(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Wah, didnt know Silverlining is so expensive without promo..... but i think it's still cheaper than Flamingo..... Jan, you considering Flamingo too, rite?? hope I didnt get you gals mixed up!!

Hi Lin, you're always welcome!! by the way, are you with GHA Tampines or Yishun?? if i sign up, i'll be with Tampines....

i think the packages from J&M and GHA are similar... juz that J&M will be giving a Montage, more photos and men's suit to keep... so, about $300 more expensive..

Wow!! Grand Shanghai sounds cool!! but the place cant accomodate too many guests, rite?? oh gals, by the way, me bought a 2nd hand kua from HK!! intending to wear as tea-dress...

Hi abc,

I paid $88 for my date. The geomancer gave me 4 dates to choose and I picked 1 date out of the 4. Then he will give u the "an chuang" and "guo da li" dates based on the date u hve choosen. He will also give us the timing as in when the bride needs to leave the house.

CC2

Hello everybody,
Mind if I join in the fun? I am comtemplating a end-2004 wedding.
Just want to find out something.... anybody going for overseas shoots? Any idea how much dry-cleaning a gown will cost?

hi silver,
i have 20 photos only. shortlisted any?? which one? you mean bridal studio or banquet? if bridal studio, sign up liao.. banquet... the ones i mention to you lor...rm(maybe-now with their publicize financial problem..dunno), alkaff,occ. solemnization either those at banquet places or carlton. the banquet..me comparing the menus and prices. dunno leh..i prefer to serve something in the menu which has meaning.

hi jul_04,
hhehe..no..my wedding in april.. but came to this thread coz, silver here..

hi Jan,

hi ever,
i'm with GHA Tampines. Actually, when i come to think of it, GHA quite expensive lah. Can get better deals from other bridal shops. dunno is it because of brand or what..but the gowns nice lah.

hello!

Yah, disappointed that silverlining is quite ex.. now i think flamingo is quite ex too, coz their package doesnt include MTM tea dress...

Yes, Grand shanghai can only accomodate abt 20+ tables and price is like Hotel prices!
Wah ever, u even bought ur tea dress already!! hehe.. guess better to plan early than late!!

hi cin_p and silver..
thanks for telling me roughly the rate for actual day photography..

hi wendylee,
u mean Chris Ling of Nick send you his package?..
hee.. my hubby also got a shock when he see Chris charges $5K for actual day..:PP

hahaha.... ya, Jan... me very KS, rite?? but cheaper to buy in HK than to rent in S'pore!! and my mum very happy that i wanted to wear a kua... although i'm not cantonese!! hahaha....

Lin, i think GHA not bad... the packages not too expensive lah... but their add'l photos are!!! each 15R is $75 or $80, rite?!?! i think i'm like you, book bridal package first then followed by dinner..... hahaha.....

Hi Jul 04, glad to hav some assurance on J&M... by the way, is the marriage prep course conducted by your church?? me intending to attend such course before ROM, but me not a christian nor catholic..... me know MCDS's website does hav listings of such courses, but not sure which is good.... oh, you attended so early?? yr wedding in Jul 04 mah.... thought its better to attend just before the wedding?!?

VON: Welcome!!!
21722.gif

I understand that those $3k and above included photographer's airticket and accomodation... how about those films and developing? Does the amt advertised in those sites included that too? If not then wont it cost a BOMB? My BF sure not to agree to this....

ANTARES: Hello! Oh, Im talking about Nick. Even thou his thread is no longer activate, Im sure he's reading this forum too... Other brides to be also recieved his email advertising for his packages too. You wait long long for those 'branded' photographers to send you without you send your enquiry... HAHA!

wah, see this thread very active, come and kpo abit....dun mind hor...

yo yo silver and lin.....kkekeeee

saw my nick appeared ...

ya, i m the one scared pp dun give me ang bao for my rom cum wedding reception....cos i wld be holding one big one in msia, so thinking spore side maybe just invite closer frens to witness my solemnisation then have buffet lunch or high tea....

my wedding date not confirmed yet....so not really qualified to be here....heehee... just want to see some comments and opinions....cos i havent done anything yet.....bridal boutiques not decided, venue not decided.... oh no!
not to mention msia side, nothing done at all! *faints*

thanks, binbin, cin_p, wendylee for the suggestion ;p wld keep that in mind if i decide not to have the dinner in spore....

hi ino
thanks ahh.....me go check my mails later...

welcome, abc and von

Juz finding out if anyone approach any cheap & reliable "Shi Fu" to calculate your auspicious wedding dates for end of next yr (2004) ?

