(2005) Brides of year 2005

gals!
This fri i cant join the gathering, anyway still new here....
600 to 700 for htl weekend, pan pac has it! but the ballrm is too narrow, anyone attended the wedding there b4?
i was so tempted to choose pan pac but nt very keen on the ballrm, other than that is fine....is once in a lifetime, will u gals spend for this day or tink is just another day to spend $?

wah... you gals are very fast and active... very difficult to catch up

By the way, when is the style wedding show and where is it?

fates and leeds

u gals go PF for pilates? are you attending the beginners class? me thinking of joining....muz start exercising oredi....have been too lazy. hehehe

I also love Malay food, from longtong, nasi lemak, mee soto, nasi padang and etc etc. Maybe due to my Indonesian roots too and I can listen to fluent Malay too :>

leeds and fates,
u all head down to platness fitness right?? Me thinking of going down tmrw to take a look at their packages. Hope it is of reasonable price and I dun mind joining up.

i tink its a once-off thing so spend a lil more is ok lor.. but not too much oso lar..
very poor leh..
+
so u gers havin a gatherin??

K fates, will see you!
But how to recognize each other??

Kysha, I like ayam keluak! Its very traditional indo food, not many ppl eat that or even know how to make that. So far I only ate that at my FMIL's place.

hi cutie,
got ur email, heheee.. nice nice

jellytots,
cos people normally bao abt min $60 to $80 for wedding... $60 for weekdays and $80 for weekend.. some even bao more.. so if ur wedding table abt $600to $700++ should not have problem making money..

opps, oh ya provided the bride side also dun take too much table.

hi Mat,

can u speak Malay? I can understand but can't really speak that well. Used to go for peranakan plays with my parents.

vine ~ it really depends on whether or not you will 'harp' on it .. like in my case, i am seriously re-thinking a lot of things cos i do want things to be as perfect as possible, else i may not be as happy ... or rather, let's just say that if i go for my second choice, a cheaper option and am just ok with it, if something goes wrong, i'll be constantly doing the 'what-if' ... and 'if-only' ... which i don't want to ... so ... my two cents worth

Fates, yay good job! More and more people are interested in planet fitness, next time we can all go for classes together!

Welcome tinks!

First thing you should do is to set the date for the big day!!! If you are not the pantang type, then it's much easier. Otherwise you can ask around for geomancer etc contacts. Do have more than 1 date that you wish to have your AD on coz your ideal banquet venue might not be available on your preferred date. (you have to decide if it's date or venue that's more important).

Then, start sourcing for banquet venue soon! Looking at icy's famous chart, most of us have confirmed our venues already and already a few of us have set our ADs on the same date. So, in order not to be disappointed, start hunting soon!

The next is your BS. You must allow your BS at least 3 months to do your gown if you're having MTM. Then, it takes about another 3 months after your PS to collect the wedding album. So you do need to book your BS at least 6 months before your AD (preferably at least 9 months to have more flexibility).

If you are doing your house while preparing for your AD, then all the more you need to start early!!!

After the banquet venue & BS (and PS), you can start looking at the finer details of the wedding itself (eg, AD photography, printing of cards, flowers etc)

Kysha ~ hey! My grandmama also makes GREAT buah keluak. Nowadays, she only makes it for our CNY dinner. Cos she complains very troublesome to do lar...hehee...and her Achar + belachan is super shiok too. Wish i could cook as well as her. but FH got a week stomach can't eat much spicy food. too bad for him!!

Dinah ~ yo! u serious abt getting the cake arh? U driving there issit? Ma fan or not??

Fates ~ dunno leh...i'm just worried Marche won't allow and then 15 of us will be standing outside staring at ONE yummy chocolate cake....

anna,

Ok..l will zap a copy for u but u got to remind me when the date is near ok.

kysha,

If my hubby schedule can fix in..l will go.

dinah,
I am feeling hw u r feeling...fighting my own war within myself....whether to go wif my heart or brain....but if u go wif ur first choice, more exp and yet din turn out to be as gd, ur guests dun appreciate, isnt it worse?

