(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi Lorac,

its not early.. PS in June or July should be a comfortable period.

Like I say, mine will be a slow pace one since there is still time. Don't worry so much! : )

However, if you are going for MTM gowns, I suggest that you start sourcing for ur BS now. Then u will have more time to communicate with ur designer and at least let her understand your requirements.

Go for french... otherwise just have nude / skin colour. Easier to match the different gowns you have ;)

If they think its too short, they will advise you to do nail extension. So no worries.

my friend went for french mani. cuz it looks nice, natural, healthy n sweet

or did ur BS provide any advice?

Hi Onee & Fantasy

Heehee.... I'm getting a bit frentic about my eye circles... I've always had dark eye circles since young. But recently I started developing eyebags as well which I never had before. Must be due to me staring at the computer for over 12 hours a day for the past few months. I thought they would go away when my projects ended but apparently they decided to stay and watch my photoshoot.... so sad

Hi Onee... have patched on teabags as advised last night. Plus patched on cucumber and dark circle reduction cream too... a bit kiasu...
. This morning I come to office and annouce to my boss and colleagues to pass me all their teabags everyday... hopefully things will be better before my PS.

Wah, fantasy, did you take any pics during your gown fitting? Can share pics? Would love to see your mermaid cut gown and WG. Btw, your silver Kua is loose or fitting? I've also choosen a silver Kua from Silver Lining during my 1st fitting but I realize that its very loose (suppose to be 1 size fits all). Seems like only House of Etiquette provides fitting kua ....

Thanks Yvonne. Din realize that I left out a number..:p
Yap..their svc is gd and cheap too. Give them a call and ask for the quote, think they are most willing to help..

hi leeann, hehehe i guessed as much. coz that time he called my FH when FH overseas. Then when my FH mesged him when's he's back, ur FH asked "who's this?". hehehhe.... long time no see mah, so wanna catch up.
so have u decided on your bridal liaoz?

Thanks Moonlight!

I've actually shortlisted a couple of BS. No MTM for me, just OTR. Most BS told me that PS for OTR can take place in Aug. No hurry I was told. Just that i need to have my 1st fitting in May. Which BS you're looking at?

hi blim, eeerrr....if i am not wrong most ppl will sit together (both sets of parents and couple) in one table. the other VIP2 table is for the rest of the immediate relatives.... but i do know of those who sit separately. it's all up to the arrangement betw the two sets of parents.

I'm getting married on 11 July! bought the wedding package already, but not the dinner. Am deciding between Grand Hyatt and Raffles the Plaza. Any advice?

Shelle,
You better hurry....it's pretty close already. I heard Hyatt food not v nice, but nice ambience. Raffles, the plaza not sure, think they have a few ballrooms...so if your date is popular, then there will be a few couples holding dinner there.

Hi cc2, my HB also teochew. But MIL says dun want such ungodly hours so specificly told geomancer no need early.

My GDL stuffs my mum also got already, but we are doing away with redundant stuffs like the clogs, spit pot, and things like that. The auntie selling not very happy my mum kept dun wan this and that.

Hi blim, me only 1 VIP table, cos both family total 10 pax. Coordinator say have 14 pax VIP table if I want. As binbin says, it's up to your parents. But I thought it's normally 1 table for HB's side (were the bride will sit too), and the other for Bride's family? Mine's 1 table cos both side dun wanna headache over who to ask to sit at VIP tables.

Hi LH, me also 6th Mar. Mine's at Rasa Sentosa. Distribute invites gotta kept repeating how to get there.
Got some relatives booking rooms so some families will be staying over at the island. Wonder if need more beer now some dun have to worry abt driving back.

Hi pple, wanna update particulars and put in honeymoon destinations?

March Brides:-

6 March, Saturday
=================
Cat - Lezen Creations, Rasa Sentosa, PS 10 Dec Linn Kong, AD(P) Vividshots, Choa Chu Kang Crescent, Tokyo 10D F&E
shinchan - Bridal Zone, Meritus Mandarin, PS 19 Dec, AD still searching

11 March, Thursday
==================
Jamci
cc2 - Allure Charix, EG & TD by Mum, Grand Corpthorne, AD(P) Yew Kwang, AD(V) Pilgrim
poupie

13 March, Saturday
==================
Doris - J&M, Marina Mandarin, PS 20 Dec, AD(P) Pending, AD(V) Pending
kit - Marina Mandarin

20 March, Saturday
==================
Binbin - Divine Couture, Conrad, PS 11 Nov, AD(P) Nick, AD(V) pending, Bukit Panjang

21 March, Sunday
================
blim - Pan Pacific

That's what I tot also... that's y I say MIL practise favoritism... kekeke... anyway he sat already so too late to say anything now. Hubby sure kenna from me If I feel terrible during pregnancy...

