(2008) Brides of year 2008

Meiling, so envy... expecting flowers n crystals.... my hubby on shift this thur, will knock off only 2 hrs before 14feb ends and i doubt he have plans for this thur... Sigh....

Koyoyo, same same... i also run out of ideas le... now the very basic is to spend the day together and maybe have late dinner/supper...

Cyc, good that ur job enable u to travel n c the world. no travelling opportunities for me in my current job scope... shall start hunting again after AD.

and yes, i am still coughing but it does come n go... have get better around the CNY period but last 2 nites were bad... breathless and all... and few days back i start to develop blocked nose towards the evening hrs, but surprisingly, my nose will clear in the evening.... eeeehhh...... hate all the virus, hope they dun fren me soon... i dun need frenz like them...

Sue/Meiling, baby series of the coach bags r big enough to carry all my things... so my target goes directly to it... n definitely not to start BB planning so soon... thanks for all ur advise on the "handle" and i guess i shall keep my fingers cross n postpone the plan to get bags if need to be... now aiming small items like wristlet... u girls got lobang??

About Marie France, my ex-colleague spent 5K. She controlled her eating but remained the same weight leh :X She very heartpain about the hard-earned $$.

Try to check out the weight loss centre threads under Beauty before signing up those few K packages.

Me just sharing, leave it to u gals to decide.

oh shybride,
me working here lah, old liao....
no longer undergrad!!! sigh.

nelle,
wah, K2 then wanna pack bag and fly off!??! win lioa!!
must see her up-bringing how...
next time this kid becomes teenager how?
:P

wah...i feel quite stressed with kids....how to bring them up properly etc...esp when they start schooling, and may mix with some donkeys...how to teach them to have backbone and not succumb to peer pressure..??! lol...
not yet married, stressed abt these things liao...lol...

nec, i stress about these things too.. cos i work with youth offenders.. juvenile delinquents.. worried my kids will also fall into bad company.. especially since i can't be stay-at-home mum de..

Am going to Bridal Elegance on 9th March 2008 to finalise the design for my OTR WG. Shortlist 2 (1 for AD and 1 for Outdoor) in Dec 2007 so now going to finalise and see if there is any new ones to choose from.

sue,
hehehe....cos we both got most of d stuff we want alrdy so we decided not to keep each other guessing, i asked him to tell me wat he wants so i'll pay straightaway, how unromantic...den on d other hand, my fh finds it hard to keep it a secret frm me when i probe...hehe, so he tells me exactly wat he got for me for v-day :P
yah yah, we decided to keep it simple oso as we rather spend d $ on other things...juz now i tot he didnt buy any flowers for me so i tot of ordering d flowers for him at d florist den he said he has ordered long ago but nv tell me cos he wana surprise me...actually i told him not to buy but i changed my mind last min :P

tinkybell,
u cant b certain dat ur hubby didnt plan anything juz like my fh...he always bluff me he didnt do tis or dat but at d end, he'll deliver wat he promised

poor thing, still coughing? do take gd of ur health cos it's so sian to fall sick during a festive period like tis...get well soon ok?
btw, can u do me a favour? will u b collecting d paper cutting frm uksportgal? can help me collect? i'll get frm u when im more free cos im not able to meet tis sun...anyway ur hubby lives q near me so shdnt have any prob if i wana pick up d stuff frm u

actually d baby series is gd...in future when u wana use dat as a diaper bag :P wat kinda wrislets r u looking for? there r many sellers in d forum selling them n q cheap too...show me d design n i'll help to keep a lookout for gd deals for u

nelle,
dat's terrible...yah i feel like having a kid myself as well after looking at d boys in my sch, really cant imagine if my kids grow up to b like them...furthermore more n more students r having mental probs n weird illnesses dat i havent even hear b4....so scary

nec,
bingo! where r u wking? which fac? i got a fren wking in d arts n soc sci fac at social wk fac admin side...guz u must b doing research as u look so intellectual

shybride,
oh...u r a social wker? wah, sounds so noble...i really salute ppl in tis line as i've came across a few of them when they came wif d students who have lotsa probs aka juvenile delinquents...u must b real patient n tolerant

yah i bet i oso cant b a stay-at-home mum cos i cant keep still, i think i'll b bored to death...if i were to go out, im sure to go shopping n spend every single cent dat i have thus cannot sustain a single-income family lifestyle esp during tis era :P

Nec, I've got a Uni fren wking in NUS's Student Affairs Office. Wondering if you are from there as well.

