(2007) Brides of year 2007

Am new here. I'm also a Sept 2007 Bride =)
Nice to see all of you....we can share ideas and tips as we approach our BIG DAYs together =)

* juju -> [WD] 28-Sep-07; [V] Oriental; [BS] ??; [AD-PG] Tuckys; [AD-VG] -

* ham ham -> [WD] 29-Sep-07; [V] Holiday Inn Park View; [BS] Divine Couture; [AD-PG] ??; [AD-VG] ??

* minne -> [WD] ??-Sep-07; [V] ??; [BS] ??; [AD-PG] ??; [AD-VG] ??

* wen -> [WD] 22-Sep-07; [V] Shangri La; [BS] Kai Couture; [AD-PG] Lighted Pixels; [AD-VG] Yuppies Production

* huijuan -> [WD] ??-Sep-07; [V] ??; [BS] ??; [AD-PG] ??; [AD-VG] ??

* ngjoan -> [WD] 29-Sep-07; [V] Hilltop Garden; [BS] Santiago; [AD-PG] 3D Lab; [AD-VG] 3D Lab;

* taRea -> [WD] 29-Sep-07; [V] Novotel Clarke Quay; [BS]Jawn Happy.Ever.After; [AD-PG] ??; [AD-VG] ??

* faithz1528 -> [WD] 29-Sep-07; [V] Shangri La; [BS] ??; [AD-PG] ??; [AD-VG] ??

* jenphua -> [WD] 19-Sep-07; [V] Regent; [BS] Jazreel Low Collections; [AD-PG] ??; [AD-VG] ??

* priscilla -> [WD] ??-Sep-07; [V] ??; [BS] ??; [AD-PG] ??; [AD-VG] ??

* kyra -> [WD] 29-Sep -07; [V] Meritus Mandarin; [BS] Santiago Wedding Studio; [AD-PG] ??; [AD-VG] ??

hi hubbit, i am not v sureif they still have oriental chic.. The themes that i know of are crystal, zen and recently i saw a wedding there with candles theme... I will most prob have ard 30 tables for my AD... Dun think there will be much blockage for ard 30 tables.. I heard from a ex-hipv bride that as long as your tables doesnt exceed 33-35, the blockage is still quite minimal.. Are u a HIPV BTB too??

do we need to bring power for touching up??
u going there with ur face bare or putting some skin care n power first then go BS?

happyface, this is his website www.williamchua.com
His mobile: 97577691.
I engaged Xiao Chai for my ROM in sept this year. Think he's pretty low profile but i like his works and his package is within my budget. I'm thinking to see the end product after my ROM before deciding on PG for AD. If it turns up well, most prob will get him to do for AD as well.

fudgecake, yup he's a nice person. Good luck !

Btw, anyone getting ROM in the next few months? I believe most of you will solemnise your wedding on your AD?

Hi Chere,

I will be solemnizing on AD. Any one got recommendation for JP? Must secure now or??? Normally how advance must we book their service?

Hi Twinkle..actually I chose them because my friend who recently got married had rave views. I was one of the jiemei, so I got to see how they worked on the AD too..and I thought they had very good attitude and were very professional
The video highlights were also a hit with her guests...very funny and captured all the impt moments

hi all,i just had my ROM 2mths ago,i can reco my JP,Mr Chan kai yau,he's quite popular and he's experienced,quite funny also.if u dun mind he's a bit old though,but no assistance is needed.he can speak in both english and mandarin....he got the fatherly look
b4 the ROM,he will meet up with e couple to chit-chat and to understand more,which i find is quite good.

as for the Ang paos,the last time when i was the jiemei,i got ang pao from both side parents and den e gate-crashing lol.
think must give drivers,helpers,MUA(jus a small token if u wan),little boy to open e car door,flower gal and boy,prepare some ang paos for the tea ceremony(some juniors will serve e couple tea ma).
btw how abt those aunties that come to ur hse to help with e tea ceremony etc??

hi anise,for banquet discussion,ask for wine cockage,free flow of beer if any,more carpark passes,invitation cards,choice of themes,different wedding flavors.

i ROMed 2 years ago liao... cannot remember my JP though. let me dig out my marriage cert and see who.

with so many pple to consider... AP of 1k is definitely not enough. hmmm.... 2k?

hi anise... also asked about swop of dishes in the menu, whether got free projector, number of nites in bridal suite and extra room for helpers, sound and mic equipment

Whoa...Girls: One nite never check bk here so many posts liao! LOL

Hey Anise, haha..yea loh, he's a Malay Muslim. Holding it at the CC costs abt 1-1.7k for the rental of the place, and the catering itself cost abt 12-13k plus deco(of the whole area and stAge). hehe..

Halo Fudgecake: WHoa...1k guests at Void deck..really packed! haha...oh...yea i'm gonna wear the traditional Baju. But still have the modern one la...heh..In general my bf's family are quite in the middle. Not too strict but not too chin chai either. haha..

