(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi originbaby,

oic ......i tot u went for both show

wow made the decision so fast? keke :P
hw u find the lunch food? coz me n my FH dun like the dinner food ......he say is different frm his expectation .....haha

Hihi everyone.... i m new in this forum as well, will be wed in June o7 too, overwhelmed by sooooo many things to do....but very excited as well hehe... anyone has any suggestions for good BS that is not pushy and does not hard sell?

Hi originbaby,

tat good

hmm i not sure but i feel tat it is a good time to source else later they r booked for my date then i got problem
u can meet up and see which are good but dun book first if u feel tat it is too early.

have u ROM yet?

hi originbaby,

yes, it is impt that u start searching for a good VG or PG. otherwise if u do it too late, u may not be able to get a good one...do it soon if possible..

Hi hui and lynda,

dun worry, i oso do not know that qing ming can't check on wedding dates. I think is the older generations believes but since my FMIL said that then we got to wait. All these believes depend on individual. i think qing ming will be over by end of Apr.

i got a question, anyone knows how much does videography usually cost? cos i got a BS package which includes AD photography (300 prints + all images in CD) dunno if the photographer with the BS is good or not. so tot i can change that part of the package to videography instead. will source for other photographers (din wana take chances cos this is once in a life time thing) .. the thing is .. is videography = photography in terms of pricing? tot if not will bargain for more stuff with my BS .. any ideas gers?

hi hui, actually i hv some venue in mind like Merchant court but e min for weekends is 40 tables which i do bot hv. I like panpac too but is out of our budget. so now still sourcing for it. I was thinking of Holiday Inn Park View but need to arrange with them to view the ballroom and the prices. Any comments on this hotel (eg. food, service,etc)

i went for lunch.

shers, then wat made u choose grand copthorne? but grand copthorne ballroom is grand too... i chose orchard coz of the food

hahaha.... ya lor.. cos we wana settle everything early so tat we can have more time to look for hse n in case of anything crop up...

yup.. got the date from a fengshui master reco by pastillies.

Hi Lynda I'm also looking for a place in Bishan. We might have bummed into each other when viewing flats. Haha.
Where have you seen? I am quite disappointed our top 3 choices in Bishan so far have asked for above valuation prices, of which 2 of them asked for more than $10k! So sad. How's your search?

Btw, videography should cost about $700 to $900, depending on whether the videographer is highly sought after.

Hi Jean, I've heard that Merchant Court is really nice. Holiday PV - my colleague mentioned that the food is ok, and the ballroom is quite nice (lightings esp). but I read from other BTBs that they look a little old. But the price is really pretty good this time round. So do check with them asap!

my hubby went for wedding dinner there just last month. yeah he said the bldg quite old, but the ballroom looks fine coz of the high ceiling...

hi Hui, yes i also got good comments for Merchant Court on the food and place but no choice they reuqired too much tables. I will check out Holiday PV this weekend.

agree, the building like so 'lok kok' hor... keke... very scared ppl give small angpow thinking it's some cheapo hotel...

FH only has 1 requirement on dinner venue, which is the high ceiling... so in the end orchard hotel won since got Hua Ting as well.

Hi originbaby ,

dun worry, i think ur guest will know Orchard hotel.... its reputation is still there

y u wan high ceiling? keke :P

I am a Jan07 bride too! Seems like everyone has settled your venue and BS. I have only settled the venue but not the BS yet. I am considering Flamingo and a few others. Is it much cheaper if i get those all-in-one BS instead?
I m getting a bit kanchiong. Even 2008 brides are posting... my god...

Hallo!

Baby, mine is on 27 Jan.... My banquet is held at Noble House...

Yuki, no lah... Just found that if i tailor made my evening gown with the fabric i want... It will be perfect... Like that not expensive, it will costs $700 inclusive of the fabric.

hi hui ..

im trying to get those blks near my FMIL cos in future got kids and stuff she can help, so due to this very limited blks we can look. so far hv seen bishan 100 odd .. those opp SPH .. ya .. these always ask for too much cash .. we got so many things to pay how to fork out 10 over k! blood suckers!!!! arrghh

so u reckon i can bargain to change my AD photography to videography lah .. cos im not really worried abt videography more int in photography .. btw.. i jus made appt with my ROM photography, u gers may wanna check this out www.jonkeng.com .. i tot the boys take pretty good pix! and the price is reasonable.

i will be gog to look at holiday PV next week, will keep u posted, realise the hotel is situated at a very ulu place .. din even remember seeing it but the package is very attractive and the ballroom looks good too .. warm crystal lightings. hope can hv good news from there .. how much is merchant court asking for den? 40 tables, abit too much leh ..

sorry for the long post .. so exciting!!!

Hi Lynda,
Exact sentiments! Really blood suckers. I am so sad these days when I view flats. Don't know what they will ask. I am also looking around 100odd blocks cos my MIL and FH's relatives all live around there, esp the KCPPS area. *sobs* We're not very well to do people or from well to do families, so its so tough for us. Finally met someone who agrees with me that its so tough to get a flat there!

