(2007) Brides of year 2007

hello everyone!

my boyfriend just proposed to me and we are thinking of getting married in march next yr! :D but I do not know where to begin ... hee hee
seems like there's so many things to do done... do not know where to begin!

is it too late to source for places now?

diaodu, try this

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/169/30317.html?1145262201

sher, so urs is the premium one?mine is near to the 24hrs kopitiam
i hope the mrt will up faster, hehe

by the way, anyone has suggestion what sort of color i should dye? abit worry it may turn up too light..my hubby dye yest after his exam..too light and beng, haha..so if by PS not darken yet, i may ask him go dye darker

Hi nicole,

Infact tmr is the day we will take our HDB keys. We had not finalise the contractor yet.
Yup we on the same day 24/3/07.

Btw what do your means by "multiply" ?

H jhoo,

yup... mine the premium one... will be more convient if mrt up...

hi5 kaye, i also like purplish red, highlight my hair purplish red b4 cny but now fade liao...

hi esther,

thanks for your suggestion. I heard of fairy inc too.. cos my sis's wedding bands oso from there. Can i ask, how much you spent for ur wedding bands? any pic to share?

oh, so u mean u haven move in for reno yet?my new home is in live-in condition yet i still stay at my mother's home, haha.got to take some time to really clear my things and clean the room before passing to my younger bro

i move in liao but sometimes stay at my mum's plc... hvn't move all my things over... dun intend to also... hahahaa cos no one going take over my room... =p

im oso a may bride but date stil nt confirm yet... but nw im having headache wif the venue... even though my BS has already settled. BTW ive took up Whitelink... pretty gd package i guessed... ;)

haha, then my bro is rather suay to has this sis who occupy the room for 2 years when she has her own home, hehe...but then at mum's home, i can play with my nephew and also talk to them. if at new home, once my hubby work, i may have to talk to the air, haha.

=p u veri funny leh like tat say... ok lah... tink ur bro wun mind... alrdy wait so long liao... tink he lazy mv his stuffs also....

quite true lor... stay at own hse nobody talk to...

Hi Jhoo,

Hi Shers,

Yes, I engaged Cis**rn. Renovation will start on May 22.

U saw me at the other thread?

Diaodu

hello Hwee Hong!!

Thanks for your advice. Have you found ur BS?

I went down Kowloon, Seletar, Doubleup, Sophia Wedding & Jazreel Low..

Seletar and Doubleup very hard-sell. no like. But the rest are quite nice and never force us to take up the package. I have a preference for Kowloon but i read some bad things abt it in this site and i m feeling uneasy..

Sophia is the best service so far. They showed me their gowns, tea dresses and offered to let me try. (But i did not as i was feeling so sweaty from the heat). The designer, photographer and shop asst mgr took turns to talk to us. Very pro!

I have some married frenz who told me tat some BS are very nice to u before u sign up with them but thereafter, they become attitude.

Hello Gelaine!

Thanks for your advice too. I rather new so abit slow in keeping up (keke)..

I am thinking of a MTM but I heard it takes much longer time hence i am now looking for a BS. Hope to find one by Oct (coz tentatively ROM is in Oct)..

to Hwee Hong too.. i forgot to mention tat one of my frenz recommended Graceful image to me. She says they have nice gowns. (But I have yet to go down to have a look yet).

Hi Diaodu,

my new flat is 388 too... so conincident...

I also hv not move yet waiting for the AD then move in.. like jhoo if my husband work then i will be alone also.

I have not been doing any thing for the wedding recently...wat abt u gals?

Yingying
Welcome to this thread. I think the first steps are to confirm the date, the venue and of course the BS. Actually, it is a good time to shop for BS as most of them will be at roadshows, wedding fairs and will have very attractive packages. I also trying to lose some weight here before I go for my first fitting. Been going to gym at least once a week and trying to improve the frequency. Feel better but have not seen the effects of the weight loss yet.

