(2007) Brides of year 2007

kaye
That's why lor, some relatives really buay zi dong one.. then hor.. dunno why the problem people always from in-laws' side.. haha.

So far, I attended the baby shower for my friends.. they book function room at a club (safra, civil service club) then it's buffet style.. so the timing is from 12 to 3pm.. so relatives & friends can come & go, no need to wait, by 3pm, need to leave, so those latecomers, sorry lor... think also good idea.

Tats true

Probably end up will call for buffet.

Kaye, now dan i noe we are the same age. ha!

Jazol, tats wat I do during confinement. Most of the time in my air-con room with computer.
But when guests come... need to go n show face. Dan every1 will ask the same thing.
How's delivery? How's baby? Breastfeeding? Why drink so slow.. blah..blah..blah..

Mei, holding outside is good to 'chase' pple home nicely.
Cos bring Jav out @ tat time need to bring lots of things. Sterilized stuff, changing mat, extra clothes, diapers, place for him to sleep.
If the guests give lots of bulky presents, u may have difficulty carrying back.
But anyway, Jav's 1st mth celebration. I hardly see him during tat day as he was pass all over the place.

Von, so sweet of u to cut fruits & make tea. I the most cut fruits for my FIL cos the rest not home yet.

During the 1st mth celebration, the baby will usually be pass all over the place. Look on the bright side, u can have a break plus hor, u dun need to really entertain ppl... Just say, u re tired or need to pump milk... Ppl will understand!

Smilez, hahaha... I told my hubby b4 that i want to be a mother of 1 before the age of 30! I got my wish liao!

Von, u so good.. Cut fruits, make tea for them... No wonder, they take u for granted!

Its true we re the mothers of the babies. Our decisions, dun care!

I think hor, mabbe i should just book a function room and hold a celebration for Claire's 1st yr birthday. So that, i dun hv to bother abt cleaning up! Since, she is 1 yr old... Things are easier than the 1st month celebration!

smilez
Confinement time people also come? Walau!!

For baby shower, I don't know whether got presents or not.. you know, during my ROM, none of their side relatives gave us ang bao or present leh! Not being greedy, but it's the sincerity & well wishes for us mah.

My friend's baby shower, no one carried my friend's baby. My friend just put her baby in the pram, then people just come & look only. Coz my friend was suffering from slight post-natal blues, then her hubby warned his mum, so maybe she went to tell the relatives cannot touch.. lol.

Agree that celebrating outside is much easier when they are 1yr old.

Yalor, I hate it. N they come so often during confinement. I still in pain n hot n sweaty.

Huh!?!? Rom also no presents? alamak!!

For me, every1 wan to carry. Even milk they also wan to feed.

smilez
Sian hor.. hope my MIL don't invite people over lor.. I sure show black face to them one. Actually I think my hubby's family know my pattern... they don't really dare to kacao me now. Now hor.. my MIL cannot find my hubby also won't call me anymore.. lol.

Oh ya, wanna ask you.. during your confinement, your own parents got come over to visit you? I was thinking it's weird for my parents to come to my in-laws' house.

Today I got no mood to work.. so keep chatting.. hehe.

Mei, my Mum came over to my house almost everyday during my confinement. She just wanna see her "chou zhu zhu" aka Claire.

Wow, dun talk abt presents lah... My in laws side also the same like Mei's in laws side...

Mei, ur MIL sounds like my cousin's MIL. My cousin's MIL even more ridiculous, she will call my Mum up also..... *faints*

Thank god! My side of relatives quite traditional, will only visit only after the baby is 12 days old. Based on the traditions, on the 12th day of the babies' life, must offer pig trotters vinegar to the ancestors and also to the gal side of the family.

