And so sweet of you to be planning your SIL's wedding...
She's your husband's sister or something?

lsntyl

Purvis street is a few streets from City Hall MRT, opposite the National Library. Shall we meet at 7 at City Hall than we walk over? Or all want to go there on your own? Both is ok with me.

I'm going over to JB tomorrow. Will take pix of bedside lamps there.

sooch

ooh, got kakis! my next appointment's on 18th, coz my PS is on 20th. I will do only french manicure coz they are classier - I won't recoil in horror 20 years later when I look at my wedding photos - haha, also got two very short mails coz they chipped off the last time I tried to grow it too long - sigh! prob gotta spend more money to do acrylic nails.

mrs kel, ya, i think the chairs are a little worn, the last time i went with my fren, we were also aching from sitting so long in them. it only feels better when u keep the massage function on. but bearable la, i like the ambience there

hello Eunice
she is my hubby's younger sister... so I am her "da sao"...
ahem..a bit weird to have someone older than me call me "da sao"... :p

eunic, you may add me too.. id:rockenton

~sblbee~

mrs kel,
i got d triumph nubra too....hehehe, i agree on d perspiring part, it's kinda detached on d body....hahaha, my coordinator was amazed by d amt of sweat it can collect....hehehee :p

rjwedding

nothing found at tekka mall.. disappointed.. will be trying the middle road one over the weekends.. yesterday too late to go over there...

i've seen a few people re-enacting their love story, my sister too.. so i thought pretty common.. but the characters are different and the storyline is different right?? anyway enjoy the process.. bet u will be touched going thru your love story again..

leely

Cynthia> Regarding your SIL wanting to just sign paper for ROM, I think nothing wrong with that.. It depends on individuals and our values.. To me ROM is actually nothing much, more to satisfy law and government (particularly HDB) than anything.. Personally, I will only consider myself married after my Chinese customary wedding in Dec.. I guess it's a lot to do with both my hubby and my traditional upbringing.. In the eyes of our very-Chinese customs, ROM is nothing lah..

On a side note, my hubby and I didn't spend a single cent on ROM (other than the registration fee).. (didn't rent venue, didn't print any invitation cards, BS threw in ROM dress/make-up for free).. Which leaves us more $$$ to spend on AD, which is what's important to us..

~sblbee~

fionachua,
nope i'll not b on leave but i shd b able to reach there b4 630...

sotonglet,
i'll wear sth simple to camoflage wif d surroundings so none of u can see me....den i creep up n scare all of u :p

nelle,
i think we shd stick to fish & co., i think shukudo wld b better for a smaller grp
im not sure they allow waiting for such a big grp given dat it's a fri nite :p

lsntyl,
no prob wif d bill....we can always divide
hehehee, dun worry, our nelle is v gd t maths de :p

nec,
wearing d same colour is cool but who will set d colour code? hehehee....

hi leely
i also agree with you that ROM is nothing, so i insist ROM and customery done together or else I will not move in to our lovenest.

in my point of view, no matter how simple ROM is, sure need photographer, but she say she not going to have photographer...I cannot trust my hubby to take pictures..

untimately the choice is her's..so i ain't going to force her or make her obliged anything..i think i have done my part to help her create a special day for her.

eunicet

Cynthia: Am sure you're doing all you can to help...And I'm sure it will be a special day for her because though it's only a signing of paper, it's with the one she loves, and will pledge to be with forever!

Anyway, just wanted to ask all your brides...Is a mani and pedi absolutely necessary for the PS? The thing is, I can only keep mine for a day because I'm part-timing somewhere, where manicured nails are a no-no! So I can prob keep it on only on my PS day!! So what should I do? Get a super cheap one (any recommendations?) or DIY or what? :p

wongfam

rayrachel> thanks for the ang bao listing..tot tat was quite useful. and yea, met up with Melvin yday... will let him know latest by next Fri.

hi Eunice - thanks for adding.
i am also very blur bride also, just like my SIL..my wedding preparation done by my maid of honour...that's why I am clueless in helping her prepare her AD in december... luckily i found this thread. somemore that time i got pre-marital blues..

my PS hor, i do manicure but wasn't done properly, in the end i remove everything and re-do myself. its not compulsary. there is a express manicure for $10..can be done anywhere like nail palace.

in my own view, if you already got a bottle of nail polish, then just use that bottle will do. but if u dun have nail polish at home, just nuy one cheapo one and apply lor..can save $10 leh... :p

earthsea

Hey Eunice, I'll definitely get them done for the PS becoz PS can capture a lot of detail, esp if you want to do shots like holding hands, arms around each other, that kind of thing.

