(2008) Brides of year 2008

Dor,
Yeah lor. No color can please everyone! So just go for the color u love!

bedazzle

for caterers, I think Angeli and Neo Garden are good. but dunno the costs.

green,
I wish to hv my house soon. more freedom, haha, opposite fr you.

Net,
Yeah it is ok. The color of table cloth is the most important factor that determines whether your gown will blend with the decor. Somemore, your gown is bling bling one! With your happiness on your face, makeup, hairdo, accessories on your AD, dun worry u will beat all other guests wearing black haha.

I would have gone for black color if my Bf isn't so pandang about it haha. I also like bronze but it looks awful with my skin tone. So far, black and red suit my skin tone most.

Where is your BS? Maybe I go down to your BS with u.

ahnetsan

green, me and bf do have a joint account. so far, the amount only $2k. we spent the previous amount on dunno wat liao, cant remb.

so we have to save again, so only have abt 2k now.
sad. not enough for anything at all

yeah lor, i also wish to have my own house. the thought of having to live wif my in-laws make me sianz. super sianz.
i think i'm better off living under SLE bridge. haiz.

Tomorrow I'm going down to my BS. Wish me luck to find a suitable OTR EG! I'm lazy to make more trips down there. Haha I'll snap my 7th month Getai red costume (EG), show u all, let u all laugh laugh, reduce some wedding stress.

simplyserene

Alamak.. I also getting blur liao. It was piyo1818 that gave the GDL cake websites. I've not tried Kyo yet. Maybe can send my fiance to go get them before he picks me up from work this Friday. If I do manage to taste them, will take pics and let u all know my comments.

Both Kyo & Chocz websites publish if you order more than $200 (I think), they will print your names on the boxes for free. And yes... free delivery! Really... The Chocz ones, though pricier than Kyo, are damn good.

I've got a whole lot of cakes to give out on 060708. 40 odd boxes *faintz*. Must do route planning on that day like SBS. Minimize the distance & no of locations. Hee...

Piyo1818... Congrats on your ROM! Don't nervous. You'll look absolutely stunning and will do just fine

Hey R&J... How did your PS pics turn out ah?

Hey Belleryn... Are you looking for traditional wedding cakes, i.e. tiered ones or small ones to distribute to relatives before the wedding?

Net,
Think many couples face the same problem, can't get a house. There are some possibilites for u to explore on housing... rent a place outside, stay separately first, or stay at own parents' house on weekdays and stay at in-law's house on weekends etc.

My friend wants to keep the $$ from her condo's sales, so she moves into in-law's house for a year. She doesn't like the MIL. What she does is to stay at own parent's house on weekdays...

Cheer up
Well there are advantages of staying with in-laws. Eg. U do less household chores, can eat homecooked food, have someone to take care of your baby etc.

me_jules

Well, I bought some paper from Popular, those thicker ones and some translucent ones as well
Printed on the translucent ones, made sort of a little folder with the harder ones and used a ribbon to hold it together

I made about 50, I think. And actually I didn't spend a lot of time. I gathered all my colleagues, bought them take away lunch and put them in a meeting room and set up a production line. HaHA

bedazzle

we'll be staying in my house first. since he'll only be around abt 5 days a month. no rush to buy a house yet. but of course, if can find anything within budget, then will go for it.

eunicet

jules:

Wahh!! So nice of your colleagues!
Must have been quite a bonding activity also lah...

Am wondering if I should make my own also. Since I have some time now...Though AD is like so far away!! I have 250-300 to make though!!! Wonder if that will drive me insane... :p

lexilicious

sorry MIA-ed for a bit - went up to KL to walk-walk-see-see and visit some old friends, just got back, was quite enjoyable to solo-drive up to KL from Sin

Cyc
I have Isetan card - what private sale? I haven't really checked through mail or anything le!

