(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
BinBin,

Thanks for the compliments, and i'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the article. It makes me very proud and happy to hear that others share my views about this. In dire times like these, everyone must focus and stay on track. Sure. We all have the means to change our environment nowadays, but nothing can change what's inside us.

Hi! grr... this is my 3rd time posting tis msg..got problem with this website...grrr..

Keann - Hmm..sorry for the delay. Yes, she does both hair and make up. Charge from $300. If you confirm, disucss it with her and let her know yr details so she know how to quote u a price. And she says the time of your wedding day is also impt. She covers all charges, so there won't be any hidden cost and there's a trial make up also.

Yea, i love Melby also..went there to visit my sis once when she was studying there. hehe... We quite the opposite... u are there while yr FH is here. My FH is in Perth while i'm here.
Sigh... have to make sure got alot of communication hor...

Ida - welcome welcome! hmm...it's gd to have wkday wedding cuz alot of things are cheaper, esp. wedding dinners. And also more dates are avail. for you.
For yr budget, maybe can try Hotel New Otani, Concorde, M Hotel, Merchant Court Hotel, Orchard Parade Hotel, etc... MY budget is also quite similar to yrs but with less tables, so got hotels like New Otani, i can't use ballroom...so yrs wil be easier to fit in ballrooms.

Hi ida,
welcome welcome to this thread.
I think for your budget, shouldn't be a prob looking out for hotels during weekday. A lot of hotels will give out free flow beer if it's on weekday as well...so have fun looking for ballrooms!

The ladies on this thread so far:
Garfield: 1 May 04/Orchard Parade Hotel/Precious Moments
Marigold:1st May/OLPS/No Banquet/Kowloon
Pebbles: 6 May04/GCW/BZ/Beetles@work.
Poox: 8-9 May/Fullerton/BV/Kim Studio D'Fia
Keann: 15may/Amara Hotel
Elenne: 22-23 May/Fullerton/BV/Kim/Choon Huat/Kriston(haven't booked)

wa...u gals have been talking so much liao...

tks trixie for your info recently...

me quite interested in pan pac...

halo ladies,
was busy in the morning, so did not logged in... then in the afternoon, my server is down, so cannot come in as well...

where's evertbody?? i was expecting pages and pages of postings...

Hi MT,

Sure...i will check Toys Rus out. Thanks a lot!

Have been pretty unlucky recently - yesterday down with viral infection. Totally knocked out in the morning. Slept like a log till late afternoon. Given only 1 day MC. Today dragged my feet to work. Very very tiring. Full blown infection.

Lin,
thanks a million, lucky u r there ah...ahahah...can keep me updated mah...
another 9 more days and i will be flying down liao...

binbin,
what article u toking abt??? how's yr wedding prep ah..???

A&W,
i bet u can't wait to be back rite..

jul just icq me.. her co server down for the last two days, so cannot logged in... when she icq me, the system dun seems to be working well too, cos her message appears twice... no wonder she mia for two days.. she say hi to all... and that she will try to log in tom..

my server was down after lunch too.. now have to rush for those lost hours...

oh no wonder Jul's missing!!! she must have missed us so much! hehehe...
cant imagine having server down!!
Think it's cos of the new virus rite?
yup, think ever and yvonne gone back.. silver will likely to come in late usually...

Quiet day ya?

Yan & Jul,
Looks like your IT guys nv work huh? hehe

Jan,
Yvonne & Yan came out with another suggestion. Check ur email!

Hi gals! I'm back! Missed u gals so much *sob* Coz my server was shut down for 2 days, as some idiot caught the worm virus. *sigh* Just browsed thru the msgs.

Jan, silver, yvonne & yan,

what r u gals talking abt? Dun leave me out leh. I'm alrady feeling very
from missing out in all the action. I gaher Yan has signed up with Jan's BS. And silver is trying to switch to PP?

Welcome ida!!

Dun worry, i'm sure your ah yees will be willing to "sacrifice" their one day leave for you

Enjoy your prep!!

hello!

Looks like i'm always very on hor, log on at nite!! haha..

Julllllll.... *hugs* miss u leh.. tot u went urgent leave again!!
My office IT guys has been working hard to install anti-virus thingy in our PC so mine's still quite safe i think! There's another virus spreading yesterday, quite bad one also..
But all ur guess are correct, yan has signed same BS as me, while silver is likely to change to pp.

