(2008) Brides of year 2008

witch

Hi Cabbage, glad to know you had fun at your PS!! Mine's in 2 weeks' time. Just had my trial makeup by Vivi last weekend. Erm, i think due to my lousy skin, I looked like Michael Jackson (ie. melting and cakey makeup) in less than 2 hours. Very worried that I will look like shit on my AD

lara

7 jun was oso one of our auspicious dates..but the venue we wanted was booked already..

xinyi_reiko, in the end we signed with sophia

applemuffin

hi anabelle,

I changed food tasting from 6 to 8 persons. The rest is the same as what was already stated in the package. Oh, i'm going for a non-alcoholic dinner cos we're christian. So my coordinator will give a bit more flower for the decor. ( :

What about you?

sleepycat1

ashley,

U doing any facials? I think it helps the make-up to stay on. At least, it does for me for daily makeup

And yes, the ampoules help. That's why they always get u to use them for PS as they need ur makeup to last the whole day.

berry_egg

Hi Stef

yeah.. it's less than a year. only managed to settle the ROM part for this Oct. And will start with the shortlisting of restaurants soon. Currently not many places in mind yet.
so many things in mind.. the BS, renovation, etc

us_mei

yeah, i hope to be able to come back in dec.. else, die! haha. any BS to suggest so i can visit and made a choice in 2 weeks? jule: you making your gown meaning u design it and have it tailored?

there's so many possibilities - venue alone is like driving me crazy! haha. duno if should have it at my home church, coz i emailed the coordinator to check on booking guidelines and there's like tons of 'to-do's to it. considering if i want to do a church ceremony here but the thought of flying family (& maybe close friends) to US is taunting. 24hrs flight! argh. haha..

berry_egg

Hi us mei,

i also intending to shortlist the restaurants and let the parents/future in-laws to make the final decision. Afterall, it's a big family event. hur hur.. really can't imagine the amount of feedback i will get each day.

flora_bliss

Mindy> maybe you can try and meet up with your coordinator again? If she agrees to give you the room, get her to drop you an email or a letter.

I'll oso be having my solemnization on the AD. But mine most probably will be just before the 1st course during the banquet.

witch

No ampoules during the trial MU. Yes, will definitely go for regular facial and will opt for ampoules for PS and AD! Will post a pic of my trial MU in multiply!

crayongal

hmmm...
berryegg, ya.. get feedback but pls dun let everybody gif comments.. the more comments.. the bigger your headache. haha..

hey Jule,
ya.. im not really doing anything else also. i wanted to book my photographer /videographer..but my FH says seems abit early. haha.. so do within the next 2 mths.
eh... gown.. i most likely will go down to choose next mth - Aug.. try to finalise by Sept.. coz we wanna take pics in Dec. (gif the BS abit more time to settle the photos and all also..) we try not to push too many thgs to the last 3-5mths to settle. heh =)

hatemenot

hi ashley, i recently bought some ampoules from some people in singapore brides.
i find it good.. maybe you can try.. and less expensive too! each vial about 5 bucks.. so much lesser than what the MUA is charging.. hee hee

Wahaha...tete, that's a gd buy!!!

Hi LO, no, my AD EG is the red one & silver one is for PS. That's y now i said i realise i like the silver one more than the red one...haha...Dont know what to do...

pig_den

Hi snoopy,

Welcome, I've booked my banquet at Sheraton for 5 Oct 08.

So Meiling, have you packed your stuff? ready for your trip to india?

~sblbee~

hi pig_den,
i'm so stressed....haven't finished packing yet....must go back and pack tonight liao....im not even mentally prepared....wait i get a culture shock :p
i haven't ROM yet....planning to do so on 6th July 2008....

hapimint

I also think that in a hotel, got so many function rooms, why cannot confirm to spare me one?
Somemore, it is a business hotel and so for weekends, their function rooms are not really booked mar...
She says that she will let me know nearer to the date then we discuss again... felt disappointed that she refused to confirm for me...
I am thinking, worst scenerio, even if she cannot get me a function room, can't she even promise me a small hotel room for me to do the ceremony?
Feeling so down... I don't have a place to hold tea ceremony for my side of relatives le.....

~sblbee~

mindy....don't be feeling down....it can be resolved one...the hotel will surely have a function room that's vacant, or is there a room beside your ballroom that you can use? worse come to worse, ask them to petition a place for you at the corner of the ballroom if you don't want to do it on the stage....they should provide solutions and alternatives to you instead of you asking actually....since they know their own hotel best....what can be done and what cannot.

pig_den

dun feel stress dun feel stress... hahaha.. think culture shock sure have one... oh.. so you will be doing in a hotel or intending to have your solemnisation at the registry?

Mindy, don't feel down.. i'm sure something can be worked out. But I don't like the way that the coordinator is handling the issue.. wait till nearer the date... how near...? haiz

~sblbee~

pig_den, i'm planning to do my ROM @ peony jade restaurant but don't know if i should waste $$$...but since i'm engaging a photographer...might as well take some nice pictures

yah mindy, i agree with pig_den, for us BTB, usually we want issues to be settled fast, no point waiting and waiting...

pig_den

oh.. Peony Jade.. food is quite good.. the price is also quite reasonable per table. So how many tables are you looking at?

That area will be quite a nice place to take photos.. wah... nice nice... but too bad your ROM next year.. otherwise I can see pretty pretty photos...

~sblbee~

hi pig_den
yah lor, was looking at 2-3 tables cos i heard so many good reviews there....but it's too early to confirm...hehe...i scared my pictures turned out ugly :p

I have a question.

Does MUA charges additional for request of setting curly hair on AD? my MUA wants to charge me additional if i wan curly hair for my AD.