Yah I'm looking at catering for lunch after tea ceremny too, but my mom seems to be keen on an Indian caterer which we used before... not bad.. though yes, I know.. I'm Chinese hahah

Koyoyo
LoL i'll check back with u on MSN, too many updates on Multiply to sort through everything. Don't be upset over stuff - food is always the solution

Meiling
I disappear for a few days and you do more dmg to your wallet with more CS?!

fumiko_neko

ah net, i tot tat time when i wan to do black EG...ppl in our forum all against?
hw come u still go do black EG?
u not one of them to against?

tat time e reason given are..bad luck la, like funeral la...if e marriage failed, ppl will blame u for life for tat black EG la..
then if u wear black, u wont b outstanding cos now e trend for guests is to wear black..
then u will look ma chiam like guest and not e bride...etc etc
so many bad things mention on e forum tat i change e black EG to pink..
and u all post a few URL for me to choose my pink EG..
remb??

vernwyen

strawclaw / ahnet
erm... my budget is very very low.... $100 - $200 -_-" I do not need those fancy transitions watsoever coz we can do tat on our own, juz the raw cd is good enough. Now my fh is also finding friends on his side see if anyone can help. Actually many would be willing to, juz tat we do not have the hardware... sigh...!

vernwyen

ah net
personally i prefer darker shade for EG (got a mysterious feel) but will not choose black coz i know for sure my mum and MIL will oppose. Wat abt getting other darker shades of EG instead of black?

vernwyen

green
after much much much much considerations and persuasions from my fh, i now kinda accept to stay with inlaws liao. Tried so many times in house applications also failed and i do not want to delay our wedding bcoz of not having a house yet. Anyway they 3ppl staying in a 5-rm flat so there are rooms for us to choose. If not my MIL wan to sell away the house we would have stay there for good. Meanwhile, we can only pray for a good queue no. in our next application.

ahnet
do you have muslim friends? This is a halal certified caterer, my company has ordered from them before and i find their food is quite good. Pricing is reasonable too. http://www.stamfordcs.com.sg

aj_wech

i am leaving the catering to my mum, because no matter which one i pick, she will say she can do better. So better let her pick. hehe. my in-laws side, hubby will confirm later themselves.

sorry ladies, i cannot access multiply from here, it's ban in this silly country i am in.

i dont have the determination like polarwhite for gym. I do however, to make my day look better, Bought a corset/bustier. hehe ! it was difficult to find one, without those laces and too thick material. My designer told me cannot get one with laces, as it will show thru'the gown. and the good thing is, this is not too ex ! hehe!

raragal

fortunemew> hehe..thanks!
hehe..yeah.. u can consider Melvin..

www.melvinho.biz if u are interested.. for ur AD. he up his price liaoz.. $888

no wrong ah... where got wrong? correct leh.. :p

crown> i'm sure he'll do an even better job..he gets better all the time!

waxie> hehe.. thanks.. it was fun..

Soya> oh okie.. yeah.. :p Knew abt the current new name.

Yeah.. a nice day.. too nice that no sun. so no sunset shot.. sianz.. :/
But the rest still ok la.. no bites too.. hehe.. and not hot.. so still okay. :p

Sent u the planner liaoz.. :p

spoiltbabe> hehe.. yah.. the MUA wanted to curl.. but realised hair will be too short...so she changed..
So far i like the ones she did for me.. nice.. :p

straylamb> really?? urs is 14 sept?? hehee.. other days he very free wor.. but he up his price liaoz..$888 for AD.

ROM $388

Coz he does slideshow and screensaver and convert to video as well. very nice. :p
Ohh... i can recommend u another....
PM me... i can give u his particulars.. :p

dor> hehe..thanks.. yah... so good till no sunset loh.. was very rush too..
we went to our church building at Jurong West.. then to Botanical Gardens for the waterfall.. love the greenery photos though..
then to Sentosa for night shots... nothing left to see when we reach ... haha...

