(2005) Brides of year 2005

Hi janice
Ya lor. Though parents return us the angbao but still must be careful in inviting.

colour of CS? Eh.. at ted collection, they actually suggest to me not wearing blue , dark colours bcos i am not plump... CS fits our body shape.. so cannot make ourselves too skinny..
so she suggested I can choose red or bright colours. Dun know leh...

Janice, dun worry la.. U are not fat...can wear CS too.

Hi Kit..
Its Nail Palace at Bencoolen Sq. Tel: 68357307

Hi Cu2nite
u went so many places ah....dun worry sure can find one.. My toe ah, today went see doc cos the swollen went off yet still painful.. MC for 2 days lor.. Wah.. so envy can go straight to HM.. I will definitely go but dun know when..

Hi josl
oh.. can reduce so many tables.

Hi Pigger
when are u going for ur PS?

HI Jtan
I also got the list out liao for the CS contacts that copy down from the forum.. Thanks..
Wanna share?

Hi Princess Wong & everyone!

Can I join too?
Ad - 3rd Dec
BS - Fame Bridal @ Yishun
AD - still finding foto/videographer
Lovenest - Punggol

Hi Afcai,

lots of places actually..can check with your bs...

Hi Piggersorous,

Yeah, after I've spent a bomb on a pair of paradox shoes, I decided to reuse my ROM shoes for other gowns if possible....guess no one would see my feet since my EG is gonna hv a train too...keke...

Ray,
I'm also arranging the parents mtg session this week. Not sure how to start leh...should i take a pen to jot down the minutes of discussion like meetings?? hehe....what if they don't agree.....how?? Esp when I ROM liao...no bargaining power already....sob...

Hi Jenny,
BS did not recommend, they ask us to go back and think. maybe next time, when I go and test out my dress, I asked them for photo to view.

my friend went changi beach and punggol park. the other one went sentosa.

hello ying11,
tat's cheap leh......mayb impart some knowledge of how to do..if itz easy den i will consider doing it...

Can I join this thread? This thread is really active.
My AD is 14 Jan 2006. BS is Irene's creation. Love nest will be at One Fort. The rest all not confirm yet....
I read from earlier thread that some of you are bargaining for VG together. Please count me in if possible. I am also looking for one.

Koi

hey ladies,
tis comin sundae.......my H's family is coming to ask for my hand........early rite...coz his family said tat cant do it during the lunar 3rd mth as itz qing ming lor....n my GDL is on the 2wks after the qing ming mth......really excited....dunno how it will turn out.....

Hi Kero
Aiyo. Dun say that.. who says married no bargaining power liao...nowadays new generation liao.. In laws also must give face to the ladies side ma..Actually, what to discuss ah? Can we be the middlemen and just tell each other family lor...

My parents and hubby's family all met and have dinner a few times b4 liao..Actually I dun like them to meet up at all leh...

Hi Kit
If i am not wrong, I saw u @ Jess's place this afternoon rite? If u are looking mani & pedicure... I juz tried the one @ Stamford House .. not bad. The shop is nailclinique Tel:6330335. I onli did French Manicure, it cost $30. The girl who did for me is May.

Btw, can give me some honest feedback on my trial makeup?

Hi KeRo,
For me, my parents & my Future In Law family met a few times liao.... Hmmm basically juz chit chat lor.. Those serious stuff juz leave it to some other day. We be the middleman to pass message can liao.

Luv Jeannie Girl

hi hi everyone, aiyoh, didn't know this thread moves so fast - must check more often

karen, yup, noticed you're on the same weekend as me but i'm sure you're way ahead of me in the prep! me only started in Jan... sadly i don't think i'll be able to make this frisay's gathering so maybe next time!

ning, not sure about OTR but if you want MTM, the general rule is that the photographers for the PS need 3 months for your album and the BS needs 4 months to do the gowns, which means you have to start looking and decide pretty soon cos it's about 7 months to your wedding. good luck!

Winnie, Caitlyn,
Jus to keep you updated that I will be meeting mirage picture this sunday. How's ur appt with Inspire?

Hi yming,

I think Blackbox is in the same class as Studio D'Fia & Chris Ling. his photos are nice and rich. we got him cos he's the *real* photojournalistic kind, and his church shots (which I feel are more difficult to take) were good.

