(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Ever,
So how did she handle the staff? Must teach me also leh. Very useful info

long time no see, now getting more busy with my wedding preps liao...
I just screen through the postings, who is looking houses at dover?kekeke my mum house is at dover lei...they are having wis for dover flats?intially wanted to get there so can live near my mum. u can either take a bus to the mrt station, but if want to walk to mrt, buna vista is nearer..

inou,
whoa its really cheap for the mani n pedi..

pebbles,
hows your photographer deciding.have u chosen the wg for your ps?
pebbles, do u need the videographer contacts, hee I havent go sort out the lists yet..

blusher,
hows your eg liao?u made the eg liao? I be selecting another eg this coming sat..
if u need the printer contacts let me know I got a few...now going to print my invitations liao..
I also found one shop doing wrist corsages at $2+ each, if u gals interested let me know..

cin cin,
have u settled your bridal liao?

er, whose looking for corset ar? hee I also bought a set of corset n pants n also bra set, hopefully can slim down by this sept...
its not bad lor,but rather exp...but its having effect on slimming down my buttocks n stomach n heehee my bust is bigger liao..just to share with u gals...

sorry for the long messages...

Hi girlfriend,
I'm also praying tat the angpaos can cover part of my expenses too, he...! So I think $10k cash shld be ehough for a simple wedding.

Hi Jul, jus fren fren with the staff loh.... then ask for add'l things very nicely with those "girly" tones.... ai ya, like how we convince our bf/hubby/fiance to go shopping for bridal shops/rings etc.... hahahahaha....

think as long as we give and take, the shop will be more than willing to help us with our big day!! they also wouldnt want their brides to turn out ugly and unhappy, rite?!?!

<FONT COLOR="3399FF">MORNING!!!</FONT>
25133.gif

<FONT COLOR="FF3399">INO</FONT>/<FONT COLOR="663366">SILVER</FONT>:
Thanks for the information!
Im staying in the east but my BF works in the west and near Clementi too so I was thinking that I can go treat my nails then he can come pick me up after his work... hiack hiack. Its indeed cheap... how's the quality of the end-product?
25134.gif

Berry,
I haven't met him yet, but i think Kelvin is doing my studio shots in Sept. How much is his standard actual day package? I think we may want to hire a freelance to save money leh...

Hello ladies!!

Yvonne, u really fast!! Booked everything within 2 days!! hehe.. So which date did u pick at the moment?

Jul, think ever got a point too, just be fren fren with them, think easier to negotiate things also... hehe..

wah, sagi, woke up so early ah?
Yup, time passes real fast when nuaing at home!

good morning angels!! hehehe
25136.gif

i'm feeling very restless today!! arghhhh...

hi pony, welcome!
i guess it would be a good time to start now for ur wedding preparations..dun have to commit now but browse around.. cos i think nearer to end of the yr maybe sep/oct will have another round of bridal shows which u can attend and u can confirm ur banquet/bridal details then since there are more perks during bridal shows

it's good to start early especially if u are particular abt choosing auspicious date for wedding

i was there at the Shangri-la bridal show of the year. some of the gowns were quite nice and some of them like "Tarzan" style (funny looking). there was this model who cat-walked as if her back's gonna break....did anyone of you noticed that? my MIL, her friends and my hubby also commented about the model...really funny when she walked with the gowns. the show was really successful with full turn out. impressive!

all of us who attended liked the set up they had in the tower ballroom. upon checking up on the price, it's around $168 per pax...wow!!! i have already signed up with Shangri-la (normal package) and hoped they could do the set up like that one shown in Tower ballroom. it's so clean and bright...nice! looks like i've gotta do lots of negotiations with the sales person and i'm lousy at it....may need my MIL's help...

binbin, we haven go to citra sari yet... my wallet haven recover yet leh.. haha... dun worry, we'll sure jio u...

i think you ve to view the vcd on ur tv... forest tried with her PC, cant leh..

ai ya, dun ve ur fax... u sms me, k..

pony, if ur wedding is end of 04, probably u can start planning now... end yr is a popular time.. never too early.. i started mine 1.5 yrs ahead.. hee... choose ur date 1st, then banquet, followed by bridal studio... ve u shortlisted any? maybe the gals here can give some opinions...

my wedding is coming jan.. 6 more mths to go... i'm with grand copthorne waterfront &amp; universal bridal studio.

blurydoey, my WG is done... gog for EG fitting end july...

hey, ur big day is jus 3 mths away rite... how re you feeling now? how's ur PS? btw, where did u get ur corset?

Hi Jan,
I've got few dates here 19Jun, 3July, 10July or 24 July 2004 but dun noe which is good for us? Need to check wif the SHIFU bfore confirming the venue.

