(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
annmelody,
To play safe, before it's too late, I strongly advise u to take ur mum for another full, comprehensive check up! A drastic drop in weight could be a sign of serious illnesses such as cancer (TOUCHWOOD! TOUCHWOOD!!) Sorry...I don't meant to scare u... please seek a second medical opinion, let the doctor knows abt her weight loss.

Don't guess whether ur mother is trying to get attention, just try to be more attentive to her, she needs u.

Keep us updated! Hope ur mum will be fine & resume normal eating habit soon. Let me/us know if u need help.

One example to share: Last time, my ex-school principle had a drastic weight loss while her stomach remains enlarged. Later the doc diagnose that she had stomach cancer, but then too late to do anything liao... we were all sadden by her sudden departure...

Thanks. She went for some specialist advice. but no improvement so we had her admitted to Tan Tock seng and after about 5 days of stay and check ups....doctors founf nothing wrong with her.....

Now I'm at a loss at what to do. She's 66 this year and I ahd a friend whose father had the saem symptons which he sel-recovered in 6 mths time. Now I'm not sure if my mom is plainly seeking attention or she's willing herself so.

Either way, i do not dare to take the risk and is still giving her the attention she wanted but she gets angry whether I ask her to try to eat though she feel bloated. sigh...........

hi Chinleng,

Thanks for removing those unshown images in my posting (cos just now my pc hang lah)... was about to seek ur help again…

Try again…

wendy / pebbles,

these for u...
your_image.gif

Hi annmelody,
now that leafy mentioned, my little cousin who died of cancer had the same symptons so maybe u should consider seeking a second opinion cos it's really better be sad then sorry and maybe try toking to your mom, maybe there's something bothering her

HI pebbles,

I did upload...but...erroe msg lah...I will try from home PC...can't be my office PC that lousy.
Really don't know lor...

i don mean to disturb your conversation, but can anyone tell me where you all get all these cute cartoons from? how can i save them?

yoi!! gals,

Good morning!
I've finally receive the invitation letter to select my flat... but the excitment turned into disappointment when I found out that we're on the 8th day (last few names some more!), out of the 11days exercise... tt means we r only left with ~25% of the flat to choose from... sian ahhh.... but hor...thankfully we're not on the last day.

by the way, any tips to share regarding selecting of flat?? thanks huh....

Morning Leafy,

Congras...where are u selecting ar? When is the selection? Don't worry so much..just pray very hard the unit u want.

For my case, I just study the maps given, looked at the north, south, east west direction. See whether the unit will get afternoon sun or morning sun? Better to get those that will not get afternoon sun, as it will be very hot if there's afternoon sun.
Don't get units that are too near the lift..no privacy..many ppl walking up and down when taking lift. Just some of my personal tips lah...hope it helps!

Leafy,

try not to have your rooms facing any temple as I heard it;s no good. Think your door is best not to face west. Northeast or east is good. For afternoon sun...my rooms get a bit of if st the window side as the other blocks block most of it off....so this is not so bad if other blocks block most of it off then to have no sun entirely.

Prioritize.... For me is to choose the corner units farthest from lift, high floor, choose units with rooms that are squarest if not rectangle in square not those odd ones in layout etc.....

hope this helps :P

Hi Leafy/Blusher
7410.gif

A very good morning to the both of u..
It's finally Wed ah, can't wait for the weekend to come ah..
hey what happend to the rest ah, it's always the three of us chatting only ah..

Leafy,
Congras....bet u must be so excited now rite..
7411.gif
i know what u mean by u r on the 6th day of selection, i was actually on the 3rd day of selection and i had so much problem selecting my flat cos almost 90% of my choice was snap out on the first two days that is why your fren here end up getting an exc lor..
but i guess also good lah, i have so many thing, will sure need a bigger house to store all my rubbish..ehehe..

As for tips ah, i did the same as Blusher but my FH and myself actually took a compress and check out the walking distance between the LRT station to our flat and also go in the afternoon so u have a better idea of the sun direction and double confirm the facing witht he compress lor..and also try not to get those near the dustbin sure will be very messy cos u never know when your inconsiderate neigbour will dump large items along the corridor..
hope my experience helps..

thanks! blusher & annmelody.

