(2005) Brides of year 2005

rokko: my PS by Kelvin from Chris Ling...quite professional lah...only the 3 of us went out for the outdoor shoots...no need assistants..cos when i went to Sentosa, saw a few couples takin fotos too, most of the photographer got assistants

minky: thks! As for the seating arrangemts, i let hubby's parents plan themselves & give me the final list... i will plan my parents & my friends list, hubby plan his list then later see okay or not. Quite a headache cos when planning my relatives, u don't know how many pple they bring, so u hv to put extra...then some table hv mixed pple..."boh pian"...hope it turns out well

welcome L.S, cool..i m happy for u tt u can have the kind of wedding u want. happy preparing ur wed!!

lala, i agree wif highness, do b extra careful when u change ur gown in the kitchen..

highness, better not rent a flat.. anyway u were saying that u got your love nest liao right? then there should not be anything to worry abt it...

Ming, thanks.. my FH will look out for any nice resale flat in ang mo kio area.. i m very relax already, i told my FH that i m washing my hands off the housing matter.. So it's his responsibility to source for one. Anyway, s long he loves n treat me well, others doesn't matter. Actually quite tired of all these hassle.. told my FH tt i want to rest for a while before continuing for our prep.. so these few wks n months will be "pat tor" period!

Virgo_Jenn, seriously, if it is possible not to stay wif PIL, try not to... However, if no choice, then have to give in a bit as i believe all of us here do not wan our FH to be sandwich between us n PIL right??? I am actually glad tt i dun have to stay wif them.. Actually your MIL is similar to mine. She wanted us to get a small flat first( initially we were thinking of getting an EC or executive apartment), reason being that she will want to "exchange" their hse wif ours in future as she do not want to stay in such big housing(she staying in private estate). The thing is, she thought tt we are very keen on their money, which is absolutely wrong!! I dun even care a bit at all!!Anyway, i agree on getting ang mo kio lor.. it's so ex, with tt amt, i can get better housing.. but wat to do?? I just try to give in as much as possible.

hello mei....
Ur FH is the only son?
My bf's new flat is under his name, so can only sell it off when it matures. As per next year after our marriage, still need to wait for 2 yrs + for the flat to mature...

My FH has a younger brother and the parents prefer to stay with the brother. Lucky me!! *phew* Coz they have more things to talk to the brother as my FH is pretty quiet kind....

My FH also needs to go overseas to work... and for that period of time, I will be going back to my parents' house also... He finally accepted the fact that I am not those kind of girls who will sit in the living room and chat with the parents when watching tv.... Every weekend, I will be in his room when I go over.. but come to think of it, when we reach his house on Sat, already past mid nite and everyone is asleep... and on Sundays, his parents are seldom at home... haha...

Hello everybody,
Long time never come in, a bit loss

Welcome all the new brides joining us...

I’m still stuck at choosing the BS. Any recommendation?
I find it v irritating to go into one BS just to look see.. and they just wouldn’t
Let u out of their door. So when I pass by a BS, have to think twice before going in...stressed!!!

Hey Tare,
I have settled my videographer with Kevin
must thanks you for recommending him to me. We like his work v much and find his price v reasonable.

Hi Vio
Another children day bride
welcome...
Very hard to find a hotel right? That date is really v hot even photographer & videographer also must booked early. Okie, u can email me at [email protected]

Hi Baobao,

Yah, I did considered that Dec and Jan is the raining season and did bring up my concern to the BS and my photographer but they assured me that its not an issue just like in June and July, it rains pretty often too........ and usually the rains dun last for the whole day........ so I am just keeping my finger crossed.....8).....
Nope, my gown not ready, have not even meet up with Michelle.......8)....its BV's practise to do the trial on the 1st appt since they will let me try on the various type of gowns to see what suits me best and with the full makeup, its easier to visualize.

Sierra...my friend just booked hers at Plaza Parkroyal on 18 Sept 2005 for a luncheon. Actually not much difference from dinner as they also offer 8 course lunch but will be a bit rush and more simple as compared to dinner of course cheaper lah.

