(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

wow, tis treat is so active!!have i missed out any goodies?

is the latest her world brides mag with lotsa gown designs? i sort of know wat design i like but would like to see more.. think the new "stlye weddings" and "female brides" mags coming only ard feb or march.

I'll be gettin my cards from T-dragon too but will most probably be printing outside cos managed to find a relatively cheap one. CC2, is Connie the one helping u at T-Dragon? Seems like many hotels tie up with T-Dragon for wedding cards...

Aren't we supposed to distribute during guo da li (GDL)?

Huh.. so everyone had their PS except for doris & myself ah...

Hi Canny,
we have juz booked fullerton for the wedding dinner and bridal yet to decide.. thought of BV michelle huimin... any comments???

Hi Shinchan,

I changed the the hotel cards to something else. If we changed the cards to another design still can print it outside meh?

I think traditional way is to distribute during or after Guo Da Li but for frens, dun think they bother it's during or after Guo Da Li lar. Just distribute when we see them lor!

Dec, everyday rain ah, so I had my PS in Oct and Nov. :P

Hehe.. I only signed up BS in Oct and MTM gown ready in Nov so my PS has to be in Dec...

Hi Shinchan and CC2,
You all got include any phrases in the card to ask the guests to be punctual or not huh?
I'm thinking of adding something like
"The Wedding Couple will march in at 8pm sharp. Your arrival before that would be greatly appreciated."
Offensive or not?

hi girlfriend,
think when u called to enquire the package, i havent paid my deposit yet. marriott called me to check whether i am firm with my booking... hahah one step ahead of you, if not got to source for more hotels. btw, they give me quite a good deal.
saw the jw shoe that u mentioned, yap very nice but very high.
enjoy ur ps. show us when ready ok?

hi pianokey, wow u so lucky, win bridal package! me not so lucky in all these lucky draws leh.

hi fantasy, either WG or EG will be mtm. guess hve to try and see which design suitable for me...

hihi canny,

really? have u finished browsing the martha stewart mag?
i would love to browse through it if you are done with it, and if it will not indirectly cause excess baggage for u. hee!! (was thinking of buying an issue myself just yesterday!) thanks!!!

okie. will send u an email about my AD photographer.
he's great!

are u coming bk early next week? if so, have a great flight!!

hi wendy,

i'm a BV bride
personally, i love her clean, elegant designs so much, i didn't do very much research for bridal studios
it was "love at first sight" ;p

hello crispy,

yeah.... the latest herworld is the pink cover one.... eh... it says "228 wow ideas!" on the cover

it's not bad... nice to browse for ideas...

Oraia

no lah... its not strange 2 go w/o videographer. Juz dat in another threat, it mentioned dat d videographer wil take all moments dan during diner montage, wil show out sum impt moment 2 guest 2. so save alot of hassel 4 me dis lazy bum...

hmmm.... dan i'll wait 4 d style mag 2 b out. prefer style instead of her world 1. thx

BTW, 4got liao, did u mention which htl u oredi book wif? sori short memory. heee heeee....

Hi canny

sure no problem, can i hve ur email add. i 4ward her ctc 2 u. she did hve full packages oso if u req'd.

so when u coming back s'pore?

Hi Crispy

did browse thru d her world mag. but seem not muz design. personally me prefer style mag. think oraia wil kn more clearly as she bot liao.

hey fifi,

hehe... i think i'll save costs and just make do with whatever ppt. montage i can do. if not, i'll just dispense with the whole thing heee.

yeah, i like style mag as well, but it's always so fat and thick! can use for bicep training hehehe.

i'm with grand hyatt, sir stamford room....

what preps are u busy with now? or is it still CP?

Doremon,

Can i have that videographer website as well? Please email me this good lobang leh! I think it's very very good price. Now econ not good, so if can save must save, but do not want to compromise on a simple wedding affair, so me just look for cheaper alternatives lor.
heehee, i very auntie hor.

Didn't come online for many weeks liao. I'm going to my bridal shop later for first fitting. very anxious coz dunno how it would turn out. i hope the designer do a good job.

hi CC2,
can i know how much your printing cost?
i will be starting this "printing" stuffs soon, have not choosen any cards and printing yet.

sorta copied other thread's idea to compile a list for all our Dec brides... think it's not complete, only manage to read 1mths' archive... heheh... feel free to update.

