(2005) Brides of year 2005

wtan

hi hi starmoon..
my chihuahua(Mickey) is kinda anti-social & depending on his mood, but i guess my FH can be able to "settle" him as he seems to have a "liking" to him (reason being my FH has a female white spitz at home) actually he's the family precious one, ruled over my little sis's status ever since he joined us abt 4 yrs back, we didnt bought him, he was kinda "abandoned" by my sis's tution teacher..currently i hv made arrangement to get my sis to come & help "look aft" him during the indoor PS but not sure if she can do so as she might have started working then & not very nice to get her to take leave just for my PS...so we r still in the midst of finalising, i guess if she's ok, we will continue with the plan..i guess it depends on individual BS, look at it another way, if u have ur doggy for outdoor PS, at least it will be able to create more natural shots for ur both & also can bring to maybe beach area when u both get to have more movement with ur doggy, right? cheers~

hi hi jelly..
heehee...just hoping that things will goes out well for me as it seems like one of the invited guest might want to "go up on stage" during the champange toasting ceremony & "speak in dialect the nice words for yam-seng", in fact she did it for my FH's 3rd sister's wedding last yr, we r considering not to have the champ toasting to prevent such incidents from happening...sigh...

hi hi anne..
wow, seems like it's indeed a very popular date to get marry..in fact, i also opt for this date but changed it to a weekday instead..if not, i will have to wake up ard 3am just to accomodate to the mua's schedule due to that date..

miraclecraz

Hi Pisduck,

Can you send me the link too? [email protected]

Wow! This thread is really moving way too fast! Maybe cos all our wedding's coming and all of us are getting so excited.. hehe..

I'm also having insufficient cards. Short by maybe 10-20. Guest list is the most headache. God!

mik

hi starmoon,
that's great! can share with me your experience after your PS? thanks! i'm not sure about the choosing of photos also. but most likely will see which one feel most confident in, i guess? but think most likely will go for full pics rather than collages. they have 8R, 12S and 15R -- which type of album do you intend to choose? who's your BS?
as for taking photos with your pet dog, if there's someone to take care of your dog for you, shouldn't be a problem, i guess.
i've only one friend who brought her dog along for PS but that was studio PS only.

hi jelly,
*pat pat* where's your venue?

Hi cutiecute,
no prob. so far preparing the inserts for the wedding invites. have decided on mint green inserts for the ivory cards + tied with silver string and creamy-yellow inserts for the red invites + tied with gold string
have you finished your PS already?
forgot your PS date...

can share wif me your photos?

cookies_gal

Hi Pisduck
They should be able to guide you. BTW, the shop closes at abt 7pm.

I bought mainly the dowry that my mum has to give me. Just told them what we wanted and they will prepare. I also bought the double "xi" ang paos and sitckers to decorate the house from them. Coz we're Christians, my GDL is actually very simple. We have no An Chuang and I didn't buy any bedside lamps. But yesterday's spending still came up to almost $100!

For the rest of the GDL stuff that PILs has to give us, my MIL has bought them already (all food items). Our GDL is quite modern, just the basic necessities. Even the hard liquor has been substituted with red wine coz my parents don't take hard liquor. If you need my list, I can give it to you but have to go home to get it. Best to check with your parents and in-laws to see what they want.

Hi Ying
For our friends, we use their names directly, coz all these are our close friends. If I'm not sure of the names of their other half, would call them to find out. However, for colleagues and parents' guests, Mr & Mrs XX is better.

wtan

hi hi helen..
nice to hear that things r fine at ur side..soo happy for u, no matter what happen, shdnt use the "d" word lor, it's not easy for one couple to come together lor..whether the wedding will be postpone a not, i think most impt thing is u both must be comfortable with the whole wedding preps, if u both feel that u needed more time for preparation, then postpone it or if not, then it shall be carried out as planned, esp when it's 4 mths + to the big day..if u need any help on the wedding preps, we all can work it out together..ok? take gd care of urself! cheers~

caitlyn

highness - hee.. imaging when ur fh becomes ur hubby.. haha.. my fh also something like urs.. so was teasing him.. ppl say when bf, if trip on stone, the bf will "scold" the stone and be very concerned.. when become hubby will scold the wife for being clumsy.. haha.. my fh nw already scold me for being clumsy so imagine when become hubby.. hahah.. how was ur proposal like?

