(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi Sunflower,

wow so lucky u
so how do u feel about Regent?
did Priscilla gave your more perks outside the package?

they told me is a chinese sit down lunch but if respond is very good then they may chg it to a hi tea... not so sure details.
haha so u got to refax again?

now we are trying to get more dates in case, not really decided on the dates. now looking at Sheraton Tower, Intercon, Regent and Grand Corpthone Waterfront. din want to choose too much else very confuse ...haha. My FH is very keen on Sheraton Tower coz he like the food by Li Bai very much ....haha but the price is quite exp n we had yet to view the ballroom.

BS I had signed up with Double Up on the Trader Hotel fair, now a bit regret.... shld not have made a rush decision.

yuki.. i didnt went to the trader hotel fair.. but i think i abt 90% confirmed using trader hotel for my banquet.. you leh ?

how you find traders during the fair?

Hi JGal,

I don't think I be taking trader as I find their ballroom kind of small. I am planning to have 30 tables and from what I see, it seem a little cramp if I put 30 tables.

Have you went down to see their ballroom yet?
During the trader fair, they gave table discount of $20 and free flow beer. When will you be booking your AD?

I planning at most 28 tables ... i think the offer is only for 2006 and the 1st quarter of 07. I would be holding mine on the 7/7/07 ..so no $20 discount.And have to top up $20 more.. *sigh* ..they are giving 24 bottle waiver and 1 30-l barrel of beer.. i think shld be enuff.

Hi JGal,

wow .. ur date should be quite popular , better book early
That the date the fortune teller gave you or you choose yourself?

Yap. But if sign sign at the show then it will be 20-20=0 so no additional charges. I was asking on Jan 07 during that point of time.

If 28 tables then maybe is better, because Rosalind say the ideal size for the room is to hold about 27-28 tables.

i thinking of either 8/7/2007 or 7/7/2007 ... that day supposed to be auspicious also.
i check the tong shu liao
but 8/7 is even no. on the chinese calendar.. supposed to be better lor

Orh.that date not available for signing on that day.. I ask the co-ordinator liao
i working with thomson.. nice guy.. he throw in the projector ($240nett)also. The bridal fair only for to clear the dates for 2006 and begining of 07.

oic that good at least got other choices in case
the tong shu for next year is out already? I though it is only be out mid this year?

i heard a lot ppl saying that thomson is good

Hi Yuki,

Hmm...Regent ah...so-so lah, i dun like the 2 pillars in the ballroom.. =p MOreover, we'll be holding a small dinner (abt 20 tables), so may have a problem meeting the min. no. of tables if wana use the ballroom loh.. FH remarked theres a "woody" scent in Regent; he doesnt like it..haha! Did u go up to the bridal suite look see? Oh..i din bargain with Priscilla coz we're not confirmed taking Regent mah..

GCW grand ballroom is nice, with the garden as backdrop.. We'll be checking out Grand Shanghai this weekend; heard the food is nice! I aso heard that Li Bai is good... =)

Settled with Intercon abt my cc details liao...*phew* See u there on 5 Mar! =)

Why do u regret signing up with that BS? Not good? I've checked out Bridal Veil, Amanda Lee, Bridal Concept, Tan Yoong and GHA Tampines...will be checking out abt 8 more BS for the next few weeks.... tiring man! =p

yuki.. i understand that some ppl here dun trust the internet tong-shu.. but for me it's okay..

BTW, if you know more abt chinese calendar. Actually, like the english one, it has a cycle of 60 yrs instead of 4 yrs. So it not some geomancer come together every year to decide what to put on the calendar. It's already there. just that they have to check the master tong shu to printout :P So i guess.. internet tongshui is okay

www.verywed.com/lunar

Hi JGal,

not that I don't trust.. but dunno which one to trust.. went to one shifu for calculation of dates.. some of the dates he gave are classified as "not favourable for marriage" in the online tongshu...

Hi sunflower,

Did u went to another room for wedding dinner upstair? it is for 20 tables.

I was told that the "woody" scent was with the theme selected. Yes, I went to the bridal suite to have a look? u went too? how do u find it?