Hope ever's server is ok, she disappeared after posting 1 message!

hi Pebbles,
Not a problem
i think you must be excited already.

hi A&W,
so lucky..envy you, going back home already. Can eat all the good & delicious food.

hi pebbles, its an article amos wrote in the straits times forum. soupie told us about it in an earlier posting, and she put the link above for me to go see. u can refer above...

Here's the article from the Straits Times, Monday August 18, 2003; Forum Section.

FROM A SINGAPOREAN COMING HOME - Stand by Singapore when it needs you the most.

THE National Day Parade (NDP) 2003 got me thinking. This year is especially important to me, because it marks the end of my academic career at the University of Calgary after setting foot on Canadian soil four years ago, following the Asian financial crisis.

Now, I am preparing to return home. And I am raring to go.

The allure of home is undeniable. Where else does one find a decent meal for around $5, a superbly efficient transportation system and a tropical haven free of natural disasters - all in one neat little package?

All right, cars cost a fortune, property prices are high and life is stressful.

Let's put it this way. The grass is always greener on the other side.

We see only the surface of life abroad, and think that it is far superior compared to the overcooked crockpot dish called Singapore.

I, for one, do not see my future overseas. It is not my intention to breed children who have no roots.

It is not uncommon to find Singaporeans overseas lamenting over the tough times in Singapore, about how expensive a BMW costs, or how opportunities are few for the older people.

What baffles me is this: Do we really need a large house, a snazzy BMW or the latest high-tech devices to be happy?

And do we ever stop to think that perhaps the country is how we make it out to be?

In my opinion, Singaporeans want returns on their hard work too fast. They can't wait.

They are much like those TV watchers who are always channel-hopping.

I urge fellow Singaporeans to stay put in Singapore. Patience is a virtue that will pay off only in the long run.

Think about it. When you have left the country, I will be right at home with my family, picking up the slack that you left behind.

It's called a window of opportunity, thanks to those who lack perseverance.

When times are good, many are full of praise for the Singapore system.

When times are bad, some decide to switch sides.

Please don't treat Singapore like a part-time hobby.

Instead, stand by Singapore when it needs you the most.

AMOS LEONG CHI-HONG
Alberta, Canada

Lin (icechoco),

Aiyah. Want to eat also cannot stuff so much man. I need to trim off my blubber for the wedding!!

HAHAHAHAHA! But hey, there's always room for it when the time is right.

Hi garlfield,

thnks for your advise. I went down to M hotel recently and was v impressed with their bridal suite which has a jacuuzzi and plasma tv and on top of that they also has a well-equipped VIP room with attach toilet next to the ballroom for the bride to change.The ballroom deco aso quite modern.

The only limitation is that can only cater for 32 tables and it is slightly above $650. Dunno how to reduce the number of tables cos majority of the tables is for relatives??? Hotel Otani's food seem quite good but the deco of the ballroom is a bit more traditional.

Any of u know the weekdy prices at Pan Pacific and did any of you all sign up bridal packages with GHA?

Pebbles,

You have no idea how long we've been waiting for the day when we board the plane for home. No more grumbling about how we can't get Singapore food; no more having to deal with overpriced books, unruly young punks in high school and rent. Hahahaha...and the list goes on like the Energizer Bunny.

Hi Ocean....
Hmm... u should be able to access it now. Try again...so sorry...

Hi Amethyst and Pageup,
The photographer is Monica Eng of Vividshots and she is easy going. She is kind to allow us to take the shoots outdoor... which is unusual for makeover packages. It was a lot of fun!

Do any of u happen to know where i can get a wedding gown altered?

mee mee

Hi Smurfy,

icic...I think will leave it to the designer to decide how to do the beadings lah

I think the lady you are refering to is Apple.

By the way, when is your photo shoot? Mine will be in Oct... so I guess my gown will be ready for 2nd fitting before that.

I manage to talk my bridal studio into allowing me to choose rom gown next week. But they make me promise not to gain or lose weight between now till Oct.

Well, anyway, I have given up on losing weight liow. I will just go for my regular workout and eat normally. Rather be a happy bride with no super model figure than deprive myself from food. heehehe

Hi Mee mee,

Glad you enjoy your photo shoots. Monica Eng is the actual day photographer for my friend too

sorry, I dunno where you can get a wedding gown altered.

