(2007) Brides of year 2007

Morn ladies!

MEi, that salesgirl champion.. But i wont be surprised that there are some ladies who re overweight and looked as if they re pregnant.

Claire is being looked after by my Mum in the day. She is now staying with us. We ferried her to/fro Bedok & Redhill via MRT!

Piglet, all babies are full of funny stuff especially when they re 6 mths old and beyond... That is the time when they re responsive to you and starting to learn how to crawl, walk etc etc.

Morning Ladies, So upset
Lost my hp yesterday afternoon can't recall where I put it.
When I tried calling my line. Its already unavailable.. sighz.. lost all my contacts, photos and videos

Any1 got any good phone to recommend?

Kaye, ya when they are super hungry they are like lugging at us. Ouch :P
Claire is so cute!!! Did u capture tat on photo?
Bedok & Redhill? SO FAR? Alamak wat time u gotta wake up?
Yes, babies get cuter when they are older. This morning Jav was lookin attentively at me while I was puttin my make-up. Told him boys dun need to wear this. Else face will grow caterpillar. Dan he stick out his tongue and chuckle. :P

Mei, tat salesgal is terrible. Should have told her my boi dun need it. ha!!

Jazol, take care and dont stress urself up

Piglet, is ur work as bz?

kaye
Then where's your workplace? Must be tiring for you & your hubby. But worth it lah.. for your darling daughter.

smilez
Oh dear... maybe you dropped it in the bus or something. I know how it's like when you lose your phone.. everything inside!

Your Jav so cute..

jazol
Rest well.

smilez
Yes, very much indeed, hubby too. Our friends all popping the past few months.. we just attended a baby shower this month also, so in contact with lots of babies & baby topics. But mixed feelings, also sian when I think of being stuck at home with dowagess during confinement.. wait she chu pattern with my baby, then how??

hi ladies, i'm back.. was feeling down the past weeks.. finally get over it.. tot things straight.

mei... omg.. the osim salesgirl is terrible.. she must forget to bring her spec out that day..

mei.. me same as you... i told my husband that my 1 month confinement at home with his mom will be like hell for me. recalling the words that she told me for the past 1.5 years.. i'm scared.
the words have been coming back in my mind for the past one months.. omg.. just like a nightmare...

von
I know how you feel, same feelings.

Are you engaging a confinement nanny? It wouldn't be so bad if you have a confinement nanny around.. she can be our 'shield'.

i wanted to hire a confinement lady.. but then my mil rejected. she says she will do it for me. (dont know how much i hate her cooking).. she commented that the confinement lady dont know cook..waste of money.. and my husband agreed with her.. so no choice... but will hiring a maid to help instead.. i cant cope with the housework and baby at the same time.. at first my sil offer me her maid to help me up for half day.. but after looking around the house.. and after doing the endless housework.. i insist to have one to myself.. which becos of this maid thingy, my mil angry with me for 1 week... until my bil talk to her den she let go.. i still remember when she come back one night and says.. "money is urs, u want to hire a maid then you hire lo.. better for me.. dont know how to save money for ur own child" kns. hope my maid can be my 'shield'

von
For me I engaged a CL.. my MIL wants us to anyway as she won't cook & care for baby, only play & dress up only.. which is even better for me. Anyway, lately, she doesn't stop me or control me anymore coz she knows I won't listen to her one. She even insist I engage a maid, but I don't want for the moment.. not when the maid will be staying in her house.. wait she scream & scold my maid then very difficult.

Actually it's good you hire a maid to help you, for your situation. Your hubby still work overseas a lot?

Jazol, rest well... Remember dun add extra stress to yourself. Talk to ur baby and let him/her know what u re facing and to cooperate with u! I always believe that our babies know our emotions since Day 1 they re inside our wombs!

Mei & Smilez, tiring to ferry Claire to/fro but still manageable as my hubby & I take turns in the morn to send her to Bedok. We will wake up at 6-6.30am. My parents will meet us at the station to pick her up.. Then, we will go and take the train back to work.

I work in Tg Pagar so still not so bad lah... Like what Mei says, everything is worth for my daughter!

Mei & Von, dun worry too much abt confinement. Dun even think abt it, just remember that during confinement... U re the Queen.... Just tell the concerned parties that u appreciate their concern and tell them to back off.