Hi SK2, I am meeting inspire tonite. did not meet mirage as it is out of my budget.

most prob we signing tonite leh if nothing goes wrong, cos he is one who meets my budget, and nice chap to talk to.

Hi dwoof,

Mine is really very simple. I just tie the flowers to the ribbons, that's all. Nothing much to teach too. ha. Onc eyou buy the flowers, you will know what to do. If you want to meet, I can of course meet and teach you.

Yuki,
Okie, I will try to get the pics and show you tomorrow.

Crabbie,
We only managed to have the cold dish but the banquet staff kept the food for us and served us in the Hotel Room shortly after the banquet.

Hi Yuki and Rokko,
Thanks. Not really bothered by them liao. I guess there are more these type of people as we get nearer to the wedding date. So, I told myself not to be bothered by them.

Icy,
I am going to shop for the SDJ. Maybe, going to Poh Heng & Soo Kee. Hopefully, can get something nice. This week will be a busy week for me.

Right now, all I hope is that I can pass my driving test in April. Then, it will really make my day. Hopefully, can pass it for the first attempt.

Hi Ying, thanks for telling me
Huge relief hehe... I was wondering if Leon wasn't really interested in doing MU for me...

Hmm... I thot the trial was supposed to reflect what the MUA will do during the actual MU?
Aiyah, anyway it's too late for regrets now since I'm having my PS on this Thurs liao hehe... But I will tell Leon my concerns and hopefully he can do something abt them.

Advice needed!! Can I ask if you gals put eye liner on the bottom eyelid? Heard that it is "not in fashion now but Leon did draw the liner for me. Thot it made me look fierce
Do you think I should request not to have it? How abt fake eyelashes and ampoules for your PS? Is it necessary?

Congratulations to Janey!!! Hope she drops by to update us

Hi icy, can I ask what did you get for your SDJ? What's the average cost hur?

Hi Sharlene, how did your final fitting go??

Hi rokko, what's your lace top like? I love love love sashes!! Thot that they are really sweet

hi Ming!
glad to see u still hanging around here..

hows everything? feel free to drop me a mail anytime..

Hi VJ,
still here? :P
hows gowns selection? all done?
me still headache over it.. @.@

This fri is my PS, need to ask when we go for outdoor shots, how 2 go toilet when wearing the gown which is long n bulky cos i'm tat kind of person who goes to toilet quite often...especially if the weather beri hot will drink more water 2 prevent dehydration...public toilet, the floor usually nt tat clean if we managed 2 find one...

pls advice..

hi-hi Renee...
thks for the email, i have repied to u liao...let me know,k?cheers!

hi-hi Helen..
thks, will get my friend to check it out, thks!

hi-hi cheery..
me gg for my selection of gowns this coming gd fri...duno how it will be...sigh...

Hello ladies..

caitlyn, he say he can cook, can bake, but i nvr get to eat his cake leh.. haha..
not so worried abt cooking, he better help do housework after wedding.. hehe..
haiz.. FH's reservist almost over but there's still one in Aug.. split into two.. thus bringing forward PS to June instead of July.. cos i might b outstation on n off more frequent liao.. sianz..

Chanol. keep me update abt santi hor.. hehe.. :P

Hi KeRo,

Why no bargaining power?? They have to meet to sort out the different requirements for different dialets group.

Eg, my HB is hainanese.. my MIL was saying that the bride side should give the groom side a big "jin tui", those sesame big ball thing...

My dad was telling me, he wanted a sucking pig but dun want to give the groom back the head and tail?!?!

The number of tables to be given is confirmed to be 8 tables only and my dad wants to top up another 2 tables.. This table thing issue, I nearly quarrelled with my mother.. it was dragged on for 3 months!! before it was confirmed to be 8..

I tried to ask my dad about the dowry $$, he was saying that the groom side, the mother should tell him how much she wants to give... sigh.. Then he started to tell my HB that he is not selling his daughter, its only entrusting me to him.. Anytime I got bullied, I will have the right to go home.. Then still, we dun know how much is the dowry.. $168?? $1288?? $1688??

Bride side has to give what to the groom side, also not confirmed yet.. ding dong here and there, 6 months passed.. they still yet gave us any answers.. the elders kept saying they want to ask the senior elders first.. then now, my dad said it depends on what the groom side gives, then he will ask..