Anyway, my Mum's frens and relatives all told me to rest... No need to entertain them! :P

Yup!! My parents do come over every few days. Cos not my place mah. So they will find excuse to come over :P E.g. Bring me my pyjamas, DOM, essense of chicken, gifts from my relatives to see me.

when i just married in.. my mil every night will ask me to cut the fruits for my husband... when my husband not around, she keep asking me to finish up the fruits... else it will go to a waste. so now, i learnt.. cut b4 she call me and ask her to finish it. :P

hmm... mei.. i think it's a good idea to have the baby shower outside.. it will save the trouble of clearing up and ppl to mess up ur place.. and our family would feel wierd in as inlaw place... i shall ask my husband... i dont feel comfortable to invites my colleagues and family to my in law's place... especially my mother in law likes to pick rubbish back to the house.

ops.. so far, my father had never been to my in law place.. my mom came up once when my mil not around.... cos no matter what, it is not my place.. me and my family dont feel that comfortable.

yesterday night i was talking to my mom on the phone.. was asking my mom to check with my bro when is he free to move the baby cot over for me.. then my mil was there shouting and scolding.. "cannot move. .... " cant she see me talking to my mom.. so rude.. listen to ppl talk over the phone... when i put down the phone, she tells me that cannot move baby cot, have to wait till baby delivered then can setup the baby cot. pianz... my husband did ask her before, she say can, now my husband not around.. she says cannot.. kns.

then this morning, she ask me to go and buy plastic drawers for baby.. i told her i'm not going to buy.. no place to put.. she says is for baby not me... of cos i know la.. i have emptied a few drawers for baby.. she keep quiet..

baby cot cannot ship over, but can buy drawers.. what a logic.

Actually I want my mum to come & see me, but I hope the dowagess will leave us alone & won't hover around us lor.. my parents don't prefer to come over coz they got nothing to talk to my in-laws one.. haha.

kaye
I never give my in-laws my parent's number.

von
Yup, same sentiments lor.. CNY my parents came over, already can feel that they are uncomfortable liao, better to hold in a neutral place.

Your MIL like mine, the wife must serve the hubby.. that's why that time keep hounding me to wake up early & cook breakfast for my hubby. But I don't care.. haha.. she keep saying I am lazy.. who cares.. she also never wake up to prepare breakfast for her husband mah. Worse still, everytime go out until midnight then come home, then FIL at home.

mei, she says have to wait till baby is delivered.. and when i'm in hospital.. then ask my husband to bring it back and setup... but i'm a person that never trust my husband.. maybe will get my maid to setup when i'm in hospital.

I heard abt some pantang thing that cot cannot bring over cannot setup their cot b4 the baby is delivered. Keke, I din noe. So by dan I already setup everything swee swee even b4 i pop

Heng I do tat. Cos after discharge from hospital, I ka-lang-ka-bok. Bz with baby, every1 fussing ard me asking me to wear more. Bz analysing sterilizer, breast pump etc.

yap.. i wanted to setup everything nicely before i pop.. cos i know my husband is someone cannot be trust... but with a mil around.. she is my blocking stone..

cannot tahan... yesterday, she was talking to me about baby stroller.. she says got to get something that is lighter... and we saw a shanghai tang's stroller.. and she starts her nonesence again.. saying the designer is stupid, design the handle that pointing upwards.. etc etc... then i stand up and commented.. yap designer is stupid but his design can sells big money.. and walked straight into my room.. everyday i have been listening to all these nonesense... it dont make my day... make me so negative.

smilez
What you say is true.. better to set up everything. Discharge from hospital liao where got the time & energy to set up?? My baby stuff more or less all settled already..

von
Next time you buy anything for baby, no need to tell her... just buy & bring back, then she cannot do anything about it.

i never wanted to ask her anything for my baby.. she is the one who keep telling me what to buy..

i remembered last week, i brought back a box of tollyjoy's baby items.. she saw it and ask me what's that... and she even followed me into my room to see what's the items.

IMO, better to set up everything first b4 mother & baby gets home.

I also set up my babycot before i deliver.

Von, take it as concern for ur baby from ur MIL but she is too interfering liao. And ur hubby very filial to his Mum or rather bo chap.

