(2007) Brides of year 2007

btw any1 wans to find out more abt the nutrimeal that i'm taking,can feel free to PM me.i can share the details.

hi chere,jus a word of advise since u holding at orchard hotel.rem to remind ur guests that ur venue is orchard hotel and not orchard parade hotel.i ever attended my friend's wedding and some others went to the wrong venue as both hotels are just opp of each other.heee

Hi jhoo,

my mum oso wanted to make an EG for me so that i have 2 EG for that night but i am afraid that i will not have the time to change.

Hi jq,

Actually i have placed a 1k deposit for a package with EB. But quite a number of negative comments on them, so my finace wanted to forfeit the deposit for a designer studio. Have shortlisted Dang, Flamingo, Ted Wu and Amanda Lee already. Now still trying to decide.

Have you gals applied for your love nest?

I am also a Oct 07 bride. Am sourcing for the venue now, have any of you been to the Legends @ Fort Canning? Any comments about the food and service. Please share. Thanks. If you have already sign up with them, can you share the perks you have discuss with them. Thanks
My emai:[email protected]

babystarlet - hi, we meet again ah hehe ? ya , settle on my dream venue finally.....looking forward to it.

happyface - ya, $25k include everything lor....wanna die liao .....squeeze until siao. but i think still can make it hee.

ok, have arranged appt with Calvin and Chris liao. For those who want to join, pls confirm with me by this wed ok ? You can send me a note at [email protected], and if possible, leave your contact number, so in case there are any last min change, can keep u informed.

PG Calvin : Meetup at Tiong Bahru Plaza Macdonalds, this thur 11 May at 7pm

VG Christopher : Meetup at Peninsular Plaza Burger King, Monday 15 May at 7.30pm

Just a note, Chris super hot, 15 May is his only available date.....and bad news, he just told me tat 5 and 9 Jun 07 is not available liao....he really get snapped up very fast...so for those who want him, better be fast liao wor. Luckily he still available on my AD, 3 Jun 07.

Hi ladies, i am a new BTB. AD - Oct 07. Currently sourcing for banquet venue. Kindly advise if there is any hotel offering deals around SGD800 with good perks. BS - Ritz Couture. Carol

hey hui

someone told me that if you are buying resale flats, cannot defer ur marriage certs woh .. for my case is ... i can still show them this letter that i have register for my rom in 060606, so wont hv a problem when i go for 1st appt on 15th may.

hui

are u thinking of doing alot of renovation? i think 40 - 50k is outrageous. maybe try to stick to a more realistic budget (if the place is really rundown, also must try to do the necessary first). if possible juz go to contractors and ask them to quote instead of those upmarket designer house. i will be gog to visit my frens whom 2 of them hv recently shifted. will go see their workmanship and let u know how .. anyways this is still abit early. take ur time to look for "THE" place first.

im also thinking of taking up renovation loan. dun worry so much .. look slowly for the house, it's something so much more expensive then BS, so much think think carefully .. good luck ya!!!!

hey ashley ..

welcome!!!! *hi hi hi* * wink wink* .. hands still in the air!! 

do u hv a budget for the videography?

Hi Lynda! I've had some friends who managed to defer for a few months, but up to 6 months after the 2nd appointment at the most. The others will be based on a case by case basis. I've also checked this with HDB. So good that we haven't got a place lah, so can wait out a bit. Just scary to watch the prices increase bit by bit! Very scary! :P

The unit that I saw was really quite old cos first owner. So you can imagine the massive amount of reno that is needed. I took a quickk look with my agent (whose husband is in reno line) and concluded you'll need at least $30k to $40k. So we decided to give that unit up. No point spending so much on reno! I'm also thinking of going directly to contractors!
Do let me know when you have visited your friends!
More reviews is always good in the meantime! Hahah. I'm going to take my time! After all, I really want to stay here for a long time!

Thanks for always being so encouraging! Hehehe.

baby_fluff,
my BS is Digio, sister Co. of GHA. my coordinator just called me to ask me to go and try the OTR new gowns that had just arrived! so excited.. gotta book a date with her.

babystarlet, thanks for pointing out. Will rem to remind my guests. Guess Orchard Hotel is not as prominent as Orchard Parade Hotel.

erica, ok will email u my contact. Im keen on VG Christopher. That means he;s also still available on 7th June 07?