pisduck

hi dey,
who's your co-ordinator? ok, let's see... u have to decide on the color theme u want, the deco on the stage, wines, beer, table arrangement... dun have the checklist with me, but the co-ordinator will have one where he/she will check as they go along. i spent some time deliberating on the stage set-up...

hi yuki,
hahaha...

hi ying,
both hubby and i cannot write very well... the more we write, more errors... (it's payback time for not paying attention during GP class. hee...) so, no choice, kept in short.
but thanks for the suggestion.

sharlene

Ying,
For formalities and respect, I did ask or sms my friends for their surname and put Ms Mary Chia. But my HB did not do that. He say so close and familiar no need. Up to individual. As for their partner, I just wrote Ms Mary Chia and Husband for married couple and Ms Mary Chia and partner for not married ones.

Cookie's Gal,
I can't wear Kebaya, my mum bought 1 at $200 plus, when I tried on, looks like Malay. Guess i more suited for CS than Kebaya :p

Pisduck,
There are a few shops in CHinatown selling these GDL stuff, one of the shop opposite the market will advise u if u not sure and matches for u and tell u what issit used for. But that shop quite ex. The rest dun really matches for u, but if u ask what issit use for, they may answer u.

Yukie,
My hse also alot of clear glass, mirrors and full length window. Hee...The mirrors and clear glass dun get that dirty easily leh, I only clean them once every few mths. As for the windows, I hardly clean them also as outside difficult to reach.

Can I hv opinion on how much Ang bow do we give the MC if they are also the brother and sister for the day?

annesep

Hi Wendy,

MU at 3 am? i hope mine is not that early, if not think not beautiful bride but panda liao.. i am really worried what if the MUA is not experienced and do up the hair and make up casually...

pisduck

hi cookie,
wah... thread is really moving very fast. after i posted, then i realize that u are posting too.
i dun think i have an chuan either... what bedside lamps? (not the oil-kind, right?)
both my parents and mum-in-law said that they want to keep it simple. (I really hope so!! hope it will not be "say-say" only, then on GDL, show black face and ask why no this, no that.)

dey

Hi Pisduck,

My coordinator is Georgette. What color theme did you chose? I am thinking of red and gold theme..looks like i gotta do some homework before the discussion!

highness

well.. i din get a solitaire for proposal.. he proposed after the date was fixed, banquet was booked.. felt so sad n depressed actually.. told him, he better proposed before we confirm the banquet but he didn't.. he go ahead to book the banquet n i was like so sad.. he want a proper n decent proposal to me, with proper planning, haha.. but wat i wanted was juz a formal question being ask, or at least ask my parents if they want to marry off me to him mah.. so few months after he booked the banquet, he proposed on x'mas eve.. i would say a rather elebrorate one, haha..

cookies_gal

Hi Pisduck,

Oh, they've modernised it now. Bedside lamps are all battery operated. What you're supposed to do is to go to your home during AD and turn on the bedside lamps, let it run till the bulb/batteries goes off. This bedside lamp symbolises "tian ding" (ie, the couple will have sons!)

wtan

hi hi anne..
dun worry too much abt that, since u will be gg for ur trial make-up then u can see if u r comfortable with her make-up & hair-do..i guess it shdnt be 3am for u lah, dun worry, heehee..

highness

haha.. i tot oni the 2 of us here..
btw, u got the AD itinerary schedule/ sis & bros' duty list for me?

aiyo.. i paiseh lah.. ur FH proposed with a solitaire n a bouqet of flowers? haha.. i cried too when he proposed.. din even actually heard wat he said n say i do.. so silly..

annesep

Hi Wendy,

as my AD is a hot date, not sure whether will get back the same MUA. all thanks to my fengsui master, of all dates, chose the hot date... had hard time looking for WD venues... BS etc.. tough ...