AD/name/venue/BS/AD-photographer
4/jasline/-/-/-
4/Meixia/4/MC/Yvonne Creative/-
11/MTDT/M hotel/Santiago/-
12/zhuzhu/Carlton/-/-
12,19,29/Canny/Four Seasons/-/-
12/oraia/Hyatt/BV/BA
12/neece/M hotel/-/-
12/VeLOOi/Orient Ocean/-/-
12/eVon/OCC/-/-
16/soupie/Traders/Jazreel/-
18/Fanny/Raffles the Plaza/Jawn/-
19/doremon/-/-/-
19/Sindy/-/-/-
19/puzzlerain/-/-/-
21/brambles/-/-/-
24/grace/Pan Pac/BZ/-
24/Fi_fi/-/-/-
24/Piglets/Pan Pac/BZ/-
25/weddingmoodes/-/-/-
26/wendy/fullerton/-/-
30/Buffy/-/-/-
-/crispy/-/-/-
-/smallonion/-/-/-
-/happybride/-/Jazreel/-
-/siewyin/-/-/-

Hi Keanne,

I'm so glad to see sm1 reply to my posts so fast. thanks for the warm welcome. I'm getting excited, just seeing everyone so excited here...
I'm originally from Divine Thread in 'Bridal Boutiques and Services' but the gals there are veryyy busy with their wedding right now, cos some are Dec and Jan brides so they don't post that often anymore.
Hey, I seem to identify with you....u seemed to be an 'ala carte' bride as u said u got your gown and tiara from ebay,.. is that an online US store ? Are the charges expensive since they would have shipping and tax costs for bringing the items in ? Wow, u must be really resourceful.

We've decided our wedding date on 29 May. when's yours exactly?

I'm also an ala-carte bride, as in I chanced upon Divine Couture KL from the bridal mags. Before that we didn't know that Divine had a branch in KL. After we went to the shop, we fell in love with the designs, price and designer, so we signed up for the wedding and evening gown only ! They don't offer package anyway.

I will be shopping around today for wedding card and jewellery accessories but dunno if i will be disappointed or not.. coz I am really not willing to spend that much, but yet i want good quality and unique stuff. Does that sound irritatingly familiar ?

As my fiance & I r on a tight budget, but also want to have something unique for our wedding, we have been sourcing for mostly every wedding paraphernalia on our own. Sometimes it can be really tiring, & I'm beginning to envy those brides who have everything ready in a package
coz its so much more convenient....

Anyway, u said ebay has many range of tiaras there. Can u post me their website so i can look at it, and how do i go about buying them ?

hi Madwoman,

Nice to know u got YK to do your photography.. is it AD or PS ? His prices are pretty reasonable, liaised with him b4, but did not get him....yet. Still looking around for other photographers still. YK is pretty busy so must book him early k. I agree that SE is exp.

okie, time's up liao...keep the thread busy k, will be back again to see u gals.

Keanne : don't forget to feedback me your wedding card searches k.... thanks !!

cheers.

hello Pianokey and Cawaii! good to see new faces here.

After sooo long..fairymoss make her appearance again. I'm gonna try out my bridal gown later. How ah??? i'm very excited, at the same time very anxious, afraid that it won't be good. Me with Irene's creation. Saw their pics, very well taken leh, but also depending which photographer u take. I'm also taking my pics in March leh. So Pianokey, when is your PS with IC? wow, u real lucky to win that PS package! i envy u leh..coz I think we are going to spend a bomb on the pics, wish that I won that too.
How much is the package worth? and how many pics and what size? u have to ask many questions and put in black and white ok, to avoid disputes later on.

Haha ... Hi Neece! WAH! You very li-hai leh! Can take the time and patience to summarize for us! Thank you for ur time!

So, urs on the 12th har? Saw that u have not decided on any BB yet .... been searching ard? Nvm lar .. at least you still have a few mths grace period to source ard .. just remember that if u r looking at a MTM gown, then latest must be by Feb lor to ensure enough time is given to make the gown. (Most BB needs 2-3 mths to MTM a gown).

Happy searching !!!!

Hallo Gals...
Just come back from hair coloring..... my stylist complain how bad was my hair..... must really take care of them at least from now till next year Feb...

Beening raining the whole week... hopefully it stop raining on Thursday - having my PS.... keeping my fingers cross....

Yup Piper & Xue,
Planing to go to Korea but might change to SPA resort in either Panific Island or Thailand, haven't really decided yet.... kind to share with me your HM package.... we can also plan to go to the same tour then got some people to exchange to take pic together!!! Good Idea rite!!!!
Email : [email protected]

Hi Mee mee,
Had just approved my printer on the wedding card, hopefully can collect them by next week, will start working out the guest list, it going to be a busy week!!!!

I think as the date get nearer..... we should be getting more ready for the big day.....