I should have done my homework earlier... cos only given exactly 3 weeks' time! I'm selecting queenstown area. They also supply some leftover, keys ready units in dover crescent (beside Singpore poly), but we're not interested. aiya...blusher... my prayer is not answered leh... prayed & prayed, hope to kenna the first few days, end up kenna-ing last few days... *sigh*...hehe...

i think corner or non-corner not so impt cos there're only 5 units in each storey(2 uts on one side, 3uts on the other), and there's no windows along the corridor, further more, with a short walkway (abt 1.5 - 2.0 m) from main door to living room, I think can block some footsteps noise hor?

seeing from the flat layout, i think sun direction is veri impt... seems like very difficult to choose. cos the living rm windows n the master rm window is parallel, so if living room window face east, that means master rm will receive the afternoon sun! (understand my meaning?) unless, like annmelody said, got other blocks to block away the direct sun. But hor, from the map, I can't tell. aiya...headache ahh...

the layout picture shows all rooms are square or rectagular leh... except the kitchen, is squarish 'L' shape. but dunno whether the drawing is accurate or not...

By the way, do u know what's "bay" windows? Some storeys have them in bedroom 2 and 3. Dunno how it looks like... But from the broucher cover page, looks pretty nice ehh... in fact the whole drawing looks sooo nice... like condo ahh... of cos, only artist drawing...hehe

oh yah...need ur views here... what r the pros n cons of units directly beside a multi storey carpark and what abt those facing MRT track? Is a 5sqm area differece big?(e.g. 85 vs 90 sqmetre)?

hai yah... I still very sad to kenna last few days in the Q.

hi pebbles,

yah lor...dunno what happen to the rest hor... durian n bubbles mentioned they'll b veri busy... however, no news of wendy, cc. etc.... really ahh ... "boh gao boh dai" (hokkien)

thanks for sharing ur tips. The units nearest to the rubbish are the smaller ones (85sqm)...if assuming nobody wants those units, that means my chances of getting a good unit become slimmer n slimmer.... Ahhhh....

My bf n I will shortlist the units we want separately, then we'll combine and discuss. ai ya...must buy a compass ahh... where can I get one huh? sorry ahh... I very excited, though mood spoilt by my Q number...overall still excited lah... haha

Leafy,

You are choosing a 4 room unit then i think 5sqm do matter ...it's matters as 4 rooms living hall are rather small...so no point getting smaller units though it's only 2 of you staying as you never know what your future buyers want right?

If the flats are already ready... you can go up and see if anyone is renovating or so and then you have a good guage. For mine, I went up to double confirm my doubts and my kitchen though slightly blocked has sun coming in as I'm on a high floor.

For fengshui purpose, doors is never good to face driectly to the west or more to west.....

"Bay" windows may mean full height windows.

For the afternoon sun, it depends again...check the angles. Angles matters as the sun will be block to what extent . My case as I found out is that it only shines in to the window side and cover no more than (15%) of my hall so it's okie and well...better than no sun at all right. though if you can get morning sun all the better but my time no choice. Morning sun most door facing west.....

BTW dun know how true it is...my dad says not to get flats too near LRT due to the static emitted. The same for MRT for the noise and so on....

So can imagine when I chose the flat...what a headache it was and I was too given 3 weeks time to choose and I was busy looking at flat on the second and third day of Chinese new year!!!

Best of Luck

Just FYI:
Bay windows are not Full-Height Windows.
They are about 1 meter above ground. This means that it will be bigger than those standard windows.
Also, if i'm not wrong they should be slighty 'protruding' out... meaning not flat( in line with the wall-- example have a liitle ledge???) like those we normally have.

I'm not very sure about the second point but the part about it being abt 1 meter above ground is facts.

Hope it helps!

hi intruder.
thanks for ur explanation... Exactly fit into the picture I saw. Do u have any idea what r the pros n cons of this type of windows? I think it's nicer leh... but me got poor imagination, so i might be wrong.
Is there any new flats in sengkang/jurong etc with 'bay windows'?

thanks annmelody,
u've been very helpful. The flats r still in the initial stage of construction. So, can't see yet. Angle ?? sound chim to me... me lousy when comes to geometry, angles...