When is urs?

watashi

Hi Hi..

wah caitlyn.. BIG BIG shopping spree..got so many jewellery ah ..* tot your weekend suppose to be burnt..? naughty naughty.. did not stay @ home & do marking **

Welcome back Highness.. safe & sound. Can imagine how scary it is up in the sky *pat pat hor*.. i in bed hiding under the blanket also can feel the heavy thunderstorm outside..
.. ya.. pls tell us about the proposal ley, dun keep us in suspense... please pretty.

me looking forward to my 1st fitting tomr, dunno how my gowns will turn out.. weekend busy meeting with the reno contractor and furniture shopping.. now then i know its so expensive a set-up a new home. its all $$$..

novel

Hi Pisduck,

ur reno is darn nice, reali like showflat. Muz hv spent alot on it. btw interested to know roughly how much u paid for it. Your photo are oso very nice. indeed another beautiful june bride.

icy

decimal,
I cant remember her exact date, confirm this week, dunno is today or tomorrow.. only know she will only come back after my AD.

icy

Yuki,
not really.. our parent kind of reduce the cards needed, like certain very close relatives dun need cards.. or else very jian wai.. then even some relatives.. 1 card includes all his sons and unmarried daughters.. so save quite a lot.

Ying,
did they show u any photos? My coordinator dun have photos to show me yet, that why until now I havent choose my pix. I dunno what is their deco for ocean ballroom on their last wedding show, cos they also never state.

Yah, I agree the bears are out. I wanted the photo frame, unfortunately they are not available anymore.

Pisduck,
Nice website. :D Can see ur hb put a lot of efforts in it. Ur house really very nice leh, so envy!Is there suppose to be music, cos I dun really hear any. A pity that it is hard for me to look or freeze some pix. heehee.

piggersorous

HI Anne,
so mani sept 18 brides here... haha..
ur hotel is Carlton huh? ur taking the ballroom on the 2nd level?? U mus hv booked the ballroom earli earli last yr??

ermmm i rem readin tat one of u oso booked the red LC as ur bridal car.. errr whos tat huh?? jus wana dbl chk and make sure we din book the same cab for the same day?????

ppp

Hi Pisduck,

How come I still haven't received your email? I wait till my neck long long liao..hehe

Hi Icy,

Thanks for informing me tempanies sportlight has been closed down. Luckily my house is not at east side otherwise I must travel from east to Plaza Sing...

pisduck

hi sharlene,
thanks for the info.
u had your GDL already, right?

hi dey,
wanted a gold (since FS is predominately gold colored) and pink but both my planner and co-ordinator gave me weird looks and starting shaking their heads. so, finally, decided on pink, ivory and silver. :p
have u seen cheerygal's pics? her theme was red and gold and it was really striking and dramatic. actually, i liked it quite a lot.

hi cookie,
wah... din know all these... think by the time it reaches our children's time, all these wedding customs would have been forgotten, liao. esp if everyone is like me... hee...

hi novel,
the reno is abt $40k without the furnishings. we checked around and found the pricing sama sama for most of the stores.
cards n such got sell corsage, meh? which branch? i am considering getting corsage for my jie meis... can share the pics with me? [email protected]

hi icy,
my frens also told me that the slideshow is too fast. we are trying to improvise some buttons now to pause the show etc... thanks for the note, anyway.

we only have music for the intro and story pages.

annesep

Hi Piggersorous,

sad to say, not level 2 one... i took the one on level 4, esplanade room. Beside the manmade water fall.. i only book the book on Apr this year.. cos dunno must book much earlier.. rather rush..
esplanade room can only cater for 13-16 tables..

ash_

highness,
welcome back!! *big hug* wah weather sounds really terrible.. but well, thank God ure back safe!

caitlyn,
my goodness! u bought SOOOOO many expensive thgs over the weekend?!?! hahahaa... now this' wat i call a shopping spree

anyway congrats on settling so many thgs alr! hey try the silicon bra then let me know can? i also contemplating.. hehe.. oh! fh n i bought our wedding bands last week too! but havent collect yet cos dont have his size.. hehe... seems like we all progressing really well!

watashi,
wow, 1st fitting tom? my 1st apptmt to design gown is tomorrow.. hehehe... but still excited! so u must be even more excited..

cookies_gal

Hi Novel,
Can I view your pics? [email protected]

Hi Pisduck,
I'm sure someone will still know all these customs one ... perhaps the wedding planners or those aunties at the shops selling GDL stuff???