Yet I felt bad, cos I dun want my parents to feel that they are bullied.. Headache now.

Oh.. my dad was also saying that I need to buy new set of clothes for the AD for the whole family includes my HB side. Its a tradition thing...

So another additional cost pop up... I need to put aside another $1.5-2k for the clothes.. That money I can go taiwan for a short trip/honeymoon..

For the new clothes thing, my HB quarrelled with me, he said where got this kind of tradition?? Its only few months of sweet talking to him that he relents and agreed..

Hi Tougei...
Initially, have the same concern as you. Thought my MU is not interested cos she is real fast.
I did not put eyeliner at the bottom of my eyes. Think Leon did it for you to make your eyes look bigger? I think you should trust Leon. He is teh expert and will know what type of MU suits you.

I definately go for the fake eyelashes and the ampoule. My pics shows the eyelashes beautifully. Though it was unbearable to wear, once you get use to it, it is fine. Ampoules makes my MU stays whole day.

Ying11/icy
Do u gals bring along an umbrella for the outdoor PS? Coz i was thinking very hot under sun, while waiting for the photographer, to take an umbrella to take shelter, dunno issit too aunty? :P
Also do we gotta trim our eyebrow and morning apply moisturiser before we go for the shoot?

Hi Ray
Ha Ha.. so its all the GDL thing la..
Ya. My side also hainanese. So parents also said must get the " Jin tui" but hor, i ask them, where to find nowadays?

My mum want a suckling pig..Dun know if she is giving back the head and tail anot..Tables wise, I said i will give her 10..Dowy, mum said she will take a small portion and give back to my hubby... but I also dun know how much...
$2888 sound nice? U know, i actually heard from my mum, some of her friends son gave $10K... wa lau!!! Sell daughter ah!!

actually, we are not much into details now.
Headache.. hope both side not asking too much..neverthelesss, the $$ still from our pockets..hee hee...Thats partly, why i scare scare both parents side meet up and discuss.. alot of things from the air will appear...hee hee..

anyone got a list of GDL??
I am a Hainanese , Hubby is Hokkien....

Tou,
Putting eyeliner still in fashion, makes ur eyes looks bigger, just that natural makeup normally pple do away. Now pple like to put the eye liner like silver etc, no longer the standard black or brown.

My 2nd fit nothing much, details not yet up. Designer say she will only complete the details after alteration if not, quite difficult to alter. Thus will only be able to see them during my PS. I quite worried abt my WG coz the bustier area abit loose. Though after tightening and pasting the tape felt quite secure initially, but after a while, it will slowly glide down and the gown too heavy thus tape can't last too. I think for outdoor, I can't move too vigourously like jumping or running. I self conciously will pull the bustier area of my gown up on and off :P

As for ampoules, most MUA (freelancing) normally dun like to use, coz they say their makeup are good one and can last. Heard that comment from few MUA already. Fake eye lash will depends if u need. If ur eyelash are long enough, then they will not ask u to put. For me, my MUA tell me I no need to put coz mine long enough.

The SDJ are requested by us during the Ti Qing issit? My mum dun really know what to ask and dare not ask for SDJ, she only wants simple items, does that mean I will not have any SDJ then? I thot SDJ are more for teochew?

hi ying

Yar, he says makes my eyes look rounder and bigger but I thot it looked like my dark eye circles just got worse. I bought 2 ampoules from my facial place liao - Sothys. Hope it works
But I'm not sure abt the fake eyelashes. Maybe I will put for PS but not AD.

Hi Sharlene, oic
You must have been losing weight successfully. I also lost some weight but I regretted abit cos' I thot it made my cheeks look sunken and my jaws more defined. So now I am trying to put back the weight by eating hahah...

my grandma says SDJ cannot be the gals side ask one. It is up to the groom's side to give. Rightfully, SDJ is for the teochew groom to give the bride but nowadays everyone just use it as an excuse to get jewellery haha.... for me, I will be just buying a pair of solitare earrings as a token since my hubby's not very well-off

Ying & yougei,
I went for Poh Heng one at Chinatown, quite a good selections there.. consider that it is quite a big shop.