Oh, the first 3 mths once the baby is born is damned tough... But, will tide over it! Dun worry too much!

kaye
Thanks for your reassurance.. lucky my hubby is very supportive. He told me he'll try to take half-day leave once every few days during my confinement to come back & support & help me. I have been voicing out to him my fears & concerns over this issue lately.

RE: Confinement Lady
I had 2 for Claire. The first one was horrible coz she simply too kpo and dunno how to do things. So, i sent her off and got the 2nd one. The 2nd one was ok coz my expectation of her is to cook for me and take care of Claire well.

On food hor, i grew up with my Mum's cooking. I really can't tahan the cooking of the 2 CLs but i just eat so that i can breastfeed Claire.

Von, a CL is good coz she can look after ur baby for u at night. Its really horrible to be sleep deprived.. Anyway, better for u to get a maid now so that u can train her b4 ur baby is born.

Oh, do remember to drink DOM during confinement, it really helps.

kaye
Talk about confinement food, think I sure hate it also one lor.. but no choice, for our health & to breastfeed, just eat. Anyway, my SIL is due a month before me & she engage a CL for 2 months.. so there'll be 2 CLs in the house.. I ask my hubby to arrange time-table for the 2 CLs to take turns to cook.. & also to organise the fridge to store breastmilk, don't want to mix them up lor!

yap, my husband still need to travel... he tried to arrange for more travels these days to cover up the baby cost and save some for after delivery.. as he will takes 2 weeks off to stay at home to accompany me after delivery. (forced by me)..

kaye.. ppl told me that i will be a queen during my pregnancy.. but it is not true. i still need to do housework, more nags, and more rubbish from my mil and husband... so i doubt i can be a queen during confinement.

my friend's mom (used to be a confinement lady) told me if i want to breastfeed my baby, what i need to do is to eat, rest and sleep for the 1st 2 weeks.. it will help in the volumn of milk produced.

worst, my mil asked me to toilet trained my baby when she is out of hospital. *fainted* 3 days baby knows when to sh sh and poo meh.. haiz...

with all my mil rubbish, i doubt i can be a queen. i will be like in the hell.

von
*hugs*

Lucky your hubby is going to take 2 weeks' leave, at least half the confinement period gone. After the 1st month, you can bundle your baby & go to your mum's place on some days. That's what I intend to do.. hehe.

Your MIL so weird, she wants to take care, yet still want easy job.. how to toilet train newborn?? Anyway, after baby is born, you got to be firm ok.. you are baby's mother.. you make the final decision on what's best for your child. For me.. I am taking this stand.

I got mini fridge.. but the freezer not those strong type.. don't know leh.

kaye & smilez
Do we need to freeze breastmilk? Or just put in fridge can already? If can, even better, I can store in my room fridge.

Mei, its normal to have this kind of feelings. But do keep in mind tat after delivery our homornes are still raging. So we tend to get post-natal depression very easily.
This must voice to all ur hubbies. Its normal and they must be super super patient during this period.
I also cried and throw a number of tantrums. Though usually I m not like tat.

How abt having a close fren to come by so u can output ur feelings (If hubby not ard ?)

Yes, I totally agree with Kaye. Babies are the most difficult to look after the 1st 3 mths.
But once they get bigger they are more manageable already

Von, must tell baby to be strong and brave

Aiyo, if MIL helping with confinement. Normally u will need to do night shift urself. It will be tougher n more tiring.
Must keep reminding urself.. soon it will be over. lun k? *hugz*
Alamak, even Jav also not toilet train yet.
Hee, tell u all something funnie. Yesterday I was on the way back cos nanny got appt.
When I reached home my FIL was wiping sweat. Jav had been throwing tantrum while drinking his milk. Then my FIL carry him to our room and turn on the air-con b4 continuing his feed. Dan he smell something smelly. Realized he had pooed.
So he carry Jav to the changing mat. Wipe him. Jav smile @ him dan suddenly. An explosive poo came out and pee as well.
The bedsheet, changing mat, floor all covered with poo n urine :P

Hey all mothers-to-be, pls sleep as much as u can now. Else next time sure sleep deprived.