BTW, your house was featured in Sunday Times some time back right? Nice house! I like your view in your bedroom!

tambourina

has anyone of you pasted acrylic (fake) nails before? I am going to do mine for PS next week. Dunno if my nail surface area will be enough for the extension or not... =(

zoeanne27

HI Tam
I did.. i just paste for 2 nails only ...not long enough to do french mani..Sure enough.. cos they will trim the fake nails b4 they paste on it.

starmoon

hi mik mik
my bs is flamingo...wad abt urs? will definitely update u after my PS...hopefully everything turns out well..weather, make up, hair, etc...my package onli come in standard size..think it is only 8R...cannot choose and only 20 pics. we are actually thinking of doing a big collage so that we can get back all our pics in the CD cos our current package only returns selected images and we didnt want to top up by getting bigger size for our album cos we prefer to get more pics and hence we thot that collages is not a bad idea afterall. which bs u r tied up with...so nice can choose size of album....

hi wtan
i guess we will most likely bring our dog with us for the PS...can have more variety in the album that way
i'm oso thinking abt doing away with the "yum seng" thingy but not sure if ok or not since it is quite the norm to have it.

hi seval
perhaps u can try looking through the bridal mag, internet, etc...that is how i found mine and will be bringing it to show to my bs...at least it gives them an idea and will cut down the trial time cos i need to rush to the airport to catch my flight on that day. wow, ur ad is so close with ww and perhaps u can drop by huh since u will still be staying there. me kinda headache cos my sis-in-law gg to rom the next day after our wedding dinner and i dunno how leh cos its like we r still enjoying our wedding and then next day, we'll prob wanna laze around in the hotel and enjoy being with each other and now got to attend her rom...haiz....oso dunno will clash wif ours anot....anyone in similar situation b4? thot cannot haf 2 weddings so close....wonder if rom counts anot???

mik

hi starmoon,
oic. went for first or second fitting already?
mine's bridal veil. going for first fitting later this week.
oh...for bv's std pkg also 20pcs of 8R but we signed up during promo so can choose either 30pcs of 8R or 20pcs of 15R.
for 12S, will need to top up if upgrading from 8R.
doing a big collage is a nice idea especially if frame up. your pkg so good! can get big collage from chris ling!
ohhh...for my pkg is that we get all the pics back in the CD.

caitlyn

highness - i forgot abt it.. paiseh.. let me go back and ask my fh if he has it.. no lah.. i got no flowers.. only ring.. sounds like yours must have been very elborate.. so dun need to be sad he din propose earlier ah.. tell us lah.. we all so curious liaoz

watashi - must take fotos and show us!! hee.. always very excitng to go for fitting one!!

ashie - okies.. will tell u after my PS.. btw where did u buy ur wedding bands from? hope u'll be super satisfied with ur design.. i was after designing then when nearer fitting will start worrying abt whether u can pull off the gown.. haha..

chill1padi

hi sun

My Wagner "bridal chorus" version is not in mp3, is the normal CD fomat. If you still want it, i can email to you next week, the CD is with my FH, he is listening to it now!

kelvinrina

I'm back from HM from Koreaa.

Mei n i_bless_u,

Congrats on your big day of life.
You 2 are not alone now, u have another person by your side to protect n love u.

i_bless_u: can i view ur movie poster?

annesep

Hi Starmoon,

Think ROM is not consider clashing with yours cos in tradition, ROM to them is like engagement, not wedding. But i think she will understand if you don't attend cos all couple will be superb tired after the WD. She will go thru the similiar stage eventually. =)