Hi Jul,
Ya lor, thk WL staff are quite friendly and alot of things must/can negoitate one. Initially my bf also dun hv the intension to sign up during the show (jus wanna go look see look see) and not willing to sit down and listen to the package but after she give us quite good impression n offer so.... u noe la! Anyway Im not very fussy over the gown cos i find all very beautiful leh...haa! The only thing im particular is photographs and makeup/hairdo. Weirdo rite??? hee...

Hey poox and eleene
i am born in 77....hehehehee....one each year and we are all having our wedding in May...

Poox: I am going to meet carol(the lady that sells the albums)..she has the non-slots one...that's why i am checking it out....will update you lah! Should be meeting her this wed.

As for non-alcohol wedding...i guessed it is quite normal now for ppl not to have alcohol..save money. But my hubby and I will be splurging on ALCOHOL...hehehe....we got 2 barrels of beer and probably about 50 bottles of wines...we are quite a drinker ourselves..so i guessed we will be serving alcohol.

And yes i am home in SINGAPORE olediz...it's so nice to be home. Singapore food is the best!

So wat else have you all been up to? any preps?

I just found a tailor to alter my gown. Very slight alteration and i think will have to look for designs for evening wear. I dun think i am using any bridal shops.

Anyone wearing kua for tea ceremony. Am thinking if i should wear it. My friend checked it out and it costs abt 150-200 for rental!

morning,
pony, ya lor better start early n raki around for the dates n dinner n bridal...then maybe can start book your dinner by this year end..

cin_p,
wha very fast hor, our weddings all coming soon liao...your wg done liao ar, so when is your ps?
feeling more kan cheong, cause my invites I havent print yet..going to try n settle by next week, also my mum house doing minor renovation so got to go thru n fro from my mum house n helping my mum n sis to shop for their clothes n my dowry.
my reshoot is better, got 41 pics in my album..but they forget to add the 2r small album, so waiting for them to call me n select the pics before sending to make the album..hopefully can make it on time. I got my corset from exxx my beautician recommended to me, I am intending to use also after the wedding, so when i give birth liao still can use..keke...u interested can email me..

Hi Yvonne!!

19 June is very popular, must book fast for this date! Guess u're looking at Saturdays too rite? hehe... Mine is 10 July actually!!

I believe Marriott min. table is 30 also but do let me know if it's not, as i was quite interested in them also
Yup, regent is beautiful but too expensive!

Enjoy your bridal search and let us know, k! Cheers..

Hi ever,
Er... So must do the 'dare' thing with the staff? My fiance will flip! I think it's bcoz he knows the effect it has on him, so he'll ban me from using the same trick on other guys!

Mine's on 3 - 4 Jul. Looks like 19 Jun is very popular for the auspicious reason. I also signed up with my bridal w/o intending to. We were at a fair, then just sit down &amp; listen a bit. In the end, just blur blur sign up lor *hehe* Really pray &amp; hope that my bridals gowns are ok. My fiance likes the photography at my bridal, so u're not alone. But me? I'm also particular abt gown. Once in a lifetime, so have to look very beautiful right?

Hi Jan,
U tried booking Mandarin for 19 Jun, but it was taken up right?

binbin,
not yet leh... we hvent gone to citra sari... no vit M liao.. hahahah...

silver,
my voucher expires today.. not using it liao... not free today leh... anywayz, its for either a lymphatic contouring body massage or aromatheraphy facial... cant rem how mch i hve to pay.. some discounted price....

wah.. ur ginza lobang really veri cheap... but too bad for me too... cos' really out of the way!!!

soupie,
i realised tt my contact list doesnt hve contact number... can email me at [email protected]... so tt we can arrange to pass u the cd-rom frm cin_p??

Yup Jul, correct, Mandarin was taken on 19 June, too bad.... we didnt want to try other hotels coz we were quite happy with their package and service.. Altho i would say that their decor are not that great lah!haha!

Hi blurydoey,

Wow what is the brand of the corset which makes your bust looks bigger? hehe

Hi soupie &amp; cin_p,

Thanks so much for your advise. Btw how do both of you get to shortlist your wedding venue and bridal boutiques? I find it very headache to go around and select the good ones.

Hi cin-p again,

Wow your wedding venus is at Grand Coporthorne waterfront. In fact i also request the wedding quotes from there. Bcos the hotel looks very classy with a garden or fountain at the lobby rite? somemore i m a UOB ladycard holder, that time there was a promotion on this hotel and i was wondering whether the promotion is still on.
Btw how much is the price for per table? how many table do u have? thanks.

Hi Jan,

Oh I dunno know if I forgot to feedback to you. My fren's wedding at Mandarin had parking problems. There was a jam at the exit from CTE, then jam all the way to Heeren &amp; Cineleisure. When we tried turning into the carpark, it was full. So we had to find parking somewhere else &amp; walk back to the hotel.