Stefine needs 4 months of production.. :p

strawclare> thanks!
I saw the gown only 5 days before.. abit tight.. but did my best to slim a little bit.. keke.> :p

Its Cao Ge's 爱爱

Ah Net> thanks.. :p PG chose the song.. he said suits our theme more.. coz FH very playful :p

Yah.. its the dress..super tight loh! haha... he did alot of editing.. :p

Manicure at Yishun Blk 293. Paid $50 for it inclusive of manicure + nailart. Cheap rite?
She's very good.. very patient.. took me 2 hours.. for it to be really dry.. :p
Normal Mani with nailart..she drew the flowers and added the bling bling.. :p

At least u have $2k to start with.. we started with $500.. and now.. i'm 5 digits in debt. sianz.. :/

koyoyo

wow
suddenly all the gers are flying.. gers take care and enjoy your trip.. rem to remove makeup

So gers since u all travel so much.. which is the best country that you like to be in for "work " n for "leisure"?

Meiling,
Ur santa is in thailand..?? Hmmm dun worry ask him to get u some nice wedding stuff from bangkok or get him to tailormade some nice suit for himslf for ur guys Big day..
Providencia,
GSS is starting already.. i told myslf this yr no shopping but my hand are itching already! What are u gers aiming for this GSS?? I have a sudden fetish for shoes now!!
nEC,
I love to makan too will bring my hb to eat... last time he only ate abit now he ate way more than me haha finally i have successfully trained him lol
LSnTYL (lsntyl)
Even though u planned everythg the fact ur FH has made it ur present , mean he care for u tt very sweet of him la..it his way of showing his love.. haha time to train my hb on tt kinda of santa!!!

Providencia,
U are half-way there as a tai tai already.. since we are in this modern society , it better to work our way abit den our life will not be so empty.. so u are lucky get to be tai tai wannabe n still own a job n lastly a nice FH haha.. Rem to take more foto in ur europe tour ok!!
Hey gers,
Who has msn here? Care to link up for chit chat??

belleryn

Hi piyo1818 and s'rene..
yupz its for the GDL.. cuz my mon wanted the teochew cake and ah ma cake - to honour my granny.. i've checked out the webbies listed but it seems tat most of them were quite angmoh.. gog to chk out a traditional cake house near my place to see if they have the traditional and the angmoh ones..

btw the cakes are for the bride's relatives oni rite?? muz send out on GDL to all relatives too? **glup**

sairalinde

Yo yo...girlies..So much action while away. Trying to read up on the happenings. Seems like its about catering. I choose Purple Sage catering for my ROM at my sis condo. Choose them mainly coz needed someone to help me with decor of the place. Purple Sage provided me with that plus the food was relatively affordable. $15 per pax.

MIA for a few days trying to settle gown selection and also reno stuff. Yours truly managed to select my PS gowns within the hour. 1 Outdoor gown & 4 Indoor gowns. Abit worried coz my BS already said they will only adjust to my size. If i get bigger during this period, no more adjustments!! Streeesssss...

Anyway me so excited about the gown selection forgot to take piccies. So duhz of me, but a friend of mine managed to go with me and take video of the process. SO i guess that will just do for now.

Yawnzzz...k check back with you tomorrow. Been such a long day at work. Wish i can just NOT work and plan my wedding/ reno full time!! :S

belleryn

btw.. aft doing some research i heard sealy and simmons quite good but price diff is quite huge.. ard 1k bah with simmons being the more ex one.. maybe piyo1818 can consider.. still holding my purchases cuz GSS is coming so muz ren until den and hope everyting can be settled b4 AD.. haiz.. so mani things so little time..

Spoiltbabe,
Thinking on the positive side, u will bump onto mil only at nite. Eat dinner, watch tv, brush teeth...then it's time to koon. We also won't suffer the stress of juggling house renov and wedding stuff concurrently.

FH & I give up hope on balloting liao. Now trying to save up for a resale flat. Slowly lor...