Vine, are u refering to ocean ballroom of pan pac, i seen the ballroom before, i feel still okie.. cos long walkin, but i dun like the lightings, that why i got the pacific room instead.

anna & smilez ~ seriously? sigh ... hmmm ... maybe i'll give marche a call and check on cake .. hehehe ... we can pretend that it is a birthday celebration or something ... if really can't bring cake in .. then guess it will have to be another time ...

smilez ~ i don't mind getting the cake at lunch or something .. no lah, i don't drive ... but sometimes colleagues and i go out for lunch or can get Fh to buy for me .. hehehhe

Cookie's Gal ~ well said well said..i think what u just wrote can search as a good guide for all those who dunno where and how to start. hee...*clap clap*

Dinah ~ woman..i just remembered! When are u going down to Tan Yoong to confirm with them???

icy,
ya the ocean ballrm, u saw it wif all the table settings? imagine plus the ppl, is q cramp, i feel, nt glam enuff....ceiling low. pacific ballrm needs 45 tables for weekends, i dun hv dat number.

Dinah ~ ya ya..let's pretend it's a celebration lor...IT IS wat...we are celebrating for Touraco's ROM. hehehee...gotta find a star for the event.

Good idea hor..target your FH> :P

So will u be at Marche by 6.30??

ssmilezz,

So far shortlisted about 6 photographers. 4 of them offer both photography & videography while the rest offer only photography. After this weekend, we decided that we want both photography & videography and if we can get both from 1 place, we'd prefer it coz it's more convenient. But the final decision still depends on whether the firm can do a good job for both.

We went to Natural Shots & Leonard Photography over the weekend. Hopefully, can set up an appointment with Segami for this week.

Seems that if you are interested in videography, you should book early coz there are less people in this business... I expect I'll be confirming my photography & videography by June. A plus point of booking early, we get to enjoy 2004 prices (it seems that everyone will be raising their prices in 2005 coz they were kinda shocked that hubby and I started our search so early!!!

Yo kysha ~ Yup me attended Pilates, and no they don't have beginners or intermediate class over at PF. It's standard throughout......but you need to be very pro to do some 'posture'. Hehhe...

Matthew ~ Yupyup. If you wanna come by, let me know....so that I can refer you mah....hehe...or you can call leeds too!

leeds ~ okie I'll PM you my mobile

ssmilezz ~ how about 'smuggle' in??

vine ~ hehehe ... we are in the same boat lah .. more or less ... talk to your FH and see what he says lah ...

smilez ~ probably this or next weekend i guess ... and yes icy, please update the chart ... i am going with tan yoong ...

vine ~ check the archives, i previously did a lot of checking on some of the BS and tan yoong's comments and prices are in there ... about 3 weeks ago

kysha,

I can speak some malay though, the simple ones though. Hang out with Malay friends in school days also. Even dad's best friend is Malay man!

Fates and Leeds,
How much are ur packages for platness fitness??

Matt

dinah,
my FH let me decide cos he noes if anything goes wrong, i wont be happy, it is more impt day to me i guess...gals r more particular abt this.
so wh htl u gg wif?
give me a guage of tan yoong can? no need details...so lazy to go search :p

smilez ~ ok settled ... i will call marche later and check with them about the cake situation ... if it is ok, is everyone ok with me getting a cake? not a huge one lah ... a regular sized one ... btw is jitpong coming for the gathering ... hehehe ...

<font size="+1">THE 2005 BRIDES FIRST GATHERING!

