(2007) Brides of year 2007

hi nicole

my parents are staying at Taman Jurong and the estate they are living at is under en-bloc. however, they have three options: moved into existing new flats (left over from previous sale), wait until new blocks are built in 2008 in the nearby estates or buy new flats in other areas.

the flats in the first option are 4rm but only abt 85sqm. so if you gers get to be selected for the BM flats, it's really considered v good le...

Hi Cherz,

Thank you! Do u got yr flat? Have u rom? When u plan for customary? ;)

Hi Ivy,
U got flat near Boon Lay MRT...is a new flat or resale?

hi nicole,

mine rom is on sept 18 2005.AD in 2007 lor.hee dats y i am in tis thread.

i havent got a flat.no new flats in my area.so sad

hey gals...

sad news gals... think i may have to shift myself to another thread liao... cos hubby's making plans to move AD fwd to Dec next year... *sob sob*

will confirm my 'moving house' when details are out...

hi crystal

welcome...

ok lah... but have to rush before the Christmas season leh... den a lot of my friends are Christians... so it's kinda difficult to plan a wedding during the Christmas season...

I shortlisted quite a few, sure got some pro and cons, either food good, then service will not be good. cant find any food good, decor noce and service good one

hi dubdub

think it will all fall into place, especially if you have a budget to guide you. so don't worry.

besides, i think for ballrooms, they are pretty much the same. unless you are considering alternative venues like parks, beaches, etc.

However, you will oso need to know who is making up the main bulk of your guests list. If your peers are the majority, think it's ok if food is avg, but ambience is good. but if your parents friends and relatives make the bulk, then food is greatly emphasized.

deco wise just get friends or florists to make the difference. there's only so much you can do, in terms of deco, esp in an indoor venue.

Ivy,

my flat is at yew tee, Jan 04 WIS, EA. Moved in last yr nov, rom last yr july. most of my guests are parents friends and relatives and i got a lot of tables

for my wedding, actually i dun have a budget to guide, as long as nice decor and service. the money is not a main concern

hi dubdub

my flat's WIS at Jurong Feb 04. also EA... but my reno cost (exclude lights, furniture and wiring), cost me $37k. If include lights and furniture, think it is easily about $50k liao.

I've also moved into my lovenest. ROMed in May last yr, was hoping to have the AD in May 07 to keep close to the ROM date. Well, anyway, if my hubby confirm push fwd the date, then I'll have to start my planning fast liao.

As for your guests, since they are majority the older generation, think it's best to hold your dinner in either a restaurant or hotel, but keep to sit-down banquet. Cos the older generation will usually think that banquet cost more and will give more. But if you intend to go for hotel buffet style, you could end up in a bit of trouble.

How many tables are you intending to get?

hey dubdub

since there is no monetary concerns, then you ma want to consider places like Marriot or Hyatt, cos these are old names, and since they've been around for ages, service is one area they cant lose out on.

as for deco wise, as mentioned, get florist or friends to further enhance certain looks.

ivy,

my renovation include furniture and lighting is $30k. i intend to hold 60-70 tables. actually we thought of holding it at merchant court, fullerton, orchard hotel, pac pacific, still shortlisting. hehe.

oic...

in tt case, you may not want to consider fullerton, cos despite the grandeur, the steps leading down to the ballroom can be hazardous to elderly ppl esp.

Orchard hotel is a old name, so sure will impress many older folks lah... i do enjoy pan pacific. I find the reception area very cosy and the grand ballroom great. However, it's still your decision, though.

ivy> My rom is on the 14 of may, for the dress me tailor-made from blumesh, tommorrow going for fitting liao.

dubdub>fullerton can hold 60-70?? Ritz probably could.

hi dubdub

fraid i cant help you much, cos i've limited knowledge in that area. But think Pan Pac will be a good choice, btw, it's my personal preference as well.

as for merchant court and fullerton, i've never been there. but i've only saw pics of fullerton ballroom online. as for Orchard Hotel, will only be attending a wedding show there in May.

you can sign up through the application form found in the wedding and travel mag (most recent issue). it's jointly held with golden horse awards bridal salon

Hi gals> havnt been visiting this thread, wah, so long ah today!

