(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi Kyra,
Thanks for sharing your experience. But, this Sunday they will just discuss only, so when should they actually give the Pin Jin? During food tasting? (Mine's 1 month b4 AD)
My mom is not asking for any tables or stuff. She say she have no use for a roasted piggy and my side relatives only have my aunt and her family, which do not even make up 1 table.
As for Si Dian Jin, I had thought it was my mom who will buy for me. My FMIL at first said that too. but I found out Si Dian Jin shd be FILs give to me... so confusing. :S
So I told FMIL that and she was quite surprised. Said did not know. So now I also duno if she is buying that for me or not.
Si Dian Jin is diferent from Pin Jin right? Blur liao...

hahahaa!!

talking abt door number plate...Sentat said they will remove our gate & bring back to their workshop to repair next Mon.

hopefully they dun fly us kite.

hi Shugar,

SDJ normally should be given by PILs to u...For mine, my PIL bought yellow gold for me with necklace, bracelet, earrings and ring. It would be better to choose "huang jin" coz heard "bai jin" (White gold) sounds inauspicious...

SDJ is different from Ping Jin. Ping jin is given to ur parents by ur PIL and in return, ur parents will return part of it back to ur PIL.

wahahah hopefully she don't lor.. coz i seriously need to get my shoes leh...

but i was thinking if she really really fly kites again then i will just go outside and get anyone pair leh.. coz i realised both my gown need to wear a small can can so in anycase.. can't really see my legs too.. hahaha

a friend of mine told me of her friend whose parents left the amount to the ILs to decide. then the day came and they were shocked when the Pin Jin they were given was only a few hundred $. Apparently they were not expecting that and also felt it would look bad should they ask for more, so reluctantly accepted. But they felt ILs were stingy and needless to say relationship was strained.
So worrying to hear about incidences like these. Really hope everything will be ok on Sunday. Hope my mom will be ok with my flustered and kan cheong FILs. Gulp. Make matters worse, my FMIL speaks mandarin, while my mom speaks english. Urgh..

I guess u guys can go in the evening, that's probably easier.. she is working on SAT, which was why the last 2 times, she couldn't make it..

I think for me, my weight gain is difficult to gague.. coz i m pregnant not long after my wedding.. So, i dunno isit i ate alot in Chiangmai or due to my pregnancy!

My sis told me to finish giving birth to the no of children i want then stop factory... And reduce the weight properly!

diva>> Yup, Belinda works from home. The last 2 times she fly kite was

1) Said she needs to go KL with mom & HB for Qing Ming.

2) She is not in Singapore and ask her HB to attend to the girls but in the end, HB also fly the girls kite.

i do agree with babystarlet, THE BIG DAY will just pass by very quickly.. really do enjoy tht day (although all the preparation work just b4 the big day is tiring) hehehe

like for me.. its has been 2 weeks since i gotten married...hahah..time really flies

hi gals.. Me have done my overseas PS liao.. Now waiting to do my local & studio PS in early August... I have a hard time deciding on where to go for outdoor in sg... :-p

junie, hope tis sentat dun fly u kite n repair ur doors n gate nicely.

jeraldin, the shoes i bought fm taka. nearly make me cannot stand up after laying down to pose for PS coz the diamente was hooking to my can-can.

oh... so might be better to visit her during weekday evening...

so agnes and jas... you gals can make it on a weekday?? we can go for dinner together after shoe shopping if you gals keen.. =) how abt 6/7/07 (friday)?

tks law&len for clearing!

After I told FMIL that SDJ seems like is for her to buy for me, she came back to tell me about why pple give SDJ.(to 'dang' them should the DIL need to) Then she said that nowadays pple dun really have the need for these kind of things coz all working and have $ mah. I also didnt know what to say when she say that, just laugh a bit lor. So I am not sure if she is OK with buying the SDJ or not.

whahaha oh yah hor!! wahahah forgot...

okok ... why not on 4/7/07 (wed) coz thur need to attend my hubby's cousin's wedding....

jas and agnes can???? drea coming along lah!! haha

by the way.. next friday i not going for CL leh coz my company got off-peak party... so we are going to party at zouk!!! wahahhaa shiok sia... no need to pay and we got free flow of drinks!!!!

waahahhaa.... i know you don't mind one mah.. can kpo kpo abit and give us suggestions mah... hahaha then can see if you gals want to have a nice dinner somewhere near...

hahaha paging for jas and agnes... is 4/7/07 good for you gals?

we going velvet actually... dun noe wat kind of music they playing on friday leh

i do agree with babystarlet, THE BIG DAY will just pass by very quickly.. really do enjoy tht day (although all the preparation work just b4 the big day is tiring) hehehe

like for me.. its has been 2 weeks since i gotten married...hahah..time really flies

Jeraldin>> Why your company so nice, still got off-peak party one? Velvet Underground ah. I like the music but don't really like the pple who goes there, hehee.

kittylover>> U can check out Belinda's current shoes collection at www.loeandbehold.com.sg

Her shoes are selling from $49 to above $100.

junie, tink sentat wun dare to take n dun return ba.. make them sign a letter.

jeraldin, 04jul or 07jul also can... oh, the MUA help me un-hook it, still intact n mei mei... say the shoes looked so nice but hook can-can.. i muz be beri careful on my AD. wait i trip n fall den embaress myself.