Talking abt storing of breastmilk, normally I will store my milk in the fridge (maximum up to 48hrs @ 4degrees). For my excess milk, I will store in the freezer. Cos my freezer is not exclusive for BM, I oni keep them for 2mths. Now I stop storing them in the freezer liao. Cos thawed frozen BM smells realli yucky and its super duper oily.
Frozen breastmilk will not have much anti-bodies left liao. So ideally store in the fridge if possible.

smilez
OMG!!! Explosive pee & poo... Wahaha... your Jav also mischievous, still can smile at your FIL first to give warning..

Is it when we have excessive breastmilk then need to freeze? If not, next day can just warm the refrigerated breastmilk can already right? Clueless...

Ya. After tat he just keep grinning. Cannot stand him :P

Some mummies will breastfeed their baby dan will pump out the excess. During my ML, I just pump and keep everything in the fridge. If I've accumulated enough for his 1 day feed, I will store the subsequent milk to the freezer directly.

smilez.. omg.. ur jav is mischievious... bullying grandpa.. haaaa...

mei, i read somewhere about this storage of brestmilk. if you will be using the breastmilk in next 24 hrs, dont have to freeze it. Just fridge will do, and warm it before feeding. If the milk are meant to keep for more than 24 hrs, then you will have to freeze it.

Storage of breastmilk
I usually will put in the fridge if consumed within 24 hours, if not i will put them in the freezer compartment. Coz Claire 's intake is very high, so usually my frozen breastmilk all finished within a week.

Toilet Training
Aiya, its potty training. We did it only when Claire is on FM totally. When babies on BM, they can poo up to 6 times a day... but must ask Smilez now coz Javier still on BM.

When Claire is on FM, we will put her on the potty to poo poo. Aim is to let her get used to the idea of sitting on the potty. Now, Claire will poo in the potty every morning after her water parade. That's the training we gave her. Sometimes, my Mum will put her on the potty to pee also.

Smilez, Claire also will smile immediately after she poo or pee! HEhe, i can imagine the smile that JAvier has! He musy be thinking, hmm so shiok after my poo!

I also cried and threw alot of tantrums during my confinement even after my confinement, i also still hv hormones raging. I think everything settled when Claire is like 5mths old.

Yup, sleep is very impt. Must sleep more, now that Claire is older, i managed to have a longer period of uninterrupted sleep.

Von, i think better for u to discuss with your hubby. Tell him that if u dun rest well etc etc during ur confinement, ur body will be weak and alot of problems in the future. I feel that u shd get a CL, at least u get to sleep.

Also, dun feel bad abt giving ur babies FM. Claire was on FM at nite while on BM in the day. This is what her PD advised so that i could have some sleep.

When storing in the fridge its important that the temperature is cool enough

Erm, Jav bowel movement quite strange. Ever since he is 1mth old, he had been poo-ing like once a wk.
According to PD, once a wk on BM is ok. Meaning he is absorbing the milk well.
If on FM, he will poo more often cos its not as digestable as BM.
But dan again there are mummies whose babies still poos once or twice a day on BM even when they are 3-4mths old.
Anyway, Jav din seem to have any discomfort so I just left it as it is.
Only intro him juices when he is 4mths old. Since not much different in bowel patterns.

Kaye, High-5!!
Ya, I also din do TBF initially at night I sleep from midnight till 7plus 8 :P
Its oni when my CL left, I woke up to feed Jav for 2wks. Thereafter no more NIGHT FEEDS!!! *such a good boy*

my husband has been very busy these days.. when he is in town, he will stayed in the study room most of the time. i dont even have the time to sit down and talk to him regarding about our baby name. the only time we can talk when he fetch me to work.. but every morning i will get very pissed off by his mom by some comments she made over the breakfast.. so i will remain silent before i start scolding him.

kaye
Claire so smart, can potty poo & pee now. What's her water parade?

smilez
How did you train Jav not to wake up for night feeds? I also want.. I need my sleep... hehe.

von
I think you got to let go... it's been 1.5 years.. you know your MIL like to talk rubbish, let her be, one ear in, one ear out. Don't let that affect your mood as well as your r'ship with your hubby. You & hubby don't go out for dinner? That's a good time to have a chat when you're both relaxed. At home, hard to have heart-to-heart talk one..

Kaye
So everyday ur mom just put Claire on potty? Any other special training? I told my ILs on the potty issue. They say too young. Hmm.. I tried to do shh..shh.. he chuckle at me as if I m playing with him.