The hotel charges them $628 nett with quite a attractive pkg. As for myself, i book 3 Dec 05 at Crown Palace Restaurant banquet is below $600 as I have around 50-60 tables. I agree with kero u can try Imperium as their location is convenient & banquet is within u're budget if u do not mind their ambience is a bit traditional style.

hi kero,

thanks for the suggestion

imperium is really big, not sure if i meet their min tables.

been to that place, there's a lot of pillars blocking the view, looks like a nite club sorta of place to me :P

do they have a separate area for 30 tables??

Hi Rosalind, Yar, I wished I had not decided on my BS so soon too. They seemed to be having lotsa fun hor?

Do you at least have a few favourite designs? I also have so many that I like such that I don't know which one to choose. Nmind, think we still have time to think about our gowns and hopefully our designers can advise us better. I'm waiting anxiously for the Sept issues of Style Weddings and the other bridal mags to come out.

Hi Minky, don't think I'll be going to Ted's. I'm not too keen on embroidery leh. Hope you have a good time BS shopping this weekend.

Hi icy, thanks for the update. Long time nber hear from you liao.

Hi coyote,
Hue has 1 outlet in Scotts ( 3rd floor) and the other in Millenia. Think prices range from 70 plus to 100 plus.Found some nice shoes there so you might want to go by and have a look. And...saw the exact same pair of shoes i bought at Tangs for $30 more!!

Have fun shopping!!

Welcome Vio...glad to see more & more Oct bride for 2005...children day is really very hot...i thk even for your make up artist...u hv to book early...i heard frm my photographer tat if u know what times ur hb is coming over...beta book ur MUA early cos she might also hv to rush to a few places to do make up esp if it a hot date...

Germ : Your hb can also give the invitations to his frenz & colleagues 1st...actually, ur hb relatives will oso get the biscuits/cake tog with the card...some couple actually choose a gd date for the GDL as well...

but dun 4get since our wedding mth is quite near to the lunar 7th mth...so i thk the most we can hv GDL is within 1 mth or 1 mth +...

Sweet : Mirage no cheap right since they offer 2 videographers...u hv confirm almost all the stuff liao...so relax hor...

Gina : Mayb,you want to ask ur hb or mtg up afew more videographers...

Nemo : no prob, gd deals must share...glad that you decide to engage Kevin....he is a very friendly & funny guy to work with...kekeke...are you goin to ask him to do up photo montage & express edit for you ?

I agree with what you mentioned abt the BS...they are so call being trained to talk you into signing up their package...that the reason why i thk i will just go straight to GHA...since tat the BS i been thking abt all the times..

Hi hweiz, if you can't change date, then change venue lor. i think we are still quite early, there shld be lots of hotels still available. dun be sad....

R L, wats the diff betwn a wedding coordinator and a planner?

girls,
research a bit, what the different between tea dress, cocktail dress and evening gowns. I not talking abt the purpose, but perhaps of the grandness.

Icy,
here's my opinion :
Tea dress - For tea ceremony
Cocktail dress - Can oso be use as a Tea dress/ To be worn during cocktail reception?
Evening Gowns - 2nd March-in??

I think Tea Dress and Evening gowns are equally grand depending on the purpose.

icy,
here's my definition:-
tea n cocktail is the same.
EG more grand.

tea n cocktail can be worn again during cocktail reception or sending off guest. I'm thking of wearing my tea dress during the reception, then will chg to WG for 1st march in. I will come down early to mingle with the guest

icy, all 3 types can be short or long, a lot of style too like victorial and even peranakan...my mum used to tell me last time they quite particular in the difference and has to wear accordingly to the occasions so since young I was trained to separate out play clothes & formal occasions clothings..hee..now we rojak..kekekeke

chatterbox, ger and vela,
oic. cos i intend to use my Teadress as a cocktail dress, but i also dun want to blend with the jiemeis or what.. :p

chattx, u will be at the reception to mingle with the guest? My fren did tt and I feel it is very nice, really can made guests feel welcome but she told me some other frens & her relatives dun think so..