Whoa...i guess since mine is a mixed-culture wedding, won't have too many angbaos to give! hahaa..

Thanks for the welcome =)

I got the date from the fortune teller. Was choosing either April or September 2007. Gotten a few dates to choose but decided to stick to September cos we had our ROM on 8 September 2005. As for the date...29th is the only weekend given by the ShiFu thus we chose that....2909...19th of Lunar August....thought it isnt too bad afterall =P

We are starting our house reno this September once Lunar 8th mth starts....Haha!

So my zhong shen da shi spans over 3 septembers....3 lunar augusts....kekeke!

hi to all the lovely-s here!

as for the ang pow, the last time i was a bridesmaid for abt 8 girls, i got abt $12? merely enuf to cover my cab fare there!! but it din matter to me coz im not there for the ang pow..im there to share my joy for my lovely galfriend who is getting married.

if u were 1 of the 10, and u just receive $10 after splitting among all the girls, would u be upset over the amount or glad n happy that u are one of the 10 closest galfrn of the bride to share the happiest day of her life?

think of it, the guys dun get a cent from crashing the gate!! n they are hte ones eating the gross stuff!

i will protect my hubby to be of course.. not weird food that might lead to a tummyache or feeling nauseous for the rest of the day(important!!) no games that requires them to sweat a big deal n then smell bad the rest of the day. anyting obsence is fine. haha

the both parents wil give angpows to the bros n sis as well... i got abt $10 or $20 from each side... i forgot.

the headache is to provide their clothes... ive bought idential ties of abt $40 from executive n co in suntec.

as for the girls, i shall tailor make in bangkok or shanghai..

the problem for me is that the girls are varied in figures... tude dress with waist sash is nice! but a plump gf will not look good in it...

if i make it with sleeves , the lean n thin galfrns will look scrawny in it...

HOW!!!!???

Hi ladies!
wah the thread is so happening

I have trouble keeping up already.

I gotten this angpao guide from some bride in the forum sometime ago.. think we left out angpaos for the emcee(s) during the discussion earlier?

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
Angpao for helpers reference
Ang paos for helpers reference.doc (24.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

The above file is of cos a reference to what a bride did. I'm not sure if need to give such 'generous' ang pao to for example, the driver (since he is already paid for to the car rental company, say not a fren). I was thinking a smaller one for these people for token sake.

I also dunno what's the market rate. Cos so far one of the earlier ones to get married among my close frens.. was only jiemei to my cousin and cos we were quite close n helped out with the reception and all, she gave a very generous angpao to me n my sis.

elchwong, it's standard for hotel to collect min. $3k deposit... some even asked for $5k deposit... maybe can check if can pay instalment by credit card. I signed with tung lok's club chinois which is at orchard parade hotel. the deposit required was $2.1k and we'd to pay another $2.1k 6mths b4 our AD, total adds up to $4.2k. but no worries coz the deposit will be deducted off fm ur final bill... so end up u pay less on the AD.

hi staritzz,
yah i was also thinking about the jie mei dress.. cos I have the same problem as you.. my frens n cousins are also varied in figures, so got to think about the styles suitable.
The tie is a good idea

either that thinking of asking the guys to just wear some coloured shirt.. say all light blue or white.

hi gals!

welcome welcome welcome!

we've more companys now.. looks like i'm the only one at 19-Sep-07.. cos it's a wed n most prefer weekends.. for me, i rather take weekdays cos it's cheaper! kekeke...

Hi Kyra,

I've also got the dates from a fortune teller and 29th was the only weekend in Sept suitable for us. Maybe it's the same fortune teller. Mine is at Lentor Loop.

Hi Jenn,

Just realise yours is at Regent. Which theme did you choose? My friend's wdding is in Dec this year and he is going for Jazz.

Hi YuKi

My AD is on 20th Jan @ National Laguana Golf Resort Country Club.

Mei,

When is the idea time to take PS? I was thinking of Oct but my frens told me is too late liao.

Hi Faith,

You mentioned to wave if we see each other on the road next sept..... I'm sure we can have a meetup before next sept, this way we will recognise each other in the bridal cars for sure.

I tink the deposit for some hotels have already increased..in fact, quite a lot i asked are 4-5k. for my case, i'm having at Raffles the Plaza and deposit is 5k..

BabyC, October would be the latest you can take PS.. a few of us here are scheduled to take our PS in October.. don't mean to scare you.. but you really need to make booking for this very soon.

originbaby.. have fun on your PS tomorrow!

hey,
anybody has any idea wats the procedure of making a gown like? E.g after designing, how many months do they take to manufacture and the meetings in between..wat actually happens?

purpliepotz.. for me.. I first met my designer 8 months before my PS... we had a chat about the kind of styles I like.. what my wedding style would be like, etc... then I was scheduled to meet him again 2 months later for him to show me his proposed designs to me.. I'll then look at the designs.. decide which I like.. probably get him to add some details.. then I'll meet him again for the final confirmation of design, measurement as well as confirming the colours &amp; materials of my dresses. My first fitting would be around one month before my PS.