Ya, I also want to know. How much water Claire consume in the morning?

Mei,
Do read the book Secrets of the Baby Whisperer.
Javier like not hungry @ nite so when he wail I just give him pacifier :P
Just make sure he had enough milk intake during the day.

Von,
Ya, do try to ignore ur MIL. Dun strain ur relationship with ur hb just on this. Not to scare u or anything but when ur little one arrives. U will have less time with ur hubby - everything evolves ard ur little one. If these issues are not sorted out, there might be more conflicts.

Haha, water parade for Claire means force feeding her 3oz of water every morning. So after her water parade, we will put her on the potty to poo. Then we will make the "ng ng" sound so that she can poo.

Smilez, no special training. My Mum just put her on the potty and let her get used to it... Javier such a good boy... Claire will wake up at 1-2am for milk. Now, she can manage to sleep thru the nite. Praying that this will continue!

Von, yalor.... Dun let ur MIL comments get to u. Now u re pregnant, u re even more sensitive to it. Its our hormones, we can't control it.

Water For Babies
Kaye, u r good. If Jav manage to drink 1/2oz of water each time. Its very good liao. For new mummies, it might be gd to intro water earlier to ur babies. Else they might reject water.

Everytime I feed Jav water he will drink 2 mouth dan pretend to get choke. Dan when I try to put the bottle back, he will cough-cough :|

Night Feedings
Nowadays Jav has been waking up more often during the night. Suspect milk is not enough for him already. So need to start to intro solids already.

Yes. Tat's wat the PDs, Nurses advises. BM is all babies needs. Hmm.. dunno issit they are concern baby will have nipple confusion?

But wat I heard from various mummies who are on TBF, their baby dun like to drink water.
BM is sweet if u try it

Water is plain n tasteless.

i have so used to my mil comments for the 1.5yrs... before i'm pregnant, i'm cool with it.. but now, i dont know why, every words from her just make me sick and will pissed me off.. i keep telling myself to keep cool and ignore.. not sure if it is becos the accumulated nonsence or pregnancy leave me so uncool on her...

kaye, ur mom is good in babies.. heee.. my niece also refuse to take water... she will put the bottle into her mouth.. half an hour later, the water level remains.

Water for babies
My PD also told me no need to feed Claire water but can give water to wet wet her mouth. Ermm, i force feed Claire water every morning.... so Claire will come out with all sorts of stunts... Including pretending to choke etc etc... So, usually i will let her "choke" finish and then continue the water parade.

As Claire has eczema, water is actually good for her skin... So, i just harden my heart to give her water parade. My hubby was quite "heartbroken" to see Claire crying during the water parade. Now, he just looked at her and said,"Daddy can't rescue u, u just drink the water. Its good for u!"

Von, before Claire is 1 mth old... Its on demand, after 1 mth old, its recommended to be 3 hrly interval even on BF but its on a see how situation. U will know, trust me, its Mummy instincts!

Von, *hugs* its normal to have such feelings. I also buey song a lot of things with my ILs while i was pregnant and those things i buey song with, b4 i was pregnant, i heck cared.

Wow.. so many post!! all mummies talk.. heheh...

kaye, ur mum really good with bb..

kaye & smilez both ur bao bei so cute with all the their cute pattern.. haha...

von, take care dun think so much.. try to stay happy.. hug hug*

jazol,u too relex and rest more..

von
Yes, I'm like jazol, I also just lock myself in my room.. hehe.

smilez
That time you had some surplus BM, you mentioned you're going to have a milk bath or something right? How.. got feel like Cleopatra or not.. hehe.

Von, I try to feed Javier on schedule. But sometimes he too hungry dan will be on demand.
When babies are hungry, they will cry non-stop :P So need to see the situation.

Kaye, 3 oz of water is no joke. Jav will pretend to vomit and cough cough dan scream :P
Nowadays children hor.. so young also noe how to pretend pretend. Can't imagine when they grow up.

Piglet, Rem to come in more often. All these baby talks are sure to brighten up ur day.

