(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi bubblepearl,

Wow, at least u still know which day u can go down pay deposit. Hehe. We dun even have any idea
Mayb u can call Terri d day b4 2 check with her whether d contract ready or not. If not, can stress her. Hehehe

Hi Justine,
I am also considering Holiday Inn..Need to get back to them by next week. Have you tried Holiday Inn food? Is it good? What perks have you negotiate with them? Can share with me. My email: [email protected]
Hi littlesmurf,
I am also shortlisting Plaza Park Royal. The food is good and the portion is huge
Going to meet the manager this weekend to discuss the package but hear that their price for 2007 will be 718nett for weekend. Seems like holiday Inn is the better between the two in terms of pricing but the ballroom at holiday Inn is a big headache so am thinking about it.
Also saw novotel but heard their management is not very good though....so still thinking.....between the three which one would you chose?

Hi Gals...
wow....you all started on the banquet venue already... my AD is on the 21st Dec and I havent start searching...is it too late or still got time ?

I'm an April 2006 BTB, just drop by to let you know that Qing Ming is a good period for marriage.

Marriage is a union of families and a sign of the family growing and expanding.

Qing Ming is a time for us to remember our ancestors and pay respect to them.

Getting married during Qing Ming is alright as long as you remember to pay respect to your ancestors to inform them of the marriage.

In fact, the Qing Ming dates are usually the super good dates cos people will find the most auspicious dates for Qing Ming. And getting married during this auspicious period also means that you are marrying during an auspicious period!

Our weddings will only happen once in our lifetime. Why bother about what others think? If you like the date, just go ahead!! And if anyone says that QM is not a good time to get married, just tell them that QM is not 7th month. QM is time to remember your ancestors. Marriage is a happy thing that ancestors will be proud of, so they will be v proud to have a wedding in the family

hi muffin,

bout 38+2 tables... my mil say that she want to invite more ppl.

annabelle,
thanks for the help. Actually the onli thing now is to settle the venue. and it is gettin on my nerves. Plus i reali dunno where to go to get good food and nice ambience.

Hallo!

The weekend is here! Hi baby, welcome to the thread! When is your big day in Jan 07? Dun worry about preparation... Each one of us here can guide each other along!

Yuki Dun say i bad, I always believe in Japanese products... Meaning if u hv the $$ to spend on a LCD / Plasma TV, buy a made in Japan one.. I guarantee u, its durable at least! Dun worry about being messy! We all want to multi task at the same time... I m worried about my renovation and also at the same time my Civil Solemnisation too!

Jhoo Thanks for the housewarming invitation! Where s ur new place at? Really very sianz of the renovation myself... Heng heng got my mum to help me out by going down and spot check the workers!

Have a good weekend ahead!

hi brink_79,
littlesmurf = justine. just in case u wondering keke. haha i can see u really in the middle of a cross road! i have already decided to take package with HIPV. only waiting for my coordinator to draft contract. i haven't tried their food nor did i read abt their food from the forum here....
if u ask me which of the 3 i would choose here's my 2 cent's worth of opinion.
i will ask myself what is my priority. if money is no concern then i will go for food and location and ballroom.
for hubby and me, our priority is $$ therefore we make sure we go for somewhere it's affordable.
I have heard good comments abt PPR's food but location is quite odd... may be inconvenient for guest who dun have car. i have only seen their stamdfort ballroom (smaller one) and did not like it. (can refer to my earlier post on 29/3 for reason). the price i was offered was cheap but didn't take it in the end due to location and ballroom.
I have not seen novotel before and dun know where is it. so cant say much. perhaps u can try novotel thread and ask the pple there? best is go down there and talk to the coordinator. this way u will know if its true that management is good anot!
Whichever one u choose make sure u are happy and comfortable with the coordinator and place.
i personally feel admit HIPV weekend price is quite a good catch with its convenient location. walkable distance from somerset mrt...
do update me which one u choose okie!

Clara, my super superstitious ILs use this explanation to explain to other 'busybodies' who keep saying QM not a good time to marry :D

Clara, I have an idea where you can have great ambience, and can have as many tables as you can afford (no limit), but it might be quite hard to coordinate and I'm not sure if your MIL will like it or not (but it will be cheaper than hotel or restaurant).

You can have an outdoor chinese sit down banquet at Fort Canning Park like what I'm doing. Rental is around S$1200 for whole day, tentage is around S$1k-5k (depending on how big and elaborate). Table prices start at S$300 (depending on menu and deco chosen).