Please recommend me & how much u pay ?

Email : [email protected]

Thanks !

Hi Sagi,

no prob!! the more, the merrier!!

well, i guess for m'sia side should be ok, cos my frens always tell me they do not need such a long time to prepare for their wedding dinners in m'sia..... at least no need to book the venue one yr in advance!!!! this KS spirit can only be found in S'pore!! unique, rite?!!?? hahaha... no offence hor, gals??

Finding a "Shi fu" is not a must for me.
But you know there's a kind of calendar where there will say whether this date is suitable for wedding ornot.Like those gas company which will give away free.
Know where I can look for year 2004 one?

hi sagi,
hehehe... you like me like that. i come here becoz of silver.. :P

hi ever,
yeah, their additional photos so expensive. i don't think i will go for it. i will just stick to 20. not worth it.. rather spend the extra cost for honeymoon.

hello sagi!
welcome here too!!

Yup, i have the same thinking as Lin, i dun think i'll want to pay extra for the extra photos, think too many photos also no use, in the end after a few months, it will end up in the shelf collect dust!! haha...

Sagi, i told silver abt the idea of printing "cash gifts are preferred" on the card, for me when i read that it doesn't seem rude, i find it interesting and funny instead!! So maybe u can try that!

hi smurfy,

i signed up with Chris Ling for studio and outdoor. i signed up during the Style wedding show. $1600. quite a good deal i think.

i asked abt his actual day charges. he said $5000! i nearly fainted!!

Hi Jan,

Nope, I'm not doing anything special for theme. My fiance thinks we shd keep it very simple. O/w more complications, more chances of messing up & looking like sillies.

Hi silver,

Thomson Wedding is at Thomson Rd, in shophse near Thomson Plaza. Yup, I signed up during a fair, maybe that's why I got a slightly better deal.

Hi Lin,

Oic, so ur wedding is Apr. Nvm, the more the merrier, then we can all share tips!

Hi ever,

My course is conducted by my fiance's church. He's Catholic, so it's a requirement to attend the course to have a church wedding. But it's 70% inter-faith couples, that is, mixed Catholic & Christian/free-thinker/Buddist etc. Actually it depends on ur personal pref when u wanna attend. I personally prefer to have attended b4 we decided to get married. It's to talk abt the imptance of marriage, unity, decision making, finances, time management, family planning, & a whole lot more! Helped us to iron out a lot of issues & decide whether we're compatible & ready for marriage. Not to scare u, but I do know of some couples who broke up after the course in the middle of wedding preps!

Hello Binbin,

I do not know the name of the shop, but I think I know where Hafary is. Hafary is the one with green signboard issit? It's along the same stretch I think. Mine is at the corner, the one nearest to the coffeeshop (the coffeeshop with lotsa of tiger beer ads one I think) to the small road. I bought almost all tiles from there, but got the slate tiles and pebbles from another one on the other corner.

Gd morning ladies,

Wow wow, so active here huh...

Hi Lin,
How much is your GHA package? 20pcs of 15R? Btw, why didn't you consider to ve your solemnization at the same venue as your dinner? I think most likely I will ve mine at Republic of Spore Yacht Club. Planning to do my solemnization ard 630pm wif family n closer friends, followed by dinner at 8pm.

Hi sagi,
Welcome here! So ve you decided on the venue?

Hi Jan,
If you really like silverling you can try checking with them will there be any fair coming up soon or do you have any friends whom ve book with them? They will offer you the same package as your friend.

Hi Jul 04,
Hey your package is super worth it! I went to Thomson Wedding and Precious Moments this afternoon. I realised that the price with n w/o fair is very great diff! And for both, I actually have friends who have booked with them so they actually offered me to get the same price & same package which my friends are enjoying. Jan, that's the reason why I ask you if you have any friends with silverling.

Ok for PM, they are charging $3588 for all OTR but my friend actually paid $3388 for MTM WG n Men suit + quite alot of freeies. Generally find the photos ok.

As for Thomson, as do not know Jul 04 real name I can only quote my the other friend who's package is $3588 with MTM WG & EG (cannot remember the details). Personally quite like their 'artwork' type of photos.

Jul 04, who is the lady who servied you huh? I was attended by Michelle and I told her abt your package but she asked me for your name n receipt no but I couldn't give so cannot bargain lor.

Gals, like to check with you all when you guys go down to the bridal shop, beside the package and photo what else does you gals look for huh? I look at the gowns but all look alike to me hehehe. Jialat, I dun even know what kind of gown I like

Morning gals!

