(2007) Brides of year 2007

thanks ruoyan!

snowiee.. I wana to let u have the info..
but u faster than me.. haha..

jeraldin... r all guys the same??
only their wedding then wear pants.. haha..

drea>> got what ah? *blur*

bubblepearl>> $19.90?? How come I didn't see it leh. Made of what ah? Actually, my HB & I torn between the goose one or 100% silk one...but since I prefer "fluffier" one, I got the goose down one.

Then before that we went to Robinsons and bought our 1st the bedsheet set with quilt cover. hehee.

Hi Jane,
Hehehe..paisay, i typo the wrong AD date. That ang pow is no need to return some one...for ping jin, then need to return some.

For invites, I have more or less ask my frens if they are attending or not and whether they are bringing any partners or kids. Once the list is confirmed, then i send out the invites...n follow up again after sending.

One question, for those who bring kids, do we need to reserve them a seat? Also, if ur frens tell u that she is anythng to bring hubby and kids, depending on me. Should I decide myself or ask again? Coz if my fren said its up to me...i very hard to make decision leh..

I believe some (or at least a few) are genuine cases. They really cannot make it due to urgent matters or are really not feeling well.

Dun allow negative responses dampen your jolly mood.

Smile and be pretty, radiant brides!
Cherish every moment of your big day, it will end before you realise!!

i love quilt.. i should make a trip down to Aussino to check it out man...
drea, i felt like flying to perth to get a winter quilt.. cos the current one that i have was what i had from Aust... thick and warm..

my bf is one who wear pants to all wedding dinner.. until i have to tell him, at times, can dress down abit..

want to go perth cos here, dun have the thick thick ones that i like and perth is the nearest to singapore.. hahaha

Junie, the one you bought is it thick and fluffy??

Hi bubblepearl,

Glad to know that our AD falls on the same day. How's your preparation. I am still like a snail. Have not done alot of planning yet. Recently only decided on the church deco theme and took our PS.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA....Sherrifer, u super farnie leh
but now winter leh, prices sure very high...go end of winter lah..then prices go down...

yah.. go in aug/sept, when they are clearing stocks.. hahaha.. i come up with stupid ideas at times.. so TY just dun bother much abt me when i come up with crazy ideas like this.. hahaha

haha.. thanks jas

ruoyan, ur dad which company ah?

i havent signed up with an ID/contractor for my house yet

me still looking around

got any good intro?

law& len,
i thk if she said up to u then better reserve for her partner & kid lor.
but huh for kid if below 5 i thk can squeeze a seat bah, am i correct ?

for guest list huh, my realtive very jialat de ler, coz in my country dun have such confirmation de, so just send the invitation no matter they able to attend or not.
so when i ask them now then they said lata then see lar, still so long *faint*

Hi snowiee,

Choosing ID is tough. I think you really need to sit down with them and work our the items you want and get a quotation from them. See if their charges are reasonable by comparing. If they are good they should be able to provide some good advice on the selection of materials (like tiles) and ideas to make the house looks bigger etc.

But for your info, if you are looking at those who advertise alot in the home and decor magazines, then prepare to pay a premium cos they will definitely charge higher for all the advertisements. Basically, I have a few colleagues who paid 30 to 40K for very basic items. They got Cisreen and another one is image something I cant remember. But Cisreen not bad though.

Hope that helps.

I think its the mentality of older folks.
Cos yesterday I was talking to my Fiance and he mentioned that the last round when his sister got married, they invited an uncle. She reserve 2 seats for them (Husband and wife).
On the wedding, the whole family of 7 turn up.
THe uncle was very mad and commented that if you invite me, you should not care whether we have 2 persons turning up or 7 persons turning up. You should have enought seats for us.
I want to faint. Hope the same will not happen to me!!!!

I think older folks tend not to like it when we asked for RSVP, they think that we are sort of rude like that. I don't know maybe its their mentality.

