(2007) Brides of year 2007

secret: where did u took the PS? the place and background looks interesting.. can divulge??
hopefully ur new BS will do a good job.. i will pray hard for u...

HI GALS,me busy at work again.sianzzzzzzz..
talkn abt reno,my hse jus finished renovating,show u gals 1 of my feature wall pic.
need any reco for reno,can ask me...
buy electrical appliances also can ask me,heee...
we went sourcing for very long liao.finally everything gg to be send in feb,heee

happy wkends!!!!!!!
448173.jpg

Haven been in forum for a few days, looks like we have more and more 070707 brides. Not sure if on this date road will flood with bridal car or not. Can wait for this day to come.

I have arrange for my BS early Feb, is there anything I need to take note or bring?

Sharon

Fully agreed that Rasel provides good services and food up to expectation. Thumb good! Yes i liase with Elsie. How about you?

Hi De_princess, I think there are many other JPs around other than Mr Chan. My JP is Mrs Chia, you can look for her if you want. ;)

Talking about mani and pedi, where do you girls do it? I'm thinking to get a package since gonna do it a few time this year. Any recommendation?

Hello ladies, havent been coming here for a while. Really busy with work.
Jaspire: I'm gg to stay in Buangkok/Sengkang, so that's pretty near u too.. heeeee
Finally going to start reno... v excited =)
Ladies, 5 more months to go! jia you!

happylife: I think if you check the homepage of SGBrides, you can see that there's a promo with Celebrity Nails. I may take up the package... Still gotta do nails for PS & AD.

Ben: Since yours is MTM, then you should be done within 3 hours. Your coordinator will let you try on some gowns just to see what styles are more suitable for you. If you see a gown you love, can just take OTR too. BC will just deduct the cost from your package.

Hi all, see you all talking about renovations! Mine is supposed to be ready by 1st week of Feb. Hopefully everything will be done soon. All my furnitures and appliances will be delivered on the 9th Feb. Can't wait to see everything put together..

My house is a 5-room. We did a major renovations, meaning everything in the house taken out and hacked. My renovations started in 4th Dec but in the month of Dec, nothing much was done or else mid Jan should be able to handover liao. I think it is because of holiday season too. So if you all going to do renovation must set alot of buffer time just in case. If want to do major reno and be in time for AD, better start confirming your ID soon. Then can start renovation after CNY and shop around for furnishing and appliances.

cpigl, to get better offers for appliances. It's better to go to those neighbourhood stores. I read about some in the Home and Deco thread and I went to DAV. First, you have to decide on the brand and model of appliances you want to get then note them down. Go to Best Denki or Harvey Norman to see cos those in the neighbourhood don't have a huge range of products. You actually no need to make a trip down to them cos some of them like DAV, doesn't have display sets. Just call them up and check out prices then go to those that you are comfortable with. Those that I tried calling are DAV, Kong Tai, Goh Ah Bee, Hong Liang, Adamas and Asia Excel. Out of all these, DAV has most of the better comments and reasonable prices. Asia Excel took a long time to get back so we dropped them. Must be patient when getting quotes from them especially if you have a few items cos most of them are super busy as they have alot of orders. ;)

Wow! Our thread is so active nowadays! btb, i guess all of us are excited... haha... but very busy wif work... no time to really surf the website... nevertheless, wish all of you a joyful time preparing for our weddings... =)

priscilla
the place is at bugis, walk along middle road that stretch
it is a museum i think
somehitng about arts
towards selegie road
:P

happylife, i have tried calling hong liang and a shop in toa payoh. the one at toa payoh give me a lower quote. i also saw from one of the thread, there is a online company call humbleelectric, their quote is the lowest and don't require any deposit. not sure if i want to take them. heheh.... still looking around. gain city do give similar prices to neighbourhood shops for some items.