Silver, nope dun have friends getting married yet, i'm the first one among them!! Went to the silverlining thread, they suggested that if i'm really interested i should try asking them whether they can still offer me the same promo ie $3288 for the package instead of $3888... Will see how is goes...

Think i'll see roughly the kind of gowns the studio specializes.. For me, i like flowy, soft type or dun mind those with a bit of feathery type of material (think X-zen has those)... So right now, me looking at the package, for design wise, think u can look thru mags and perhaps bring down to studio and see whether they are able to do the same type...

Gdmorn gals!

I'm finally back at work!

Silver, I didn't speak to Michelle at all. The person I was talking to at the fair was actually Guolong, the photographer. I signed the contract with him too. Did u see him at the shop yesterday afternoon? He's young, & bald, quite energetic & chirpy chap.

I signed up in Feb during a fair they had in Taka. Actually, if you read my earlier comments, I didn't wanna sign up w/o doing any homework. But my fiance was quite keen, & the price is really very good, so we signed up on the spot lor. I STILL haven't been to the shop yet! Precious Moments was at the same fair, but they're more expensive than Thomson, & the photos r not so nice (in my opinion).

When you went there, did you see the gowns? I'm quite worried coz I'm also like you, dunno what I like. Everytime my frens ask me whether I like beading or embroidery or bustier or A-line, I just look at them blankly & they shake their heads & laugh. *sigh* How ah?

Jan, at least you already know what kind of gowns you like. Then you're not so lost, & you can straightaway eliminate those shops whose gowns you don't like. Do you know if the new issue of Her World brides is out? Must go & buy a copy soon!

hi mimosa, hafary IS the one closest to the coffee shop leh...... r we tokking abt the same stretch of road?
there's hdb blocks behind this row of tile shops...

HI jul04,

Her world brides still the same issue leh.. Dun worry.. take ur time... I'm sure u'll roughly know wat u want by the time comes!

Wah so shiok, long weekend for u... hehe..

hi wendylee,
checked it out already. approx $4K includes everything except make-up, your own and fh's airfare/ lodgings.

i am thinking of going for an overseas shoot... so trying to sort out the logistics first....

any advice?? Thanks.

Morning GALS!!!
21772.gif

VON: Morning! WOW, wont it cost about $6-8K for the whole stuff? Thats very xpensive for me, unless Im going for those honeymood wedding lah... then I can save on those wedding dinner. Eeee, stuffed yourselves into their cargos... then fly-off!!! In this way, you can save another airfar sum! HAHA, na... just joking! I think its really outa question or neg. for me and my BF... gesh!
21773.gif

But do let me know again when you have your decision made... me wana guage how $ in total you spent... then draft a proposal for my BF... kekeke

Gd morning gals...

Jan,
What's the $3288 package they are offering you? I realised it's all abt how well you can bargain.

Jul 04,
I am just like you - I also dunno what I want. Generally I like whose 'soft' material other then that, dunno liao hehhehe

Seen a few of Thomson's gown but like I said, I also dunno what I like so also dunno what to look out for hehe Paiseh couldn't help you.

Did not see the photographer (even if I saw, I also dunno who) but according to my gf, there are 2 photographer - one more into building and the other more into sea. So see which one you like. And also dun go for their in house make up artist and designer. Feedback no gd. Go for the one they contracted out. If you need, I can check with my gf their names.

Hi Jan,

Aiyah, 3 days of my weekend were spent at the marriage prep course, so actually not long weekend! Looking forward to Vesak Day, but no long weekend, still have to work on Fri & Sat

Hi silver,

Yeah, there are 2 photographers. I think Guolong is into the sea type. Who's the in-hse makeup artist & designer? Maybe u can ask ur gf pls? Let me know who are the gd designers/makeup artist/photographer etc etc. & must know what to look out for!

Btw someone advised me that while it's gd to bargain for gd deal, must be careful not to squeeze too much. Else the shop may also try to cut corners / attitude. She said being nice to them usu helps in them being nice to her. dunno if it's true lor.

hi silver,
From wat i know the package includes:

1) MTM WG (to return)
2) MTM EG (to return)
3) MTM tea dress (to keep)
4) MTM Men suit (to return)
5) 2 hand bouquets
6) car deco
7) accessories
8) 4 times make up and hairdo
9) Photography (indoor & outdoor)

This is the $3888 pacakge (but with promo in Feb it was $3288)....

Yah, gals, have the same query as Jul04.. How should we bargain, in a way that we dont sound too cheapo? hehe... Didn't know for Bridal we can bargain too!

