(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Hi silver!!</FONT> me decided on CJS catering liao.... always order from them cos the food is yummy and i happen to know the owner!!! I had a quotation from a fren's fren doing free-lance flowers' deco... but was thinking of saving on that... forward you the mail on mon?? thinking of buying a flower centrepiece for the table can liao... then try to do other deco on our own.... but donno can make it or not.... hahahahaha....

Hi ever,
Oic then must plan the max no of guests carefully right? Later can't fit into the function rm. Also must bk caterer right?

Silver,
Yeah, that's why I wanna go for the PF trial to recce. Must see if I like the place lor.

Yvonne,
Maybe see u later at the show *hehe*

Ever,
Really ah? U know the owner of CJS catering? I'll need caterer for the church reception too, so maybe can get recommendation from you. Hopefully cheaper px, &amp; better food &amp; svc too

Hi! Yvonne

I paid mine @ abt $660 per table coz it's during their promo period which ended recently. But still can try lah look for Irene Koh. See if she can give you gd rates or not. If you've got 30 tables &amp; above, go 4 their ballrm on the 1st flr rather than e 1 @ 3rd flr...so small...n e ceiling is dam low man...

Hi Ever,
Forward me the email for catering n ur friend's freelance pls! Any idea how much per pax and does they do up some deco for ROM? Thx!

I think Jan will faint when she back on mon hehehe

hahahaha.... ya, Jan's going to faint!!!!

dont hav the email for CJS... but, think they hav a website... dont think its the norm for catering co. to do deco.... only do for their buffet table... the pricing is in their website.... not sure if updated....

Jul, ok.... when you decided on them next yr!!! hahahaha.... think will get more food, not discounts!!! hahahaha....

Hey hey hey!!!

Ah... fainted for a while!!
Today so many postings!!!

Jul, Yvonne, must tell us abt the show!! Hope i wont miss out any good perks there!

Yup silver, Jul, think Divine is very nice, but yes min shld expect ard 5k... to ex lah!

ever, Yvonne, guess u gals must start preparing for ROM already... ever, think u can go earlier to choose ur gown too rite?

Yvonne, think $68 for shifu is still reasonable, yeah like wat Jul said, some more ex!! Think u shld really go settle date asap, at least get one thing settled first, then u can start booking venue!!

Hehe.. went for jog today... jogged a little more than last week!! haha, hope to improve each week!! But now feel quite tired leh... Went shopping for a short while today too, but didnt get anything...

Oh yah ever, are u booking ur ROM photographer? Think if u're planning to do so, maybe u can start looking for one and book already??

hoho...phew!! i thought i was short changed!!
i thought of having a no alcohol dinner as well (actually suggested by dad) but mum felt that should not save on drinks so....too bad lor :P

u born in 78...so young...me born in 76

I'm thinking of Merchant Court but price list not out yet. Another option will be HIPV. Yup I had my ROM on 1st June, just 3 weeks ago...
Now flat undergoing reno...
Hi residentevil,
U very fast yah?! ;) everything booked already...think u've got a really good deal at $660 for MM.

Hi Residentevil,

I don't think I will have 30 tables, I have only 20 tables now.$660 is for weekday and not for weekend right?

Hi Angie,

If you have more than 35 tables, MC is a good one cos the package is quite resonable. I'm thinking of HIPV too. I got the price package from them. There is good comments from quite alot of people too. So you are newly wed. Must be busy with your house reno. Mine is already finished in March. So, now, I can fully concentrate on searching for my banquet venue following by the bridal package. So, where is your love nest? Mine is at woodlands.

I find M Hotel's package one of the better ones actually, with free flow of beer and no corkage charge for all alcohol. Only thing is comment on the food ranges from ok to bad. So in some kind of dilemma. Love the ambience but don't wish for the food to suck also. Will wait and see how lor since it's still early

The package for M Hotel for weekend is $690+++, so that works out to be about $806 per table. Quite ex hor? Sry, no comments on Holiday Inn as I didn't request for their package.