my house should be ready by end of jan or early feb

andrea, nic...met up wif Mr.Chan at Borders jus nw...he looks n sound quite stern at 1st but after awhile he'll warm up n make small conversations...a v.grandfatherly looking man n easy to tok to...no worries...^^

jaspire.. thanks.. i dun tink is a load off my mind. i bought resale flat. 4room ->99sqm. The moment my bf say he wan tt flat(we have already viewed it 2 weeks back). i was shocked.. Den i keep ask him u confirm boh? Then he say confirm so ytd after viewing it again plus somemore viewing of new resale flats we sign e OTP with e agents. I start thinkin of money when e moment he say wan to buy liao. He made e decision quite fast as we were told tt the seller of e flat is gg to decide ytd night whether to sell to another buyer or not if no other offers lor..

cluelëss: the hse flooring is okie so dun nid to do. but they dun have kitchen cabinet at all so have to do tt and tinkin of doin a built-in wardrobe. wad else muz i do ar?

Maochong: i took more than 1 week wor.. about 3-4weeks. and we viewed total abt 13flats. u muz jia you wor!

happylife: can pay by installment if buy electrical appliances frm those neighbourhood shops? i ask my bf where he gg to buy. he tell me he gg courts coz can use Credit card n pay in installment sayin they wont charge ani interest.. realli meh? but hor, dun like e idea of payin installments leh. like tt i every mth gg to slog like a COw liao.. moo moo..

btw how much did u all spent in reno and appliaces? i tink i can move in by june 25 my big dae. haha

Oh ya.. abt the reno have to change all the doors.. window grilles tink no nid change at the moment. but i dun like black grilles, mayb when later on i got more cash den i change all to those white n blue type. nicer.. hehe

oh ya btw clueless, maochong, and babystarlet thanks for ur console regardin my dad of being nt bery happy with my marriage.. i understand how he feels actually and i oso realli she bu de them esp when im stayin so far away frm them. coz im realli those type of very sticky to parents one. coz im youngest mah.. but no choice le.. alreadi agreed to marry den oso cant last min back out. there was once i ask my bf if can postpone it to mayb 2008 den he rejected me straight in my face coz he say his whole family noes abt it liao.. ltr postpone very wad one.. lolz

snowie : i am staying near Kangkar station nw... Hehe.. My lovenest will be at Compassvale Station!! Think we really can go around visiting each other houses in future..hehe... BTW, just added u in friendster..

Winniejaneo : me also like u.. DUnno wana MTM both gowns or just one.. Really really hope that i can find my dream gown OTR.. coz i had a bad experience with MTM gowns, so once bitten, twice shy liao...

yeah gals! This thread is really exciting, I read almost everynite ..hehe

XiaoHui, the blue La Vie gown is really gorgeous, it very long n flowy at the back
but i think ur fren carries it well as she pretty tall
I din i should quickly make a trip down to LaVie for a try! so how do u find the tommyleong n ChrisLing technique? Would like to hear from ur comments.

Joy Joy,
I;m a Hakka n my hb is a hokkien..as for hakka, is very similar to that of a Cantonese..i think a roast suckling pig is needed, then when u hui niang jia, u have to bring the whole suckling pig back to ur mum house n she'll need to separate the pig so that ur hubby can bring back the tail and head back to his house...that's the traditional way of doing, signifying you tou you wei (neatly done) in all things that your hubby does in future to come....kinda interesting ah..
As for me I'll be doing without the suckling pig cos my mum is not very particular on such practice..she had advised to prevent any killing on our big day..devoted Buddhist. Well it's eventually up to individual

Priscilla,
Me also living in Yishun...which blk u in?

All, pardon me for my poor english as the thread is moving real fast and my eyes are tired from reading all these interesting post in the late nite

Can I find out from all of you whether is it too early to source for an AD photographer? Just thought that my wedding date in Dec is a popular date. Any recommendation? There are so many around and I am totally confused now.

morning ladies....

sailor.. its not too early...
u can start searching now liao..
cos as u say Dec is a popular date and alot of PGs will be taken up fast...
some of us got our AD PG last yr already...

maybe u can let us know ur budget??
then we can recommend some PGs to u?

cpigl, good that you found good quotes but do check carefully cos some of them tend to give display sets.