My package is 15k, includes:
Lunch buffet for 400 pax (use of melamin ware)
Chinese sit down banquet for 28 tables (use of porcelain ware)
Deco (fresh flowers), tables, chairs, all the misc items included.

And my coordinator is v good, almost double up as my wedding planner le. She plan everything for me very nicely.

Hi Cherinz,

Dun worry, still got time lah. Best if u can start to view hotels now n decide where u wanna hold ur AD at. Hehe

Now's the right time as best if u can book 1.5yrs in advance so u can get d date u really want. Try 2 do it at least 1 yr in advance yeah ; )

Hi kaye,

nope, me believe in Japanese product too

now multi tasking until so tired ...haha
juz sign my hotel contract last week ..so now settle BS things
when is ur Civil Solemnisation?

hi gloria, my rom date is 060606 .. so coincidental, ur AD is 070707. my AD will be 010707 cos the "shifu" calculated this date, me and hubby will prefer 060607 cos it's easier to remember ..anyways, my big headache is abt venue now. any ideas? if it's rest, heard dat chefchan and peony-jade is not bad. holiday inn atrium also hv promo recently .

hi... finally see dat someone is tokin in dec2007 thread. my AD is on 22 Dec'07, one day after Cherinz.

have signed up with Bridal De Couture and looking for banquet venue now... considering Bliss Garden at Expo.

Hi Lynda,

Where have you shortlisted? 010707 is also a good number to remember.
Quite nice.

Holiday Inn Atrium having promo? I thought it was Holiday Inn PV that was having promo?

Jonic, for my case i never get any master to calculate the date for me..cos my parent and bf's parent so is bf say dun need...so i just choose a Sat that we think is the best one for the date lor

yafang, we ever said that we wanted a rom party thats all but because i am the only daughter, my parents felt that we should have a sit-down dinner. So we decided to change our plans and have a sit down dinner for only relatives and close friends.

After that,my mil say since we having dinner, might as well have more ppl. So right now they want to invite more and more ppl.

Plus my in-laws are in the f&B line as well so they feel that the food aspect is very important to them... plus they want a suckling pig at every table as one of the dishes.

My FH is not helpin and i dunno the taste of my in-laws... Giving me a big headache...
kao_dizzy.gif

Wah............your ILs sound like mine.......

Food wise, you can go searching for caterers. But be prepared to have to pay for the food tasting since they might be quite fussy lor. I paid 4 other caterers for food tasting before settling on this caterer.

Anyway, alot of caterers are having their free food tasting soon, so sign up and invite your ILs to go with you
If FH not helping, go direct to them and tell them you value their opinion, so want them to go with you to see the deco and taste e food :p They will be more than happy.

Select catering is having theirs on 8th april. www.select.com.sg got more details and registration
If you decide on them then let me know, I tell my coordinator :p She will help you do nice nice

Actually, how i settle my ILs was: we can onli afford ___tables. My family needs ___tables, our friends need ___tables. The rest is up to you to decide. Just like that. No arguments, no nonsense to deal with :p If you want more tables, then you fork out the balance.

I have alot of frens, that's why I have the lunch reception for my friends (quite wild party planned :p). Then dinner is for relatives onli.

Another way is you just tell your ILs that not having dinner. Then your parents seperately invite your relatives for dinner. tt was what one of my couz did. Cos his wife's dad is big businessman, if have dinner need to invite almost 60 tables for their side onli. and my couz just started work onli, also cant afford so many tables so he just said no dinner. Then my aunt also paiseh tt her onli son marry, no dinner, so they planned a small dinner at restaurant for the family onli. at Tunglok, ard 10 tables onli lor. Simple and easy on the pocket. Plus everyone was happy.

Then his wife's dad also held his own dinner for his relatives and frens, then her dad also v understanding, surpluses from AP give them to go honeymoone (they went europe tour 1 month lor!!!)...

Mmm, not so sure, the salesman told us that samsung screen looks whiter thus not so good for our eyes.

Hope by now Sam has replied u...

Kaye, my new home is at jurong west which some of you are living in the extreme east, haha. Its not confirm if I will have housewarming before or after AD. Coz im not the only owner for that flat.

Your mum so good, went to spot check for you...

I have finally cleaned my home and the greatest accomplishment is my sink which is sparkling clean. After mopping & cleaning the house, I went to the supermarket nearby to purchase a few items and saw a detergent for sink. So I went back and cleaned and to my surprise, it reli works and remove the stubborn stain on my sink which has been there for the one year.