Maybe u can use this as excuse to get ur guests to come early? Like if they come late, then no more parking etc?

Yeah Jul, i know of this problem.. Guess really got to tell them to come early, but u know lah, some will still take their own time to go down!! sighs!! But must scare them a bit, like no parking lots for them - so meaning they gotta pay their own parking!!! hahaha..
So eventually, how late did ur friend started the whole dinner?? Was it very late?

Hi jul, ya ya... use the "dare" tone... hahahaha... no lah, the staff usually gals... so, yr fiance wouldnt mind!!!
it works on gals too!!

hi blurydoey,
wah... really long time nv see ur postings liao... u must b feeling very excited abt the wedding liao rite??

hey, can u post more info abt the corset??? very interesting leh... me curious abt it... if not convenient to post... can email me at [email protected]???

thanks!!

pony,
aiyo.. forgot to welcome u jus now
... i agree with cin n blurydoey.. if u kinda decided to hold it end of next yr.. then, u can start finding info liao.. n step by step make ur selections... for me, my date also not fixed.. n i've been to a few bridal shows... gathered watever info tt i need.. so tt by the time when i'm ready.. i wun feel sooo kan chiong!!

Hi Trixie,

I thought Marriott min. table is 30 too, the packages that they send me even state that min. tables for weekend is 40, but yesterday, I went down to take a look at their ballroom, i saw only 25 tables only.

So, I think no harm negiotate if you really like that place. I got next year packages, if you want, i can forward it to you. There is a slight increase in price for fri and sat &amp; sun packages, no change for mon-thur.

Hi amethyst,

Am close to 1.6m but because I'll be wearing a ballgown, I need to look tall. I have broad feet too! But manage to find a few nice pairs of shoes at Peddle Works. I got 2 pairs of shimmery ones.

Hmm... on the contrary to the bad postings in the GI thread, i am quite pleased with GI's service. Eileen is nice leh... hmm... Judy also very warm and nice. Maybe those customers who are angry with them have some misunderstandings?

My gown is still in the making. Can't wait. How about yourself? have you settled your WG?

mee mee

Hi Jan,
I think the programme stated that cocktail at 7 pm, dinner at 7.30 pm. But my fren started the wedding at 8.30 pm, ended at 10.45 pm. I think this is supposed to be the norm right?

Actually I'm hoping that my dinner can start at 8 pm latest. Then got more time for the 2 of us. What's the pt of having a suite when u're standing in ur very heavy gown, entertaining other pple like unknown relatives right *hehe*

Hi ever,
Oh gals huh? That's not so bad. *hehe*

sorry, MIA for a while.

Looks like everyone busy shopping nowadays
I have also been shopping for shoes recently. Got pairs of sandals from JWest.. think that goes well with my red cheongsum.
Now still hunting for shoes that matches my wedding gown and maybe tea dress.. hee hee, I love shoes too.

Mee mee, 4 inch very difficult to find, how about those platforms with heels huh?

For wedding bands, I heard that soo kee is having buy one get one free promotion. Not sure if it is still on

pony,
cannot say in the forum lei..the name.. kekeke everyday see it becomes bigger very happy, cause I got small bust after all the dieting...It actually pushes the fats from our arms, stomach n back of our shoulders to the bust area.

u also like gwc ar, very nice lei, the hotel looks new n classy...
u can go see the list at the sbo, n call or email regarding the prices, n then set your budget around the range that u want, do a selective selection, n also can see ppls opinon on the particular bridal n banquet.Then u can also go around to see the bridal shops to see their services n gowns..but first thing is to settle dinner first..u can go to the bridal show n see how the decor is n also a lot of good perks as mentioned by cin_p.U can also ask us also..

hi pony, hehheeh forgot to welcome u too, welcome!!!!
25143.gif

yes agree with cin, end year is a hot time, perhaps can start looking now. i also started sourcing for my dinner venue 1.5 years in advance, coz it's usually the venues that are the fastest in being booked up. some hotels only have one ballroom, so dates are taken up even faster.

just shortlist the hotels u are interested in, then either call them up for quotations, or visit the hotel yourself and get the quotations from the conceirge. after that, arrange a time with the catering team to visit the ballroom, try to do it on a day when there's a wedding......

blurydoey, My PS in end sept... hey, u better settle ur invite soon..

you reshoot?! wat happen with the 1st shoot.. u dun like it? how come you are doing the album urself?

can email me the corset detail @ [email protected]

thx

pony, how i shortlisted... erhh... usually those strongly recommended by frens &amp; those tat i like... it would be best to go down personally to have a feel of the place, especially when there's a wedding setup. like wat soupie mentioned, look ard first then wait for their bridal show - better perks.