I havent seen GCW ballroom yet. Do you know what is their min tables? Any co-ordinator that I can look for?

I was planning to go dwn Sheraton Tower this week or next as their co-ordinator told me that she dun work on weekend and weekday till 5.30pm only ....haiz ...she knocked off earlier than me so i can only go during lunchtime.

tat good. see u there :}

Feel that we made a rush choice ....the person there are nice but the thread on that BS is not active so I am not sure hw good r they.

wow u went around so much

Hi JGal,

wow u had done your research well

I din know much about that so just get the fortune teller to select the date for me

Yuki!

Yupz we went upstairs to the function room with 20 tables..its soo OLD! And long....! FH feels that the WHOLE of Regent smells like that leh...i thnk his nose too sensitive? Hehe!

The bridal suite ok lah..but i like the one at Intercon..fren got married there so i had a look...very niceEEee! We can check it out on 5 Mar =)

Dunno abt GCW yet though..hvnt been there. Will need ur feedback when u get back from GCW. =)

Wow din know we customers have to meet coordinators according to their timing...they need our business rite? Should accommodate us mah...haha!

Hi JGal,

wow u had done your research well

I din know much about that so just get the fortune teller to select the date for me

hi.. i guess fortune teller is better..cos' they also consider other factors... like your zodia sign and your parents.. alot of other things..
me no money to engage liao

Hi JGal,

The fortune teller requested for both side parents birthday and horscope as well as me n my FH. but he mentioned that without the Tong Shu he wun be able to get the dates for us so if we want any dates from mar onward will have to wait till July. My FH mum is very particular about date and timing so we have to count the date

Hi Sunflower,

heard that the tong shu for 2007 will not be out until July.

Btw is it true that we cant take PS at 7th month? I understand that there is 2 7th month this year

sometimes i'm just so confused by the calculated dates. so is it possible to calculate a date without a tongshu? haha... very confusing! so many sources, dunno who to listen to.

Hi 2007 bride here as well.. i must be considered lucky.. at least don't have to bother about settling the date ourselves since the mother is checking out for us.. just need to let them know our shen chen ba zhi and parent's as well will do..

jus signed our contract with Meritus Mandarin and pay $3k deposit.. any one heard feedbacks about this hotel? They just renovated the hotel so its much better than last time but not sure about food wise..

yuki.. yeah.. tongshu is very complicated... So some fengshui shifu,.. will wait for the book to come out lor.. Those experience ones shld be able to help you.. without waitig

I guess if we wana check out the dates for the later half of 2007, will have to consult fengshui master liao loh..

Yuki: I dunno if we can take PS during 7th mth anot leh...any gals out there can advise? Hmm.. maybe they're afraid the photos will show "extra ppl" in it? Hehe, just kidding! =p

What's ur deal at Meritus? I m still looking for a hotel for my wedding banquet. Can u let me know abt the perks u got there?

Hi Sunflower,

so it better not to take PS on 7th month just in case
have yet to see my WG n EG, very worry what if I can't find 1 that I like....

Hope to settle my AD booking by Mar else the price keep raising and my fengshui shifu is unable to give any date later than Feb 07

for me same case. I just gave my parent and my ba zhi to my FH mum and she will check with the fengshui shifu..... but every date will chiong an animal. If chiong that animal, can we still serve tea to the person? when is the person not suppose to be around?

Hi JGal,

but if your parent and your FH parent is alright of the date then it be ok to reference to the internet tong shu. My friend din even calculate a date, they just choose one that they like and went ahead.

Any idea if we need to calculate the date for ROM as well?

the package for Meritus Mandarin is quite good actually.. but they've just come out with the 2007 package this week which is $20+++ more so dun noe if the same perks remain.. but they let me stick back to 2006 package since we've more or less confirmed on that..