BTW still choosing the AD Photographer, haven't really decided on the type of album I want..... can't really make up my mind!!!!! Hope you gals have more better chance on your AD Photographer selection as I know most of u had decided....

Hi Blue Lake....
Had you review your photo already...might be too early to ask rite "kang cheong".... but guess you can share with me a few trick on the PS day.... really excited as the PS date get nearer....

Hi comching,
Well I was not better off then you... only start planning my wedding on Sept 03, so about the same time as you but at lease u completed ur PS... so when is ur big day!

DJ - Soooooooo good!!! You're getting video as well. I don't think I can afford video + I think I look & sound damn bad on video too
Wahey your fiance is active sourcing. Envious liao... some guys think they pay and don't need to see can liao...

Emmeline - I din know YK do PS as well?!?! But getting him for AD lor
My mum keep telling people he is good - buey tahan her. Yah YK ask me don't need to pay so soon. Strange right?! He says he will keep the day for me until someone else approach him with the same date then he will rush me after that. I thot at first instance he dun want my biz after all.

Dora:
So where is the gathering held?Wil love to go..can let you know again..cos may have a farewell party for a good friend on that day..cos she's leaving for 2 years....wat time will the gathering be?

Madwoman:
Will check YK work when i am back lahz.....soon soon...i am gonna be back...convo is on tuesday then pack pack here and there...HOME LIAOZ!!!! hehehehee....

Emmeline:
I can reply so fast...cos i everyday eng eng here doing nothing....just waiting for time to pass...australia is very slow and most of the time...after 5pm..can't go anywhere..cos every shop is close...
As for me, i chose DIY becos i can't sign up with any bridal studios in sg...cos i am living in Melb..and my PS was here in melb...they dun really have rental of gowns here so i decided to try to get it offline....and also...i dun want to spend too much on a gown..so i went on ebay looking for a 2nd hand one..then after some homework..found a new gown from the US online store...they happen to operate a bridal store in the USA as well...i took a chance to buy it offline..and it did saved me some money...there wasn't any tax on it...and they were very efficient...i got my gown within a week.
Ebay-ing is quite easy...just go to www.ebay.com
and then type in tiaras...or go to select categories under wedding..you will be able to find lots of stuff there...try surfing and look see look see....i will look up my ebay website and send you an email on the person that i bought my bridal gown and tiara..do leave me your email address....

My wedding is on 15may...i will be back next week...and mayb we can discuss some stuff together since we DIY-ing...

As for photographer...i have booked Reuben...he did PS for my friend...and he seems quite nice..i will meet him when i am back...can probably go together if you wanna...

TAKE CARE EVERYONE....

CHEERS!

Die, you all collected your cards oredi izzit? Me haven't yet

Also intending to distribute during CNY, my mum's suggestion actually. Looks like I gotta go ask the hotel for the cards already...

Very stress again
What with outdoor shooting next Thur, sourcing for AD photographer, looking for curtains for my house, and now cards... Really no time to rest.

Hi blim, I think that phrasing a bit strong
Maybe remove the 'sharp'.

Hi Blim,

I din include any phrases to ask the guests to be punctal. Wanted to do that but there's quite a lot of wordings on the card already so abort the idea lor!

Hi poupie,

Hotstamping is $120 for the 1st 100 cards and thereafter is $0.40 each. Then we changed to paper so something thicker. Have to pay another $0.30 for each pc of paper.

I'm new in this thread ... my AD is on the 12th of Dec, venue is at Pan Pac, and BS is Paris...

Hope I can join in the discussion with you all ....

hihi ladies

Today me and hubby went shopping for our house lightings and toilet fittings.

Sigh... spent nearly 4K in total!!!! argh!!! my lighting costs (plus installation) almost $1.7k. I had lots of lights in my home. Sigh. And for the toilet accessories, spent $1.9k (inclusive of heater and glass bowl basin and shower accesories).

Me and hubby feel so poor liao. =(

hi rabbitwsk and blurq, my new home is in bishan. looks like we really stay close by each other. along the same MRT line, consecutive stations (yio chu kang, amk, bishan).

hello KPO Lady,

wow! another 12 dec bride!!! 7 so far... and counting.... it MUST be an auspicious date!!

welcome welcome!

Oraia...

u doing d ppt montage urself. me vri lazy 2 do all d sorting n arranging.....

ya lor, d mag slways vri thick but think its d most resourceful 1 so far lah.....

yup.. no muz choice left liao. all my date(12th / 19th / 24th) htl mostly taken up liao. esp. 12th n 19th. so far, lucky enuf 2 reserve CP on 24th. u muz hve book ur venue quite early rite. at 1st still taking own sweety x aft checking dan kn now in big mess, i'm late liao.. sigh.