I am also a 2007 bride. Am sourcing for the venue now, have any of you been to the Legends @ Fort Canning? Any comments about the food and service. Please share. Thanks. If you have already sign up with them, can you share the perks you have discuss with them. Thanks
My emai:[email protected]

hi chere

Yup, as of today, he is avail. sorry, i have changed my appt with VG Chris to Fri 19 May. Coz my bf cant make it on Monday.

I must really applaud Chris for his professionalism. He told me he actually prefer lesser couples to meet him at the same time coz he need time to go thru with each couple their style and preference, needs etc....and his screen might be too small for more than 2 couples viewing at the same time.

But he did mention is ok to stagger our timing. So max is 2 couples per hour. Mine is 7.30pm to 8.30pm.

So do send me your preferred timing too.

Anyone looking for AD PG and VG ? I'll be meeting PG Calvin Wong and VG Christopher Tay this Thur and the latter, next Fri just to view their works.

Anyone wants to join ? If there are many of us, maybe can get better perks ??

Do email me at [email protected] if you would like to join me and some other couples.

Just a note, do send me your AD date as well coz if VG and PG not avail on your date, then no point going down also hee.

I heard they are very good and the prices are reasonable, good for those on budget, like me keke. Shd be able to get them together at less than $1100.

Do let me know ya, preferably by this Wed. Thanks

yah, thinking of that but since i have 25 tables only, shouldn't be any problem. only thing will be not much time to sit down to eat. my hotel will be giving us supper, so not that bad at all. how many tables u having?

Shers, any idea where's the place u mention?

Hi jhoo,

u can go find seamstress who mtm gown at home... much more affordable rate... saw other thread recommending kim, dawn etc... however, u need to buy ur own fabric. shldn't be a problem cos arab st hv many to choose from...

Hi Baby Fluff,

No problem. Will send the info to you. No obligation. Cos' like I said, the most I'd use it for something else.

Actually i find it fun going around to look at BS. You must also take time to try on their gowns so that you'd know if you like their tailoring technique. Actually, it was from my visits that I learned that I tend to like a particular cut. There's the A-line, Mermaid, Ball Gown,etc... In no time, you'd be well versed with all these terms like duchess satin, chiffon etcc... haha. If your hubby to be can't go, go with girl friends or family members... I'm sure they'd be happy to go with you.

Annabelle, yeah.. like in their package they have rental of kua which I wasn't thinking of wearing.., free pair of simple heels, which I won't need cos' I already have a pair, flowers, I'd be customising my own cos' I use to play alot with flowers, tea dress rental, was too simple and any change would mean upgrade and pay more, evening gown wanted a more elaborate french lace type, so that again more money... so end up i'd be taking a package that is about $6k?? and that's even without pre-wedding photography... Maybe my expectations just too high lah... Think I'd most likely tailor my gown with someone. Infact, I have this contact of a very good tailor. He did my sister's gown and it's beautiful! If you've read one of the local bridal magazines, sometime in 2004, he tailor the wedding dress (full french lace) for a model called something Turner, and it was beautiful. Let me know if you ladies wants to tailor anything. E.g. mum's cheongsam. His forte is in cheongsam and he does alot of that for socialites in Singapore. He's also very nice guy.

So have you girls thought of what sort of program you'd like to have for your banquet? Hey, wouldn't it be cool, if we all gather, say at the beginning of April 07 to celebrate our coming weddings. We'd have so much to share... Sure one!

hi erica,

wow, really "pei fu" you lei, can squeeze so many things within the budget.. btw, can kpo where will you be going for ur HM ah? cos i wish to go to europe but dun tink we can afford to go strraight after wedding. So thinking of going to nearby cty 1st, save enough then go europe the following yr...

Hi Mcfluffy,

Tat's great!! I'm sure u will look lovely...be sure to take some pictures and share ok?? We can take pictures right? Provided we confirm the BS. Wat type of WG do u like? =)

Hello Celestial,

Thanks for the email....have received it already..=)Actually, I'm the type that likes those ball gowns..especially those "princessy" gowns with those layers of (I dunno wat to call it) stage curtains folds...with cute little flowers scattered ard... tat's my dream gown...wat abt urs? So which hotel haf u chosen?

Hmm...I was thinking of doing the cartoon animation of our love story....the usual...but I'm trying to see if there's any other special stuff tat we can do during that few hours...any suggestions?