Fish, boo hoo hoo... me like you... from the day I understand things, dont think I've live a day of my life without my dark eye circles... inherit the "ho-liao" from my mother... Sigh...

We didnt take any pix yesterday but did tape down the process using a view-cam. Hopefully hubby can convert it into some digital images so that I can share with all of u...
My silver kua is the loose loose type... one size fit all... hahaha... look abit cute and funny in it... but hubby boh cho gan.. didnt tape down the part when I was wearing the kua...

oh thanks! both venues are available for the date that i want. For RP, it would be the stamford ballroom.. eh i heard the exact opposite, on this forum... that the food at hyatt is better than RP but ambience and suite and service RP is better.. can anyone confirm?

hi my dear gals..
miss me oredi?

anyways thanx for all your concern..me now feeling much better oredi, me today on leave, went to buy wedding bands with hubby and of course to my 2nd fitting..

me more or less confirm my gowns liao but the AD gown still havent decide leh, dun know which to choose..me confirm one WG (PS), one EG (PS), still got one gown (PS) and AD gown havent decided yet..

hi smurfette
welcome!! we gals are more willingly to help u if u need anything k..we share our stuffs here

Coco..
me cant join u gals liao coz my hubby is leaving that night and i have to send him to the airport..seem like i will be missing another outing! do keep me update k..i oso want to 38 with all of you!

Hi Lorac,
agree with moonlight that jun or jul is a comfortable period for PS. you'll need 2-3 months to select photos and develop your photos at the BS. so it's safer to have more time given so that you not need to worry abt the album not ready on time for your banquet

Hi Cat,

I also dun like such weird hrs, a bit ma fun for the jie mei-s and xiong di-s.Luckily, my MU and videographer not charging me extra for arriving early.

6 March, Saturday
=================
Cat - Lezen Creations, Rasa Sentosa, PS 10 Dec Linn Kong, AD(P) Vividshots, Choa Chu Kang Crescent, Tokyo 10D F&E

11 March, Thursday
==================
Jamci
cc2 - Allure Charix, EG & TD by Mum, Grand Corpthorne, AD(P) Yew Kwang, AD(V) Pilgrim Pic, 7D5D Maldives
poupie

13 March, Saturday
==================
kit - Marina Mandarin

20 March, Saturday
==================
Binbin - Divine Couture, Conrad, PS 11 Nov, AD(P) Nick, AD(V) pending, Bukit Panjang

21 March, Sunday
================
blim - Pan Pacific

hahaha... typo error... going for 7D5N

6 March, Saturday
=================

11 March, Thursday
==================
Jamci
cc2 - Allure Charix, EG & TD by Mum, Grand Corpthorne, AD(P) Yew Kwang, AD(V) Pilgrim Pic, 7D5n Maldives
poupie

13 March, Saturday
==================
kit - Marina Mandarin

20 March, Saturday
==================

21 March, Sunday
================
blim - Pan Pacific

Cat, how many ah yees u having? At the moment, I having only 1 ah yee car since the london cab can take in another 4 more pax bside me, hb and the driver.

Hi moonlight,

i'm looking at flamingo or milan. AD is 12 nov. sigh...getting married not easy. already quarrelled a couple of times bcos of $$...

Hi Gintonic,

Thanks for the info ya! Seems like Eternity & I also both interested in the facial thingy, cool! Well, perhaps when u reply eternity emails, u can add me to ur list too ya! so that we 3 will know about everything at one time lor hor....

hi nickel,

glad to know you're ok now...
so you've settled your PS gowns... have any idea what gowns u want for your AD? when wil u be going to select your gowns again?

guess what? me stil in the office... haiz... tot can go back at 6 today, then last minute kena thrown with an emergency meeting... *urghh*

gonna make my way home... just drop by to say hello & good night...

Onee,

Haha..i asked my bridesmaid, and she's having holiday that week when I'm taking PS, so would be dragging her along if the car can take one more person. So who provides the transport? the BS or ourselves?