Ohh your looking at conrad, you have search the others banquet? I have booked the dinner, its at Orchid Country Club. Your family/relative wont mind abt the 7th month? I wanted 08/08/08, but is on 7th lunar month, so brought forward to 2007...

hi faithz,

i haven't choose my theme yet since we are >14months to our AD but i saw their new summer jazz theme.. very nice! there're 2 jazz theme u know.. one is classic jazz, another is summer jazz.. slight difference in flower colors n design.. u may wanna ask ur friend to check with the coord for pix before finalizing the theme. i know on their upcoming wedding fair @ 23-Jul, they will launch new theme.. if possible, can go see too! like that ur friend will be the trendy-est brides in regent! ^_^

wow,providing the ties is a very good idea.
brothers dun get ang pao for helping out??i think they will get right??

i haben tht of providing wat to my sisters yet,bec as wat u all say,they are all different sizes and they got different tastes also.
1 of my gal friend is providing bridesmaids gowns to all her sisters,she plan to buy from daniel yam,but another thing,she's rich lol....

hi sassy bride,not sure if i can provide the number openly here,dun mind u can PM me or email me at [email protected]
i give u his contact.

yup i did lug quite a number of things back... ya it was raining most of the days i was there..

Yuki, sorry it is next week not this week. it ia also like urs dinner between 2 family.. so i think it will be weird like urs too when there is silence..

Baby C, it really hv to depend how long ur BS take to develope n lay out ur wedding album. like wat mei mei say, latest u must go for PS in Oct. Coz normally it take abt 3 mths for digital... Mine is also tentively booked on 13 Oct i am trying to ask for earlier dates but seems that sophia's schedule is quite pack... my cordinator tell me she will arrange again n discuss during my gown selection.

Shers, so will u be taking OTR gowns too? when is ur gown selection? if u taking OTR, then maybe u shld wait till the end of the month to chose also...

originbaby, wow so fast PS too.. ENJOY!!!

Yuki ask the BS wat u need to bring. think they shld be able to advise u..

Hi Mei &amp; Piglet,

I selecting my gown next sunday, I will check with them then fix the date for PS.

Anybody having tailor made Cheongsam for their EG?
My MIL wanting me to wear for the dinner but I still thinking..

hi hubbit,
sorry for the late reply, anyway my gal fren say her designer show her attitude when she ask to amend. hmm.... u might wanna consider abt this.

yup, HIPV's package is so attractive, you should consider. i think crystal is quite cosy &amp; romantic. y don't u call pauline &amp; view the ballroom 1st? better be quick, dates are limited. hope to see another HIPV BTB!

hi ting,

thanks for the list. it is quite comprehensive except that I dun think i will be that generous with the AP except to the xiongdis and jiemeis

hi baby starlet,

I have discussed with my jiemeis and decide against the getting the same gowns/outfits for all of them. reasons being that the gowns will cost $$$ and not all of them will look good in the same type of dress/color becos they come in all shapes and sizes as well.

i'm new to this thread and forum and my AD is 28 july 2007. need very badly to slim down esp tummy and arms.....any tips?

Hi jenn,

thanks. I didn't know there's two diff jazz theme. I went Regent 1 to 2 mths back to check out the ballroom, they had a mini fair then. Think the one i saw was summer jazz. Will inform my frd abt it.

Hi juju,

yup u r right, perhaps we can arrange a sept bride's outing. Maybe can gather at my new place when it's ready.

Hi kyra,

it's a diff fortune teller then. That means the date is very auspicious cos both fortune teller give that particular date. Did your fortune teller refer to a tong shu to choose the date? Mine didn't cos he says he can calculate without the tong shu. My only concern now is if that day clashes with any particular horoscope cos that can't be calculated. Must see from the tong shu.

hi gals...

any good lobang for facials ? preferably around central or in the north? I was reading somewhere about good skincare regime and facials to look good for the BIG day. on the other hand, other beauty tips on great skin?

Anise~

How do i go about booking a JP? I tried calling 'Love the binds' The lady said that i need to pay $388 to my surprise? So if your recomendation is cheaper i really don't mind lor! hheee...

Huichinz~
Hee..he's is early june and mine is mid june...and he proposed in june so june is special ;O)

i had my solemnisation done by JP Chan KY too

heh so many of us share the same JP.

Hi chrisl, I'm teaching late teenagers :P
so when is ur solemnisation?

fudgecake i'm also trying to look for a facial lobang.. normally dun go.
As for tips, hmm I do hear that drinking at least 2 large glasses of water the first thing you wake up helps in skincare.

wow! so many 29sept brides already!!

We actually wanted 20sept which is a thurs and hotels are cheaper,but one drawback is that it's like only 10 days after the lunar 7th mth. Just then, we found out abt novotel and their weekend prices are quite good, so ended up we choosing 29sept!