One option is to get re-usable acrylic nails? I think you can glue it on and re-use them- not so sure as I haven't used before, but I'm considering them as an option. DIY just doesn't look as good- but depends on your skill level

For me, my AD is day after Xmas, so I'm just wondering if nail salons are open on Xmas day to do my nails. If I do earlier, sure to chip one.

eunicet

Hi Cynthia! Oh no, pre-marital blues eh? I hope things are going great and that the blues have turn into happy yellows! But yeah, I guess marriage isn't easy too, but working at it with someone you love helps...And good that you had your maid-of-honour! So now you get a hand at preparing lor! Hehe! Your turn!! With regard to manicures...I also think maybe can save that money!! I usually only stick to the colour I have anyway cos I dunno what other colours suit me! :p But was just admiring those brides' nail art! I know that one also can DIY though!

dodolet

pin, yours are all otr rite?
Ask yourself :
1) What type of materials you like? eg lace, taffata, duchess satin, chiffon, etc.
2) The Styles you like? eg ballroom, mermaid, A line, etc.
3) They neckline, halter? tube? heartshape? Dare to go low back or plunging neckline? or even see through lace type of style?

After deciding these, you have to go to internet or mags to search for the same type of design look and feel. Cut or print them out and bring them to the BS for ur gown selections. It will reduce the time and effort of they pushing the designs or materials you may not like. Also have a check list of styles/materials not suitable for you after you have tried (can also do the ones for suitable). It will make trying of the gowns more fun less of an hassle.

Cynthia, err I think even if she is not wearing the ring, get a gold one with design (not diamonds hor)that she can wear around her neck. Silver tarnish too fast and it is not tat much cheaper too.

Anyway, alot of guys dun really get involved. Mine included, except when it comes to de decision of the hotel, rings(cos he has to wear it daily) and the color of the shirts he wanna. Just get do a checklist for both parties to do.

hi earthsea
for what i know acrylic nails last for a month and its not a temporarily type. my manicurist told me its not suitable for everyone especially those with soft nails. I did a proper manicure for my AD at bugis..should be call PINC..

and then, whether the photographer will capture your nails will depend on his style of photography. if you did do ur manicure, u will ask him focus, otherwise if he take normal shots, its not really that clear. for those who add me at multiply, you can see my photoshoots.

pls refer to this link for the style of gowns to choose, i find it useful:
http://www.arcamax.com/weddings/gowns

hi sotonglet,
for the silver wedding rings hor, my SIL say she dun mind silver ring.. I FAINT! again..her choice lar. she say gold expensive now...

my pre-marital blues largely due to my doubts in marriage life, scared i cannot handle, afraid this and that lor..but a while only lar...i still think friends and family support very important.

hey sotonglet,
i just added u...pls approve me..

thanks ladies for providing me so much advise..i realised preparing wedding dun seem easy at all...

keer13

Hi Earthsea,
Yes, my ideal black velvet mermaid EG is quite sexy looking. If I take that OTR, I just need to pay half the price as compared to MTM. Do you mind a black EG? Or would you prefer to MTM another color? Appreciate your comments..
So, your mermaid gown is your WG? Saw at your multiply, your EG design is the one blue, right. Nice..

Hi Rachael,
I'm also considering Taiwan as my honeymoon destination. It will be my first time. My hubby love to visit Taiwan too.. Eat & eat & eat.. Haha.. So, you been to Kaohsiung & Kenting? Is it nice? How many days do you plan to go? I also thinking of going which city. But, I also thinking of Korea.. Can't make up my mind at this moment.. Haha.. Btw, saw that your wedding date is just 1 day after mine.. If we both go Taiwan, maybe we can meet there.. LOL!!