Chere and happyface
There is no discount on wedding bands during the GSS except for maybe Lee Hwa shops. I buy mine from Gold Heart last time and it took 2 months to arrive. I seen the rings at fairy inc. very very nice but a bit pricey. However, the rings are customised designs and of good quality. Hey... wedding is once in a lifetime and it is okie to splurge on wedding bands.

Suelynn
There are few places with the number of tables and budget
1) Orchid Country Club . Only problem is in Yishun but other than that, the place, the decor, the ballroom and the menu is good. I think for 700++ menu, u can even get suckling pig.

2) Orchard Hotel. Slightly above 800 i think but it has a big ballroom and the food is by reknown chef. I think they have a UOB promotion now if u sign up by May.

3) Raffles Town Club. Lovely ballroom and food is good as well. I think it is more exp than OCC but less exp than Orchard Hotel.

hi diaodu,

i engage cisxxrn too... hv sme bad experience with them... sigh... but manage to rectify after getting help from their senior managment...

fudgecake> I am lookin at OCC most prob, almost wanted to sign up with HIPV but we burst the max ald. We prefer OCC over RTC cos they have shuttle bus that has 2 exclusive trips to pick guests fr whichever location we want. But the beer and waiver of corkage is pathetic, need to consider the cost in.....Plus I wanna get florist to do up the venue into something I have in mind n wanna get a jazz band or stroller. Need to factor all these in also....All abt the $....

Hi suelynn,

I think HIPV max is 32 tables... and u have to take into account the pillars. Actually OCC is very nice. It is near my HOUSE
I think they would waive of 1 botttle of wine per table right? But with a big number of tables like yours, u can afford to negotiate for more. Actually, the OCC cheapest menu also taste rather good already... if add wine , beer, decor and band... i think it would come up to 800 per table. Can seriously consider. I also love the buggy idea instead of the traditional march in.

I managed to get corkage waiver for RTC. hence not so headache for me except RTC is only giving me one barrel of beer

Hey. I am looking at wedding bands too!!! have u shortlisted any?

Hi gelaine,

I did my sourcing of bridal in 2004. Together w my frd who married in 2005. So most or less i know what i want and i just go ahead and sign with Jit as feel most comfortable with him.

Donut,
Kowloon, my frd gowns was from there. Dont really like the service specially the Make Up artist. And her mom, sis and auntie also had the same feeling as me towards the make up artist.
The photo taken at Kowloon is abit too taiwan style. Some even joke that the photo can be use as cover on those hokkien song CD.
But overall, my frd is happy with everything.
I dont mean to say anything bad of Kowloon, Im just sharing my point of view.

hi happyface

Glad to share with you.
The attached pix is our wedding band done in 2004, a signature piece from Fairy's Inc. Both in rose gold chromed with white gold on top cost us S$1.8k. Apologise for the unclear pix.
367095.jpg

fudge> I heard OCC getting more rigid...Its near my ils hse oso ahhaha. HIPV max is 40...So sad, love the deco, mirrors n chanderliers. OCC oso 1 barrel only.......waiver of corkage oso need to get other tings like extra beer then can get more waiver...I cant stand the whiteness of the deco the are providing, I wld really want to do up the place more. RTC is very romantic n cosy, OCC like more "grand" but bare lei....Of cos cheaper oso ahaha

My wedding band ald bought n wore ald, cos rom ald mah hee! i bought the infinity rings from sookee. Its always in wedding mag, very common. after looking at alot of rings rite, they look the same to me, end up we pick the 1st ring we set eyes on

i know a few hotels are booked on 24 Mar 07.
(our tables=35) Maybe you can check with them if you are taking lesser tables.
1) Merchant court
2) Rasa Sentosa

Hihi suelyn,

OCC near your house too? Btw, are u voting this sat or do u belong to the AMK GRC side? OCC is getting more rigid but the overall pricing is still quite attractive. Btw, with 50 plus tables, the ballroom would not seem so bare right? Anyway, can check out who are the florist for OCC and how much is the additional top up. I think should be alot 500 to 600 more .