These few days have been feeling low. So much work to do at office and also friend is interfering my life. We are walking different path yet do not understanding why interfere my life. I just want to do what I want. And also I have started to lose interest in wedding preparation. I just wanted to make the most perfect & memorable once in a lifetime wedding but what’s the use…

Anyway, if im not in this forum, all of u can just drop me an email or msg thru msn.

Hi littlesurf,

Thanks for your opinions. Will note and keep alist of all the things they have. oh you mentioned about being offered a cheap rate for PPR? what is the price they offer you? can email me to tell me more about it and who ic your corrdinator?.my email:[email protected]

Hi bubblepearl,
I see. My bf also say no need to get master calculate. But I insist cos I feel more an xin to get an auspicious date. His mother feel need to calculate too. Hopefully by next week, we can settle on the date and will be booking for our banquet next.
Welcome Bluberi n Fynn! Hope to see more dec 07 brides here.

jhoo, what happened? y do u sound so sad?
Anything that we can help?

cheer up okie

yap Sam had replied me ... i am considering whether to engage him for ROM as well

Today went to BS, was hopping to be able to do my gown fitting next week but the earliest slot is in May

afriad that may not be in time for PS

shld have booked earlier ........haha

Hallo!

Jhoo Dun be so upset... Frens come and go... My word of advice, leave those ppl who gives you negative vibes! U dun need this ppl to get you down!

I went to buy materials for my evening gown liao! So happy!

Have a good week ahead!

hey hui

i have yet to shortlist any hotels or rest. will be doing my research this 2 weeks. will keep you all posted.

haa .. ya . shd be holiday inn PV. anyone heard any good reviews on this hotel? hv also seen some where that the old concorde hotel (its now under holiday inn also) is not bad too. any idea anyone?

Hey fellow Nov 2007 Brides... just wanna start a new thread here so we can share the joy together!!!

Do join in!

My big day is on 11th November 2007...

Hi Lynda and Gloria,

I am also looking at 07/07/07 for my AD and ROM.
seems like there is really a lot of BTB choosing this date. But I have not check if this date suits me n my FH a not as now is Qing Ming so my FMIL said after this period then she will check.
I have not source for any venue for my banquet yet. Seems like this date is very popular.

Gloria,
so coincidence, I am also with GHA which branch is yours?

Hi Yuki,

My PS, no idea yet.. Dear bf and me, like bo chap... Just waiting for my renovation to settle then... slowly think ba.... And also settling my ROM stuff!

Baby, u re welcome! Which BS u signed up with?

anna, how come the change again? Tot urs was settled?

Yafang, Thanks for the help.
Will see if ur tips come in handy. Guess have to take a step at a time with them. Btw, Fort canning park is outdoors right?

muffin & clara, i also dunno... FIL jus call hubby on sunday lor than say 28th is a better day than ask us to change... finalise liao le i'm not going to change again no matter wat he says... keekee e hotel co-ordinator quite fedup change twice le...

Thanks. great to know all of u!

Yuki, are u taking MTM? If MTM, then u must let them know in advance so that they can do some planning too

I'm new here... Seems like all of u getting your AD in Dec 2007.. I'm still looking ard for dates, venue etc... Hopefully it's not too late to search for dates now...

jhoo, was so afraid u disappear as well

i going to see if there is any OTR that I like ....if no then MTM ......BS told me 2nd 7th mth can take photo ...wat do u thin?

arrr...there're friends who said im very pandang, so if given a choice i will not choose 7th mth since we have paid so much on BS. Unless its time constraint, then got to do it.i din hear from my BS that we can take PS on lunar 7th mth too. since 7th mth end on 21st sep, u may want to book a date with them st after end of 7th mth? let say 22 sep (fri-weekday) or 23/24 sept (weekend) coz from sep till jan, there're abt 4mths which your BS will have enuff time to do up your album
my sis's wedding was also a rush, and double up is able to do up the album in time

ya lor i oso dun really like the idea to do it on any 7th month if possible
was planning to do in early July unless really no choice coz BS told me tat if in late Sept they cant give us by Jan ... Christopher need the photo in early Dec for the montage so i got to rush ....hopefully can get a date in July ... going for fitting in early May

Btw i am taking Christopher n Sam

Have you seen Christopher works projected on the AD screen? was a bit afraid as we only seen on the DVD n my FH say a bit small scare project up dunno will become blur or not