Some of the perks per below @$768+++ (weekend):
1) Free flow of beer/soft drinks
2) 1 bottle wine for each confirmed table, extra at $18+++
3) Free food tasting for 10paxs upon confirmatn
4) 2 free nights bridal suite with A/B served in your room (option of exchanging 1 night for 1 free table)
5)$50 voucher for after-the-day supper (they do not serve you the leftover food)
6) 1 free champagne after the dinner
7) Free dining voucher at top of the M
8)Three trays of snacks served to guests during pre-cocktail
9) Designed invitation cards based on 100% of confirmed attendance (include cost of printing)
10) No cockage for hard liquor (must be duty-paid)

The rest are the standard stuffs.. I've asked for reduction of menu from 9 to 8 course for the sunday so save another $20 bucks from there. So my final package price is $748+++. Only thing about the ballroom is there are 4 pillars!! But after seeing the wedding set-up its still quite acceptable so we've gone for it.

Yuki, understand that for the person who chong with our date, he only cannot be seen when the couple 1st steps into the house. But jing cha should not be a problem. better check with the older generation, they'll know best.

yah.. but mine will be cheaper cos i've asked for menu reduction and i'm going to exchange 1 night suite for the free table.. so can save a bit from there.. (shd be $840nett) Frankly speaking hotels' weekend rates are all quite exp unless go for restaurants.. besides Mandarin, i've enquired for 4seasons, Orchard Hotel, Pan pac, Oriental & Grand Copthorne. Other than Orchard and Corpthorne which are ard same price, the rest are much more exp.. The hotels are now revising rates for 2007 so its going to be even higher.

hi Ling,

so hv you shop for your BS yet? I've already booked my hotel which is at conrad. Now looking around for BS. BUt i agree with you, not only the prices for hotel keep increasing, the BS packages also increasing lei....

ya, true lor. the banquet price keep increasing every year. Pan pac hotel this year weekend is $858nett, next year going to be 928nett..
i think most likely i will be going for the GPPR hotel, cos really like the ballroom, its pillar-less, and the reception area is very private. The hotel interior is also very nice. their package for weekend is $838nett. But somehow the hotel is not that well known.

HappyFace,
conrad.. heard very nice hotel for holding wedding but real exp.. so how much are you paying in nett price/table? I'm now lookin ard for BS.. most likely to settle for Wedding Presents cos my sis from there as well and everything + photography looks fine so its safer i guess.. rather than go for somewhere u dun noe much about and regret later.. But still no rush since mine in Jan07 so got a bit of time to see2 look2.. So you heard of any other recommendatns?

SH,
yah lor pan pac becoming so exp sure lugi one.. besides the room they're allocating to us is a longish one so my FH doesn't like it. Anyway we already foresee will lugi for Mandarin as well cos maybe more relatives than friends.. and u know relatives lah.. some v chao kuan.. My friend ever got $4 ang bao! can die...
What GPPR stands for? Most impt you're comfortable with the price & ballroom can liao.

Hi HapptFace,
how much is Conrad? Its one of my shortlisted venues aso, but yet to check it out. FH's good fren's dad knows the boss of Conrad, so hopefully can have some good rates...

Ling,

ya, i saw some ppl wrote that their guest only give $2 or $4 ang bao. I agree that some relative don't give much one lor. But for my FH's relative will definitely can cover, they are quite well to do, and one of his uncle give USD as ang bao one.
GPPR stands for Grand Plaza Park Royal. Its behind peninsular plaza. The surrounding building make the hotel seems very low class, but the interior of the hotel is very very nice, and class.

that's good for u.. we can breakeven then happy oredi.. so seems like quite a few going intercon for the bridal show in mar? need to register and if so, how to do it?

Intercon sent me an invite for the bridal show... if u wan, i can send u the registration form. Just fill it up and fax to them. Theres a charge of $30 per couple; UOB card members pay only $25. Lunch and refreshments included... =)

Sunflower,
thanks! just saw the advert on e homepage as well. Thing is my darling won't be in town so i've to tag a fren along with me..

Intercon sent me an invite for the bridal show... if u wan, i can send u the registration form. Just fill it up and fax to them. Theres a charge of $30 per couple; UOB card members pay only $25. Lunch and refreshments included... =)

Just for all information.

According to the tongshu , next year 7th mth starts on 13/08/2007.
these 2 days are excellent for wedding

07/07/2007 (sat)
08/07/2007 (sun)

However, 20th july is not suitable for marriage