I was deciding on a traditional type or modern type.. then in the end take the traditional one - which consist of chain and pendent (the one with the woman head, anyway will last through out wont go out of date and hb can wear it if he wants), long & feng bracelet and earrings. Total cost about $2.5k. She also buy me another diamond bracelet so that she can give me for tea ceremony.

sharlene,
My mum also did not exactly asked for SDJ, she said it is up to mil to give me what I want.. cos she already have the tables for relatives.. so mil choose to give me SDJ for GDL, suppose to wear it when I go back to my mum hse for tea ceremony.

tougei,
I think mine got put slightly cos my eyes quite small, if u think urs look quite fiece then the colour too dark for u, consider using lighter colours may help. :D

vivian,
for my case I went back to BS to changed,

sharlene,
I never bring umbrella, cos anyway there wasnt a chance to use it.. once we are there, the photographer will tell us where to go and pose.

for eyebrow, I leave it to my MUA to trim for me, she did quite a good job. as for the morning, I actually place that moisturising mask before I go for PS.

Hi Hi Esther and Jean,

Thank you so much for your invaluable info! May I know what is the difference I be looking at between a MTM gown and a OTR gown? That means by beg Apr, I should have selected my bridal shop n type of gown I want rite? Do yr know what time do bridal shops close should I go after work? tx u so much.

Hi Zoe,

I'm opposite of you and your hub. I'm Hokkien and my HB is Hainanese.

The $$ thing very clear cut.. My MIl said she will pay for things that are meant to give the bride side.

My parents side, I plan to secretly top up whatever the groom needs. Cos I'm not comfortable with the idea my parents need to cough up the $$, cos I felt that they are being bullied..
My MIL is actually quite a nice woman, but I'm too protective of my family since young..

The point of asking the families out to sort out the issues is to reduce the miscommunication on the expectations.. I dun want the senior elders to be grumblng and making the parents confused/upset on the AD on lack of certain items.
I personally saw cases like that..those elders were grumbling, making everyone upset but things still proceeded. These elders seem to forget that its a happy day for everyone, esp the parents of bride & groom, not a day for the elders to show off their knowledge of traditions.

Zoe, the jin tui thing is very rare now, only one shop in Singapore do it.. have to check it out..

Thats what I'm worried about, if my parents not happy on the items my MIL gives, they will ask for a big dowry..

So what's happening with our Friday gathering? Same place and time as for last week's one? I'm set to go Singapore tomorrow for my 1 stressful, packed schedule week there. Will talk to you guys when I see u all on Friday!!

Hi Ning,

OTR is you select the gowns dirctly from what they already have in the shop, then they will alter it according to your size. MTM is they will make a new gown for you based on your measurements. For both OTR and MTM, you have to return the gowns to them after your wedding.
If you are going for MTM, like what Jean says, you will need about 7 months, so must settle it latest by early April.. OTR can still delay a bit lor.. but try not to cramp everything till last min, you'll feel very stress

hi ning, not sure what you mean by "the difference between a MTM and OTR gown"... MTM is "made-to-measure" where they design a new dress for you, OTR is "off-the-rack" where you take a dress that's already available and get it altered to your size. is that what you wanted to know? by the way, i forgot to mention last night that if you're particular abt taking photos in the 7th month then you'll have even less time - not sure if there's enough time to do a MTM gown... you better check with the BS. If you're going down to the BS, better make an appt so they have time for you. I think most of them close around 8pm.

highness,

Trying to make 2nd appt this wkend to select outdoor & AD WG and probably the last trip in April. If by April still can't find a suitable EG, I will have to MTM because June is PS.

I wore 2 outdoor gowns for my outdoor PS. I change it in the toilet at Sentosa. There will be a helper in additional to the photographer. The helper will help you to change into the next wedding gown. If taking beach photos, remember to bring a pair of slippers. Those flat slippers.

I put on lots of moisturiser the night before my PS and In the morning of the PS, i put my only moderate amount. Mor eimportant is try to get more sleep the day before the PS. It will be quite a hectic day.

Sharlene: I did not bring an umbrella. No time for it. We just pose and pose and move on to thenext location. For trimming of eyebrows, suggest you trim before your PS. I trimmed mine before the PS.

Hi Sharlene

Forget the umbrella... u won't have time for it... For mi, my MUA trim my eyebrow for me before making up leh... but I applied the usual moisturiser lah.... and he later put on ampoule for me...

Hi Vivian

Try to go during the time when u r changing gowns lor... that's wat I did... otherwise, try to cut down on yr water intake...