I'm no good with kids too. Think I'll go crazy if my FH ask me to be full-time housewife looking after the children.

Hi Shybride... don;t worry you are not alone... still waiting for my boyfriend to propose as well... everytime i ask him he just gives me lots of excuses sighh...

Hi unicorn_pmy

haven collected the invitatn cards yet..

i ve just ordered wine today. tom will start calling the hotel to confirm food tasting n card selection.

Urs so early ah ... u also 1st fitting rite ... but urs 5th mine is 30th. Cuz i tot beginning of the mth still quite early.. hehe tats y i choose the last day haha ... how many r we suppose to choose and how much to pay ?

nec>>> So cool, share with us your Indian wedding photos too!! Indian weddings are very colourful affairs, aren't they??

As for those house-scouting people...Quite few released for the Bukit Merah area this time round hor...

Thanks all dear ladies out here for dishing your valuable advise to me. Appreciate it!

The reason why I'm ready to commit / Kelvin Koh is because of convenience, since I'm using Jac Law and either Ted Wu / Tan Yoong, as all of them work with Kelvin. And after visiting his website, I'm pretty convinced. But yes, I do agree the charges are quite high...

What to do? I really don't have the time and energy to go sourcing and comparison..... Will meet up with him this weekend or next to check out his works and discuss more on our overseas photo shoots too.

green> Mmm.. you gotta use ur waist to lift it up and at the same time. Use your calf to support ur own weight.... make ur calf as straight and stiff as possible... Mm.. hard to tell u also... hehehe....
Yah ya.. we should meet up.. hehe.. so exciting....

green> i think Marie france is more about inch loss and not weight loss leh.... i did try a few sessions and see the diff... just need to control my diet to be more effective le...

hey green & rach,

Count me in for the coffee.... I'm a coffee addict... hehehe....and its also a great chance to know each and everyone of u...Let me know the date ya....

Hi Brenda and Blessing

I am also a French Bridal bride...haha am glad to see q a number of FB brides in this Nov thread.

Am thinking of taking my photoshoots in APril/ May. When do u think is a good time to do fitting?

Am going tmr to FB to take my ROM dress..going to ROM on 14/2 hee

gals.. i jus went to look at my photos this evening... gosh.. hmmm... all very nice and we had a hard time selecting..
there were about 250++ pics.. not sure wats the exact no. there.. haha.. but, in the end, we were sorta 'psycho-ed' into choosing abt 80pics. haha... which did not seem alot le. we jus couldn't cut out any pic frm that 80 le. haha..

anyhows, we top-up about 45 in the end lors. they will return us all the samples and then, the selected ones will be edited. heh.. manage to squeeze some more printouts from them la.. like thank you cards (2R pics) and extra album and also , got them to do digital on our small albums too... so .. ya.. not sure if we got a gd deal...

not many of u went for PS so , i guess we cant exactly compare notes yet ? heh =P

alrite... anyone keen to meet up as well?? where?? time and venue?
Are u all more free on weekdays or weekends?
I prefer Mondays or Tuesdays..

Ade> Can't find NuBra opposite Pierre Cardin leh.. that is Secret Bra.. issit the same? Price varies alot leh... Secret Bra is about $50+++.. Triumph is $49.90... Wendy says NuBra is $140++??

Where's La Senza???

Ade> Can't find NuBra opposite Pierre Cardin leh.. that is Secret Bra.. issit the same? Price varies alot leh... Secret Bra is about $50+++.. Triumph is $49.90... Wendy says NuBra is $140++??

Where's La Senza???

hi stef

i only gg PS in April so cant really compare notes wif u. Wah! You topped up 45 more pics ah! Must cost abit more xtra bah. the photos muz be very nice. If can, share share with us...

nelle
A few days ago, one 17 yr old girl was shaking her head and telling me how shocked she was by the precocious kindergarten kids she was teaching. The K1 boy actually told his female classmate to pull down her pants and let him check.