How's ur preps oso? now shake leg liao izzit.... c fm neece summaries, urs d most complete 1.

Hey neece....

wow, patient lady. thumb up 4 u!!! so how's ur preps now? mingling ard d BS? hve u manage 2 shortlist any?

BTW, my BS n AD photgrapher r : wedding news.

Hi KPO lady....

welcome n join in d fun... urs in Pan Pac on 12th? now i kn y can't get Pan Pac on 12th liao. u muz hve got it b4 me. U'r fast. hee heee... BTW, did u book thru their promo?

Meixia, Fi_fi,
ya looking for BS lor... today visited MB, hubby and me v comfortable with her wor... think most likely will be MB. Though I've seen BA's photos before, but hubby today saw his album for 1st time, and got very excited in getting him for our AD. But oraia just signed him yesterday!
anyways, will need to look for another AD photographer..

I realized it's quite crucial to get ur AD photographer 1st (if u intend to get a gd one) rather than BS, cos BS can get 9mths b4, but AD photographer gotta be booked early (like venue).

KPO,
wah.. u've got most of the impt things settled, can shake legs for a while already right? heheh..

hi cc2,
thanks. i will i will be going down to choose my cards next week or so. will then decide whether to take the cards from the hotel after viewing the selection... if i don't like them, i probably will see what i can exchange..

I am new to this thread.

Something had been troubling me for this wk. I actually had sign up a package with Kowloon Photo & Wedding Gown Center at Expo last wkend. When I came back home, I went to the thread abt this bridal shop seems like the comments are not very good. most of them had bad experience or ask for a refund.

Wondering any ladies out there have heard of this bridal shop? Need some advice.

oraia: hi... does BV includes photography?? heard they are link with chris ling?? how's the bridal package like... what does it include??? sori as i m now in UK hence need help from u gals... thanks...

Hi im back from my holiday... Wow seem that you all have done so much, my AD is same as Fifi.. 24 Dec 2004 at Pan Pacific.

The list you neece have written , is a good job, and grace and piglets are the same person.

How abt you???

Hi Fifi
Found your bridal shop? How your preparation? My hotel give teddy bears but wish to give them something special cos it Christmas eve.

And my march is song is Love song, the rest of the dinner will be christmas, let them be more comfortable.

Piglets...

enjoy ur holiday? I'm wif wedding news, AD photographer oso fm them. now, stil neg new proposal wif CP. so special, ur htl give teddy bear. is it specially 4 xmas eve onli? mine changing favours next yr stil unknown yet. But i wish 2 give another special favour dat symbolise Xmas. wanted 2 blend in d xmas mood wif my wedding ler... now cracking d head.

so u've done all ur preps? when's wil b ur 1st fitting?

BTW, r u worried abt d attendance rate on xmas eve? me quite worried ler....

Hi neece....

so late u'r stil in d web... sori, i mountain tortoise, wat's MB stands 4? seems dat BA's vri hot huh... muz b vri gd. nvm, u'll b able 2 get another gd 1 oso like oraia.
happy searching.....

so, u getting MTM BS packaes?

hello fifi,

hehe.. i say only lah...mabbe on that day no time to do montage, so dun do lor... no biggie.

ya...style mag is not bad
most worth it oso, for almost the same price as the rest.hee!

me ah?no leh... i didn't book v early leh... i tink i booked in late oct or early-mid nov.can't rem.cos actually wanted to get married early mar/apr 2005,so quite relaxed lor... then alot of work commitments lah,cannot get tongshu for date lah, so aiyah, might as well make it dec 2004.so quickly go and get date quickly settle lor. hehehe.dun worri lah, i'm sure urs is not in big mess

did u chk hotels like hotel rendevous? or le meridien? oso taken?

i tink dun hv to wori about attendance on x'mas eve lah... ppl will come. they'll attend ur dinner then after tt go party then can count down to x'mas!