Hi Angie,
I'll send the file to you on monday, k? It's in my office. Congratulations on your ROM
i had mine last nov. flat also finished renovating liao. So can concentrate full time on wedding
What does HIPV stand for?

hi wendylee, you can also take bus no. 189 from clementi. once u come out of the mrt stn ctrl, turn to yr right (opp direction of the interchange) and walk down a flight of stairs....u will see a bus stop with a magazine cum sweets store tended by an Indian. Take 189 from there and alight on the 2nd bus stop. (The bus stop which you board the bus is not counted).
;-)

hi silver,
me always go to ginza but never notice leh...muz check it out...

Hi ever,

Hi Jan,
Lucky you came in last nite otherwise .....
Hey gd start to jog ya, keep it up!

Ya divine gowns really nice and unique. Wan to copy design also difficult leh

Hi Jul &amp; Yvonne,
How's ur bridal show??

Hey my gf decided to ve her rom at her sis condo function room. If you gals ve contacts for makeup artist, photographer, florist, catering, wedding favours..... let me know ya. Thanks!

Hi ino,
It's a new shop. I think less than 3mths old... You stayed in tat area? For me, my bf n I go there to rent tapes hehe

Onee,

U were there during the Shangri-La show ah? I was there too! Did any of the gowns catch your eye? I didn't really like the gowns, coz in the first place I don't like the styles from those BS. I actually wanted to see shops like Bridal Veil, Irene's Creation, Blush Blush, Ted Wu, Kai etc, but these shops seldom participate in the fair leh.

I like Shangri-La ambience, the ballroom is very grand hor? The chandeliers at the smaller ballroom is also very nice. But the location is a bit out of the way. Anyway, we already booked Sheraton, so hubby tell me dun compare liao.

Onee, how's your wedding prep progress? I still no idea abt the design of my gown leh, how? panicky liao.

Questy,

U another lucky pig! Hey, u didn't intro yourself, everyone that joins this thread gotta intro one leh. I refer u to choco's msg on 18 June. Tell us your budget and preference, then we see how we can help you, ok?

Hi Everyone!

He.....! Sorry hoh, dun knw got to intro...
Some background abt myself...
(1) Banquet Venue: At OCBC Centre (not confirmed, cos handle by PIL)
(2) No. of tables: 15 (also not confirmed)
(3) Bridal Studio: TC or X-Zen
(4) ROM date: intend to do it in Dec, so can hv an xmas party with it
(5) Customary Date: 19 June 04
(6) Age of yourself/ hubby at the time of ROM: 26/34

The dates r not cmf yet, as i hv said earlier, i only need to tk care of my bridal package and honeymoon. I think my budget of $10k shld be more than enough for tat rgt?

Lucky? Not really lah, everything got a price to pay, I just got my keys for 2wks+ and my reno half way done liao, and this cause a big strain to my relationship, very taxing loh, cos we always argue over the house, and my MIL is throwing all her household "treasure" to us. U all got ur house liao?

wah gals......

*faints*...... go into archive liao.......so many msgs.........think more than one hundred......i havent finished reading thru all yet......later then skim thru again.....

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">ever</FONT>
me here......ya lor.....nvr log on so often cos at home mah.... doing other things.....hahahah.....ya, i wish can really be tai tai... no need worry abt money hor....if too bored, then do some part time job or have a small biz........hahahaa... *dreaming again as usual*
just went shopping at orchard on fri..... spent quite alot.. *broke*
n u know what?? mango sales.....so many pp leh.....seems like all no need work also....hmm.... but i can nvr get to buy anything much from mango, i can go in walk one round come out empty handed....dun know why....so this time managed to buy a tube and a blouse...very happy..

i see got some newcomers hor....welcome welcome.... sorry har, too many msgs i read till blur......cant remember the nicks....

