(2007) Brides of year 2007

anise : when r u goin to choose ur WG??

nw im headache over my PG n VG... haven find anyone yet... dunno can i make it in time... anyway Im having 6 jie meis... hehe...

hi chere : i gt hear someppl says no. of bros muz tally wif the no. of sis leh... but the last wedding i attend she only haf 3 sis n 6 bros...

huichinz,

personally, i find those national costumes pretty cute, but the albums (PS with national costumes) i've seen so far r a bit cheena. dunno whether it's the album design, artwork, background or the design of the costumes that makes it cheena.

happyface,

thought of having 9 jiemeis b4 (meaning 'chang chang jiu jiu'), but my bf said it's too much, will cut down to 6 (including bridesmaid).

chere,

i'll try to have same no. of jiemei n xiongdi but dun think it's a must.

Hey Faith,

Which part of thomson is that? There arent any new developments in thomson for a long time. (Read from the shang thread that its a private place you've got).

True, other than AMK, lakeside and sin ming would be near to our parents but these 2 places are not very convenient in terms of accessibility to a mrt station. Fiance works in shenton way, so he takes the train to work.

So far the only 2 gals who are confirmed in their wedding plans are wen and ngjoan.

I've never been interested in hiring a VG but it seems many of you are doing so. Gosh, that will add a few more grand to the expenditure rite....

hi yuki,
actually though you may be feeling horrible with your sore throat and fever, think of the bright side! you will probably shed some weight cos you will lose your appetite.. heh.. in time for your PS next week! I had sore throat initially and a bad cough for 2 weeks liao and i lost some weight cos not been eating well... heh. Better eat something light... take care!

Hi everyone...
me new to this thread..manage to persuade my fh to have the banquet next year...
just asking is it too late to plan rite nw??
quite clueless how to go abt it..anyone can help me pls???

Oh yes, just realised another "9" coincidence with Faith, who mentioned that she started dating on the 9th of Sept with her FH.

I started dating my Fiance in 1997, on the 9th of Sept. Heehee creepy creepy, so much 9s around us.

I think its better to have same number of brothers and sisters isn't it? Then when they crash gates also fairer mah hee.

Hi shirley,

I think the important thing now is to get the date? Work out a budget. Source for the venue (Going to shows and reading the forum or call up venue for package or go down to meet the coordinators) first cos they get booked up pretty fast esp if it is weekend. Then source for PG and VG cos popular ones get booked pretty fast too.

hi happyface,me planning to have 4 sisters,not sure for my hubby side,how many bros he getting

hi Huichinz,so u got to convert to their malay religion right?

i think it looked nicer when got same num of bros and sisters ba.
my uncle is a pro VG,so will be askn him for contacts for PG and VG,but pro they dun have such things called coffee table albums etc....me still tinkn if i shld get like u all.got free stuffs.but i believe my uncle's contacts are jus as pro,jus tht no free stuffs lol.wat u all tink?

hi shirley soh,ya,better settled on ur date 1st.

hi faithz,

if u take up ur wedding package in taipei then when ur AD comes, how r ur gonna collect ur gowns? i suggest u should get a bridal shop which has branches / HQ in both singapore & taiwan.. then can probably ask for transfer if u prefer the gowns from taiwan side.. they may even offer cheaper transfer rate than norm courier services.. yes! there's a street in taipei that has most BS there.. check it out babe! u may hv too many choices in the end.. erm.. pros n cons lor..

hi juju,

for VG, u no need spend a few grands la.. basic package can be around 600-800.. if it wasn't ur intention to get one initially n u changed ur mind, u can just get a basic package that won't cost alot.. ultimately it's for remembrance.. what is important is what they capture n not what they edit right?!

hey! u started ur dating since 1997 @ 09-Sep.. there's another "9" u know.. ur are into ur 9th yrs at 09-Sep-06.. hee.. mine was started at 18-Feb-96.. so.. we are into 10th liaoz.. ^_^

hi juju,

i believe ur priority is on accessibilty to mrt right?! u may want to consider hougang, sengkang or even pungol... they sound far but there's mrt (NEL) n the price is more reasonable.. give it a tot babe! just in case u're worried for ur fiance's workplace, the 3 areas can take NEL to outram to change train to raffles.. max time is max 45mins including transfer.. me stay in sengkang n our new flat is gonna be near buangkok mrt.. ^_^