Hi +_eMiLy_+, I think most of them cannot pay by installment and in fact, most of them accept credit card unless you pay 3% extra. So if you are thinking of paying by installments, try Best Denki or Harvey Norman. Btw, I think don't go to Courts cos Best Denki or Harvey Norman can still bargain with them one although may not be as attractive as those in the neighbourhood but still not too bad. If the store state that it's 0% installment for the credit card then yes, it is interest free. But you have to remember that you cannot redeem the installment early else have to pay a fee i.e. if you decide to pay 24 months installment then have to pay in 24 months cannot 12 months later want to pay all have to pay a fee.

I spent about 90k on my reno, furnishing and appliances.

Good luck in your search!

emily, to date i have spent $42K on reno. furnishing haven't source yet. other then your kitchen cabinets, will you be doing the toilets, re-wiring, changing lightings, painting, chemical wash the whole place, rubbish chute, iron gate, main door, when you change all the doors, do you need to change the door frame?

for me, i tear the whole place down and re-do everything including windows, grills, rubbish chute. heheh....

happylife, 90K on reno, furnishing and appliances is alot! Gosh... I oni set aside 25k for minor reno, furnishing and appliances.

BTW, found dat prices of Audio hse@Liang Court is quite gd too! Can pay by credit card and can bargain/negotiate for a better price. Gd luck in yr reno gals... hope to see nice pixs of yr lovenest soon!

emily, i also like white window grills with blue ;)

think I will look for the ready to move in flat, so that i only need to change aircon and toilet stuff. din wana spent a lot on reno. BTW, HDB main door is stronger leh, is fire-proof. so better dun change.

If you have enough cash to pay for the furniture, good to pay-off everything then no worry after that. But if not enough cash or emergency fund, then 0% installment was not a bad idea.

emily, for my hse, i also didn't change the floor tiles as they are still in good condition... but i laminiated the floors for the master and 2nd bedroom which we combined to one room.
we didn't like the previous owner's kitchen and toilets so i hack away all the tiles and redo those...
hhhmmm there will be quite abit to do depending on how fast u want the hse to be ready.. can start with thinking whether u want to let ID do the hse or contractors.. =)
if u choose a reliable ID, dun need to monitor as closely, for contractors, u'll need more time to liaise with different pple and co-ordinate ur time better, but most of the time it will be cheaper..

maochong, i never thot of that leh... hahahah will ask my mother to help me to change... ahahha

oh no, it my last year to ask for angbow... next year got to give out AB instead!!!!

I'm planning for ROM in June 07, any advice or suggestion for me. I'm blur blur...lost...
Thought of doing it outside ROM. What are some of the things i need to take note? Thanks.

hahhahaha

i just realized that i've not been doing much preparation for the AD and i have only 4 mths plus to go, my AD in on the 2nd, early part of June, so must be alittle bit more "kan cheong"... hee hee
wanted to start selecting my pix for montage but never start doing it.. ooopppsss.. getting lazy..

hi mo mo, actually, my case is the opposite of you. my FH is a catholic but i'm not. Initially, he didn't wanna have a church wedding cos it means nothing to me. But things change and I don't mind doing it for him cos i think i means something for him. We've also signed up for the Engage and Encounter Weekend workshop. The church wedding will be held at Church of the Risen Christ. :D

JLee,

i m not a teacher, though have been toying with the idea to apply to be one.. Joyce is a nice name.. tat's y!! keke..

the suckling pig seems more significant if the bride is a Hakka or Cantonese lehz.. saw in some other threads, the Ti Qin is like 3 weeks b4 AD.. isit that too near to the wedding date..

Anyone out there had done that oredi? how long b4 the AD shld we give out the invitation, the Xi Bin n watever will b given out at the same time oso rite.. then the Ti Qin shld b even earlier than tat loh..