Hi Leafy/Pebbles

I am always around...enjoying reading you gals message and didn't do any posting because I know nothing about selecting house since my FH has already got one.

Btw, I gave up on the downloading of those cute icons...
Just too confusing & lazy to try...

I just went to watch "The Touch" yesterday. The scenery is very beautiful!!! You gals should go & see it. And Austin Powers too... VERY FUNNY!!!

Talk to you again!

Hi Leafy,
i understand what u r going thru..my FH and myself also had only 3 weeks to prepare, it was such a pain cos we only had very limited choice cos we didn't want those which are ready soon so for those which will be ready later, only a hand full so it's really a big headache ah, then worst my mom wanted us to check fengshui so we actually had to bring our date of brith to the media and get her to help us choose..
hey when will u be selecting your flat, i got a compross i can let u, u stay at Hougang rite, very near me, i can lend u then u dun have to buy one..

Regarding the bay windows, what Intruder say is rite, i think for Punggol flats, certain blks has got that too and to me, it's like a design lor but i really dun know what are the pros and corns lah

Hi Wendy26,
oh, didn't know we left u out ah..eeheheh...then u also never do any postings, we thought what happend to everyone ah...
my mom bought the VCD for that two movies u mention, i also heard that it's quite good, think will watch it his weekend..

so how's your ROM prep coming along...

Leafy,

You are welcome :P Sorry about the bay windows though .....

Think for the Fernvale lot and anchorvale lot that are ready do not have bay windows. they are either the premium kind that have full height windows which I have got and standard ones without any furnishing.

When choosing the flat, do let the person in HDB know should you not want the doors and want to change them. Think you can get $500-600 off the listed price for not wanting the 3 bedroom doors.

Anglewise would be clearer should the building be up already. In your case, the best you can do is to check the 4 directions and juz guage how much afternoon sun reached the bedroom.

Hi Leafy,
hey my FH just called up HDB to check, annmelody is rite about the bayview window, it's full length window..

yoi!! pebbles!
orh...ic ic... Thanks! But the broucher cover page also show a type of window as described by intruder... maybe there's another name given to it? There's one other design in the master rm, it's a little panel of full length window at the corner of the rm... aiya...tonight I must read the materials thoroughly. Last night I just focused on the pictures (map)...can't bother to read la, cos a picture can tell a thousand words. haha...lazy me.
wah! champion ahh! consult fengshui to pick ur unit ahh... but hor... I believe in it lor after seeing a few real life examples of how fengshui can create miracles. So next time u sure da4 fu4 da4 gui4. heee....

annmelody,
don't worry....well...apparently, u made a right guess. yeh!
I'm not sure about doors, cos we've no idea for our renov yet. Actually we plan to combine 2 rms for a spacious master room...but hor, seems like there's no hackable wall leh. another little dream shattered... heee...

Wendy,
how's your ROM preparation? we will be looking forward to see ur ROM photos huh? ok? heee...
& Thanks for recommending the two movies... Just about to ask my colleagues to name me a few nice shows.

I am always ard too but did not post becos' not convenience lah.

Hi Leafy,

Congrats! Guess u are very excited now. I still remember the times when i selected my flat. I will go up to the block i like, then go to units that pple are doing renovation, be thick skin a bit and ask to see their flats. I did so becos' i want to check out the layouts. It's very impt to do so as every unit is different especially punggol area. For eg, the corner unit layout is worst off than the center unit. U may try it too if you don't mind

Btw, i think the bay windows is like mine, same as what intruder has mentioned. My unit has a nearly full-length windows, slightly protuding. If i look at the block itself, i will be able to see the windows is of semi-circle shape.

For your master bedrm description, my one also have a full panel window like that.

Must learn to look at the floor plan too. Look at all the beams and beware that the floor plan always contain hidden facts. Like mine, got a 10ft beam in my master bedrm. Imagine how much constraints it gave when come to putting yr bed becos fengshui say cannot sleep under the bed.

And then got what, from yr bed u must be able to see people coming in and vice versa etc etc. For the afternoon sun, i personally want to avoid the "xi chao" as it get very hot.