Har...ur FMIL said that ah? Then u see what is their reaction when the date comes closer ba. Or maybe u can ask ur hubby. Normally SDJ is more like a teochew practice and not sure if other dialects will practise or not.

Shugar,
Technically, SDJ is only for Teochew brides.
But nowadays, people usually dun bother whether they are which dialect group. Its more like a gift from MIL to DIL. Cannot really comment on the remark ur MIL made.
Sometimes I wonder if MIL & DIL really have generation gap. Or is it true that they are not our mothers? Often, I also don't like the things my MIL says. Everytime she pass a remark or say something, I just walked away. I think she super hate me. Haha!

oh yah... agnes... must be really very careful on your AD.... cannot fall down one....

yeah junie... the company always have off-peak party once a year... last year was at marriot's bar none... oso free flow... hahaha once a year to get ourselves drunk and shake our bon bon.. wahahha

but this year cannot drink too much coz the next day going to batam for my spa retreat with my hubby!!! super excited!!! whahahah it only next weekend!!! yeah!!! wahahahh

R u girls sending out your invites before 7th month???

my GDL is on 13 Sep, i tot the wedding invite only can send then? Not ah? oh deear, guess I am a bit blur!

Jane: Food tasting is next month. MIL said want to visit within next 2 weeks =( I shall sound them out on just that one meetup.

Shugar: Without taking any tables or expecting much gifts, I think it is definitely reasonable for your mum to be expecting a slightly higher Pin Jin. Not that our parents are selling daughters but it's really a token to show the appreciation mah. I still think it would be wise for you to try to find out what is the range both sides looking at.

As for the SDJ, no offence but her reason abit ridiculous (much like my MIL when she talked about the "LAW" of 8 tables..haha). Some "traditional" families may choose to only observe SDJ custom if they or DIL are Teochews. SDJ is a Teochew custom actually but most MIL will now buy. My ex colleague, her MIL told her no SDJ cos both sides not Teochews, she told her only giving her one necklace but she can choose. So we were joking and asked her to choose a SUPER THICK one =P

SDJ = 4 kinds of jewellery from in laws
Pin Jin = angbao from in laws for brides' parents
Jia Zhuang = jewellery/money from parents for brides

Am I correct?

Law & Len: I dont like Huang Jin leh. My gf has a very open-minded MIL. She gave her 5K to go shop on her own. She spent 4K at Lee Hwa (all white gold/diamond pieces) and returned 1K to the MIL, both were happy. I heard from hb his parents have bought yellow gold as well (without asking for my preference). Designs all chosen by his sister. So...I am very bad...am not excited of my SDJ at all =X

Kenshare: We both same date (29th). I asked in this thread earlier on and it seems most couples intend to send before 7th mth. Cos our date only 2 weeks after 7mth....if you only send after GDL, essentially only about 2 weeks for people to RSVP, for you to collate and do table seating plan.

I am aiming to send out 1 week before commencement of 7th month. If guests respond within 7th month period, so be it. For us, we will then follow up again from lunar 8mth month.

Hi Kyra,
My MIL has asked me to choose but since my parents have said to take yellow gold so i just follow suit. My MIL asked me to shop my own n when i have seen what i wanted, she went down with me n hubby to pay the $$$. I chose all with diamonds so MAYBE can wear during occasions. SOme more heard will have more values this n that for yellow gold. Anyway, I am not a jewellery person so I am Ok with anything.

Ur SIL choose for u ah??? But I thought they should have at least consulted u 1st or ask to shop with u mah...Just my opinion. No offence!

Hi Kenshare,
My AD is 20 Sept but i intend to send my invites ard early Aug, before 7th Lunar mth. Kinda early but no choice...

When you girls say send invites, u mean also for the relatives???

My mum says just give during the GDL, I also dunnoe lei..DIe ah! I so slow coach....panic!

waliao..PL & Jeraldin like playing some codename games.

My company also dun hv D&D.

But this Fri, me going to my HB's company D&D. His company so good, still can let staff go back early to prepare for D&D.

When she said that, she said it jokingly, a bit laughingly, but really, I am not sure what she is thinking also lor, since she brought it up. She knows I am a Teochew bride anyway. They are not Teochew, so maybe dunno.

BF say just let her choose it lor. I was hoping to choose myself actually, but maybe she already set a budget in mind and worry if I choose, may pass her budget? She mention she is buying gold for me for the tea ceremony and will be buying it before GST +. I also dun want to come across as being demanding or greedy to her. Very most if the pieces she does buy look aunty, then i just keep and dun wear lo. Heheh..

Hope this process is as smooth as possible. As long as my mom dun feel she's being short changed and everybody happy can liao.