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">ever</FONT>, <FONT COLOR="ff6000">jul</FONT>, <FONT COLOR="119911">silver</FONT>, <FONT COLOR="ff0000">jan</FONT>
if u all update the list of gals in this thread....do remember to email me too.....

let us meet up someday...

oh, i signed up for the graceful image show liao....but how i know whether they allocate a place for me or not?? *blur*

think i better try to check this thread everyday, or be drowned by the sea of msgs....

hi pony, u can ve as many jiemeis as you wan. the more the merrier. you can also ask ur cousins to join in the fun =) so are you presently shopping for ur bridal studio &amp; banquet?

silver, the manicure &amp; pedicure package is really cheap. too bad it's really out of the way =)

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">ever</FONT>, <FONT COLOR="ff6000">jul</FONT>, <FONT COLOR="119911">silver</FONT>
hehehe.....so now u all also gian in going divine?? kekeke.....
all along, it's my dream one wor....hehee.....just that the px quite steep..... well, go there try try on the nice nice gowns also gian..... hey, we can go together mah...... hmm.....can go try the gowns n give comments to each other....

Hi sagi,

Ya ya you must login everyday
So wat do you do now everyday? Actually no work also quite bored.

Jul &amp; I ve received call from GI to cfm the bridal show. I believed you will receive call fm them soon. So we can meet up on that day ya.

Hey I went for mango sale too. Agreed wif sagi that it's really alot of ppl even in wkday afternoon. Wondering why everyone no need to work

Now that there is nothing much to do for my wedding, I am kpo helping my gf for her rom. I just enjoy sourcing for her hehehe I was telling her like I am more excited than her....

hi silver

wow...the package is really cheap but like cin_p said really out of way.any branch somewhere??

hi cin_p

how's ur wkend?

Hello gals!

Hi sagi, hahaha, think u must have fainted right!! We gals really talkative, everyday so many messages!!

yup yup, mango sale always crowded, dun even think of going during weekends, silver, think coz of sch hols now, so more ppl i guess...

Just realised that i may have 2 more weddings to attend in the later half of the year, one at hyatt and another at fullerton...wah very siong on wallet for the next few months to come!!!

Questy,

10k should enough. However, you muz also take into consideration the miscellenous amount like the cakes for Guo Da Li, ang baos for the helpers during the actual day etc etc.

I hope to do mine less than 30k including banquet.

I just back fm GHA. They having promo this weekend at $3388 wif MTM WG, MTM EG, OTR men suit, car, makeup, 20pcs 15R, mini album, father suit, 24pcs 4R, free mag style n the rest cant really remember hehe Personally quite like their photos but not the gowns.

Jan,
I ve 5 more weddings to go in oct n nov! Going to be very broke

Hi girlfriend,
Yeah, i've also tot of tat, tat's why i still hv to consider abt tking up TC. I'm hoping the ang paos received can cover most of my costs, he....!

I think $30k shld be enough, cos banquet will be covered mostly by ang paos.

Hi Trixie,

As for M hotel, I'm not quite sure. Just went to look at the hotels, I can't believe that I have gone through 12 hotels altogether in one day. Got a very tiring day.

So, now after the viewing, I have shortlisted 3 venues which is Mariott, ST and Oriental. Regent Hotel was really marvellous. I love it at the first sight when once I stepped in but it was too expensive.

So, maybe this coming weekend, I'm going to take a look at the bridal boutiques.

HIPV stands for Holiday Inn Park View. I went there too, quite nice but the ballroom was abit cramped. The march-in part was short.

been a while since I've posted my last msg. How are u gers getting on? I have bought so many shoes... see one that I like, buy 1. My FH is always teasing me... hehe... but i do find it tough to buy 4" shoes! Do you gers have the same problem? How many shoes will you be getting? If have WG, EG and tea dress = wear 3 shoes? :D

Now we are hunting for wedding band...another difficult thing leh... heee...

keep updating on how you are getting on for the wedding preparation.

cheers,
mee mee

Hi bride-to-be,

Any news from your sister in law yet? My friend anxious liao.

Another friend of mine asked to help her sell off excess japanese chopsticks. She bought too much already from Japan for her wedding. Ard 100 pieces to let go. Anyone interested?