Yup. Those were the days (our days actually) of innocence and blurness.

hi gals , morning.

hi mei, wah ... flowers and all, all set for V day hehe.. i guess i will be spending v day at home this thur watching tv coz his dad just came back from M'sia and going back next mon. + we are going for cruise this weekend.. so i guess its only right for him to spend time with his dad these 2 days..

hi tinky,
baby series is nice, its definitely good for dumping lotsa stuff + it will definitely come to good use when you have a bb on the way hehehe ( wink wink)

wristlet? which type you looking for? I have seen some nice ones from coach website.. hehe.. and mei is right, she can definitely keep a lookout for you coz she is still spying on coach .hehehe :P right mei?

sue,
wah....so envy, seems like u can go on cruise every now n den...is it really dat fun n cheap? i havent tried b4...mayb shd try but hard to go off peak as he can only go during sch holis

hehehe....u har, notti gal...yah im still trying to keep a lookout for coach bags but trying to get burberry blue label bags as well...if not, can ask irene to help us buy :P

Cassie>

ya...i dun know why they dun provide, u mean if they do, they charge u for film? Omigod...hidden costs...i hate that ...anyway the whole package already abt 3700...faint...my BS is Julia, hotel i am still waiting for confirmation, as i made a tetatively booking with Oriental.

after confirmation, what else i need to do? everything i do still seems to be still in pieces, i dunno where to continue...haiz

hehehe... no la where got notti.. you coach and burberry spy ma now.. hehehe.. :P ooops... ya... can ask irene help us buy scarly.. excess baggage haha coz you will buy the whole shop:P hehe juz kidding.

cruise coz my parents member ma.. so get to go for free by exchanging cabins with the points lor.. have to pay for seaport tax though each person about 72 bucks. But eat wise all free liao la.. haha.. well.. if you go often enough and you will think its boring liao. But if you go with FH alone.. then its romantic hehehe... actually if he does not need to work on sat.. you can trying going on weekend cruise.. depart on fri night and come back on sunday late morning.

unicorn, high-5 : / When's your AD? mine is in june, at the last meeting with the hotel coordinator he said he will call us up around Apr to confirm food tasting & card & favors selection etc. Is that too late?

thias, thanks for reminding me about the wine!! htb & i have forgotten all about it!

rach, i THINK there's a la senza at suntec.

hey gals, bought your v-day pressie for your htb?

sue,
no lah *shy shy* me no spy...:P oso cannot buy too many wait my mum will start to nag again...get ready ur shopping list :P
wah...FOC? so nice wor, if i got d chance to go wif fh oso v hard to go during d wkends cos he has to go to sch on every sat as his cca is uniformed grp :P

It is really modern problems that comes with modern parents & kids in the modern world.

Anywayz, now that there is a huge demand for HDB's surplus falts, I think the resale prices will go up too. Sellers will take opportunity to ask for higher cash now.

hi praisey,

nothing much was done.. waiting for sophia to call me for my gown fitting.. my tentative PS will be on 7 Mar.. i don't know if mine is the vip package anot..

unicorn, my hotel coodinator already sent me their recommanded printer details for wedding inserts and urge me to start printing earlier.. gotten their quotation.. i think i will start contacting the printer for more details on this couple of days..

something advantage is i no need to make a trip down to printer, everything can be communicate via emails.

xinyi> whats ur quote for printing?
Its very cheap to do it in JB.. you can save at least 60%.

Its at City Square, 4th Level.
Very near only.. can walk there from Custom..
If you do have the time, can take it as going there to shop shop abit, and then have a good KFC meal and come back...

THey charge:
RM$60 for 1st 100 pieces, subsequent 100pcs at RM$20.

So if you are printing example, 300 pieces, its RM$60+ RM$20 + RM$20 = RM$100 = S$40++ only....

They have nice personalised cards as wedding invites too.. about $0.50 per piece...

T&T Instant Printing

Collection is about 3 days.. so if you can spare 2 weekends, you can go down on 1 sat and collect the next sat..