I also wore my wedding band liao.. btw, the band i was talking about in my above post is jazz/live BAND. hehe... u have contacts have live bands/jazz bands/strollers?

diaodu, welcome

piglet, i have bought all my wedding shoe, bought casual wear for PS and will dye my hair these few days.gonna go for my 3rd fitting this weekend as my BS has alter my EG. If still not satisfy, then i will change the EG totally, or wear that EG for PS as cutting is really nice, then change another EG for AD. and gonna buy things for new home again

Shers, my contractor was despite. not bad and manage to get one foc basin from them, and they even helped me to drill toilet accessory although i did not buy from them

hi williamesther,me ah.gettn a bit nervous and think i gettn a bit hot-tempered,jus had an arguement with my bf yest.now still on fire.

hi Chan YingYing Monica,me me me!!!!!!!!1me definitely on diet till my ROM.me now on a nutrimeal,is a kind of meal replacement so that i can dun eat my lunch or dinner.on it for a week liao,find it quite okie.feel like clothes a bit loose.
of coz,i go to the gym to exercise also and try not to eat too much rice.

hi chere,think punggol and sengkang area always have WIS,bec there got many new flats.me also wanted to get that area,but bf dunwan.he says too far.

hi suelynn,if u looking for florists,i always see this shop called steffi blooms during wedding shows,they deco the place for customers.

i bought my wedding bands from lee hwa,had quite a bad experience.dun really like e staff from lee hwa,every branch says different things,so better be careful.is good to buy things during GSS bec got discount ma,heee.anyway if any1 wans to buy lee hwa,my bf got the VIP card,got discount,can let me know.

btw jus for infor,my friend has a lee hwa $100 voucher,is for wedding bands,helpn her to let go.let me know if you are interested.

hi babyscarlet

prone to hv some tiff over issue.. coz now is two ppl makin decision over an issue hee.. there will be disagreement surface.. so the best is communicate, communicate and still communicate effectively hehe.. good day ahead

Hi nicole

Thank you for your suggestions. From your previous posts, you had your dates chosen by a shi fu? Can I have the contact for the shi fu? Thanks!

Qingqing,

Heh.. yeah most important is you're comfortable lor.
I still sourcing around. Planning to sign up by end of the year. Now still vey busy with my house stuff. Haiz.

Donut...
Hmm... If your ROM is in OCt and you're looking for a package to include your ROM, better source it by August lor... so will have time to make alterations to your gown mah. Heh... MTM normally about 2-3 mths extra to be on the safe side.

For Sophia, though their service is very good but heard they are very pushy for top ups... so unless you have a good budget, i think have to be prepared lor. But their gowns and photos are quite nice.
As for Graceful, heard their attitude will change if you request for changes thouh i personally havent gone through any discussion with them.

So brides,
Let's start up a table. What do you gals wanan include/

hi esther,

thanks for sharing ur pics.. they are the same as my sis's one expect hers is in white gold.. btw, just realise tht my sis's name also Esther lei.. so coincidence hor..

my bf & i went to those main shops like leehwa, sookee, goldheart to see wedding bands during dec. We kind of like sookee brilliant rose series, got disc cos yr-end sale but i dun wan to buy so early... now planning to get it during GSS... i think we hv enough time cos some shops tell us tht need a few mths if no size available.

can i ask u gals, when are you all going to take ur studio photoshot ah? hv u gals think of where to take outdoor shot?

hi happyface

dun mention

2 esther gotta the same taste *grin*
this signature pcs caught our us when we saw it from mag. thou we made trips to most jewlery shops, we decided to splurge on this pair.. individual perspective lah as my fingers not those slim n lenghthy one so a slimmer ring can fit nicely on mine.. and they provide good engraving skill too.. imagine the wordin still nicely engraved on a 1mm thick suface.. i was kinda wow

Hehehe.... okies lah... I agree am kancheong... but anyway, now also nothing to do, so take ps in july to kill time, then september onwards, can go shop for jiemei's dresses, jewelry, etc liao mah... by Feb will be swee swee... kekekeke

where do you intend to go for your ps ah?