Hi Pinjie,
Recall, I actually have extra ring pillows to give away.. If you want, please let me know.

pinjie8275

Hi sotonglet,
Thanks for your advice! But that's a lot work to do wor... Actually I have in mind the type of gowns I want to wear but my friend told me to just go with an open mind. Cos' sometimes, u look better in gowns u dun like... kekeke...

As for Manicure and Pedicure, I would suggest using the re-usable acrylic nails too cos' dun have the risk of getting chip while changing gowns or etc. But remember to get a spare box of design too just in care 1 drop off... Nail arts can make ur hand look very good if u r thinking of having shots on hands, fingers and rings....

to those going taiwan for honeymoon, do remember to bring more warm clothings. last year i was there in end december, it was about 6-10 degrees celcius at night.

the good thing is, you can buy your warm clothings there because by that time they will be having sale to clear their stocks to prepare for spring clothes.

the sad thing is, u might be disappointed in buying clothes there cos the sesson is Winter.

earthsea

Hi Keer, if I really like the design, I don't mind, but I guess if family is superstitious then better MTM in another colour. So what colour are you thinking? Dark red velvet? Blue or green is nice too- or how about purple? Yah, that mermaid one is my "choped" WG- I haven't made up my mind yet, tho...might switch to another one.

keer13

Hi Erlina,
I'm also considering getting a Tiffany Charm bracelet & necklace as my 4dj. But, cos it's silver instead of gold. I'm hesitating if it's ok.. But on the other hand, if I buy gold & i dun wear at all. I think it's a waste of money.. Dilema..

Anyone, has any comments on this? Tiffany Silver vs. Gold?

Saw in the thread, a lot of brides DIY Ang Pow boxes. I think it's time for me to start to DIY mine as well. But, I clueless on how to do it yet. Do we buy ready made box & decorate or we use use a shoe box (Eg) to do it? Haha.. Please send me photos for those who had complete designing theirs.. Thanks! :D

keer13

Hi Earthsea,
Yeah, it's really more to accomodate the family in case if anyone is superstitious. Most prob, I will MTM.. I'm thinking of MTM in bright red as I find that it has a "royal family" feel. The design is a heart shape tube gown with some nice crystals at the bust area. At the bottom, the mermaid "feel" is made up of black "tulle". Actually, yes, blue will be nice too.

For your WG, yes, it's good if your BS can reserve for you while keeping your options open. No harm selecting another round till you feel your ideal design. For me, I also kinda "choped" my designs le but still don't feel right.. Hope I can stil change later.. Hee..

Btw, saw that you had posted something earlier on printing your photos by Tommyprint. May I know where is it located as I will also like print my ROM pictures into a album too. Are you intending to print your AD pics to a coffeetable album?

hello Keer

shoe box too small.. :p
u can get nice boxes from Daiso and buy some decorations there.

mine is a simple box decorated with 2 bears which is wedding favour from Pan Pac.

or you can go google to search for ideas of AP box. type Ang Pow boxes and select images.. hope this helps,...you can view mine from the header of my multiply website.

vernwyen

actually... mi too.. ahha..! i know where's NLB but purvis street? hmm... still blurz :p I need someone to 'babysit' me to the cafe eh.. we meet at city hall? Erm, how do i recognise you all?

pinky:
the shop is near to.....??

dodolet

hm...I can only access multiply at home. so later i will accept.

I have to get my own AP box and ring pillow and guest book too. I have to cater for my church, dinner though they are provding, it is on another day. >.<

keer, I rather have yellow gold, cos the value of the silver once sold drop dramatically. $$ face ah me ^^. I dun really see a drop in gold value also, and the value is in keeping. Also check if your MIL if she dun mind too, as in some customs they have to show the SDJ to the relatives 1.

Cynthia, cool. I think i will check out Daiso too. I wonder i can get bears at daiso too. ^^".