Mei, err..tat little bottle of milk.. like not much effect. No bath tub at my place. Probably I shd defrost my ML frozen milk n soak n c :P

Nowadays Jav like super hungry. Every feed gulp down abt 200ml of milk. I cannot catch up with him liao. Dry dry oledi.
Plus now oni pump like 4 times a day.. Panting Panting...

Yup, locking urself in the room is the best.

Piglet, yup.. I think my Mum is good with babies. Claire prefers my Mum or my Sis to me if we are together. My Mum for makan & sleeping, my Sis for playing.....

Smilez, Jav is having a growth spurt or time for solid food!

Yup, u can imagine the crying session every morn during water parade! She will pout and look for rescue team. The best part is she will always look at the bear on her toys basket to "rescue" her!

Something that is non baby talk. I was thinking of celebrating my 30 yrs old birthday with a big bash (BBQ)... I told that to my hubby.... Guess what he said, "Aiyo, 30 yrs old celebration should be low profile... No need to let everyone know u re 30!" Piang, such a supportive hubby!

kaye
BBQ birthday party sounds fun... it's ok mah.. now that Claire is of a more manageable age, can throw party & have fun.. not like when baby is so young.. need more attention & need to go back early.

Kaye, envy u leh. Got ur mom to help. Wish I no need to put Jav @ babysitter place.
Hee, tats good. Time to give urself a little treat

How are u gg to celebrate Claire's 1yo bday?

I m tinking of having a bbq for Jav's 1st yr bday. But dunno issit troublesome :P

Mei, children grow very fast after 3mths.

I want a BBQ celebration coz i long time no BBQ. But the moment i think of all the logistics etc.. I sian liao... So, i guess most likely is dinner with family!

I m lucky that my Mum helped me to look after Claire. I did tell my Mum that if she can't cope with it, she must let me know.... My Mum's health is not very well.

Smilez, i attend a fren's son 2 yrs old BBQ party... but i tell u, its best not to have coz most of the thing, the fren & his wife are busy bbq....

kaye, wow BBQ is fun..... aiya... u shld tell ur hubby u r 30yo all the more shld celebrate esp wif Claire.

mei, ya i prefer to lock myself in the room cos I have comp n tv to indulge myself in... hehe... no need to hear what they are saying...

jazol
Haha, same same.. I got everything in my room, tv, comp & fridge, no need to step out of the room.

kaye
True.. bbq food is yummy, (now I think of bbq chick wings, I drool) but the logistics very sian, worse part is after the bbq.. the clearing up is the worse!

ya, hvg all these parties are fun bt its a mess after its over n need to clean up.

my hubby tot of booking a chalet after my confinement to celebrate bb baby shower, so tat all our frens n relatives can cum n no need so much entertainment from us... *evil laughs*

Talking about baby shower, I intend to hold it outside also. Dowagess wants to hold it at her place but I don't want. Later all my relatives feel uncomfortable in her house lor. Somemore when we hold it outside, time's up means time's up, everyone need to go home. Imagine at home, wait all the relatives linger until don't want to go back.. sian.

usually i will go back to my room at 9pm and rest for the day... but before i returned to the room, i have to cut fruits, make tea for them... and hang around in the living room for a while.

wah... mei & jazol, you guys had tot of the baby shower alr... that time i was discussing with my husband about children birthday and baby shower, my mil gives a comment that ppl at their 100 years old also didnt celebrate birthday.. why do children need it... from then on, baby shower had never come into my mind again.. dont dare to think..

von
You're so nice, cut fruits & make tea for them somemore.

For me, once I go back after dinner, I head straight to my room & don't come out until the next day when I need to leave for work. There are times I don't meet any of the family members for 2 to 3 weeks in a row.

Baby is yours.. so you decide on baby's celebrations... your MIL so negative. At the most, you hold the baby shower outside don't invite her, see she thinks celebration is important or not.. sigh, all these old people..

Jazol, yalor.. I just want to celebrate 30yrs old with a big bash! Anyway, i dun think i want to clean up... So better no BBQ! But just dun like my hubby's comments!

Actually, not ideal to book chalet to celebrate bb 1st mth leh. Its super tiring one for the mother!

Mei, it depends on the relatives also. We held Claire celebration outside (like 7 tables at a restaurant) and my ILs side were late (just waiting for 1 particular family)... So ended up, the celebration dinner also late. I was very pissed off lor, i m tired and the guests are hungry also...