I saw this promotion at the following centre

London Research Centre (S) Pte Ltd
Crown Prince Hotel

Program at $399* only. Your SPA fitness program comes with

- 12-month gym and pool membership worth $2080
- 10 sessions of SPA toning full body wrap worth $1200
- 10 sessions of Thermal Fat Mobilisation worth $750
- 1 Jar of Cellulite Cleanser worth $150
- 1 Thalasso Hydrotherapy worth $120

I called them up and they said this promotion is true. I find that its very worth but wondering if anyone heard of this place before. And anyone interested to go together?

<font color="aa00aa">morning gals!!</font>

jan, dont worry! nothing's wrong with my server and PC... (",) can still "talk" to you gals everyday!! juz that i got some stuff to finish yesterday... managed to talk to silver and yvonne for a while via msn messenger yday though.... heehehehehee...

jul, you're back!!!!
all of us missed you so much!! thought you took urgent leave to "knock" yr tiles again!! guess most of us hav settled the impt stuff.... hopefully, the thread dont die off... and i think it wouldnt!!
now, the on-going stuff shld be silver's BS (cos she tempted to switch to PP) and yvonne's banquet venue (undecided between pan pac and GCW).... oh, and flats for yan, yvonne and silver! and of course, looking forward to seeing yvonne's ROM pics!!!

Morning!

ever!!! Glad ur server's ok!! hahaha!!
Ya loh, most of us more or less settled impt stuff.. next will be gown designs rite? How to settle on gown designs, coz we gals so fickle minded!! haha...

oh yes, Yvonne, ur ROM is only like 2 weeks away... hehe.. excited rite? Settles ur gown, flowers and lunch venue already?

Hi pageup,

My photoshoot is beginning of Oct. I am getting quite stessed now... not that I wish for super-model figure, but then come to think about it, this is once-in-a-lifetime chance to really dress up and be the center of attention...

I guess my dress with TC will be ready by Sept (well, it has to be ready by then).

Gd morning gals!

Jul,
Welcome back!!! How would we leave u out hehehe Ya ya me most likely will switch to PP. Bringing my bf down tml to take a look. Basically it's like a formatality to at least let him know where n hows the shop like cos I know he going to say up to me n since I am the one wanted the change.

Errr.. you nv check ur emails? Now thinking of how to tell yc.

Ever, Yvonne &amp; Yan,
Jan said the 'reason' we think off she might not sympathize me n let me change leh. What you gals think.

Jan,
Hey I really pei fu u n ur ideas! Saluate hehehe

I am very excited abt design of gowns too. Haven't even decide on bs n now talk abt designs rite? hehehe Cannot tahan myself too.

Hey so when are you gals meeting ur bs to discuss on design huh? We must do our homework n show them some mag rite?

Hi gals! Glad to be back in the civilised world again
Kind of worried u gals will forget me by the time I get my server up again

Jan -
Well, the IT guys introduced some other virus to 'kill' the original virus. Weird hor, this PC world? Dun understand *sigh* But nvm, as long as they get my PC working again!

Ever -
It'll be a pity if our thread dies off. Already feels like some of u are my old frens. *hehe* Felt weird when I couldn't talk to you gals the last 2 days

Yvonne -
So busy with ROM preps? Must be so excited yeah? Let us know if u ned any help. I think Ever can volunteer so that she can get 'experience' for her own ROM

Silver -
Oops! Paiseh.. Haven't checked email yet. Kind of busy with the server dead for the past 2 days. Will go check later. Must update myself on ur great change. Maybe I'll be tempted to change too! *hehe*

Amos, Welcome hm!
There is no pl like Singapore...i felt extreme strong when i travel overseas for biz trips.

Though I know tt i m going to be affected by the drastic movement (esp. CPF cut), but still i will not leave singapore. Instead of thinking neg-, we shd seek opportunities to build on financial freedom. I believe many of you have thought the same way too.
Quote from PM Ong: "singaporean has to be more self-reliable"

Hihi... Is THURSDAY!!! Wkend is round the corner...

Jul,
Welcome back! Of cos **Miss U** la... we were talking abt u, so we didnt forget u at all!

Silver,
My instinct tells me u will change yr BS most prob by this week... hee hee!

Ever &amp; Jan,
Im feeling excited of cos! Left 2 weeks to go........ Hurray!!! Y'day went to take my auspicious date report... kee kee! Guess we've settled the date oreadi (JUL, MY WED. DATE SAME AS U NOE?)

Thanks for all yr concern... ive more or less settled my ROM stuff, only tiny things like accessories, shoe and grooming myself meimei... haa haa!