Wish all the gals here without a house yet, good luck in next balloting!

Wat hardware are u talking about?
Actually we can use Powerpoint to create simple montages with transition effects, sound effects one. U can also consider Macromedia Flash.

straylamb

lsntyl, green..yalo early leh..coz mi MUA gonna run 2 more couples after mi..early surcharge dunnoe $80 or 100... anyway hoh... thk wont sleep at all leh..usually got event i can't sleep wan... for eg 1st day of new school, 1st day of new job... wahaha...
green... vampires?? i now thk of corspe bride by tim burton...
good luck in ur gown huntin!
dor... yap mi is teochew! but bf is cantonese.. u goin mac for breakfast in ur WG?? ;p cool! rem ask ur photographer take more photos! i wanna c!! hee...
waxie... mi hotel is holiday inn... e pool very small n quite old... mi coordinator say can onli accomodate less than 10+ standing guest... not enuff 4 mi... u wan 11pm make up? must last till morn leh... need touch up?
spoiltbabe... thk mi mornin is same as u... zhong qiu jie... must book ur MUA's timin faster leh... mi booked too late soo haf to b e very early one...
strawclare... if i still can't find a flat, thk also will not stay together w mi bf for the time being... mi mother also naggin me on tis...
anyway..ur MIL soo kai1 fang4 ask u to find lower cut EG...?? hehe...

Crown,
Yah I having insomnia. Work is too tiring these 2 weeks, so I tend to doze off while resting at table after working hours. Eg. I slept from 6pm to 7pm on my office table today before heading home :p now, cham can't fall asleep lo. I supposed that I should be able to sleep 2nd round easily cos I still feel tired but cannot leh. Someone, please knock me with a bat!

Now me look like panda bear haha. Waiting for weekend to come.

Straylamp,
Wow we have the same hotel leh. Haha which ballroom on which day is your AD? ;) It's better to use HIA function room instead of pool for ROM. Function room is FOC. I switched from Atrium ballroom to Changi ballroom but I'm still required to pay the higher Atrium's price for every table at Changi ballroom.

My bf very traditional one. Any dress above kneecaps, he will surely comment that it doesn't look nice on me zzZZZ. My red EG spilt at the leg like cheongsum, so he made a lot of noise about it at last appt. If cannot reveal, he might as well pass me a SARONG to wear as EG. Thanks, hope to solve the EG issue today.

princess_sue

morning gals!

tinky, haha i wont drink cough syrup like you do... coz i am too lazy to even see a dr. my mum told me there is cough syrup at home and reminded me to take it last night.. but hack...i forgot all about it again. :p

cheryl, oh.. summit so how do you like the treatment? Does it work ? Is this a one time treatment only?

Addy,

I totally agree with you... i wish i dun have to work tooo ! such a chore man... and there are just tons of unfinished biz ..bleah.... i am in the office since 6.45am this morning.... such a long day more to go man.

~sblbee~

lex,
hahahah....yah lor, everytime i make a trip down to M&M, surely suffer damage to my wallet but luckily tis 2 weeks fh not ard so wont tend to go out dat often except for catching up wif my frens on tis fri n sat...hehehe, jialat, my fitting is on tis coming sun n im still eating :p my PS is juz less than a mth away

addy,
yah, purple sage is gd wif their deco, actually had wanted them but mummy feels dat she prefers neo's food :p congrats! glad dat u've found ur gowns alrdy...dun worry, ur size wont fluctuate a lot within these 2 weeks one so dun worry n b a stress-free bride, worse come to worse, they can make some last min adjustment to d gowns one

vividz

oh ya, usually ppl send out the cake on GDL for bride's relative onli. But my mum funny one, she dun 1 2 send on that day so I dun need to go around with her.