Hi Law & Len,

if the kids r taking up a seat, yes u have to count them in. Baby seats not counted

Won't be nice to restrict them ba...I'll tell them if can bring anot, I'll let them decide n tell me.
I feel that way better, if not later they feel offended

sherrifer...hahaha...mark at least still listens to me...just tt he will show tt he's not amused =P I actually wanted to make a trip down for my bdae but not sure if I really going to do it. If I do, will sure let u know...then see if I can get the quilt for u =)

Jeraldin >> yup i tried asking him once. ended up i dress down n he dressed up! becoz he told me he will wear t-shirts, slippers to towns city area etc etc becoz he dun see the need to wear smart casual. so after hearing him..i wear like him lor...yet in the end he turned up in jeans etc becoz he tot i wanted him to wear "properly".

Even wedding dinners i asked him to wear proper shoes n not slippers with jeans if he do not want to wear pants. still he insisted on wearing slippers with jeans... funny combi..

ruoyan >> welcome! my pictures at at my reno blog is diva79.wordpress.com

sherrfy>> at least he bothered to dress up. mine only bothered to once in a blue moon after i complained that at the rate both of us are doing..i cannot wear the any of the nice dresses etc n can only wear slippers n shorts with him (just becoz he asked me to wear the same "pattern" as him). so sianz.

ruoyan >> my reno everything settled liao. now doing the AD preparation. Settled who r my jie meis n now doing video montage...

Guest list in progress..ang pao box etc my jie meis promised to settle for me.

humm..other to do list not sure yet. :P

Ya, i asked that friend of mine if she is bringing her hubby, she said anything, up to me. Then i asked if her 2 kids coming too, she also said anything. Then said either bring 1 or 2 kids, see how. I cant get a definate ans from her. End up i chope 4 seats for her juz in case... But I am not sure from how old onwards then will need a seat. Or juz reserve 1 seat for each kid to b safe? Am afraid some guests may bring a 1 yr old kid and occupy a seat....
Is it funny to ask "does ur kid need a seat?" Weird right?

sherffy>> the one i bought is not very thick or very fluffy. Just nice thickness & fluffiness for me. hehee.

But think those at Robinsons one are.

sherrfy>> i heard from the salesguy @ Robinsons...they may hv further storewide discounts this weekend, on top of the current disc.

but me & my HB was thinking since we were there already, just buy one bedsheet set 1st...and if really got further storewide disc...go bk & buy from more, hehee.

Junie > i will take note of that.... i go down and check it out first tonight..

I am still looking around for bed linen... anyone got any nice place / brand to recommend? I was looking at Bliss collection..

where's Bliss Collection?

I bought my bedline with quilt cover set @ Robinsons yest....after disc...think it's $129. Made of combed cotton...very nice feel.

Wow! This is really informative!

I didnt know about the 2 angbaos part. Hopefully if my in-laws dont give the 2nd one, my parents wont know and wont mind....

Do your mothers need to buy a new pants + wallet/coin pouch for your hb? My MIL just told me my parents have to give him that, and leave some money in wallet/coin pouch, my mum said she never heard of this practice....

I'm also worried about the guest list + RSVP =(
For most weddings which I was invited to, the friends would sms/email/call me before sending card. If I said ok, then they sent the card. If I couldnt make it, they wouldnt send the card & thus I no need to bao angbao too.

But my mum said it's very rude to do that. She said we'll just send invitation cards to all whom we intend to invite. Then see if they respond. And that we shouldnt ask people exactly how many people coming??

But like that hor...if they dont turn up, wont my seats go to waste? And if they dont give number of attendees, we run the risk of having extra, or worse, less than enough, seats right?

Btw, for SB brides, have you all heard of a MUA named Elsa? Any comments?

Hi ladies, I share the same concerns about wasting seats.. it's really the older generation that is very against asking how many pple coming cos it makes us seem stingy I guess.
My parents have agreed to personally check with all their friends as to the exact number, my husband and I will also do the same. My inlaws are only have 2 tables of friends so I think the extent of damage will be limited....

Oh.. just to share, for my engagement party, we had personalized namecards at every seat... so there's no way people can bring more guests. We did it for about 111 people. Our wedding will be at least 350 pax though so we can't do the same... just have to keep fingers crossed.

cactus - You are lucky! My parents wont be checking. They said "relatives sure ALL come one lah"...but their friends leh?

