(2005/05) ROM in May 2005

rainne, ohhh.. congrats.. told u tt everything will go on smoothly.. i hve not efile yet....

Blueberi, congrats too.. getting a shawl will b nice... u confirm ur design arleady?

blur, yes i confirmed my design already... will be a empire cut satin dress (knee length) wif organza shoulder straps. also will haf organza layered over the dress to hide my tummy.. i've chosen silver colour... the back is cut v-shape, so gotta buy a nude-bra... oh..still have to find a matching shoes...

jess nv showed me your design but she said dat urs is beri sexy in front... mi on the plus side & short.. so gotta a find a design to make me look slimmer n taller... gonna try to lose some weight coz only 2mths to the rom

for photography, i'll be getting AhPxxgPxxg (replace xx wif en), she's charging me SGD120 which i tink is beri reasonable... now rom dress n photography settle liao... only left the reception, date, venue & JP to be confirmed...

oh.. missed out one thing... i've yet to get the rings... will be looking ard wif FH somewhere in the middle of tis mth... our budget oni 1k for a pair

Bluberi, good that many things has confirmed.. r u getting a photographer? when is ur fitting? mine on april 16th

yup...have engaged Wai Peng of AhPxxgPxxg Photography (replace xx wif en), she's charging me SGD120 for unlimited digital photography, 80 4R in album for 2hr service.

My 1st fitting on 11-April.. how com it's earlier den urs? Jess ask me to bring along the shoes for the fitting... But i'm wondering how come the Ampoule & Eyelash so expensive.. it's SGD25 each if required.. tot oni ard SGD15.. I'm having Regine as my MUA

hey bluberi,

that is a very good bargain. My photographer is $200 plus....

and I have not settled on my rom dress, shoes, rings yet!

hi rainne, yup i tink its a gd bargain too! Hope the photos will come out well..

my shoes, rings & reception still not settled...

bluberi, the photography sounds reasonable. do u have her contacts? how's her work? I oso looking for photographer.. i told jess tt i m not urgent for my fitting, wan it to b on a wkend instead.. so she gave me 16th April. Mayb i will give her a call to push my fitting earlier if i m anxious. heee hee hee..

rainne, i wanted wansheng actually, but har, he's not free during the day. think he holds a full time job. oh still got one more thing... who is ur MUA? u were saying Vivian right? how much she charge and can i have her contact?

btw, my shoes not settle too.. wan to go down to prautes to take a look...

in fact har, many things i not settle too..
1) invitation card
2) flower
3) FH's shoe n my shoe
4) Ring pillow
5) photographer
6) MUA
7) e filing
8) short honeymoon
9) live band
10) deco for my venue
11) accessories

wah.. actually quite stress too.. think when date gets near, sure gan jiong..still got so many things to settle n it's only jus 2 months away.

Hi blur,

Yday night received Mr Loh's consent form and have finally efiled. Phew.

Yeah, I managed to get Wan sheng for my rom.
MUA, have booked vivian also already.
You can get her at :

MUA is $120.

hi people, in case you are interested. Saw some "bridal like" shoes at OG - beside centerpoint. Like mules - front part covered with lace-like material. 2 stripes - one across the front of the feet - with diamond studs. The other is elastic and for the heel to prevent the shoe from falling. price reasonable - $56. Can take a look. Tangs studio also have some nice satin covered shoes, though sizes running out.

iky, thank you... well, i urgently looking for rom photographer. any suggestions?

rainne, wansheng is not able to b my photographer, now have to find alternative leh..

How about edwin from iwerks leh, is he available?
You know Rindu Media? You can check them out too...

I left the excel spreadsheet at home leh.

have you got you ring pillow har?

rainne, not yet, think ring pillow wil b low priority. want to confirm my main stuff first.. edwin, is he good? got good review? i haven hear d of rindu media.. will check it out.. thanks gal..

hi blur, sori for the late reply... i got the photographer thru IDO website... look for AhPxxgPxxg (replace xx wif en). My office pc having problem... can't open 2 window for explorer or else pc will get error msg.. therefore the website u gotta search urself...

yesterday discuss with FH liao... we'll now ROM on 02-May at the restaurant... tis sun we'll go n look at the restaurant. once confirmed den i'll book the JP

hi celine... most probably the restaurant at yio chu kang grassroot club... forgot the name liao but its under gim tim group... i have to check with them whether they can help me arrange for solemnisation... coz earlier on i've checked with Dragon Gate at Harbourfront, they can provide the table for solemnization but the set menu they given to me is minimum SGD298++/table (muz haf at least 2 table) if i wan the use of private room

Hi Blur,

Yeah, both Edwin and Wansheng have good review so not to worry.

Try asking first if he is still available?

blur blur!! so happy, I just by chance check the HDB site and I can collect my keys next thurs liao!!! yippy!!!

Hi ladies!
Been reading ur posts here but nothing to contribute leh.
U gals bz abt ROM but now my focus on my place.Went to 4 IDs & waiting for their quotations.Congrats Rainne for getting ur keys so soon.

queenie, how's ur visit to the IDs? can share with us your views? which are the IDs u visited? I am also currently looking for IDs too..