Hi SHir,
kao_welcome.gif

Yea, Apple79 is rite. Have u ROM-ed? Once u've confirmed your date your ur AD, you will need to fix a budget 1st, then sign up with these 'vendors':

1) Venue
2) PG / VG
3) BS
4) PS
5) Ask whoever's gonna be your bridesmaid/groom's men
6) Invite cards
7) Make ur guests' list
8) Florist

Halo Babystarlet: Yea, will need to convert to Muslim. Currently I'm taking classes to know more of the religion. hehe

Hi Jenn, yah i realised it's the chinese 7th month. But my fiance and myelf are not bantang aboout such. so it's ok. thanks though

Hi ngjoan, think Hilltop is on the 2nd floor...
Hi Faith, ted wu is good in embroidery, tan yoong gowns are very beautiful but out of my budget, francis choong gowns are very dramatic.
As for me, i prefer fairy-like gowns, hence opt for Kai

It depends on what you prefer...good to visit them and try the gowns. However, my advice is not to visit too many BS, you will be confused and find it hard to decide. Hope this helps

its better to ve more "brothers" n "sisiters". i once watched a friend's actual day DVD n during the "fetching bride" the hassle n bussle at the gate has only 3 girls on one side n 3 guys on the other side plus groom. look very hrmmm.. sparse... not "re nao"... better to ve more abt 5-6 at least.

as my bf plays a lot of soccer... n he can pick out 6 brothers n classify which are the closer ones n which are not... so we decided to have 10 on each side.

10 sisters n 10 brothers!!

that wil make the actual day highlights videography very fun n "RE NAO"!!

Shir, you can oso look out for any Wedding Exhibitions - mostly held in Suntec or hotels - lookout for them in the local wedding mags yea

i'm thinking of how many jie meis to hv..cos currently i hv 4 cfm ones then 1 of my frens said too little... then another say its okie... too many difficult to share angpao....hahahah .. then i afraid tht the no 4 not very auspicious too..hahha

wow staritzz really very 're nao' for you! Since it's happy occasion, the more the merrier? think i'll have at least 5, max 8 ... maybe 8 on each side ??

hi shirley it's never too late. Guess you need to work out how many guests you will be inviting for your banquet/reception and your budget first. With that, you'll be able to shortlist a few suitable venues to hold your wedding. And also decide on a few dates.. whether strictly on weekends, or must be auspicious day for you n hubby.. etc. Just ask if you need any help, ladies here are very resourceful

I've just been to a wedding at Bliss garden. It's at expo. Under Qian Xi also..the food was good! but not sure about the Farrer Park side. Actually printing of cards shouldn't be a prob for you since you are having a small crowd. U can actually print on your own. Personalised and save money also. I feel that wedding is once in a lifetime. While price and perks are impt, guess u must also like the ambience. Cos i'm sure u dun wish to regret also ma..

HI schnauzie & twinkle,

I am fine... now busy with sourcing furnitures for Clementi flat. I think also too late to source BS for March wedding anyway. Hence wedding will postphone to later part of 07.

Rinnie: Ya I agree...but sometimes ambience comes at a high price...haiz...marriage is so tiring leh...really hope things will jus past quickly n I'm married n can have kids without going thru all these plannings...

smashing ....tat is a good thinking

i hope can lose some weight too .......but the sickness feeling is terrible
hope to be well by weekend then can enjoy my fitting n weekend before PS

u feeling better now? take care too ....me eating light stuff like bread n porriage ...

Gal, for PS, my BS only provide fake lilies ...do u think i shld buy my own flowers? is it necessary to take flowers for outdoor?

wow,10 sisters and brothers,that's a lotz man.

my another problem is budget problem lol.e more jie meis,means must give more ang paos.

btw how much u all intend to give ur sisters?

Hi ngjoan,

My fiance was my secondary school classmate, but we started going out only when he was in NS and me in uni.

Gosh jenn,

I've never met another couple that has been together longer than me and my fiance. You are the first. Bravo!!! Bet you are pretty young, thats why you two can lomantic until 2007 to wed.