icy/chatterbox/vela,
i will be wearing my CS to welcome the guest from 7pm - 8pm. by 8pm, i will return to the bridal suite to change into my WG and come down just nice for the 1st march-in. i will wear my EG to thank the guests at the end of the banquet.

icy, i am still considering the colour theme for my jiemeis. either pastel pink or white. the colour theme for my wedding is white/pink.

hi hweiz why don't you try Regent hotel? or try another venue other than hotels
cheer up!

RL, which planner did you eventually settle for?

ger,
if my EG continue to a CS, i cannot have CS to welcome my guest already (what I initially wanted)

then i must use another kind of dress to be cocktail dress so now wondering what to do with it.

vela - yes I will do that.... will come down early to mingle with guests... yup make the guests very welcomed n also I dun feel gd to juz let my hb go entertain the guests lor esp my frenz whom my hb dun noe.....
that wat I dun like lor. there r times that when I get invited to wedding but din even got a chance to give my blessing to the couples... that not gd leh!

most fren will say "Huh y u come down so early, muz keep plp in suspend mah"

yo cu... okie okie... actually BS still okie lor... if u really hv budget then @@ u 1 2 go JB or not lor... cos for me JB abit diff lar... well so where ur lovenest... me also burn a big big hole on my reno... tats why onie can get customary nxt year lor....

yo sierra.... hmmm i think impreium is too big for u futhermore if im not wrong they will be closed mid of nxt year cos their contract already finish.... well did u try HIPV, Merchant Court... cos i looked most on hotels leh...nbr really look on resturants... well think u can flip through those bridal mag and take a look....

yap... dun take lunch cos the cost is abt the same... if really cant u can postpone ur dinner the nxt day lor... anyway... u still hvn pm me any details of urs rite...

yo mehmeh... received ur PM liao... so which BS did u sign... why u 1 2 change hur...

chatterbox, i dun wan my guest to see me in my WG prior to the first march-in. That's why i decided to wear my CS first before changing into my WG.

icy, is ur teadress the same as the CS? i think u dun have to worry that it is too casual. after u change into ur WG, no one will remember her teadress and focus on ur WG.

Vela & ger,
i renting kua from outside and have an additional teadress which i want to wear for cocktail dress but scare it will be too casual. MY evening gown should be a quite grand CS.

wow wow gals hee hee 6 gals wedding on 18 SEPT .
Really a hot hot date !!

MAKE ME BLUR ...GOD ...SO MANY NEWBIES HERE

anyway ..welcome all of you !!!

hmmm ..seem like johore BS is realli value for money ....sigh !!! but distance is a problem hahah ..dun have the strength to trvel up n down even thought me stay at woodlands . :P

hi kero , jelly

hahaha ..me going to mine BS just to show that the design to show my designer whether suite me anot. I dun want to have any hipcups for my growns.Cos mu bridal say that next year is a good year to wed ....they got many couples ...that why i hope to get my design out by DEc ... then PS will in March kekekek ....

Jelly ,

Oki post phone to next month ...okie let me know again !!! i might be going bangkok again ...but not too sure the dates ..this time is for job sigh !!! BUT BUT ...hhaha is a shopping trip for the incentive company group hahaha ..so not so bad !!!

Cary ,

okie okie hear from you soon ....you busy flying lady kekekek !!!

icy, its just a cocktail reception, u can wear anything u like. As long as u are wearing something grand for ur march-in can liao.

chattx, ya lor, it is nice to welcome guests
at reception..hee..my another fren hold her hb hand and came to chat with us after the stage YumS..quite nice too! which 1 better har?..can let ppl take closer look at EG if do it later..kekekekeke

icy, u make your teadress already? I agreed abt the casual..later guests look more grand..if u want your teadress simple but worry casual probably can play with the colours to make u outstanding..