I totally agree with u on the gathering...but I'd think tat having the gathering at the beginning of april is a little late... I'm sure we will be doing last min shoppings etc etc... especially for u cos ur AD is 7/8th of April...Why dun we plan an earlier gathering? This will enable us to better discuss and share the wedding plans and preparations...Tat should be very helpful as we would still have time to rectify little "hiccups"...wat do u gals say? =)

What r all of ur respective ADs?

celestial, wow... ur stds sure are high...
willing to tell who this guy is? how much is e tailoring of a cheongsum abt ar average cost... seems like u like french laces alot rite...

ya i also agree on a gathering... we'll be able to share much =P

muffin, u thought of when having us PS already ar i haven confirm when having mine yet... so fast can go down bs to chose gowns already? my bs told be to go down after e chinese 7th mth which is abt october leh which i feel abit late...

Annabelle...

My hubby also says that of me...

The tailor's name is Summer Tang. My sis paid $1400 (workmanship, embriodery and material) for her silk cheongsam evening gown. It was fushia colour with very low back. He embriodered lime green peonies on it and it's just beautiful. But if you want it more simple i.e. without embriodery, it'd be cheaper..

If your is a OTR, it should be ok to do it in Oct. But if it's MTM, then better to do it earlier, in case you don't like what they did for you, you can still think of alternatives.

my AD is May 6th 2007!!
BS is Sophia Wedding Collection
Venue is Shangrila Rasa Sentosa

happy planning to all of you here!!

hi angelica

I'll suggest that you start looking for your venue first!! cos if yours is a hot date, very likely it will be taken up at most hotels..

Selection of BS can still wait a bit I guess..

celestial, hmmm didnt hear of him before... he has his own shop? got pics of ur sis dress? u describe until very pretty leh wana see...

no leh onli one is otr e other is mtm... she says mtm can be done within 1.5-2mths lor... think might go earlier bah... but think during 7th mth ppl usually dun do wedding stuffs rite?

hi shirley, oh..ok maybe u shld go down to the BS and take a look at their gown and their service before deciding again

Oh.. i applied mine @ Aspella shld be ready by Aug next year ^_^

hi there....ohoh..okok... choosing BS?? great... REMEMBER TO TAKE YOUR TIME... hai, just to let u know that it is not easy shake them off!

I signed with Sophia in March, very early hor... bo bian.. I wanted to leave the shop 3 times and in the end gave in due to a 10% discount they given me..haha...

A bit regretted I didnt have the chance to visit the rest of BS lor.. so I'll suggest you take your time to slowly pick ya... its rather fun!!

Go through some of the bridal shops thread and I'm sure you can find alot alot of tips..

When visiting BS, try to say you want to go back think think and they'll sure top up again and again for you...LOL... For my case, 10% discount was almost like $500 so I gave in....haha.. too good deal liao..

good luck to you ya.

Oh, I must say that I saw some photos (can't rem which BS!) once where the couple went indoors to some restaurant/pub when it rained during their PS. The photographer ended up taking really nice pics in there tho! There was pic which was taken through the rainy glass panes. Nice - and a great way of making the best use of the situation!

Yup, another 'consolation' for a couple who had a rainy PS day, was that the photographer agreed to take night photos since they didn't get to take many day photos. There was this really nice black and white shot of them with a colonial looking lamp post!

so guess one should seek contentment in all situations!

Hi baby_fluff,

I like ballgown acutally.. look so princessy! Especially those that looks super romantic with organza(?) and flowy layers... pretty! Think shd b able to fit in well. Also like mermaid cut, but doubt i can wear such cuts coz i'm rather short and got no waist type.