Yvonne,

My MIL said after an chuang cannot let anybody sit on it, including hubby. Dunno leh, but she got more taboos than my parents. My parents very chim chai one, dun practise many things but got to follow groom's side traditions coz they are calling the shots since they are the groom's side. My colleague said that the groom can sit on the bed but the bride can't, hmmm...different practice lor. But think would follow MIL's instruction so as not to offend her.

Also they said an chuang must also place a pair of oil lamps (kerosene lamps?) in the room, think it's to symbolise continuity of life or to bear children etc. Some said got to buy potty as well, but errr....still got pple do that meh?? what to do with the potty after that??

Cubby,

I didn't think of wearing kua at all, besides MIL not very keen to see me in kua, but if it's for PS only, I think no harm taking the pics, if dun like dun select lor. Oh...kua is one size fits all one ah?? then I sure will swim inside the kua coz me very small size (i wear a size 2).

Fantasy,

I haven't decide where to take pics. it will be discussed during the trial make-up session. If got go my hotel, then probably would change there lor, if my coordinator is kind enuff to loan us the suite for PS. I think would be nice to take against the lush greenery in the hotel. I like the waterfall, issit a good idea to take there? Many people seems to be taking at Fullerton and Sentosa hor..why ah?

Girls,

Have your hubbies come to ask for your hand formally at your house? My in-laws are coming to do so this week and what should we ask for? I asked my parents but they said they won't quote a price for the bride price lor, they would ask them to give what they deem as suitable. Hmmm...but hor, how to give like that? What else to ask for besides the cakes, canned pig trotters, no. of tables? What cakes to order ah? the traditional xi bing or the ang mo cakes from the confectionary? got pple give fruit tarts not? or vouchers?

Hello everyone!
I have signed with precious moment and hopefully ps will be in june as well. Seems to be taking it too easy cos dunno what else to prepare! Hope won't panic last minute ;)
Trying to tone up arms and tummy before ps but damn lazy and high inertia to start going to gym leh...

hi binbin,

after reading all the raves about your ps, i can't help but be curious about your pics. any chance u'd be willing to share them with me?

For those yet to book their tours, Chan brothers will be giving a 10% disct on all Insight tours until 29th Feb, I thk part of their travel fair promotion. However, USD only 1.675 but insight bookg at 1.695 area. One point to take note.

I hope to confirm printer,caterer and florist by this month.

My friend told me you could actually hire "confetti guns" for AD banquet, quite an impACT, will cost abt $200. I have a contact if anyone is interested.

hi lorac,
wedding preparation is not easy. many times I felt like giving up coz we have to satisfy so many requirements from so many people. but as things start to settle down, I'm enjoying the process now

Don't quarrel with your hubbby. sit down and have a good talk. sometimes both sides muz compromised a bit. weight your prority and the budget to work out a solution. Although we ladies always say it's a lifetime thing, so splur a bit ok, but often, we still have to come back to earth and think abt the practical sides.

hi binbin,
saw your photos. it's lovely even tho it's your rejects! see that u are really a radiant bride! hehehe

hi cin_p,
i agree with u...we always go home together and go out together too...i think it's becoming very routine leh...i really very nua...dun feel like looking for a house! it's really nice not to do any household chores! ;-P

hi fairymoss,

Yah better dun offend MIL. I m always very careful when talking to MIL.

Yes have to buy the lamp, potty, new mattress etc...If I m not wrong, its bride's mum buy. My mum say since my MIL so traditional maybe we will get one potty in order not to offend her. As for wat to do after tat, I still hv not ask my mum. Maybe I should ask her & let u know. She is very chim chai one also. But I will ask her how is the traditional way.

When my MIL came to my hse to ask for hand, my mum did not quote anything. Guy's side want to give watever, my mum will accept. For example no of table, my mum say they give how many she accept the balance she will top up. Bcoz she dun want to 'request' from them. Even si dian jin, my mum told my MIL if she (MIL) want to buy for me then buy lor. If dun want its ok. The rest I m not sure liao. But I know ppl give fruit tarts too, it depend on ur mum i guess.

My wedding on 11 July
Banquet at Yoke hotel
Bridal: Ala carte. WG from Allure Charix, EG from Ted Wu.

Hi Shelle,
My wedding date the same with you!

hi gals.... me so so tired... but just wanna come in n say Hi!

strawberri cant make it for thurs, so we shall try organise another so that those that missed out can come out and 38 with us again... :p

plaza sing it will be... 7pm