Hi Jul 04,
Ok will check with my gf n let you know. They actually gave her the inhse make up artist for her ROM and she dun like it (find it too chin na) so she complained to her gf who happened to know the boss's wife and they changed the make up artist for her hehe

Jan,
The package offers not bad leh. How many photos? So far you like their service, photos and gowns? Btw, where is silverling?

Gals, anyone of you had your ROM outside? I am trying to find out how to get a JP?

Morning gals!!

Jan, did you check if you need to top-up for other photographers?? cos i remembered Jit told me that we'll need to top-up if we're taking other photographers..... jus take note....

wah, this thread so active...i had a hard time catching up!! guess we're all more excited about the photos and gowns, compared to dinners...

Silver, actually havent visited them yet.. got all these from the sliverlining BTBs.. hehe..
The shop located at Liang Court.. Maybe u wanna go there have a look too and see whether we can actually bargain..
Not sure how many photos.. Think got to go there personally and meet him abt this..

Photos wise can choose, they tie up with a few photogrpaher.. and as for gowns, think his design from wat i saw in mags are mainly low backed.. but of coz i believe u can tell him wat u like...

Service wise, the designer is the owner of the shop and if i'm not wrong, he will attend to u personally... And so far, heard his service very good, nice guy..

Hi Silver,

I'll be having my ROM outside..... intending to get a grassroots leader cos my future FIL knows a few of them..... you can try ROM website, if i remember correctly, they have a list of JP and their contact nos....

Silver, they didnt mention abt the date... so may still be available... dun kan cheong, u sound very excited! hehe...

Hi Jan,

hahaha actually more kan cheong for ever lah cos she been there mah. But again, I am quite concern abt such low price cos where got shop dun make profit one so ve to be aware of the hidden cost and material they use.

Hi ever,
Oh ok. So are we supposed to contact the JP b4 booking the date? Is there a standard procedure?

Silver, which shop are you referring to?? Silverlining?? oh, cos Jit is one-man show.... so not surprised he's not around.... he's also teaching part-time at NAFA.... can email him...

Silver,

U sound really, really excited. If you like the services & price from J&M, you can really consider them.

Actually I didn't want to reveal before, but they took my grad photos. I think they're published in last yr's NUS/NTU advert. So I'm a bit paiseh to go back to them lor.

After discussing all the bridal with u gals... i'm quite excited abt it! But guess right now if i ask my hubby to go, he'll sure make noise, say i'm always so kan cheong!! haha..

ever, think silver referring to J&M...

Oh.... silver, so you're referring to J&M?!?! hahahaha.... blur me!!

wah, the promotion seems cheaper... when i went down last week.... the same package is about $2888.... MTM wedding gown, OTR evening gown and men's suit.... was thinking of signing up with them this weekend... Thanks, silver!!

Jan, if you dont mind, can try J&M... personally, i feel that we're paying a high premium for the "branded" photographers if we sign up with shops like silverlining.... some "all-in-one" shops also hav good designers and photographers...

Hi Von!
Welcome to the thread!
Dry-cleaning of gowns may cost from $30 to $50 bucks. If the embriodery/beading is very delicate...may be more expensive.

Hi wendylee/forest,
I agree! that Model at the AM wedding show is drool-licious! Too bad, my FH did not take much photos of him... ;-P

Btw, was wondering how much does couples usu set aside for wedding expenses? My FH is concerned about the mounting expenses...so am i! Any money-saving techniques?

Maybe someday we can actually meet up to go shopping together! My fiance is quite tired of shopping for gowns already. I'm the kind of person who'll try & try & try till die, then still not satisfied w/ the variety of gowns. And the poor guy gotts sit thru all the trying, & he says everything looks the same. Sigh...

Oops I sound so excited ya hahaha. Well it's a gd offer wat hahaha

Jul 04,
You took graduation photo at J&M? Like their service? Well, I ve never been to J&M but a gf who I know online who is a very satisfied customer of J&M been promoting to me. hehe She is going to her final fitting this Fri so if I ve the time may join her.

Jan,
Go and shop around yourself lah or with your gfs.

Ever,
Oh so you ve decided to sign up with J&M?

Yes ever, will consider J&M too...

Actually, just hope that they can do designs that i want, then i'll be happy already, whether they're branded or not...hehe..

Btw how does J&M work? Do they have a in house designer? Sorry, perhaps u all did mention b4, but we've been talking too many things, now a bit confused!! hehe...

Gd afternoon gals...

Hi von,
Welcome to this thread!

Oh you gals are talking abt the male model at recent AM wedding fair? Wow he is really handsome ya. Tall n sharp features hehehe. Even my bf also admitted he is gd looking