(2005/05) ROM in May 2005

Hi Rainne,

Just to check with u. u did mentioned jess package is $318(Dress + Bouquet)+ $120 (MUA)right? but why blur blur package is only $318.00 for dress, bouquet and MUA?

Is it a different package?

Hi Ashley,

Sorry, perhaps I've confused you.

This is Jess's promotion ROM package :
ROM Promotion package only $318/- (usual price $388/-)
Include: one MTM dress to keep (any design), one hand bouquet (Roses), make up and hair do ( at shop

For the $120 (MUA) fee, I am engaging outside MUA on my own. As such, the $120 is my own additional cost to engage the MUA. You understand?

Hi bluberi,
is it really in lunar 7th mth?Too bad I guess but only if ur superstitious.Besides,7th mth still have gd dates for weddings u know & there r the few who still get hitched then.For eg, christians.

hi gals, i finally confirmed ROM package wif Jess.. Finalised on my design and will b going to my first fitting on the 16th April. so excited... hoping to lose some weight in the next few months..

rainne, who r u going to engage for ur MUA?? cos i told Jess tt i may wan to engage my own MUA too.. so looking out for suitable one..

not to forget, i also confirm my ROm venue and food list yesterday.. so yesterday was a fruitful day for me n hb.. finally confirm the things after so much of research... soooo happie..

quennie,yup yup.. so how's ur prep???

Celine, congrats on ur upcoming rom.. urs will b 4 days after mine.. s for me, i will b having outdoor solemisation. wat abt u??

hey blur blur,
Yeah me oso doing outdoor solemnization cos mine on sunday... will be doing at hotel poolside.. hehe... u?

I tried making the online application to book the ROM date for Sat, but cannot retrieve the timing. Does anyone know how come?

Weekdays can get the time, but not weekends.

girls ah,

cham lah, I just called Registry and learnt that if I want my date to be on Sat, I have to have my rom outside leh! How come like that?

Thought they were open on sat half day one?

morning.... after so much of searching around for a suitable place for the solemnisation, my FH told me that his mum said we are wasting $$ to hold the solemnisation outside... really waste my effort & time... guess we r juz gonna have the solemnisation at the ROM itself...

hi blueberi,

is yours on a weekday? Now I'm stuck! Who to get to solemnise, how to go about it! ARgH!

Rainne,
Or issit all the time slor for 21st May have been taken up?
cos I had try to practise using some dates before the actual e-file, there is time slot for 14 May (sat).

cannot be leh, I tried using all the sats date, but no time available.

I called ROM and the girl told me if want sat, must have it outside. If not, can you help me ask???

If the time is all taken up right, then the date will become grey off mah, not in green right?

actually 14 may is grey off tat time....but a few days later, it is green...So I took tat chance to try. Or Maybe they had just changed their working time....cos last sat morning(19 feb) I tried to call ROM to make some queries....the hotline said they r closed for the day. make me so fared up.

yup, mine is 03-may, tuesday. actually in the 1st place we were planning to change it to 01-may or 02-may for outside solemnisation... but FMIL said waste $$ so we'll juz still to 03-May at the ROM itself. Tinking of it really makes me mad...

bad news all..

ROM confirm they have just started to have a 5 day work week starting April. As such, that is the reason why I cannot book the sat date leh.

Now much find JP urgently and find venue.

Blur,

I'm engaging Vivian Goh.

Need your help. How did you go about in getting the JP then filing your form? I have to solemnise outside now...

celine, from the start we were already planning to use our own $$ to pay for everything, fm ROM to AD coz i tink my FMIL wun pay a single cent. Since she said its a waste of $$, den we juz do away w/o the outside solemnisation to make her happy.

i was quite angry about this den my FH said nvm about FMIL tinking, juz go ahead with the outside solemnisation. but i told him juz forget abt it coz he also beri poor thing... sandwiched between mi n his mum...

celine, i will b having mine in Gazebo lawn in Raffles hotel..

rainne, oh dear.. then how? either u change date if not solemise outdoor lor.. i engaging David loh s my JP.. he is very popular and is really hot.. u better call him fast to check if he is available. His hp number is 97425005...

Bluberi, hmmm.. cannot "neogotiate" wif her? tell her tt u 2 fork out the money urselves lor...

rainne, jus call david loh n c if he's available on ur date n timing. He will verbally agree if he's available.. after which u have to fax over a consent form to ur JP. after few days, JP will return the form to u as a confirmation. E filing have to be done at least a few weeks before (i oso not sure).. However the list of JP and the form can b found in the rom website..

bluberi, wah.. u r so sweet n considerate.. for me, we are paying everything also... have no intention to get any help from our parents. Ur FH is so lucky to have u to b his wife..

Hi Blur,

you call and then book him, but u need to tell him ur timing right? But I cannot confirm timing yet leh, so how like that? I'm trying to get buffet lunch after solmenisation, so what is a good timing?

You just call and ask him is he available on the date is it? Gan Cheong leh!

rainne, yup.. i call him on his hp and tell him the date n timing n also,not to forget ur venue... However, if ur venue not confirm yet, let him know n book him for tt date n slot first.. he is flexible.. Wat i will suggest is tt u go find a suitable hotel or restaurant for solemisation, straight after tt, u can have ur buffet at the same place.. then u wun have to run here or there.. My suggestion to u mayb u can have it at abt 12.30 pm. tell ur guest to reach at 12pm.. n start the solemisation promptly at 12.30.. after which, u willl have ur lunch buffet at abt 1 pm..

However, mayb u can consider somewhere which has airconditioned as u wan it to b at lunch time.. for me, i having mine at outdoor in open air at the lawn. Hence i have it in the evening from 5.30-7.30pm... my solemisation will start at 6pm promptly. hope my info helps

hi blur,

thanks so so much. Fh will give Mr loh a call this evening. We cannot confirm venue as yet, coz is really last minute. This is so terrible.

