(2007) Brides of year 2007

I bought my tickets from the agency.. they got provide airport transfer.. so I got no problems for this..

cant rememeber the hotel name..
but my friends say better to stay in hotel near mongkok... have to ask the agency liao..

Yuki, you only can't place the photo on the wall behind the bed. any wall in the room can leh....

Haiz, he knows..im giving up......I will still do the wedding preparation, but he can't blame me years down the road, i will keeping saying non-stop on this wedding.........

Mei, can undersatnd your predictment, my colleague is one good example. She was not treated well by her MIL. Before her marriage, the MIL was always picking things on her. During her pregnancy, she was even made to carry 5kg of rice. But she has been tolerating for the past 10+ years, for the sake of her loving husband.

jhoo/Mei, I share the same thoughts as you. I may not be a clean freak but I'm tidy while my hubby is not. His things are always lying around. My PIL and hubby have one common characteristic: they will throw the skin of the fruit after peeling in the sink, and will only throw it away till 'further notice'. They never realise about the efficiency of ants. I always happen to be the one who needs to use the sink after and hence having to clean up the mess. I'm beginning to have phobia about living together. The closer the date of our marriage, the higher the fear I got.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Silvia,

Yup, I'm a divine bride. their packages are now around $3988 for Made to Measure and about $2888 for Off the Rack, I think. Not inclusive of photos. 1 EG, 1 WG, maybe 1 tea dress if you sign up during a show. Best thing to do is to call them to make an appt to drop by and they can show you the gowns and tell you the latest package.

My package was slightly cheaper than what I've mentioned above cos I signed up early this year.

They are very friendly, not pushy so definitely worth going down. Only thing to note is that they don't have many kuas and don't rent accessories. Other than that, they tie up with great photographers and very professional make-up artists (Joanne Low, Sam and Freddy). Overall, it's been a pleasant experience for me.

Wow - looks like most of us brides have taken PS this month! I still haven't gone to choose my pix, quite busy lah...</font>

Halo twinstarz, weclome... we same same, AD in May and ROM in dec... Silhouette the Atelier whao... its the package ex?

Hi May 2007 BTBs, are we still meeting up for our dinner?

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Silvia,

Yup, I'm a divine bride. their packages are now around $3988 for Made to Measure and about $2888 for Off the Rack, I think. Not inclusive of photos. 1 EG, 1 WG, 1 men's suit, the usual bouquets, car decor and 4 make-up sessions... maybe 1 tea dress if you sign up during a show. Best thing to do is to call them to make an appt to drop by and they can show you the gowns and tell you the latest package.

My package was slightly cheaper than what I've mentioned above cos I signed up early this year.

They are very friendly, not pushy so definitely worth going down. Only thing to note is that they don't have many kuas and don't rent accessories. Other than that, they tie up with great photographers and very professional make-up artists (Joanne Low, Sam and Freddy). Overall, it's been a pleasant experience for me.

Wow - looks like most of us brides have taken PS this month! I still haven't gone to choose my pix, quite busy lah...</font>

Yah, ivied, sometime when at my hubby's house, none will clean the bowl etc after their makan other than his mum. Even when his sis and BIL come to eat during weekend, they will throw in the sink. KNS, they tot we are maid huh??

There's once i wanted to wash my hubby's shirt full of sweat, if clean well, shouldn't be any smell lor, but he insist to soak..and he forgot totally and when i went back to new home few days later, the toilet and kitchen stink...

Langham place is in Mongkok and its a very good hotel. It is on the expensive side though...
the bath room wall is made of glass and not concrete....hehe

Hi Bride (lyons),

Just to update some info:

ROM: 13 May 2007 at Turquoise Bistro at Gillman Village.

Photographer: Jon Keng/ Wayne Ng (www.jonkeng.com)

MUA: No idea.. any suggestions for ROM outdoors.

AD: Four Seasons 28 Oct 2007 (Sunday lunch)

Gowns: Graceful Image (The Adelphi)

snowiee.. i juz buy their normal octopus card.. coz can keep n re-use the next time u go hkg. i'm still using the one i bought during my 1st trip to hkg in 2000. public transport beri convenient in hkg. as long as u got a map, it should be fine!!

my 1st trip to hkg was booked thru agency so got airport transfer.. subsequent trip in 2001 and mar tis yr was booked on my own. even the hotel n air ticket also booked myself. during the apr working trip i took the airport express n change a cab with my colleagues den on the way back we took a express bus to airport.

snowiee, u referring to langham place, the shopping centre or langham place hotel? the hotel was great but expensive. i stayed there in mar'06. cost $300-$400/nite.