The HWB show was quite grand! So disappointed cos my BF got emergency work to be done tht day &amp; he is late for the show! No choice, I went in alone and didnt really eat much! WHAT A WASTE rite Jul? Only managed to snap a few pixs cos my digicam very slow la... Not very well taken cos too far &amp; small!

Guess what? I've booked my bridal pktg with WHITELINK! What u gals thk of WL huh?
My package is $3,133 (aft bargaining &amp; discount)!!!
1 either MTM or OTR gown/EG,
1 Tea dress OTR,
2 Jackets OTR &amp; 1 MTM pants,
15R pix x 24pcs,
4R mini Album (22 pcs duplicate),
8R table top
5R 3-in-1 photo w frame
3R x 24pcs (4 poses)
4 outfits
(incld ROM makeup, hairdo &amp; gown...etc)
* I thk I'll ask for more freebies cos' Im stl not satisfied leh aft reading the WL's threads!!!

Also, I've made a tentatively booking wif Grand Copthorne Waterfront for my wedding dinner already!

Hee hee... Pretty fast ya!!! =P

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Morning gals!!!</FONT>

Hi, sagi!! you finally appeared!! ya, so other than boosting our economy (ie, shopping lah!), what hav you been up to?!?!?

Jan, luckily you came to the thread on sat evening... if not, hard time to catch up today!! haahahahaha....
me not getting professional photographer for ROM lah.... no budget... will get my brother to part-time...

Yvonne!! so fast huh?!?!? how you make tentative booking with GCW when you havent had a fixed date?!?!? me went White Link before... at Kaki Bukit... me find it a bit exp for the stuff included in their package... and if you wanna take the album with artwork, you'll hav to top up quite a bit!!! you better ask them about the ROM dress, cos i think they hav selected items for you to choose from.... not all gowns can be used for your ROM....

hi silver and ino, u both familiar with west area ah? just now reading u girls' posting on how to get to ginza gives me a pang of longing... :o. i used to stay in west coast road, and ginza and clementi was my play area.
go there beri beri regularly. in sec and jc, usually study in either ginza KFC, Macs, or the CC opposite. sometimes in clementi. in the U, always have to pass by Clementi to get home...... and when i moved away, missed my old place so much...... what about you girls???

Good morning gals

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">ever</FONT>
Got more food also good what. Then I can order food for 80 pple, but guests will no. 100. *hehe* Gd idea right? Save abt $200 if I order $10 per pax range.

<FONT COLOR="119911">Jan</FONT>
Hey, I tot u quit shopping already? Something abt must save money right? *hehe* Divine is definitely out of my budget. But just go wear the gowns for 1 or 2 min, also quite shiok right? :P

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">silver</FONT>
Some pple actually take half day leave to go to those sales u know? Anyway GHA was at the HWB show too. The gowns featured were not bad. I think maybe they brought all their new gowns to the show, so nothing nice left in the shop!

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Sagi</FONT>
You've re-surfaced! So how's the life of a tai tai? Now that u're sitting at home, doing nothing, u must come in more often to chat with us k?
Well, if u &amp; me &amp; silver are all going for the GI show, we can meet up on that day right?

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Yvonne</FONT>
Well, I was sitting at the front. A bit confusing with all the models walking in the cross formation right? Dunno where to look. Quite blur leh *hehe* After a while, the gowns start to blur already *hehe* Wah, u really fast. Done booking of bridal &amp; hotel already. Nvr been to WL, so no comments abt the shop's services. But I saw the gowns at the show were very floaty, princess type. Quite nice leh

hi binbin,

i'm familiar with the ginza area becoz my FH happens to stay there...he's a ginza kid too! ;-P
i love the food there!!!
yum yum....

yo gals
good morning!!
haha... surprise, i wake up so early today.... cos think i sleep too much liao... at nite cant get to zzz....

<FONT COLOR="119911">silver</FONT>, <FONT COLOR="0000ff">ever</FONT>
i find it quite fast wor...... one wk gone liao...n i havent done much things yet...
only managed to pack my cupboards halfway...hahaha...then go net lor, check this forum, check emails.... read mags...wash my own clothes... whoosh! time just flies by....
so far not bored yet... think i m the type can just nua at home one...
at least for a while....