Hi Fudgecake,

I've already chosen my bridal shop (French Bridal) and my AD will be at Furama Riverfront Hotel but wondering should i wait till i lose weight then go for selection of my bridal dress. Guess there are not much time. I think the worse is yet to come as i've not put up the invitation guest list and photos are not taken.

Hi babystarlet,

I guess it's hard work to lose weight ah. M intend to buy a hula hoop and skipping rope so that I can do it everynight when I get back from work. Been trying to eat less too. DO you feel hungry after eating your meal replacement. Wondering should i try slimming pills instead.

Hi Starlightz, congratulations!
You should decide what you want to do for your wedding - are you having a tea ceremony, church wedding or dinner? If so, I guess the first thing to do will be to book the venues
Then you can start scouting for bridal studios or places you can get your gown(s) from. Next would be the AD photography stuff, catering (for home and church if required), flowers (for deco, if required). Then you can think about what sort of themes etc etc
OH..and i forgot..the main thing - you need to work out your budget first..hehe

hi jhoo,

u were are also holding at M hotel right? wah u so fast.. me still hv not go first fitting worry leh.. later too late but sophia is quite pack they say can only schedule fitting in June.
So when u going for PS?

Yup, that's right.. we wanted to avoid the 7th month and also if after 7th month, im sure my BS cant produce the album out as i read from the forum that a few couple met this problem. so im giving them more time to do the album and no excuse for them to delay, keke..one of the couple got it on the night before their AD, so bad right?

My ps is in Jun

Hi happyface

meanwhile im sourcing for my BS from JB and AD PG&VG.. all yet to settled except the wedding date on 01 jul 2007 and my banquet venue @ Furama Riverfront.. How bout u?

hi kisses912,hey we same BS leh.....so coincidence,somemore holding at the same hotel leh.........ohhhhh....so far,me took the meal replacement for lunch,can tahan me till dinner time lol.
ideal i think is to have the meal replacement for 2 meals at least,but i'm not that comfortable with the arrangement,so i start with 1 meal 1st.

hi williamesther,why din u choose 2nd jul 07?so can be 02072007,heeeeeee.nice num ma

Regarding weight loss. Exercise is till the best way to lose weight and keep fit. All of us have more than 1 year away to our AD. We should be able to lose some weight and look pretty right?

It is normal to have tiffs here and there. This spices up the romance and makes relationship more interesting. Imagine a hubby who says YES to u all the time. I think it woould be quite boring.

Hihi happyface,
Soo Kee BR series is nice. If there is a discount at GSS, go for it.

Hi Piglet neighbour,

What a surprise!!!

Me at 16th floor.. so u must hav gotten it in July 05 WIS.

Hi Shers,

Who is your ID? How much they quote u?
My ID is Andrew K.. what kind of problem u encounter?

Ya.. Jhoo.. u really fast leh.. when is your AD. I don't see your profile on top.

Btw, there are two 7 months in Chinese calendar this year.. I am not sure which to avoid. Some said avoid 2nd 7 month while some said avoid both..keke.. I am trying to get my reno to start in May and end before July.

Diaodu

HI Babystarlet

nice no. combi.. 20 jul 07 even nicer (20/07/2007) but it is a weeday and we need an auspicious Sunday

Oh high5 we both got the same venue as well "j)

Hi Juliana,

ya, agree that taking PS in bintan could be troublesome....but most likely will be gog ahead as thought of gog bintan for a short holiday too. If really rain, then no choice...maybe use the rain as a kind of effects! hehee...

I was gog to take my PS in June initially!! But later thought that it might be too early and kind of not prepared so postpone it to early Oct.