Pin, if you making ur ring pillow, may be we can share ideas. I am not tat good in sewing BTW. ^^

Earthsea, Can i see your gown too?

btw..the Ap box u saw at the header of my multiply website got add things to enhanced / beautify it... like the tie of the male bear, the tiara on female bear..and also the cushion which both bears sat on..all done by my SIL..

she help me a lot with my wedding..i also hope to do something for her lor..haiz..but looks like she prefer nothing to be done leh.

i will put in my full effort to do a good montage for her if she really want "nothing" for her wedding.

oh..ask you gers..gor GDL hor... did anyone just give AP? if yes, is it just give a normal AP or the AP have to write something on it?

one more 2 cents suggestions when selecting EG color..pls ensure the color is not the same as ur venue decoration theme or else u look like part of the decorations..and not outstanding.
choose a color that contrast with your wedding deco theme..

necrosis

cynthia,
pls add me to your multiply...

my ID: necrosi

better if everyone adds me, cos like sotong, i'm very blur who's on and not... :p

this thread moving too fast laio..

oh, i'll be doing my AP box too.
will be using those boxes used to keep reams of A4 paper?
maybe will trim to sligthly shorter, but overall i think the dimensions are ok.
easily obtained from office and free!!
just buy deco stuff.
i intend to just wrap w wrapping paper and use a glue gun to stick hot-fix sequins and crystals in as indian a pattern as i can make it.
(try to match my invitation cards as soon as i know what that design is)
i'm not the stuff toys kind of person, so no bears for me.
not even for car decor.

ROM to me also no biggy.
to me, i'm only married after God has blessed the union.
so even tho i'll be having my indian customary first, i wont think i'm married till after my church wedding

pin,
going to choose gowns is so fun!!
remember to take pics so we can all see see too!!

sotong,
as for making guest book, esp if it's for church, i think most pple wont write lots.
so a longer sheet that folds is a better bet than a book with pages and pages.
i mean, hardly you see guests turning the pages to write on a new page right?
even when the helpers turn to a new page, also guests just write a few words.
just my 2 cents lah...(those pges and pages ones look good tho)

rayrachel

crown> I'm fine...talking abt Ms Clarity...i tot of a Hong Kong Cafe nearby too.. opposite Bugis Junction..and we can walk to City Hall MRT after that to take train home.. u all interested??
Its about $4++ to $10++ for food..and drinks and desserts at $1.88++ - $4.88++ so i think its rather affordable..

waxie> haha.. good idea.. but we are doing personalised AP with our names printed.. so we'll just use the same AP for all.. we have 100 for $15 extra from Stefine. hehe.. supposed to be $70 one..

Kai Ling> yup.. my Hubby is ID..

hehe... can u PM me?? will give you his contact.. u ask him directly lo...
I dunno leh.. i not ID.. i insurance consultant.. haha.. :p

YL> neko is used to being chaffuered ard de la... she dun like to walk that far one.. hehehe.. :p

Pinky> nope.. i think will leave GDL stuffs to parents..whatever needs to buy..they buy...whatever no need..then save it.. so it'll not be our headache.. thank God both our mums are somewhat experienced in it...
so leave it to them.. haha.. :p

wongfam> cool... so how was ur meeting with Melvin?

All>So... are we going to Ms Clarity to eat??

necrosis

so is it fish &amp; co?
last time i ate there, i felt their fish too oily.
do they other things to eat?
a bit mountain tortise, hardly go there to eat lah. :p

let's choose a color?
let me be the first to suggest, then everyone can feedback and we can come to a consensus.

1) red (looks nice with the black roses you all are carrying)

fumiko_neko

keke...rach u noe me so well :p
anyway i tink if can get a place where got round table is beta..
if is long bench, hard to talk :p
but anyway, i will jus go whereever u all suggest :p
dun wan to spoilt the mood for deciding a place to eat
i will walk :p

crown

neko,

i am a direction nerd. I better meet someone and follow them there. i got prob recognise place one. same as you, i am always chaffeur by my HTB, keke

lsntyl

I can also reach by 6.30.

Black for the colour? I think everyone sure have at least 1 black piece in their wardrobe.

lsntyl

lol. You ladies all so good life got FH chauffer everywhere. :p I don't mind the HK cafe lah. Its at Liang Seah street right? As long as the location is central and not fast food, I am ok.

So how? HK cafe or Ms Clarity? If the HK cafe, best to meet at Bugis MRT. Can walk less. If Ms Clarity, can meet at City Hall MRT.