Ladies, i have some baby stuff to give away leh... Its a sleeping mat and some cloth diapers cover.... PM me if u re interested... I m clearing Claire's wardrobe...

Oh, do remember to buy breast pads.
I always stick breast pads so that when it leak, my PJ dun kenna during confinement.

my hubby will say her if he is around.. also when he is around, my mil has less nonesense lo.

kaye, i'm interested in the sleeping mat, do u have any photos to share?? as for cloth diapers cover, my husband got it from bkk alr.... so thanks.

Von, ur MIL sounds desparate for attention!

Btw, how does the Shanghai Tang Stroller looks like? Just curious coz got Burberry Stroller by MacLauren.

Oh, the sleeping mat is not waterproof one. It looks something like those small pools for babies (circular in shape and the size of a hula hoop). It is red & white in colour and got Claire's initial on it coz we wanted to put it in the infant care centre but she outgrown it very fast!

It looks something like the below pic.
675825.jpg

The Shanghai Tang stroller also by Maclaren one. It's lime green with some chinese motifs printed.

kaye
Thanks for your offer. I have gotten most of my stuff already!

this is the shanghai tang's stroller we saw on the tv yesterday.. and she commented designer stupid on the handle...

675838.jpg

btw, did any one of you ladies uses the MIM sling?? saw quite a number of mummy using it these day.. any feedback??

I dun think its baby gym mat coz got nothing for babies to see or play... Just a mat to put the baby in.. I used it to put Claire in coz i can just drag her here and there.... No need to carry her. :P

Hmm, then mabbe ask Jazol whether she wants or not... But i think her SIL might have some hand me downs for her too....

No problem, just dun want to waste the items. If not, i just post it in the Motherhood forum to see any takers.... coz those items are hand me downs also.

Von, u gotta ask Smilez, i think she uses longer than i use.

The MIM sling takes a bit of time to master it. Claire refused to be slinged in it coz its hot or unless she is sleeping. I also gave up coz i simply dunno how to use but once master the skill, its very convenient and compact to put in the bag.

I bought a Babybjorn that is easier to use and Claire likes it but now, i hv to get another carrier coz Claire is getting heavier and the babybjorn carrier is killing my shoulders.

Wow, the Shanghai Tang stroller so cool!!! Aiya, ignore ur MIL comments lah... She dunno there is a purpose for such designs.

kaye, oo.. it will be hot for the baby.. hmm..

yap... i'm ignoring my mil... but can you imaging, the comments from her is everyday (morning + night).. no matter what she saw or heard.. she will have something to says.. cannot tahan..

smilez, any feedback on MIM sling??

ladies.. thanks for listening all my nags.. hopefully i'm not that painful as my mil... i feeling so much better after telling you ladies all her nonesense.. thanks

<font color="0077aa">hi wondering this thread still active.. hehe.. emily im fine. . hehe juz last month added 1 new member to the family le..
wat bout u

Von, dun worry abt venting abt ur mil here.. we all will share our listening ears..

kaye, the pram is nice!! i like the pink.. von, the shanghai tang is nice too.. kaye, shld enjoy ur big 30!! dun care abt ur husband's comment..

Von, wah!! ur MIL very kpo :P

Strollers try to get one with big basket. Mine is so tiny tat I can't put anything in.
Btw, I seldom put Javier in the stroller. I usually carry him using the baby bjorn.

<u>MIM Slings</u>
Hee, I got a MIM sling. But I only use it once on Jav when he was a few days old.
Somehow when I carried him, he was like drooping down. Dunno issit my shoulder/waist is too small to support him properly.
After tat I give up. Cos I dun feel comfy carrying him.
I've got frenz who use sling even when their child is 1yr plus. N they realli swear by it.