Hee, i doubt we have time to meet in April! We'll be really busy by then, with work and Qing Ming, etc :p

Annabelle,
my coordinator told me to down and see see.. if i want OTR / MTM..coz I'm might be MTM a WG/EG ma.. so do earlier.. plus i'm a teacher, better to take PS during hols.. so coordinator also agreed that Dec is the best time for us. Plus, we might want to capture Xmas season into our photos.. hee

Hi Twinkle, I certainly agree with your last sentence
We've to remember that even as we plan for our weddings, the more impt thing is actually the marriage itself - so we should just enjoy the process and not fuss. Sometimes (as my fiance always tells me), little imperfections makes a wedding more memorable and more real

muffin, wow christmas photos... keekee unique idea...
mine also one mtm one otr but she say will be in time for PS... maybe will speak to them later on see how...

annabelle,

i try to b earlier so that in case got anything cork up.. still can rectify! or maybe the PS fotos dun turn out nice, hubby say still got time to retake. hahahaha... *fat hope!*

Hi Muffin,

Yah lor...tat is y I think we should plan a gathering sometime in early March...tat should be a better timing for all of us...Haiz...I feel tat I'm so slow in terms of preparations...U gals have done so much and yet, I'm still loitering ard & at a loss of wat to do...*sigh* So envious of u gals tat ur FHs r there to plan all these wedding stuff tog!! =(

hehe....yah, me wanted europe but pocket burst liao....so too bad lor....was thinking of NZ and South Pacific Islands.....but haven check out the price, if over 2k, i think i can forget it liao..

muffin, ya lor but dun think need to retake lar... sure nice nice...

baby fluff, ya i agree too... earlier gathering better... but hor hb also not pro-active in preps and research leh... mostly all are done my e brides... *haahaa* guys ar jus not interested lor...

Annabelle, at least ur HB is around to go for BS hunting ma...my FH is not ard to go BS shopping wif me....so I have to shortlist those BSs first lor...when is ur AD? Actually I think if it is not becos of the fact that my AD is not in SG, he'll probably take an active interest in all of these preps...cos he is a very detailed & meticulous person..now tt he is not ard...i have to consolidate the info and email it over to him...but watever it is, it's never the same as having him ard to plan it tog isn't it? =(

hi chere,

I think Suelynn forward u the email. I try to forward the email to u as well. A Little Dream is having performances this month and next month and we can pop in to listen to the band when they warm up. However need to give them a call.

hihi Erica,
Got your email on PG and VG. Chris is booked on 9 June??? So sad. Sigh. New Zealand is a beautiful place and great for honeymoon. The price should be $2k plus though

hi all june 07 BTBs,

i'm also a june 07 BTB, haven't visited this forum for quite some time n just realised that i'm very slow in my wedding preparation. my AD will be 12 june 07 which is a tuesday.

have fixed the venue but haven't signed the contract, still looking around for BS.

Erica, u r very efficient!!! i didn't know we need to book the PG n VG so early! can i have the contacts for chris n calvin or do they have any website? wanna view their works but can't make it for the time mentioned above.

i also wanna book a london cab, but i prefer black, do u have the contact?

cuz i'll have solemnisation b4 the dinner, any recommendation for JP and do u gals have the contacts?

what else i must prepare now?

kindly share ur precious experience!!!!

thanks a lot!!!!

hi hi Niko

if u need the ballroom name here's mine Venus ballroom

hihi violetcrystal

interested in Sam wong photography.. any idea he has a website for his wedding photos? thanks

Halo everyone!

My AD is on 16th Nov. Hotel booked liao. BS also booked liao. Cos I'm very kiasu... haha. Actually I so kan cheong only after reading this forum.

For those who haven't booked yr BS right and who want something cheap & good... I recommend J & M!

You won't believe my package...
WG (MTM & To Keep)
EG (MTM & To Keep)
Tea Dress (MTM & To Keep)
ROM Dress (MTM & To Keep)
Guy's Suit (MTM & To Keep)

Plus all the other usual stuff...

$4188.

If you are on low budget, I think their normal packages are only $2000+

I just went to see my ROM dress... It is beautiful! Photos wise I am not sure cos I haven't taken yet but for the dresses, I can testify for the quality!

Donut: My ROM in June and my dress only started making in April... So don't worry. =) I dunno about other places la but J & M did a good job.

hi erica,

NZ is a nice place too, 1 of my choices too. =)

hi sassy,
i'm also having my solemnisation b4 dinner, looking for JP too. Heard tht JP David Loh is going to retire in June 06. Intitally, wanted to get him cos my sis also engage him but now too bad.. u can also go to the ROM thread to read up on recommended JP =)

hi sassy bride,just sharing with u.my JP is Mr chan.he's not bad,reco to him by my girlfriend.very kind man.

hi Erica Ong,happyface and fudgecake,so fast u all plan for HM liao ah.i dun even know if i got enugh $ to go HM or not.after all the hse reno and wedding stuffs