Hi Amanda,

Glad to see you here too! :-)

Hmm....I choose the date as backdate. Meaning if my wedding is on 22nd Nov, I backdate;

2 weeks after PS/ choose photos;
5 weeks for layout;
8 weeks for album production;
8 weeks for VG DVD production and extra album production;
5 weeks miscelleous (in case whoever side delays);
4 weeks before wedding collect early;

Perhaps you like to backdate; if you're taking MTM, then chances are go see the designer. If taking OTR, quite alright to delay a bit. Gotta check it out with yr sales coordinator when is the best time for you to do fitting. I will have my PS in May and am going to do OTR, then my coordinator fits in my 1st gown choosing in early March.

Wow....your ROM on Valentine's Day!!!

Congrats! :-)

mei,

no wonder.. uniform group always bz on sat. .. poor thg.. nvm .. sure have chance next time.

i now super xian.. only 10.30 already wishing for 5pm haha. die la.

Hi Brenda,

Ya..mine 1st appt. No gowns in mind yet. But have some rough ideas from the photos of the FB thread brides fitting :-p

I was thinking if my fitting late or early. Hmm...how much did u pay for yr downpayment? Downpayment wise, can be neg I think.

Whats your package content Brenda? It goes according to what you're entitled to in the package for the PS. I had already bought 4 piece of evening gowns for AD. So if I can't choose nicer ones of evening gowns for PS, then I'll might use my own ;-)

For OD (Outdoor), definitely only 1 wedding gown (evening gown also can, but they will say it looks weird to be photographed in evening gown only if you choose night scene). For studio, typically 3 evening gowns/ kua/ jap/ korean + 1 main wedding gown. Typically the main wedding gown for PS will be yr main wedding gown for AD.

If you can't choose finish all gowns required in 1 day, then make another day lor. What I'm thinking if the evening gowns even for PS might have problem cos they are fantastic for wedding gowns but lose out on evening gowns.

I am 5th Dec BTB too. Still sourcing for everything..from banquet to BS etc.. all not confirmed yet.. abit slow ya.. anyway, it's a simple wedding for me just solomnisation cum luncheon.
By the way, May I know where is Precious Moments Bridal located? I am trying to find it.. wanna go take a look.

i m getting the keys to my resale flat on 3 mar! hope to be able to move in right after AD. but current owners refuse to help us sign the application for reno permit.. haii..so we gotta wait until 3 mar to apply.. then wait another 2-3 weeks to start reno.. dunno whether can finish the reno in time.. : /

thanks rach for sharing.. but my invitation card is different from those normal ones.. normal ones are 1 fold type.. mine is 2 folds, somemore is neither exact A4 or A5 size... I feel that it will be safer to just go to our hotel recommanded printer. I believe will safe all the troubles on sizing problems.

The quotation i gotten is 200 pieces for $100, which i feel quite reasonable after look through some threads of other printers.

But me and my hubby were thinking to get Xi Bing from JB. We check out a bakery shop yesterday, he quote us $20 per box for Xi Bing. We feel quite expensive and also found a JB bakery shop almost the same thing costing RM18, alot more cheaper. But that is 2006 pricing. So will contact them for more updated pricing.

hello gals, how's lunch?

me in NUS, but not in admin, in research.
:P (but it's still far far from the city!!)

mm...modern kids.... in my opinion, losing asian values cos of "westernization"..
we shld copy the good stuff fr the west and keep the good stuff fr the east too..
since we are all educated ( i.e have a brain to evaluate and 2 eyes to see) we shld be able to determine what's good/bad of each type of society...but somehow we blindly follow westernization under the guise of modernization (or globalization)
...to cut short: 'bad' parenting produces kids that are like that lor.

to be a devil's advocate, arguement by the parents (that they aren't 'bad')
1) i never teach my child to do so (whatever bad sutff the kid did)
2) ... (i can't think of anything else, any suggestions? )

counter:
if you didn't teach your child to do xxx,
what did you teach your child to do?
or busy working, so grandma/maid/nanny/day care does the teaching?

in the first place,
1)we (the parents) shld be actively teaching kids good/right things
2) lead by example
3) teach them to differentiate right fr wrong

see many aunties pushing like mad women on the train and making their kids run ahead to 'chope' seats..
this is leading by example of an inconsiderate action
bet you anything, the kids will grow up to do the same and be just as inconsiderate in many (maybe not all) other areas in life too