I just recall I got something to say abt the T-dragon wedding card. I started folding the cards as I 1 2 pass to my mum, then I notice the wedding cards not nicely cut and there's a dent line at one side just beside the folding line. I told my hb, he said it's like tat 1 la. he said it's cos the machine mark, cos it's foc from the hotel so the quantity can't expect much. for me, I'm quite disappointed, print so nice card became like tat, some more it's just in front, anyway my parents also notice, so nvm.

~sblbee~

lsntyl,
oppsss....guz i've been taking abit more than him, ok ok shall b a gd fw like her n pamper him when he's back....hope to plan a little surprise for him for our wedding :p

koyoyo,
my santa is in thailand for reservist, dun think he got a lot of leisure time for shopping...n he's not in bangkok cos he's having outfield training so wont get to see d nice n cheap stuff...errrr....n oso i dun really trust his taste in choosing wedding stuff...haha, i'll b content if he can come back wif a box of pork floss love letters :p
i got a long shopping list for GSS...clothes, shoes, bags, accessories, beauty pdts etc...GSS, quick come....den i can stock up on my things le :p

florabliss,
guz u must have boarded d plane le...have a gd biz trip n cya back 2 days later

strawbsc

Ah Net > I not in your multiply leh.can add me? dan..Be happy..It is ur day,you must be happy with what u wear.You are the bride,not ur frens.Ur frens not wearing the EG mah..must be happy with your choice.

rach > thanks,rach.must go tell my fh liao..haha..we were pondering over the song all nite.jia you!!haha..I m in bigger debt than you for my house..which I just sold..I m just praying so hard it goes thru' so I can buy a flat,so I can be in lesser debt,my debt is 7digit ah and I have a family that are grumbling coz' they never live in a flat before which is driving me crazy and even more stressed up(there are alwaya pple that are in worse situation just that you don't know)...so cheer up..jia you!! ("p)

spoiltbabe> can email me @ [email protected] can ask me bro lor.like that..very low leh,coz' to rent the proper VG equipment is abt $300-400 the lowest lah.

straylamb> how I wish was like you,at least both are in the same country.me fh are living in different countries rite now,after marriage will be the same,thats not the worst.We both have jobs tat require us to fly alot.so alot of frens are advising me that I shod move lor.but but..I can't find a job there.

dor> I still have to wait for 22mths before I can get a new flat..this is so fustrating so I looking for a resale now lor.the price will drop soon bah.

haiz..last nite was the 1st time me and my fh quarrel.so sad.1st time for the 4yrs we are together,cry until now eyes like gold fish.going to see my chiropractor now and to choose invitation cards...dun noe how to cover up manz.my chiro will comfirm ask..he very kpo...haiz..he is more like my psych.

providencia

LSnTYL, i must really learn from you.

Jac, how about Compass Entertainment? They'll be playing for me.

MeiLing and koyoyo, where got half way to taitaihood? Only in my dreams... To be a tai tai, must have maid to clean the hse, play manjong, kids go to international preschools, go for luxurious holidays every now and then, have lots of bling blings, branded shoes and clothes and more than one branded continental car at home.
If I stop work, I'll end up shopping at the wet markets, not very glam leh.. hee hee..

MeiLing, oh only 3 days have past since he went to Thailand? I thought it have been a while, but no worries, time passes very fast.

koyoyo, i'm aiming for wedding shoes, wedding accessories, wedding gifts, own personal shoes, clothes, maybe cheap bags and yes, a new set of aircon. Tangs review this few days right?

praisey, i saw the newspaper article too, nice.

flora, have a safe trip.

msclaire

GSS...aim wedding shoes and a nice bag for myself...oh and an evening bag to go dinners...and maybe some clothes. Normally GSS dun really appeal to me cos they dun really have the sizes, or may be old stock. But this year i will try to find stuffs! Apparantly pple aren't spending as much money and there is less pple at sales already...just means less pple squeeze with us at the malls. might not be a bad thing:p

take care gals who are flying....keep safe...

my [email protected] me!