Usually I buy my own ticket and hotel stay and while in HK i move ard using octopus card too. it's very convenient as it's modern like spore.

another brand for wife biscuit also nice.. kee wah. also more easier to get coz the yuen lang one (call hang heung) is more difficult to find. they had a shop in shatin but i can't find it.

nicole.. ya lor... if u lower the roller blinds in their bathroom, can see the room liao. lol. my mum got a shock when she saw the bathroom. tink if no roller blind, den she dun wan to stay there.

agnes: hehe yah lo I went last year with my cousins and since we want to save money. 3 pple book one room at Langham place. When they saw the bathroom, my cousin got worried ...hehe

Hang Heung can also be found in Mongkok along Nathan Rd.

nicole, i am going in dec.

agnes, ya the langham place hotel. is mar considered a peak period that why its so expensive?

agnes, where to take the express bus from? if i were to take the airport express line to langham place. do u think its very difficult getting there with the luggages?

jhoo.. cheer up. I guess the wedding preparations has overwhelmed you.

iVieD.. gosh.. your colleague is really tolerant. I guess I would not be as magnanimous.

I don't understand what is wrong with throwing the fruit peels immediately into the bin. It's really strange.

I am also thinking of all sorts of things when I move in... it's scary.

nicole, how did u book the langham place rooms?

did you do it online through their website?

is their website safe and reliable ah... ? how do i know if i get my room and if my booking is confirmed?

i am afraid wait i fly to HK and during check in they hotel go tell me they didnt receive my booking.. wah.. then how ... then no room to stay in !! *worries worries ...

pardon me hor.. so gan cheong.. coz this is the first time i am going leh.. hee

Snowiee: i book through their own website. it's very secure as after booking the reservation staff with correspond with you if you have any further queries.
their staff is very friendly and respond to your mails quite fast.

also you can take the express transport at the Langham place airport counter. I am not sure if its bus or cab but I do know there is a langham place counter at the airport.

ya, and they have this habit of leaving the plates and bowls in the sink, saying to accumulate it and wash all at once so that will not waste water. *faint* The sink stinks with all the leftovers.....

We were brought up differently and hence the lifestyle differs too. I used to grumble when my mum the cleaniness freak asks me to wash this and that, no throwing of leftovers in the sink etc. Now I can see why. My sink is so much cleaner and looks brand new as compared to my in-laws. BTW, they have the same number of years of usage.

My colleague said: bai ren cheng jin.

jhoo... may I suggest a place that sells nice, leather shoes? Maybe if you give your hubby the shop name, it's easier for him to get it done. Sometimes, guys need to be spoon-fed.

The shop is called Pedro &amp; they have outlets at Citylink &amp; Wisma. They have really nice, leather shoes that goes well with suits. I bought shoes for my dad from there.

yah, ivied, pei fu your friend. if i'm pregnant and treated this way, i will move st to my mum's home. to me, nothing is as important as my baby..but one thing is my MIL won't do that..she said if im pregnant, i have to eat alot good tonics, food etc etc..

Hallo Ladies!

Mei, I think your MIL is a dragon lady. I guess u also no choice coz u re staying in her house. Mabbe you and your hubby might want to move out eventually?

I also tired &amp; fed-up with my husband at times. Sometimes, I also dunno what to do... Anyway, i just tell myself.. He bo chap, y shd i chap. Just dun wan to make myself too gan cheong over things.

Till now, he still has not settled the car and his xiong di coz he assumed that the whole world will help him automatically once he opened his bloody mouth. I just told him to get it done b4 the end of this month.. If not, he cant blame me if the wedding budget has exceeded.

jhoo, my hubby home training also similiar to your hubby one... except that his mum has not asked me to clean the dishes yet.

iVieD, it's true, different family have different cultures &amp; it takes a lot for us who are going to move in to adapt.

I told my hubby already that I'm going to do the cleaning of our own room &amp; toilet myself, I think it's better as I'm one fussy pot.