I havnt done anything, just trying to find out BS, wedding bands etc for my ROM. Everything oso not confirm yet.....Tink will be getting either my Bs or wedding bands in may/june.

So fast u all looking at banquet venue ah?Will be looking for one early next yr cos we plan to have AD in end 2007.

ivy> Ad earlier gd mah, I wan oso cant lei, hse nt ready n savings not ready oso.

aloha....im also a 2007 bride....AD shd be in june...cos im a teacher...need to wait till holidays...any suggestions on what i shd plan first now?im having headaches on wedding dinner and photos.....im oredi ROMed...

hi suelynn

i mean, all of us here are eager to be brides, to look wonderful and to feel wonderful. but i have 2 main concerns if my AD is being pushed fwd.

1. My hubby's pretty fickle-minded. He is always changing his mind. Hence, i have this sense of lack of security within me. Although verbally, he has confirmed tt AD will be in Dec next year. However, so far he has not done anything more concrete, like informing our parents, or arranging for our parents to meet to discuss about the wedding plans, etc.

2. If pushed to Dec next, my other worry would be tt my friends may not be able to celebrate my big day with me. Cos i have a lot of friends from church, whom I have gotten very close to, especially those from my old church. And being a Christian, I do know how busy events can get around the Christmas and New Year's Day season. Hence, if I am to have my AD in Dec next yr, the planning itself will be a challenge liao.

enuff of my whinning... so suelynn, hw's your BS / WB hunt getting along? have you done any shortlisting? I just viewed some shows during the past few weekends. think white link and divine couture are not too bad in design. so you may want to consider them.

as for wedding bands, my personal fave is still lee hwa. dunno about you, but i've got a few friends who bought their rings from Soo Kee.

hi juan

if your tentative date's in june, you still have a long way to go lar... especially since you have alr ROMed. take a seat... breathe and enjoy the sights.

Maybe you will like to come up with a budget, with your hb? cos it will effectively help you cut away a few unnecessary stuff. Besides, what kind of planning do you intend to do? Everything DIY? or just get the vendors to do what they specialise in?

juan,

me too, my parents and hubby wan to have a grand and big wedding, and dun wan to have any bridal package, so everyhting i have to go and source the best, just like wat i did for my rom

Hi Niko,

Can u show me yr beautiful dress tailor fr blumesh...? U sign up rom package or just pay for the dress only? [email protected]

Hi Cherz,
Dun worry, u can get a flat before yr customary... Still have two years to go. Where is yr idea location for yr lovenest?

Regard

dubdub,
but den i tot wedding amd marriage is between 2 person only? y must we do so much to please so many ple and in the end the bride is not happy? the point is the one keeping de most memory is de bride and bridegrrom mah.....

haha... that's kinda true... unfortunately, that's not why i gained weight... i kept dragging him around singapore to have supper... so now we only have supper on special occasions...

Ivy n crystalz> me also gain about 10kg after i met my fh too.....haha because we love to go eat buffet haha..... recently is have diet n went swimming lose 1kg plus so happy.

Ivy>me very exicited that tuesday, tried n i should say very nice hehe a bit shy now.....hehe...is red in color going to collect on the next next tue wooo....and also do the final fitting on the same day. but now got a question is what color should i dye my hair, and where any one know where got gd n cheap place maybe in west or central very lazy to go north or east side.

hi niko

what kind of design is your dress? chinese or western (oops, sounds like food)? if it's english-looking then colour your hair red (not those bright red kind... a bit like copper), with blond streaks... my hair also like this now...

if it's mandarin-looking, then dye black... will look great with chinese-design clothes.