~sblbee~

providencia,
wif sg's std of living, i doubt i can ever b a tai-yai cos we dun have a strong financial foundation to begin wif...unless im marrying a millionaire lah...wah, i cant imagine i'll ever lead a life like dat, mayb short term if i ever struck TOTO :p ok, i'll b content wif ntuc shopping for d rest of my life :p yah lor, still got a long way to go n he can only call me nxt thu cos no reception in d jungle

hehehe...we r all into d shopping spree...jiayou jiayou, it's so funnie dat i dun usually shop dat much during GSS apart frm bigger items cos i hate d crowd n mess :p

msclaire,
i love evening bags too...hehehe, but not those branded ones lah...i cant seem to find anything frm GSS cos d things will b in a terrible mess n d crowd is horrible, cant even make my way thru n it's always so packed...smtimes i juz grab n go cos d queue for d fitting rm n or give up d purchase cos d queue for payment is simply too long...scary tot, hope like wat u've said, situation will improve but i doubt it :p

msclaire

i heard club marc has been giving very good discounts...like even up to 50% lately. I saw my fren's purchases and its very nice! Good place to check out.

~sblbee~

msclaire,
yah i did rcv d credit card update regarding d sale at club marc....but i didnt go down....luckily im not a great fan cos it means a hole in my pocket once again :p

crown

Ah Net,

I initially also chose a black gown then my colleagues all against it. I went down three times then confirm my gown. I saw your black gown, it’s nice. But the eldery will have things to say.

ebride

Mei: u gt a point logistical wise will be an issue..
my quantity is 30 pax, hw abt u gals?

Sue: Yap 1st treatmt unable to comment much..must wait for fw wks..

AJ: which country u fr? R u new?

Hmm that reminds me also to start watching my diet liao..if nt I k nt fit my gowns

polarwhite80

hi cyc,

i do not have catering for my side as mine is high tea n i having my tea ceremony in the hotel... so my side of relatives all will go to the hotel 1st.... only cater for my fh side of relatives, JMs, XDs....

hi lex,

u very steady leh.... drive ALONE up to KL ah.... pei fu pei fu..... even wif my fh alone, we dun even dare to drive up alone.... hahaha....

providencia

MeiLing, we shop at NTUC and support the govt lah. ha ha. lol

msclaire and MeiLing, like u gals, i used to avoid sales, cos I hate the crowd and I can never get my size, really disappointing. I've been to the club marc in Vivocity twice and twice, have been put off by this really really pushy salesgirl from China, so scared off that I haven't been back though I have their VIP card. Maybe will drop by if i'm in the vicinity of one.

vernwyen

green:
true loh, seeing their lifestyle i think i can adapt bah. My MIL usually reach home quite late wan and FIL always fly to Thailand for business trips. But at the same time we will still be sourcing for flats lah. Dun think we can get resale coz the price is too high and we do not have much cash in hand.

ooh.. keke... the hardware is... handycam :p softwares we got. How to film when we dun even have a handycam... sigh... I wan to film the whole process of the AD, especially gatecrashing! keke..!

Your bf so cute... haha! Protective over you mah :p

straylamb
oooh ya, you reminded me. Gotta tell my MUA soon if not have to pay more for her to come earlier -_-

strawclare
erm, your bro do until very pro wan ah? I have dropped you an email liao. juz ask your bro to give me a comfortable rate and i will discuss with my fh
TIA!

wat happened? is everything ok now? quarrel over wedding matters?

dodolet

prov, try the club marc at centerpoint, as they are less pushy there.

koyoyo, can add me in msn [email protected]

meiling, errr GSS will be bad for your wallet leh. ^^. Anyway without ur santa around means when he is back he will give u double amount of TLC!

Now I need to find a reasonable priced but good tailor for the lace i bought. I wanted to buy a dress, but fell inlove with the lace instead. >.>. Anyone have a good recommendation for tailor who is good for lace and below 200?? ^^