Sometimes, I feel it's also not too good if MILs are overly concerned when we are pregnant.. if she controls our going out with friends, our diet, etc.. sure jialat.

nicole, mongkok still haf hang heung meh??? tot closed down liao. every where i go is either kee wah n wing wah. i stayed in a room wif my mum whereas my sis and nephew stayed in another room. the hotel was rather full dat time, we got rooms each at one end of the hotel. pengz.

snowiee, i also nt sure y leh. but i know may is a off peak period. i took the express bus at hongkong island coz i was at our hkg office for 1/2 day training. went to airport straight fm there. tink if u got big or many bags, better dun take the express bus or train. too trouble some. but u can book airport transfer at the airport when u reach hkg. there is a counter there.

i booked through octopus travel, an online reservation website. abit cheaper den their direct website.

kaye.. tell me about it man.. the title dragon lady is not doing her reputation enough justice. She was trying hard to get me to change my gowns but I stuck to my guns.

I also sian already.. since our ideas all get gunned down, I'm not going to bother so much, just do my own things.

toking abt hkg now makes mi want to go again leh.. heart itchy liao. maybe i shall take a portion of my 13mth for a short trip. lol

Agnes: i went last yr still have ..but this year i am not sure..

snowiee: if you want to go HK must book fast ..hehe its the holiday season in dec...

nicole, i cannot find in mar or apr tis yr leh. but nvm kee wah also beri nice. beautiful packaging can give as gifts n nt too sweet.

by the way ladies: i went to Fairy's inc to custom make mine and FH wedding bands.
still in the process of designing but quite happy talking with sandra and evelyn.
very nice ladies
anyone bought wedding bands from Fairy's

agnes: maybe year end when i go i go find ...see whether still have or not..hehe
i keep u posted.
I definitely love HK ..its like my second home..winter is good for makan and weather...if want to buy clothes should go during the start of autumn when they have the mega sales

nicole, i'll wait for ur good news... i too big size liao, dunno where to find clothes. oni manage to bought one from ITloveMickey at times square. coz me SGD60+++ but it was nice lah.

we are in the process of designing so the price is not fixed yet. It depends on what type of gold you want (rose gold, champagne gold, white gold or black gold or a combination), also the type of design, the type of engraving or embossing...hehe

for me and FH we are opting for black gold and rose gold colour combination. I will most like choose embossing of the design...whether to put diamonds or not...not decided yet..hehe
the price will be quoted when the design is settled

nicole ah, u booked directly from them? how much did u pay for ur room that time? by the way how did they confirm the reservations with u after booking?

u mean the staff called u or did they sent you a confirmation email?

By the way u mentioned that there is a langham place counter at the airport.. meaning they provide FREE shuttle bus from the airport direct to the hotel ah?

Mei, your MIL is really domineering. Sounds like 'Wu Ze Tian'. hee.. What about your FIL? Men tend to be the softer one when they have a 'woman in charge'.

My colleague is my main source of motivator. From her, I understand what is called xiang jin ru bin. She does not mind being reprimanded by her MIL, all she is asking for is a loving husband and a pair of obedient kids. So far her tolerance has sort of 'touched' her MIL, the scolding has lessen.

kaye, end of this month is tomorrow lor. So is he going to work on it?

snowiee: its ard HKD1300+++ per room per night and my cousins and I stayed for 4 nights.

After booking there was a confirmation email. I emailed them back to double confirm the room at a later date( nearer to my trip).

the langham place counter at the airport provides transport to the hotel but it is not free..hehe must pay.

Mei, i think ur MIL too free and interfering... Ur gown ur business.. just dun understand y..

I pretty heng... Actually, I think my ILs also has a bit of "dog eye see ppl down". My husband got this disgusting BIL that I hv utterly no respect for. My ILs liked him very much simply he has a MPV and stays in a condo. To me, he is an awful person who doesn't respect ppl and someone trying to live it up. My Mum says that coz I m at least an Uni grad that's y they dun do anything funny to me yet...

I kena scolded once from my MIL for a food order that came late... I can imagine if i dun work... Lagi jialat... Anyway, my ILs dunno how to teach kids one... Very jialat... My husband and his siblings not close and all very mecenary one...