Advice...advice...

pig_den

oh ya... it will be too early to confirm.. won't one lah.. as long as your photographer is good, the photos will sure turn out nice one.. dun worry... wat more you are still considered the bride.. so you will be very pretty pretty one...

~sblbee~

heheheh....i think i'll be an ugly bride, too lazy....fat and ugly....*faint* nv bother to "bao yang"...i certainly hope so too...must start to be more conscious about myself liao

jacq23

Hi us_mei,
I think we're in the same boat, my AD is 19 July 08 and as I am living overseas, I am only making a trip to SG in Jan 08 for 2 wks to choose the dresses and hopefully even get our PS taken - fingers crossed

hapimint

ya lor... she was quite nice to us and even offered to let us have a meal free when we asked for it after we signed on that day...
Then i emailed her to thank her after the meal and also ask if she can arrange for me, she didnt reply... I waited for so many days before i SMS her.... then she told me have to wait till closer to the date then she can confirm...
What if closer to the date, somebody booked? then how?
I also heard alot of rave reviews on PJ... too bad, my SO only wants clubs or hotels... so I settled for British Club... hehe....
Dun worry... sure will pretty de... haha... cos you are the only one really dressed up and made up mar... hehe....

noelz77

Hi, I am really impressed with all of you. My AD is 7th Sep 08 (same as Seacool) and I have only booked for the banquet. I am still sourcing for bridal studio, any recommendations???

zrachelz

Lara, yes travelling is needed. But both of us like going to KL, so wont be like dragging out feet there. Not really tired lah. We tried round trip within same day before. The coach is fast and comfy, so dun feel tired lor...

We have the IDD calling card, so the overseas call is not expensive and make coordination much more easy lor...

~sblbee~

aiyo, mindy, why your co-ordinator so like dat? why can't she tentatively book a room for you? there are so many function rooms in the hotel, surely can chin chye book for you one...
for me and my FH, our families prefer somewhere good to makan thus we chose that place to enjoy the good food and relax...anyway peony jade is value for $...

anabellegirl

Hi Muffin,

I had to pay 100 more per table cus I am not able to meet the min... however my food tasting is from 6to 8 persons... 1 red wine per confirmed table and waiver of 2 red wine per confirmed tables....

pig_den

wah.. mindy.. your coordinator really ah.. aiyo.. I dunno what to say.. just hope she quits soon and another new and better coordinator comes along...

Meiling, agree with Mindy, you are the only one really dressed up that day.. so sure pretty one...

flora_bliss

Mindy, is your ROM on a weekday? Becoz corporate hotels can get a bit sticky on rooms and function rooms booking (at no additional cost)on weekdays.

Try to contact your coordinator again and pressurise her. Or try checking with her superior, if you can get the contact.

~sblbee~

yah i agree with flora_bliss, pressurise your coordinator, if all fails, check with her superior then she has no choice but to work.... else it'll be stuck there forever...

pig_den, i'm really excited...so many things happening...

hapimint

haha... my dears, hard because she is not exactly a co-ordinator... she is the events manager.... faints....
My date is a weekend. same as my friend, but on different weekend lar....
My friend request for a room to solemnize mar... then she sis say that they are a business hotel so weekdays are difficult for them to provide a room....But mine is weekend leh....
My friend got it lor... but she got it before we signed and paid deposit lar... haha...
Silly me... why didnt I think of it then? Now then remember... then she cannot confirm liao... must wait and wait...
I so upset that SO keeps defending that on a business angle, it is normal that she trying to push to nearer to that date then confirm with me de....
I told him, I your wife leh, how can you defend her stand? so big hotel, even a normal room cannot spare for one hour meh?
Then he says that he will call her up to discuss next week... cannot talk to her now... cannot show that we are anxious to get the room... HAIZ...
ya lor... I like PJ too... I read so much about it... really liked it and tried to convince SO that time to use... but he said no... haha...
and heard that the food is nice too....
SO wanted a buffet... not sit down style mar.... haha...
Hey, lets share the ROM dates... we see when we can see pictures... mine is on jan 12 2008....

applemuffin

Wow, 100 more per table is quite alot eh. so when are you going for your food tasting? I'm going on 8 sept cos it's a good opportunity for our parents to meet too. That's why meeting so early.

~sblbee~

aiyo, weekend shouldn't be too big an issue, furthermore very seldom have meetings in the evenings during the weekends...try to think of it positively, it means no problem getting a room for your ROM
nvm...don't get too upset...let ur hubby settle the problem for you...it'll be resolved one...don't worry too much...oh, my ROM will be on 6th July 2008...still a long way to go...be sure to share your beautiful pictures with me ok?

snoopy1530

hi MeiLinG5,

ur AD is 17oct08... keke.. tts my bdae ^_^
congrats...

me n HTB r quite satisfied w MM, probably will sign up w them once we r confirmed w the dates..
Can i chk w u?? wat r the free perks that we can asked for??

snoopy1530

Hi Pig den,

you book w Sheraton arh... tts a nice hotel... i like it... but theirs is 12ppl per table... i cannot meet their minimum requiremt for weekend.. so no choice..

pig_den

My solemnisation over already.. was on 7 May 07...

ya.. I booked Sheraton, cos MIL liked the food there.. I also quite like the place.. except that the ballroom is an L shape.. so the march in will be a little weird.. still trying to figure out how to go abt it...

MM also not bad mah.. since you considering MM then you can be a MM BTB with Meiling!

pig_den

woah.. despite 070707 being such a hot date you managed to do your ROM on that day... you held your soleminsation where?

ya.. I also realised that many pple want that date.. so have you settled your AD venue?