GCW ballroom has 1 side full length glass window, overlooking a landscape. not too sure abt the uob promo.. i’ve signed the citibank promo last yr. my wedding is on a weekday with 35+2 tables. so their rate is $598+++.

Thanks so much for your advises. Yup my hubby and i should pick an auspicious date as soon as we can n then later decide on which hotel. hehe.

Hi blurydoey,
LOLz. hehe ok u email me more details on the corset ok. I wish to know more about it. Thanks so much. smacks.

hi girlfriend

unfortunately, i did not shop around cos i've already booked my bridal service. sorry...i can't help in answering your question leh...

there's this 2-pc silver EG that's on sale at $1200 from white link...my MIL and her friends said it's nice...too late for me though...

Wow...at last my FH asked his friend to book our ROM venue already..now hv to prepare the list of guests, food, deco n etc...

Jul, ok,, at least not so bad, tot becoz of the jam and parking, the dinner delayed till 9pm... phews... lucky still the norm... Yup nowadays dinner start at 8.30pm and sometimes end at 11pm!!

Ya loh, got to entertain unknown relatives, but nevermind lah, think usually they'll entertain among themselves!!

Hi pony,

Welcome too!

Hi binbin,

I tried to book Nick for his photography service on my ROM date and so disappointed that he is already booked. That includes Yew Kwang too.

Now, i don't know where to source for ROM photography liao.

Btw, i confirmed using the Oaks already. Will be meeting Carol on 9th July.

Hi Jul, Jan &amp; Ever,
Yeah lor... 19 June seems like a very good date cos beginning of lunar 5th month! Well, I've asked my mum to check for me the dates ASAP! So i can confirm the venue.

Hee hee, ladies! Im going for my 1st aerobics class today. Wish me luck...!

Most likely, I'd be a Dec 04 bride too! Yet to really fix an exact date... need to wait for the almanac to be published...

I'm also sourcing for hotels and bridal packages... so far, only got quotes from conrad and fullerton... As for bridal packages, only been to Sophia Wedding Collection, JLC and Bridal Veil - quite impressed with BV...

Yet to have my ROM, cos' my boyfriend hasn't even proposed...

hi gals, just finshed my lunch...
cin_p,
wha must be kan cheong liao coming soon the ps.have u thot of where to take pics yet?
the previous photographer didnt do a good job on my first ps,it is really badly done, even my outdoor also not so nice..sigh..., so we complained n asked for the reshoot.Only managed to reshoot for indoor but not outdoor.so hopefully on my actual day i can retake those outdoor pics.I didnt do the album myself,heehee I meant they had already sent the photos to make the album in taiwan, but got to bring back to sg again for me to choose the 2opcs pose for my 2r album.

pony whats your email address?so I can email to u n cin_p.
Yup I think u shld pick a date but on the meantime can source around first.

doremon,
do u have any other list of photographers?how abt beetles at work?think their works i quite good.
i think the sb front page has a promotion on a rom package.

Hello gals!

Yvonne, u have fun ya! Did u gals enrolled for the same gym? haha.. me still enjoying exercising at my own pace!!

Hi Tinkerbell,

Welcome to be the Dec'04 bride too. But how come your boyfriend has not proposed yet and you and him are already planning for the wedding?

Bridal Veil was quite good but expensive though. My cousin got her bridal package from them which include photography by Chris Ling cost $5K.

Which are the hotels packages that you are interested in, if I have, I can forward it to you. I have deleted some after my shortlisting.

Jan,
Yup the dinners I attend always start ard 8.30 pm. But really really hope that it can be earlier leh.

Ever, Yvonne,
Both of u gals are w/ Amore right?

Jul, tough to get the dinner started early leh.. some of the guests take their own sweet time one... U gals got any idea how to make them come earlier? hehe..

Hi gals!!

yap, me with Amore....

Jan, dont think its easy to get them to come earlier for the dinner... me also hope they'll come early... if not, they'll be rushing through the dinner so that they can go home early.... *sob**sob*... mine's on sun.... no choice...

Hi Ever, Jul &amp; Jan,
I'm going to attend AMORE LO class today at Tiong Bahru Branch. For a start, I thk i'll go for LO then HI/LO then KB. So coincidence Ever, you were wif AMORE too? Where did u go for kickboxing class?

blurydoey, panic arh... ve to lose some weight 1st. no idea where to go yet? u? where did u go? har.. only reshoot the indoor.. why like tat? they shd reshoot the outdoor too wat... if given the choice, i would prefer to redo the outdoor. how did they explain for the bad job done? tat's my worries too... i hope mine will turn out good. if i'm not wrong, ur package is from focus (IMM) rite... my designer used to work there...