Hi cu2nite

All the BS are near each other except for Venus which is 15 mins walk down the street and JB Santiago which is 20mins drive down the road @ TUN Aminah.

Give me some time, i consolidate all my research at JB. Like to share with all of you.

** When you are there, you must really bargain and most impt, the package must suit your needs on your AD, PS..

Example, i like beach and some pics with building, so i choose to go Tioman ( 2 Day 1 night Stay with additional RM$300) and and bargain for another outdoor shoot. Therefore, i got 2 outdoor shots.

Then, i do not wan similar photos on the 12X15" and the mini album (8R), I bargain till they let me change to all different photos. That why i have 81 photos. (60 for huge albums and 21 for small albums) I also requested in Magazine style.
And of course alot more ..for SGD$2200

In Singapore, it is about $2688 and above. My friend at Whitelink got about 38 photos , of course with other perks, paying at $3688.. Something like this la

Hi all! Wow, finally a thread for Mar 05 brides.

So many posts! Just a few months ago, this thread didn't exist right?
Anyway, i'm also a March 05 bride. Can I join in?

Indeed, going JB is really a distance. Hubby and I take it as a excursion lor. No choice, cos price is also another important factor. MY house renovation coming soon , going to burn us a hole in our pocket.

Hi Sierra

U are a Sept 18 bride too?
Ya. It is getting harder to find a date on 18 Sept. I could not get mine too on 18th , so i postpone the dinner to 19th Sept. Anyway, not so tired also la..

Hi nemo,

sent u an email liao...

Tare,

I'm plannign to be one... Most places are either booked for 1 oct or on waitlist... Have hold 25 Dec 2005 @ Conrad thou.. Just in case can't find nice ballroom for 1 Oct. Some more now 7th mth can't do this can't do that can't book things also... Haiz... Actually i dun have a date yet... Have not gone to the geomancer yet.

U are making me very gan cheong now. I must go book my BS soon and photographer and makeup artist soon!!! Actually we plan to AD in 2006 but hse only ready in 2007 can't wait that long so might as well aim 2005 and now we are consider late for our prep liao!!! for 2006 we are super early.. Aghrhhh!!!!

Anyone go to You Long Zi for their wedding dates? How much he charge?

Hey Hey....

I'm back! Wow...seems like we having new May Brides here! Hi..mei! Welcome ..welcome!

Hi sweatcorn,

I had met Dang last weekend.Her gown is great. She is very nice too.My hubby might cfm with her this week but I still want see Margaret Brides b4 we make any confirmation. Very sianz...leh! I think I'm too picky...hehehe!
I had try on her latest gown..beautiful.The gown was made for the model in this coming issue on Female Brides Magz. U may take a look at it.

Hi isabelle,

Gosh...you had a very bad impression with Hilton? I can understand.For me I oso will have the same feel. Btw...no one here choose Hilton,right? I hope not.So far the list updated above..I din see any.

Hi chercat,
yah, basically coordination reqd for any songs or performance u might have where the distance/space of the location is rather impt. For me cos i'm having solemnisation during the AD, i have to rehearse the walking down the aisle, the exchange of vows and much more...

i think photographer and videographer will not have time to take dinner cos they will be busy shooting every moment of u.. me dun think will get videographer. is there any rules stated in the photography contract that u can only hire 1 grp? dun think so lah... but then it does sound a bit weird having 2 grps... why dun u consider getting 2 photographers from the same company instead? else i'm worried there might be conflicts between the two grps... then how? anyway, in the first place u should choose someone who u trust and like his works rite?

highness,

i haven got the date yet becos FIL going to geomancer after this seven month. I forsee my in laws got a lot of "rules and regulation" set for me...haiz.

Yah lor, i find it very hard to discuss with in laws regarding my views cos it can be very sensitive. To the old pple, most important part of banquet is food, they cant understand environment is important as well..

I have not point out to them that I dont like Qianxi becos there is some disputes beforehand, dun wan to add flame to fire.