Venue: Marche - Suntec City
Date: 16th April '04
Time: 7pm

Confirmed:
1. Icy
2. Jitpong
3. duffybuff
4. Dinah
5. Fates
6. touraco
7. ssmilezz
8. anna
9. jellytots77
10. queenie
11. cutiebear
12. blur blur
13. germ
14. beachygal</font>

72496.gif

Hi vine,
I also dun have 45 tables, i heard if u have abt 38, sometimes they will be willing to open the whole ballroom for u..
i jsut pray hard on my wedding day, no one wants the ballroom, anyway my AD is on a friday.

vine ~ i agree ... the details are more important to us girls afterall .... i am going with grand hyatt's ballroom for the dinner and their gardens for my solemnization ... partly because of the size of the wedding i am quite limited in choices of hotels ...

as for tan yoong, his basic package for two gowns (MTM) start at about $2600 ... with photography, flowers and make-up, starts at about $4900 ... downpayment upon confirmation is 60%

icy, most to most i hv 300 guests, where to get 38 tables? i dun wanna invite ppl just to fill up the seats..i only wan ppl whom i tink they really wanna celebrate the day wif me

Cookie's Gal tks for the info...
so many things to do....
i have more or less cfm my date.. hopefully can do it on the 10th Sep 05.

my ROM date was on 12/9 last yr but in 05 it will b on a mon n my mom will kill me if i do it on a weekday

i planning to do it at goodwood park.. any opinions or comments to share?

hey smmilezz &amp; leeds - high 5! it's been a long time since i had my last ayam buah keluak. hmmm, must ask my mum to cook this weekend. hehehehe

fates and leeds - have u been doing pilates for a long time? Afraid I may not catch up leh. My body not flexible one leh. :P btw, when r the classes?

mat - do u have UOB mini card? it entitles u to 2 free entries to PF each month.

Dinah ~ yay!!
happy for you..now all u need to do is to concentrate on being a beautiful tan Yoong bride. heee....

Fates ~ smuggle in arh? how arh? you have a bag so huge issit? LOL!!!

Cookies Gal ~ Raise prices in 2005? Why?? Is it because they realised a lot of ppl are booking their services earlier and earlier??

Good to start early mah..no need to rush rush and panic last min right?

vine ~ i have at the moment confirmed 50 tables, although FH and i think it might go up by another 5-6 ... sigh

smilez ~ i think you could tell that the tan yoong decision was inevitable after all my gushing right ... hehehehe

gals ~ some of you had requested to see some pics from india, could you PM me with your email addresses and i will send an invite to you to view the pics

tinks1210, u mean ur Ad at goodwood park? nice venue, however the max number of tables are only 23 if i rem correctly. so if u are intending to have many tables, this place might be very crowded.

fates, oei, i saw u gals are mentioning abt cakes eh? wat's the occastion? birthday? or celebration for our first brides outing?? guess i missed out lots of stuff jus by MIA for 3 days

anna,

Ok...pls sms me on thu nite.

vine,

I did attended a wedding in the ocean ballroom b4...l do agree that it is kind of cramp cuz the ballroom is long and narrow. My girlfriend got feedback from friends sitting at far end complaining that they cannot see what is happening infront. I'm not sure about that cuz l'm sitting somewhere in the middle.

Kysha, I only went for pilates twice! hehe... No need to worry, its good. Why dont you come by this wednesday too?

Dinah, wahh tanyoong bride!! Very beutiful designs! Can ask how much to rent OTR EG or WG for AD? I already signed with other BS so no need for whole package.

tinks, think winnie is having her banquet at goodwood park...not sure if she's here today...

ssmilezz, think they're raising prices coz they have established themselves in the market so can afford to command a premium liao lor...

hi kysha, just wondering, with the UOB visa mini, are we allowed to attend any of the fitness classes? How does Planet Fitness control the crowd then? There must surely be a max class size...

Dinah ~ I PMed you..waiting to see your pics now...heh heh...

Yeah, could tell that u would have taken up Tan Yoong lar....
As long as you are happy and feel comfortable with your decision, should go ahead yah. No regrets.

Jitpong coming for the outing...she hasn't appeared here today *yet*. hee

kysha ~ hehee..stop talking abt it leh..me feeling hungry. yum yum....

cookie gal - hehe, i'm not too sure myself. mebbe fates or leeds wanna enlighten us?

leeds - which branch do u go to and wat time?