<u>Baby Bjorn</u>
Got it when Jav was 2mths old. Its good for small babies. When Jav is 3mths old he like being carried in front.
N its very easy to wear. Only disadvantage its quite warm (I got the Active version).
Though it can be used up to 12kg, even 7kg I find it taxing on my back liao. I m so lousy :P

<u>Pikkolo</u>
Kaye, I just got my pikkolo tis evening. Yipee!!
I've tried carrying Javier in front facing in. Dun feel Javier's weight as much as baby bjorn.
It can be use for front facing out, hip carry and back carry as well. Let me try on Javier 2morrow.
But the wearing of the carrier needs some getting use to it. Let me practise another few more times dan let u noe again

I like it as it can be compressed and kept in my bag unlike baby bjorn where is bulky.
(of cos, its not as compact as the sling)
If u r keen, u can drop by my place to try on Claire b4 u buy

Smilez, ya... Trying to find something compact. No lah, u re not lousy... Claire is 8kg and i already buey tahan. Mine is the Babybjorn Air. All carriers are warm! Idea hor, shd try and see whether Claire likes it or not, btw where do u stay?

Piglet, i dun care liao. I m going to binge on my 30 yrs old celebration! Haha, actually no woman wants to announce that they re 30yrs old liao! :P

jazol
Really? There is a whole range of Baby Gund toys at Taka baby dept.. just beside the maternity wear. Do you mean the ones I bought?

wah... seems like u guys are enjoying the GSS...

me havent start.. my husband not in town, so didnt go and do any shopping... thinking to drop by OG today.. not sure if any sales is up there... better get all my things before my husband return.. else he will stop me from buying.

ya, maybe... since nw i knw the brand will go n take a look again later with my hubby cos he says mayb it will appear as nw the daddy goin to find... haha

Von, haha... My hubby also will tell me not to buy too much... but he also indulge!

Oh, something good buy to share. This brand called, Absorba at Taka is having 30% discount for baby clothes. I dunno still got sizes or not.. The tops and bottoms for daily baby wear is good! Its a bit expensive but its ok after the discount.

I got some for Claire.

Also hor, dun buy too much milk bottles. Just buy enough to last coz some babies are fussy, they might not like certain brands teats.

Anyway, i m using Avent for Claire. Thank god, Claire is not fussy abt teats but she is definitely fussy abt no milk!

Von
In case you are interested, MotherCare harbourfront has a 15% discount for DBS/POSB CC.

My hubby also like me, enjoy buying baby stuff.. keep asking me to buy, buy, buy! See everything also cute. Last Friday, we went MotherCare to buy more stuff &amp; hubby bought a videocam at the Sony Roadshow at Vivo. Only thing he ban me from buying are baby pyjamas, I bought too much of those liao.. haha.

jazol
You really like the toys ah? Think other places also have.. I'll keep a lookout for you. If not, can buy online also.

Lately popcorn start to really kick me quite hard, then my tummy can really shake, like right now!

Hehe, Mei... popcorn kicks will get more and more powerful... U will hate it when he constantly kicks ur bladder! :P

Oh, u can play the tapping game with him! Its very fun!

I also bought some stuff for myself during the Taka sale! I bought a water pitcher and a tweezer! So happy!

mei, ya i like the toys cos its very cute. ya had considering buying online bt thn the price will be diff....

wow, you ladies sure bought alot during the sale. hvnt bought anytin for bb yet.

kaye
I tried the tapping game but he doesn't respond, only very rarely, think got mood one. I never buy anything for myself lately leh.. cannot buy clothes, cannot buy shoes.. so never buy lor.. haha.

jazol
Don't worry, sure can find one. I only started serious baby shopping when I was around 4 months... but now's a good time to buy due to GSS.

Mei, yup... Babies got mood one! A lot of pattern, one thing in my case is Claire is definitely scared of my Mum whether born or unborn!

mei, ya lor... got the mood to go n just look for the toys again... haha... waiting for my hubby to return thn we go n shop together

Hi ladies, me work in town so always see sales..so i hv not really buy much during GSS..

mei, i went to see also cant find the toys already.. so no toys for my nephew...

my sister wans a combi pram.. still looking around.. she say there is a shop at chinatown selling cheaper.. so might go see with her one day..