19th and 24th were some of my options oso, but church definitely cannot, so it was ruled out...we settled on 12th... easy to remember hahaha.

hello neece,

oh dear! we 'kan shang' the same AD photographer and our wedding on the same day!! sorry! hope you manage to find someone just as good as BA.if you need help in ur research, let me know k?

hello wendy,

don't worry, ev thg will fall into place i'm sure. my best fren (also one of my bridesmaid) is in the UK as well... coord is already tricky
i'm sure ur prep fr UK is most challenging!
the simplicity package at BV (4980) includes a MTM gown (rental),1 EG (keeps), groom full suit (keeps), MTM shoes, tea dress/ kua (rent), groom 2nd suit (rent), bouquet (i think both PS and AD), car deco, photography (any of the compass grp of photographers -- chris ling, andrew choi etc.), necc jewellery/ gloves etc (rent), makeup and hair.
quite comprehensive.
if u would like a more elaborate WG, u may wish to upgrade to the glamourous range. 1K more.

hope that helps.

hehe,

followed neece's list and did a table... easier on the eyes ;p

err... dunno whether it will appear properly on the page.. let's try...

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif
Dec 04 Brides
Dec 2004 brides.doc (41.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Poshies,

How did your photoshoot go? Which location did you pick?

I have just collected my cards, quite happy with them. : )

Foe my HM, am planning on Bangkok and Hua Hin. Haven't book yet... will do so next mth.

hello oraia &amp; fifi
Sorry for the late reply...
my AD is on 19/12/03, venue at hotel rendezvous have not start other yet
How about you gals when are your AD, venue &amp; etc

Hi fifi, rendezvous can hold max 24 tables only

hi girls...
i've done with my PS. got the printout the next day. it was fun. not really tiring as it ended at abt 3pm. it did rain when i was taking pics at the Tian Fu Gong temple. but after we are done, the rain stopped. heng! think becos many of u put ur fingers and toes crossed for me. keke
i felt so like an animal in the zoo. tourists looking at us.. taking pics of ue too. then Chris Ling said must charge them $5 for each pic. haha.
after tat i went to lallang field and the beach. in total we took 300 plus photos...
i've upload 4 photos on the web. just now rushing to go out. and when i get home maybe i upload more....
my sister said i look really ugly. sigh. everything dun suit me.
oh ya.. i never used any ampule or false eye lashes. TG Goh never mentioned any of that things. and i never asked.

hmm... poshies.. i brought my sandals outdoor. wore it at the beach. i din bring any straw to drink water. Chris ling got one for me. think he's v experienced. he's really good as i seldom show my teeth in my photos. but this time lots of them showed my teeth. he'll never take without seeing my teeth. bo bian.. must laugh...or smile.

Fi_fi,
MB is Margaret Brides.. heheh..
I accompanied my fren to MB during her fittings 2 yrs ago, was impressed with her style and services. well, now still is.
ya, wanted MTM, more fun to throw ideas and get a gown of my dreams.

oraia,
hehe no prob lar.. me had a few AD photographer in mind... will look ard!

btw, well done, the word doc was much easier to refer to.. heheh

Poshies, Smurfy, Mee Mee.
i've sent the link to u.
only 4 photos. keke.
tell me if i really look ugly as wat my sis said. then i can improve for my AD photos. =)

for the rest... i dun have ur email.

Piglets,

heheh. sorry wor, didn't realize piglets and grace is the same id, missed the details

I love Panpac deco! heheh.. me wasted time in getting dates and deciding budget...

my AD on 12 Dec, at M hotel. currently trying hard to settle my AD photographer and BS lor.. *headache* rushing cos alot of them changing price on Jan.

Mine is on the 11th April 2004 which is the chinese calendar 22nd Feb.

My ROM is held on 22/02/02. Still got a lot to prep. Just going to chose my gown next week

Heloo..

Fifi
My choosing of WG and EG is on 16 Dec 2003 and mine it MTM. But if i can find OTR than i can change it to different thing, maybe free extra photo.

nope Pan PAc is giving teddy bear as a favours.

Hi neece
Sorie for not be in the wed for so long, so of our new house reno. But i have settle everything on my Videography , photography and my photo montage. So now can ease my mind a bit.

After my PS in begining of MArch 04, My album will get in July 2004,than i can slowly do the photo montages and my GUO DA Li, and AN Chuang.

By the time i have to go down the hotel to collect my wedding cards in october do the printing. And give them at mid of November.

Do my food tasting in november and choose the deco and begin of Dec 2004 i will settle will the name list than i will know how may table i want..

I trying to kip all this in schedule.

Me very troublesome hoh.

Hi rose,

Oops, I meant tat my AD is on 7 jan, but will not be holding it at GCW.

Hi bitrix ,
I am also not sure where the jurong GDL stuff is at. All I know it is near JJC. I heard tat beauty world also sells GDL stuffs.

oraia: thanks for the advise...how many photo shot provided by BV... wat abt the actual day photography??

piglets: wedding on christmas eve i really like the idea..
you are really well organised...