Hi gals, im ROMing on 8 May. hope to join in the discussion here as well.

will be doing it at mi house, by the pool or function room. any tips on where to get decor from? eg. like flowers, cloth, organza, gauze..etc ( dunno what else needed?

was oso one of those who stupidly kept trying to bk sat for ROM at the place itself but couldnt. den realised coz they say 5 day wk wk. so now having to source for JP.

Hi pierced,

Sorry I'm new here. u mean now cannot have ROM on sat liao ah?

Then how? what is JP, why must source for it?

Helo...yes...if i'm not wrong, starting from this April, the R.O.M will oni be working 5-days week. Should you wan to R.O.M on at sat, u gotta do it outside.

blur blur,

4 IDs I went were all recommended by friends.Fuse Concept,Design Channel,Spacious & Collective Designs.

Personally,I feel tt the ID company is not a major issue.Even the person u liase with doesnt hold great importance as long as u like his/her designs & suggestions plus u r comfortable w the pricing.They move from company to company very quickly.So competitive,dont like one,jz move on.

What's important r the contractors,the guys doing the actual labour,the end result.Dont have control over it.They change from project to project.So I feel it's alot gotta do w ur luck.So wish me luck.
My friend wasnt so lucky as her ID MIA on her.She said they got along fine,loved his designs but he diappeared after afew wks after reno started.His boss covered for him & til now no idea why he jz MIA.She dealt w contractors directly.FYI,the ID company is 1 of the 3 featured here.

So if u can come up w design ideas on ur own,can cut the middle guy like DIY weddings,w/o the wedding planner.

Shimaro,where's ur lovenest?Gotten any quotes fr IDs yet?

shimaro,
dont worry gal.Slowly search if ur in no hurry to move in.So many out there.Tell them ur budget & let them work ard it.It's all abt whether they wanna do it or not for u.They charge u more so they can get a cut fr the contractors.

Hi Queenie,

Yap, so far have already more or less confirm oon Impress21. Their quotation is the cheapest of all and FH like the guy's way of serving us...

Not sure leh, but I think should be very soon once we get the keys. Estimated to shift in before 7th Month...

Rainne,same here lah.
July is lunar 6th mth & no gd to ROM so my ROM postponed agn til Sept(lunar 8th mth).Sigh.....

I read somewhere in this forum & it was confirmed by the old lady I saw today to get good dates agn.She said no one marries in 6th lunar mth,no gd lah.So my fh said we dont wanna be the 1st ones.So too bad!

I am getting ROM soon in May but still have not get a right place to carter for lunch buffet (halal)... not sure if any one of you have any idea?

HI Queenie,

I see I see. I didnt hear about that though, only know cannot ROM in the 7th month lor.

Oh well, but nvm lah, can still discuss on home renovation mah.

Anyone of you sourcing for own ROm bouquet not?
I'm looking out for florist and duno must we order 2 or 1 mth in advance?

Rainne,apparently 6th lunar mth no gd caz it's half way thru the year so if marry during tis time,the marriage also half way.

As for hand bouquet,market rate is ard $60 & best is dun tell florist it's for ROM or they may up the price.If the flowers u want r rare then need longer time to order in,if not 1-2wks is fine.

Hi Queenie,

I see the logic behind now. mmm...

So cheap? at $60? I see those bridal magz the bouquets are like $80 and above! Oh dear, I have also wrote to some of the florist to ask how much is a ROM bouquet leh. Silly me.

I want to have hydragen in my bouquet, nice nice.

morning gals... how was the weekend? Yesterday decided to go Toa Payoh to window shop for rings.. Ended up getting the rings from Cupid Jewels. They are having a sale till end of tis month.. the 1st ring at 30% discount & the 2nd ring 50% discount. Which means for a pair of rings, the discount is actually 40%.

yup blueberi is rite! cannot ROM on sat unless u do it outside. u want to hold it still at the ROM muz make special arrangements.

hi rainne, im oso intending to do everything myself since i dun wanna spend so much on the ROM. im oso looking out for a florist. wonder if those neighbourhood shops can do a gd job as well or mebe i might juz end up buying some and tying it up myself.

hehe silly u! so that means when we ask for a quote we muz juz say for normal bouquets la!

oh queenie so no need to order so long in advance if u dun want exotic flowers. ya i thk $60 quite gd liao coz valentine's day oso can get around that price lei and itz suppposed to be jacked up!

hey blueberi, so does cupid jewels have a nice range of rings? havent been to that shop yet. but im juz llooking for a pair of plain plat or WG rings. no diamonds!

the rings at cupid jewels are not bad... somemore got discount, can also pay by 0% interest instalment by credit card... But the range may not be as many as those more popular shops, if u shop ard at different shops, u find dat many designs are similar... according to the sales at cupid jewels, they can customize the rings to ur liking, whether u want it thicker, wif or w/o diamond, matt or shiny surface, etc..

u can try shopping for ur rings at toa payoh central coz there are many jewellery shops there... Lee Hwa, SK Jewelley, Soo Kee, Chip Lee, Cupid Jewels, Poh Heng...blah blah blah

I'm new here

Has anybody heard of this make up artist by the name Shanice? is she good?

Any recommendations pls? I am looking for a make up artist for ROM.

My budget is pretty low. Hair + makeup + trial below $135

min

hmmz...txs bluberi, mebe i shall pop to Toapayoh to check out the range since there is oso customising.

Hi mindy, so sorry...im clueless abt makeup artists. so never heard of her. but mine is witha package so i dun need to look for any.