Hello!!

Silver, think u tempt Jul to wanna change BS too!! haha..
Yup, like Yvonne, i'd also think u'll change ur BS soon.. hehe..

Yvonne, that's good for u, shoes can be quite a headache, u shld start looking out for it..
Wah, collect report, so guess u know wat time ur bf suppose to go ur house etc rite.. hmm... u can start plan ur program for that day liao!! haha..

Yup, Jul, seems like we've already known each other a for a long time.. when did we first chat, was it like 3/4 months ago? hehe..

Hi Yvonne -
Same date as me? Is it 3 Jul or 4 Jul? Hehe... I'm very confused coz wedding on 2 days mah
So u booking GCW or PP?

Hi Jan -
Yeah, I think only 3 - 4 mths. And we haven't even met each other yet! *hee*

Silver -
I read the emails already. And I definitely agree with Jan &amp; Yvonne that u're abt to take the major step soon!

Jan -
Actually silver isn't tempting me. I was agonising abt this some time ago, remember? Just that I have pushed it aside for a while bcoz of the flat. Maybe next time I can ask silver for advise on how she handled the previous 'partner' :P

morning gals... welcome back, Jul... we are back to almost full force... Where's sagi???

Silver, so excited for u.. Dun worry, you will be PP's good hands... But make sure that u dun change again.. wait ur bf faint again.. What abt your sis? Have she decided too??

Then how, how to tell yc?? What do u intend to do?? Another suggestion, take family photo with the $$.. Think can get a portrait with d $$.. Try not to give up the $$, after all its hard earn $$... What abt selling it off at a discount?

I also scared for the gown designs... just imagine, i take soooo long to decide the BS, wonder how long i will take to confirm the gowns designs...

Yvonne, get shoes which u can reuse for the wedding... if not rather wasteful to wear it only once on the actual day..Have u decided on the reception venue??

Jul, how much deposit have u paid?? maybe u can consider switching as well?? heehee

Yan -

I cannot forgot my deposit, coz I paid $1,000! I know it's dumb, but then signing up at such short notice was silly too. *sigh* I think my only hope is to sell off my package, not to forfeit!

Yup, silver, think pp can do a good job, she's very on, believe u will be in good hands! hehe..

Jul, let me answer on Yvonne's behalf, her is on 3 Jul!

for Gown designs, guess we'll have to wait for the new mags to see what's latest for WG... hehe..

Thanks Jan, Yup is 3rd Jul 2004! According to the shifu is good day for us...

Have not decide on the GCW or Pan Pac! Will have to see their ACTUAL ACTUAL setting up before i make up my mind...

Hi Yan,
I agreed with you is a waste of buying that pair of shoe and just wear it once!!! Will prob find something to match with the gown, tea dress or EG... make full used mah... hee hee!!!

Hi Jan -

U mean N from PP is very on issit? Remember I told u gals I got a voucher from another BS from lucky draw? Dunno whether to switch to that. But then, it's like limiting myself all over again right?

Yup, lets wait for the new Style Weddings mag in Sep. Think that's the last bridal mag we'll buy, coz we have to start design of our gowns by Dec right?

Yvonne -

Oh, so ur wedding is on Sat. Like my church wedding &amp; tea ceremony
Well, gd that u've got the date. Now can really book the hotel that u want.

A colleague told me PP's service is not gd. Not sure if they've improved tho. I did go there last yr for D&amp;D, &amp; the service was definitely not gd. I went to GCW for a function, &amp; the service was gd. Think Sheena was the coordinator/mgr for the function.

Yeah, will prob buy another 1 or 2 bridal mag b4 deciding on the gown n design i want.

Yan, both hotels hv wedding dinner that day so I will pop by to view the actual set up! Remember is a HOT HOT date and a Saturday! Most prob will confirm with either one the following monday (eve of my ROM)... hee hee!

Hi Jul,
Thanks for the advise. However, I find both sides Banquet/sales Mgr I talked too pretty friendly and helpful. Anyway, most impt is the venue, ambience and price. Other things like food, service or perks I'm not much of concern cos more or less the same as long as not very lousy/bad can liao!

Yan,
Oic... so far we've made tentative booking at both hotels! Hopefully, no one will crush with us since is not peak wedding period during lunar 5th month i guess...

Yvonne, 5th Lunar mth is actually quite popular leh... It's like June this year.. lots of weddings going on, but of coz not as popular as lunar 8th month or end of year loh...