Your place is near to buangkok station? issit that cluster opposite the quartz? Fiance and I are not keen at those areas, kinda far to his workplace and mine. I did go take a look at the quartz though, its quite attractive a place but nah, we're looking at flats first.

hi mona thanks for being so efficient in updating the table! My AD photography and videography will be Imagegarden

I haven't even gone to visit Sattine since I signed up a few months ago! haha..so dun worry, I am a slower coach than u..hee.. I should visit them soon though =p

yuki, take good care of yourself ok? Drink loads of water & sleep.. the weather is very bad lately... your PS is on Tuesday right? This weekend, just go for your fitting.. then go home & rest.

i agree with babystarlet... giving ang bao can be another headache.....
so far, i receive ang bao of abt $12 for being jie mei.. dun remember anything higher than that.

Mei, thanks ...now i drinking a lot water ...lately weather very hot hot ....yap PS on Tuesday ...less than a week away .....

yuki.. yalor.. weather so hot I've been perspiring like mad just going out for lunch...

Have fun on your PS & let us know how it all went...

hi Huichinz : mm... im tinking of Gideon koh leh... saw his work in his website quite like it... email him n he seems friendly... haha... but his booking is only up to 10mths in advance... so gt to wait lor... other den him i oso like Willy Foo's work... but the price he quote was out of my budget...

Shutterbug Studio oso seems nt bad...
Desmond Ho oso another one...

all dis above dat ive mention ive gt their qoutation in my email... so if u guys wan den mayb can email u all lor.

Oh forgot to comment on your flowers for your PS... I think fresh flowers will look nicer.. you can buy a bouquet from any florist. No harm having an extra bouquet.

Maybe we wait for jhoo's comments as she has just completed her PS.

hi happyface,how many sisters are there at the time u was given $12?think a bit low right.
the only time i was a sister to my frend,each of us got abt $25,my frends all commented quite low liao.....but is my 1st time,so i dunno e rate.

Hi Corsage,

What drew you to Imagegarden for VG? Anything special about what they can offer?

I'm considering Atelier X... heard good things about them so meeting up to check things out...

ang pao from who u mean? I received like $32 from both mothers. Or are you girls talking about the ang pow from groom that we get at the gate crashing time?

hi juju,

my hubby n i got-together @ poly 3rd yr.. now-a-days not romantic liaoz la.. old liaoz.. haha... so.. tot of settling down lor..

our place is still in the mid of building.. it's one of the BTO flats opened for balloting by HDB @ mar-05.. we will get the keys only in 2009.. after marriage, we plan to stay at my parent's place, which is at sengkang, accessible to LRTs.. my in-laws stayed at Toa Payoh.. the house there super ex n inconvenient for us to travel to work. he work at serangoon n me at harbourfront.. so.. we opt for NEL route.. ^_^

Hi juju,

Mine's a resale condo. I wanted a big area so Thomson was the nearest to town for the area i want and within my budget. It's not a new development. I can't afford such a big area in new development. Moreover, i only want f/h and preferably not too far from town.

Hi jenn,

I'll only be taking my bridal shoots there. Won't be taking up the full bridal package. The few taipei bridal shops i asked do provide photography for overseas couples. You'll need abt 4 o 5 days there. The 1st day will be gown selection and alteration. 2nd and 3rd day will be photo taking. 4th day is photo selection. They will then courier the completed album over. The only draw back will be bringing your AD's WG and EG over to Taipei if you want to take pics in them.

Hi Wen,

thanks for the info and advice. Think i'll visit a few to get a feel of how the gowns look like.
Fairy-like gowns sounds vey romantic. Am sure yours will be very beautiful.

Hi everyone, i'm new to the forum and it's great to see so many Sept 07 brides!

My AD is going to be in Sept 07 but we haven't picked a date yet. Oh dear, am i too late? Very scared that the dates i want are too popular and the places i want are already booked...stressed!

Also haven't decided on BS & PG yet!

Hi Jesdreamz!

I was wondering if they still have the "oriental chic" theme..if not, do you happen to know what else they have?
How many tables are you having? me intending to have around 30 tables...dunno whether the blockage from the pillars can be avoided or not??

hi priscilla,

welcome!
If you are choosing an auspicious date and if it's weekend, then u might wanna start now. The few hotels i enquired had either tentative / confirmed bookings for the date i want. Think sept (lunar 8th mth) is a pretty popular mth to get married.