Not sure if you can bargain to change, cos when we put down payment already lose a lot of bargaining power. :P But can try. Videography usually costs more than photography I think. The Jonkeng looks pretty good. Whats their price like?

ykfoo & bluberi, which fengshui master did u two consult for your date? Mind sharing the contact and rates?

Au Yong, sorry I don't know any VG to recommend. Ya...u are rite...many details to look into. So have u settled on your date? I still haven't settle my date. Headache!
Wow....8yrs of courtship....I'm going to have ROM n AD together....and it will be 7yrs for me....kekeke

Hi smashing,

when is ur AD? where is it held?
dun worry take a step at a time ...u can still source ard now n try to settle it soon

hi smashing,

since u hv settle the most importment thing which i tink is the venue... shld be ok... relax.... bs still hv time lah... even sign up one, still hv to wait few mths for fitting, ps etc...

i'm tinking of tailor made qi pao as my tea dress... my hb not veri tall, only slightly taller than me... wat kind of shoes shld i buy?

Jonic, me too!! haven settle my date yet!!!

Cos my FIL wanted us to go and find the Master Tan(quite famous) but to us his service quite ex. I attached the wedsite for ur reference. I check with the staff there they quote me abt $410/- then M. Tan will meet up with the couple @ his office to explain all the things dat u wan to noe. http://www.wayonnet.com/

Wah...So u too have a long long courtship...

Hi Jonic,

We went to consult this Master Jin Zhi Long

JING ZI LONG FENGSHUI CENTRE
64A Geylang Road, Lor 25A
(Next to Aljunied MRT Station)
Singapore 388252
Tel: 6741 7377
Fax: 6788 6062
Email : [email protected]

He charges $120 for consulation & gives you the AD, guo da li & an chuan dates. For AD, he will give you all the suitable dates for the months you are looking at. Maybe you can tell him Nov & Dec to widen the search. After you have gottn the AD report from him after 2 days, he will explain a bit & get back to him to get the guo da li & an chuan dates when it's nearer you AD.
Give him a call before going down to check whether he's in

just wana check is the tong shu out for end 2007?
cos my FMIL says its not ouy yet have to wait till end 2006. I want a date for around dec 2007.

jhoo, yuki! I'm back after a long absence... been super busy at work & evenings/weekends are spent at the gym/dates/running wedding errands.

I realise it's really fast.. only about 8 months more to go before our big day!

Hi Jaslyn,

Tong shu normally out around August.
Alternatively, you can seek help from Geomancer or if you're buddhist, can go to medium in the temple to ask too.
I got my date quite some time ago for Nov 2007.

Any 7/8 April Brides? I'd be having my wedding over 2 days. Ceremony on 7th and Banquet on 8th. Reading some of the comments here, I'd like to think that what Xue YaFang has said. About having weddings in Qing Ming is auspicious. Cos' mine was chosen by a medium. She very good leh. Close her eyes also can pick a weekend Sat for me. Same for my brother in law.

Where are you gals at now in your planning? Booked your BS and Banquet already? Mine would be as follows:

BS: Golden Horse Awards
Banquet: Holiday Inn Park View

Now checking around for a AD photographer and probably a good Videographer. But everyone seem so good and so expensive! Do you girls have problem staying within your budget? Me everything also want perfect perfect. sigh..

Let's all keep in touch. Make this thread more lively!

hi lynda, do update me on the venue and price of Holiday PV after ur visit.
the price is ard 858nett (if i dun remember wrongly) for weekends but those who hv ard 40 tables of guests can concide Merchant court.

Hi jonic,

Sorry..did not visit this thread last few days..well the package is pretty attractive as u can see ykfoo and me have already signed...and fyi, 09/12/07 and 15/12/07 is both taken by us..

If you are interested, better call and ask them to help you make tentative booking for your date. Heard 2007 Jan, Feb, March are fully booked and some weekends according to Ykfoo are booked as well.

If you need any package, do give me your email..i will send you whatever i have..

hi melody,

For BS, i think it depend on your budget... w/r you wan a high end, middle or low end range one.. when is ur AD ah? mine is on 2 Jun 06. hv u book ur venue yet?

I am new to this thread.
I am also thinking of holding my AD in Dec 07 but havent settle on the date yet.
Just looking at various hotels packages.
Any of u gals have ideas which hotels are good?

hi smashing, dun worry coz i just confirmed BS only last week. like wat shers said, even after sign up still need to wait a few mths b4 any 'action'.

kaye, 27 Jan was actually my first choice after my dad consulted fengshui master... however i couldn't get the venue i want, so my dad gave up on the date as well. heehee. had dinner at noble house b4, the food is good! btw, $700 to MTM n keep EG is really good deal wor...