Must find an air con place ah, fh and myself cannot take the heat one.

Then I read in another thread they say fairys inc is fully booked with order till March. So now another worry if they are able to customise my ring in time if I engage their service or not. They are open after this wed only.

hi blur, FMIL is a beri stubborn & fussy person, she already koe we are paying ourselves but said it's waste of $$. Wat to do... if we dun listen to her & do it our own way... she may tink dat i'm inconsiderate...

so nvm lor... this time for ROM i'll give in to FMIL, for AD i wun give in anymore... coz we r paying ourselve n this is oni once in a lifetime... muz make sure it memorable...

blur blur,

phew, FH called mr loh liao and confirm he is available on our date. He told him Fh too KS liao, book so early ah.

But now is problem of the timing. You see, I duno where for buffet and what time their buffet starts, so cannot confirm timing yet right?

rainne, good for u... aiyo, not Ks lah.. i already booked him in Dec last year... cos David loh very very hot one leh.. esp on wkends..
hmmm have u decided on the buffet venue? if u have, call up the hotel or restaurant n tell them tt u intend to have a solemisation.. mayb they can "customised" one rom session for u.. like having a private room for u etc...

bluberi, yaya.. i understand wat u mean.. it's okie, give in to show her u guys have respect for her lor.. s for AD, mayb u should start dropping hints on where u wan to b so tt ur FMIL r mentally prepared for the big event.. in any case they have opinion again, they will raise up early so tt u can accomodate n make changes too..

Hi blur,

wah, u even earlier than me leh.

So far, the hotel where I am having my ad said she can provide me a function room, then after that go their cafe for high tea. I duno how good is their high tea, so am keeping options open for now.

But good thing is, she is providing the function room to me at no addn cost. If I were to go another hotel, maybe they will charge me.

blur... hm...i'll start dropping hints to FMIL maybe next yr... now still early leh coz AD in late 2007 or early 2008... tink maybe also will get a flat coz she already hinted to FH she scared we cannot get along wif each other if we stay 2gether...

rainne, yaya.. cos i initially wanted 28th May.. called up david in oct 2005, he was fully booked already... so act fast lor..

bluberi, well, then she quite considerate also.. many MIL want to stay wif son n DIL.. i m lucky tt i dun have to stay wif them also..

aiyah... my FMIL got 3 sons... so she got many choice mah... though my FH is the eldest son.. tink she got expectation of me... according to my mum being the eldest DIL is not easy...

imagine still gotta buy a flat n spend $$$ on renovation & furniture... headache man....

bluberi, o i c.. my FH is the only son.. so wat we do is to stay near them.. though we have to spend money on flat n reno etc.. but it's a hse which u can call ur own!! i dun mind spending the money on my own hse. else if stay wif PIL, i will lose my privacy n conflicts will occur..

blur...i was tinking since the current flat they are staying in is co-owned by my FH (he's paying for the whole flat) & only ard 2 yrs... no need to waste $$ to get another flat liao mah... if he already co-own the flat with FMIL.. can we still get a grant if we get our own flat??

bluberi, hmm.. then tt's tricky.. i think HDB doesn't allow one to co-own 2 flats.. tt's wat happen to my brother too.. He has his name together wif my granny's name. In order to apply for new flat, he needs to withdraw his current name from the flat before he can ballot for any new flat..

wow...so troublesome ar... tink my FH wun wan to withdraw his name... but finally decision is with FMIL coz she herself said maybe wan to sell the flat..

blueberi, ya, quite troublesome one.. u n ur FH better go check it out at the hdb.. find out wat r the procedures.. else wait next time got ideal flats available n yet u cannot apply then jia lat..

bluBeRi,
if their hse sell out, then the CPF your FH paying will return his CPF account. But if your FH has been paying cash... then may have argument regarding $$. And one more thing, your FH will be counted own flat once, so he already lose one chance to take HDB loan concessionary rate. hope this helps.

thanks shimaro...that really sounds bad... he's paying thru both CPF & cash for the flat... basically he paid for everything except for the renovation ard 50K.. if sell the flat also dun koe how they r going to split the $$...as the old saying 'toking abt $$ hurts relationship'

blur,

I'm trying to fill up the solemnizer consent form. Notice that there is no witness name to be indicated ah, no need is it?

Then Mr Loh will tell you his fax number is it?

hi rainne,
there is no witness name in the solemnizer consnet form 1.
only u efile, then u put in the witness names. for my case, i just efile yesterday,cos my rom on 20th may(exactly 3 mths, i efile..hehe..kiasu rite? and it outdoor, i 'm getting david loh 2 .

ya, u called up david loh n ask for his fax no.hope tat helps

Just booked my ROM on 19 May. We are having rom at rom place. Wonder if anyone has any recommendation for photographer on that day? No need to be very pro but at least not bad. My uni fren's recommendation is booked on that day for another wedding and i have run out of persons to ask.

Hi twinstar,

thanks so much for your information. Now trying to confirm what time and quickly confirm with Mr Loh.

Where are you having your ROM at?

Hi cokelight, I'm more or less engaging this photographer from i-werks at $238.
http://www.i-werks-sg.com/packages_ROM.htm

Other than this guy, there is another guy. He can work up something to your budget. I feel that his photos are captured very sharply and the details. you can email him at [email protected].

good morning gals..

rainne, ya.. no need, this form only fax over to him. After he sign it, he will return u this form.. n u will need to bring this down to ROM to collect ur cert after e filing.. guess u will have to write down ur witness on ur e filing.. He will tell u his fax number..

hmmmm, who u getting from iwerks??

hi coke, welcome..