For MRT/ LRT track, better to avoid also becos very noisy.

And before your appointment, go to the blocks u want especially in the afternoon when the sun is at the most extreme killing temperature. It will tell u everything.

Don't be worried. Things will get better if you look at the other side of the coin.

HI Leafy,

Wow..bay(full-length) windows, so good. My block at Fervale, only 3/4 length. It's nice to have full-length windows..very condo style. Actually me and fiance decided to take my present unit, just hours before the actual selection. Left with no choice. Remember to shortlist more units, just incase.

Hi Wendy,
I saw Austin Powers yesterday, not bad, quite funny.

HI Gals,
Looks like CC2 and bubbles MIA ar? NO posting from them at all. Only the few of us chatting.

halo Leafy,
Dun mention about it, if can help me sure will try my best to help, we are after all in the same boat rite..
and i understand the pain u r going thru..eheheh...
i also believe in these fengshui thing ah and now my FH can't wait to move into our new flat ah, he claims he will make lots of $$$ cos it's a good house..eheheh..

hey check with u ah, u have any idea when will the 2004 tong su be out ah

GOOD morning gals!

yoi! blusher...

hmm...I also like full length window. But hor, i think it's tinted brown eh... Last time heard rumours saying that it might b blue color... doesn't really matter la, hor?

yoi!! pebbles,
ah...sorry leh, I don't know when tong shu 2004 will b out. can't help u here...

Hi Pebbles,

If i not wrong, the tong shu 2004 will be out by July 04 becos i bought the 03 tong shu in July 02.

Can help u to keep a lookout for it since my hse downstair already have a few "xiang" shops.

Hi Leafy/Blusher,
my flat also have full length window and i make sure i chose those with full length window only..and a bonus for me, even my study areas has full length window and it's tined blue..
very nice..

Hi doremon,
so it will be out in july03 lah if im looking at 04 tong su then if i want to have my wedding in june 04, might have problem getting the hotels ah cos all the good dates will be taken up already, knowing all the KS pple...*sigh* maybe will have to get marry in sept or dec
thanks ah, u help me look out then let me know..
thanks in advance!!!
7482.gif

Morning Leafy,

Wow..if it's really tinted blue..so good, me so jealous. Mine windows are not only just 3/4 length, but also tinted brown(more like black). Don't like...

Hi pebbles,
Really envy u too...tinted blue full-length windows. Very very nice right. Ah!!!! Only mine is 3/4 length...but we really have no choice during selection. All the full-length windows are all gone(at Anchorvale). The remaining blocks at Fernvale are all 3/4 length windows.

Hi Blusher,
i know what u mean, actually if i had not selected the exec ones, i also didn't get the ones with the full length windows cos all the flats we wanted was all taken out and we didn't want those which are ready so soon, ready so soon will means we will have to pay the full 20% so chose one which will be later much later lor..

wah so good...blue color... *envy envy* how i wish mine could be blue too. Blue color looks very english leh… wow!! So nice…
Blusher, no sad ok?… aim for the real condo for ur next house… …..

Sorry arhh…I got few more questions to ask…
1. how frequent will TV text and hdb bay update on the remaining available flats for selection?
2. The minimum distance to the neighboring (side by side) block is 20m (or slightly more)… Is this distant ok? Or consider very close?
3. living directly above a playground or badminton court will be too noisy or not?

Haha….seems like I’m voicing a lot here…. Paiseh paiseh….

Last night I look at the brochures again. Looks like the designer eliminates few short-comings such as
1. direction (ALL liv rm n bed rm facing either north or south, kitchen facing either west or east) heee…all the blocks like parallel hor?? The map accurate or not??
2. layout (no odd shape rooms, but hor, not sure whether got hidden ones as mentioned by doremon)
3. Not much to worry abt getting corridor units.
4. All units got full length windows (cos usually in a batch, those w/out FL win will be the last to booked)

Hi Leafy,
TV text is instant update one u can also check on the internet and i think for the new flats nowadays, the distance between the blocks is about that distance one.
As for living directly above a playground, i think should be quite ok lah if u r very high up, u going for the higher floors ah
hey from what u mention, i think the layout for your flat should be quite good lah, and most of your flat will have full length windows also so not bad..

pebbles,
thanks! that means "real" time one ahh?

owe u all so much ahh... really must give a big big thank u to all of u!!