I was trying to explain that if a family of 10...in the end only 6 or 7 appear, we can reshuffle some guests to make up the table. Mum said that is RUDE, if give that family 1 table, it means 1 table *big sigh*

I think I'm lucky in the sense that my parents insisted on having the engagement party and they paid for it.So they also heart pain when they realise people may not turn up. Actually, we invited 122 pax, but 114 pax RSVP to say they will come. On that day, last minute 3 people didn't turn up.We had no reserve table so we made some losses but a least, the losses are limited.

My friend had wedding at Sentosa. Alot of guests couldn't find parking. Didn't evenattend the wedding dinner. Cos frustrated with parking. About 20% dip in attendence that night.

Another friend held at MArriot. I think never RSVP properly. All friends (no relatives cos Malaysians). At least 4 tables out of 15 empty.

Law & Len,

How old are their kids? if those small small kids den no nid worry at most that table add in 1 extra chair. Just make sure that table don't have too many kids together should be fine.

That's advised by my friends...the hotel normally won't charge you for adding 1 chair due to extra kid

For mine, my hubby and I have asked our own parents to give the no of tables they required, friends and relatives. Then our own friends, we will call/sms/email to check if they are coming or not. Once they are Ok, then we will confirm the list. If relatives bring extra friends or kids, then will have no choice but to accomodate lor. We didnt contact the relatives, we let our parents do the job n let us know the number of tables they need....

Kyra, SB = S*letar Broadway(replace * with e)?

ya ya... agree.. sometimes, these things are beyond our ctrl.. i hv 1 fren sms at abt 4plus saying tht her kid is not feeling well, then another 1 didnt turn up also didnt hv the courtesy to inform me until the next time i sms him and he says he has some prob with his gf.. fainted...

I'm really very thankful to my jie meis.. can really see the true friendship from this wedding event =)

hi ladies... no one miss mi today!!! *cries*

junie, bliss collection is at chinatown mrt.. it's on the right side of the exit but i forget which exit liao..

Opps... for a moment, i thought the name was wrong.. is at chinatown.. is the 2 little doll collections.. i am still thinking should i get that... cos for king size quilt is abt $160.. and bedsheet is another $50 - $80...

Junie, what color did u buy?

Scary hor. I think if my parents' side alot of empty tables/seats, my in-laws may flip *sob*

I think adding chairs to each table wont need any topping up, unless you are requesting for extra food. Otherwise, it's still 1 chicken, 1 fish etc..so no losses to the hotel.

Law & Len: We did the same thing but my parents probably wont follow up with RSVP religiously. They even mentioned for mum's siblings, example if they need 3 tables, just ask them to free seating at the designated 3 tables....

Yup, that's the BS. Have you heard of Elsa?

agnes!!! *huggies
dun cry dun cry....*sayang

sherrifer, i also take Cosmo orders, tim tam and other requests =P haha...if i really go lah hah?

Adding chairs no need to top up but may not have enough food esp for dessert, soup and combination platter. If not enough food and the table sits more than 10 or 12 pax (depending on size of table), the guests may feel unwelcomed.... tough either way.

Agree with Cactus.

I guess we can safely add the 11th or 12th chairs only if the kids are below 5yo? Otherwise they might be eating a substantial portion of food also. Or unless the whole table has been allocated to 1 whole family or 1 whole group of common friends and they dont mind having a bigger table.

Hi kyra,
My parents decide who to invite for relatives. For eg, my auntie's family has 5 ppl, he only asked me to put 3 ppl. I also wonder y but i do more or less spare additional just in case if they bring whole family along.

I have only heard of Helen, Irene, Dana, Ivy MUA leh...Elsa not very sure. They have 7 MUAs but these are the most common ones... Maybe have but I may not heard of her ba.

Yeah.. maybe can add only if they are kids... cos can assume kids eat little....or if it's 1 big extended family.. they may be more understanding to our predicament.