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">jan</FONT>
ya lor...u all really talkative!! can yak yak all day long... me old liao, cant catch up har... *panting* pls slow down a teeny weeny bit *bows*

Hi Ever,
Thanks for the advise. I'm fully aware of the ROM dresses are limited. Basically the other bridal shops are giving certain range of dresses to choose from too. You are rite, they charged $600 for artwork fees! Very X hoh come to think of it but she said can negoitate with the photographer for more pix after that... =(

I've actually selected few auspicious dates from the internet. So just make tentative booking with GCW lor. After I confirmed that the date i choose, I will need to make a deposit to secure it.

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">jul</FONT>
helloooo... hehee... wld try to log in everyday... too used to broadband in office liao, now at home dial up connection.. sometimes soooo slow.. urgh

ehh... GI nvr called me leh...maybe no more place liao cos i signed up too late? boo hoo hoo

then u all must update me wor...

wah...if u get to meet silver too... u got another face to the nick liao hor?? the other time u the one meet ever rite? *blur*

Hi Mee Mee
You must be quite petite? 1.5m?
I'm size 7/8 and broad feet too..... love shoes but good-fitting shoes hard to come by leh! Those pretty fit and charles&amp;keith all cannot wear. End up buying italian shoes.. quite ex, only can budget 1-2 per year.
How's your gown coming along with GI? From what i gather (GI thread), must not lose your cool with them. Are you servied by Judy all the time? Try not to let Eileen serve you... blood boiling experience...hee hee.

hi ladies, it's another tiring monday...

bride-to-be, my weekend arh... mmh... ok but tiring... regarding the spa botanica price list, can i fax to you instead? easier tat way lah, if not i'll ve to type everything out =)

binbin, ve u watch the demo? wat do you think? up to ur standard?

Hi Jul,
Yeah lor... quite blur so got to wait till the models walked towards our side then can get a closer look. Moreover those spotlights are so glaring! Saw few gowns quite sweet... forgot from which bridal also...hee!

hi Ino, oh i see...hehhee....i tot u also stay that area since u were a child.....like me...hehhee....

Cin, sorry no time to see the cdrom yet...
my compt at home beri slow, and i forgot to bring to office.
will let u know kae?

can u also fax the spa botanic thingie to me? got prices one? u rem my fax number?

have u and forest went for the citra sari yet?

Hi cin_p,

Thanks for your reply. Btw what about your wedding? When is it?

As for mine we intend to plan it end of next year 2004. Do u think what is the best time to start preparation as i m quite inexperience. thanks. now we r sourcing out for wedding quotations n looking through the magazines. Not sure which one to choose..headache........

Hi sagi!!

so early today!! me also liked nua-ing at home... still remember how I nua one mth away last yr when i was looking for a job... enjoyed that period so much... except the stress of finding a job and seeing my bank account decreasing... only withdrawals, no deposits!!! hahahahaha.....

Yvonne, guess you dont hav to worry too much about White Link.... juz fren-fren with the staff loh... yesterday, I went to kahpoh for a fren who's doing her final fitting before her PS... her bridal shop also hav mixed reviews in this forum... but i saw the way she handled the staff... they willingly do add'l things for her!! amazing!!! must learn from her, man!! hahahaha...

Hi Sagi,

So envious of you! *aarggh* Not fair! I also wanna sleep till I can't sleep anymore *sigh* Maybe GI called you, but u were sleeping?

Yeah, I know what you mean by the dial up. It's so slow that I can open a thread, then watch TV for a while b4 turning back to PC to read *hee*

Yup, ever's the one I met. Why dun u call GI urself &amp; ask if they have seats for u? For all u know, they dun even have our records. Just walk in to the hotel can already.

Yeah lor, I was so confused I even missed the name of 2 bridal shops. Saw 2 shops presenting, but I dun know whih is GI &amp; which is Flamingo. *sigh*