I am back after after a short holiday.
feel so tired today. Hmm.. I have just been away for a few days and noticed that most of you gals are already very busy with your flats.

Annmelody,
How is your mum now? Better? Is she eating less than ususal, that is why lose weight? Do pay attention to her, as sudden weight loss is not a very healthy sign.

"seeking attention" can be a "milder" term for problems like anxiety or depression. Some doctors are hesistant to use these two words as the family may find it too "serious" and worry about it. Not to worry,these two conditions are very common among people of her age. Just try to spend more time with her.

Blusher and pebbles,
I think I better put a stop to my cheesecakes. I went for a massage. A few minutes after starting, I almost freaked the masseur out cos she thought I was pregnant.
Imagine how bad my tummy is.

Dear doremon

can you help me to check the tong shu if 12 Jan 03 is a good day for wedding...well i intend to hold our wedding dinner on our anniversary but are afraid that there may be clashes....thks

Hi Durian,
welcome back
7524.gif
hehehe...use leafy's icon to welcome u back..

so where did u go for yr holiday..??? no wonder MIA for the last few days ah...dun see any of your postings ah.
hey dun worry about that masseur lah,there was once i was taking the mrt, there's this lady keep asking me to sit down cos she thought i was pregnant ah, i also what got big tummy...so sian lor so we should all motivate each other to lose weight...

Leafy,
not to worry about it, more than glad to help out..

hey ladies
7527.gif

was just thinking, on our next meeting i can bring my camera and take photos then we can have a nice album of all the 2004 then by the time we get marry we would have known each other for 2 yrs already, something meaningful..

what do u ladies think?????

HI Durian,

Glad that u are back....wah!! Holiday ar! Must have enjoyed alot right? Hey, don't worry so much about your little tummy, I believe if we do simple toning and cut down on all those sinful dessert, should be able to tone it. Me trying very hard to lose some too, very very difficult. Imagine, I went for Prego yesterday nite, with supplier. Tomorrow going to my mgr's house for BBQ. Ah...mati liao.

HI pebbles,
Great idea! I'm sure it will be very meaningful and sweet. Can see the change in size(hopefully all of us getting slimmer by end 2003). Ok ok! Meaning all must wear 'mei mei' that day! Really very thoughtful of you!

yoi!! durian,
welcome back! Good to take a break... u must be fully recharged now, huh?

gals,
I also need to lose weight, aim to lose 5 kg and tone up on upper arms n waist n tummy. (thigh not so critical cos gown will help to cover the ugly! hehehee....
Any tips? aiya...actually I can read up on the tips anywhere... what i lack is motivation... whereas laziness is in surplus.

pebbles,
Great idea!! a bit headache for me leh... I find it a hassle to wear mei mei to work...
ahh...We can show the photos to our bf also... hee hee

By the way, have u all got any idea which month of 2004 will be ur wedding? mine...probably March.

May I also know when will u all start ur renov.? We can then discuss and maybe go and visit contractors together... heezzz...

oh ya... who has the email addy of all 2004brides? May i have it? mine is [email protected]

Hi Blusher,
dun mention , me like to take photographers then dun u think we are all at the same stages by the time we have our wedding, we will be much closer frens already so must have memories what..
would be really nice, ok me bring my camera..
so excited to meet up, hope my boss dun suddenly send me overseas ah

Hi Pebbles,

Great idea! Really looking forward to meet up.

Hi Leafy,

No worries, since it's friday, i think most of us will be quite casual too. Pple said hor as long as the person "mei mei" liao, wear anything also "mei" one. I think that apply to all of us here, right?

Btw, r u aware of the new CPF ruling changes? I heard that after 1st sept, even new HDB flat 1st timer also have to pay the other 10% in $$$ and the other in CPF. True or not huh?

Hi xxxxx, i will try out and let u know. It's okie since i already got the tongshu.

Hi doremon,
r u sure about the CPF rulings,thought it's only meant for private???? hope it doesn't applies to first timer else have to save up money already..