(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
ino, i also want see.......kekeke. can email me too???? thank you very muchie

gals......can i ask u all something?
do you all know if there is any hotel got so called rom pkg, where i can have my solemnisation and after that got lunch or high tea buffet??
and hor.... wld pp give ang pow??? cos hor i was actually thinking just have a simple reception for my spore side.....wont have the dinner...to save costs.....since my m'sia wedding wld definitely cost a bomb!! so for spore side, wld only invite close frens......shld be ard 50 pax...
but scared if pp wont give ang pow....then i lugi like siao!!!

Thanks Jan!

I was at Yvonne Creative yest as I actually had a package wif them signed wif my x couple of yrs back. It's $2988 package which includes the following :

- MTM WG & EG
- Gent's suit OTR, pants MTM to keep
- Tea dress OTR
- Bridal make up (4 items)
- Fresh flower bridal bouquet, corsagel
- Bridal's car + driver
- Car deco
- Indoor & outdoor studio (2 locations)
- 12" x 15" : 15pcs with album
- 20" x 24" portrait photo (can exchange to 4 pcs of 12" x 15" photo)
- 8R table top
- 3R photos : 36pcs (6 poses)
- 5R mini album : 21pcs

Actual day photo taking is $250 + $35 per roll for 4R

We are quite happy with their service and seen their recent photos taken - quite nice too I think it's quite reasonable for MTM WG & EG but my main concern is it comes with 15pcs photo only and no MTM men suit which I ve to top up if I want to.

I ve not seen other bridal shop so would like you gals to comment on this package cos am thinking of whether to go ahead with this package or to forgo it.

Will be going to look around but like to hear you gals opinion.

Hi sagi,
You can try The Oak, Carlton & Merchant Court. I ve email you the package from The Oak, don't ve details for the other 2. From what I understand ROM usually people don't give ang bao leh

Oh noooooo..... seemed that I'm the only one left!!
21643.gif
<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">mee mee</FONT> I think I am the only one not booked yet!!

Smurfy, me not happy lah... just thought that if got pple planning on Feb'04 to customary, and not select venues yet, then i got "kaki" mah.... kekke...

My hubby was asking me if we are going to hv our customary next year or not... jiat luck... How do u gals source for your venue har???
21644.gif

The main problem is of cos a low budget lor.... so dun noe which one to choose...
I also like Condrad... but too expensive liao!!

<U><FONT SIZE="+2">Date &amp; Venue</FONT></U>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">07th - Smurfy (Raffles The Plaza)
15th - Blue Lake(Merchant Court)
21st - Ocean(?), Pageup(Noble Hse)
28th &amp; 1/3- mee mee(Orchard Parade Hotel)</FONT>
Hopefully, i din make any wrongs here...
kekeke..

Antares??? What your date and venue??

hi silver
like that ahh.......

i was also asking my bf if pp wld give ang bao for rom.....he also said most probably not.... but then i told him...wont have the dinner at all liao leh...then invite them to witness our solemnisation ceremony and after that got buffet leh....something like a church wedding to me mah...church wedding give ang bao then this dun have??!!!! sort of funny to me....

it's not like i have my rom in the morning then at nite still got dinner thingy....if this is the case, then ya lar...sure no ang bao...
but my case is, this is it! this is my wedding reception for spore side..... cos m'sia side most probably wont invite much frens at most a few to be my jie mei
so of course i expect ang bao from the guests i invite mah.....kekekek...sort of $ face

Hi Sagi,

You can try Grand Waterfront Copthorne... i think they have smaller rooms for ROM with nice garden feel. Not sure of the minimum pax tho... you can call to ask.

Silver,
normally actual day photography is not included.

mee mee

Ocean,

Better hurry... the earlier you book venue, the more u can bargain for. Actually when we were selecting the venue, we were undecided between M Hotel and Club Chinoir. M Hotel's rates are reasonable and they have a whole floor just for the banquet with a bridal suite that we drool for. But we eventually chose Club Chinoir because we like the food there and were uncertain about M Hotel's food. But go check M Hotel out. You will love the banquet floor and bridal suite. The service is also superb. By far, the most impressive of the hotels we have visited.

mee mee

sagi,
Maybe you ve to tell your guest that it's your wedding rather than just a solemnisation only otherwise I think majority may just get gifts
ROM is a lugi $$ thing hehe

Mee Mee,
Thanks! Any idea roughly how much they charge for actual day photography? Averagely how many rolls need huh?

hi silver,

actual day photography is usually not included. For those bridal shops that tie up with photographers (e.g. Robin, O studio), they will usu advise u to approach the photographers yourself.

As for those bridal shops with in-house photographers, they might have packages that cater to your request.

hi sagi,
your email addy, pls. ;-)

as for ROM, u can try hotels like Hotel Rendevous. I think most hotel can cater for it if you request. For eg, Intercon's price is about $500 for 20 pax (finger food plus usage of function rm). Not too sure whether they do any deco. can check it out wif them. ;-)
Have u considered restaurants? I saw a restaurant at Botanic Gdns called Halia restaurant which have ROM packages. The garden setting there is GORGEOUS! However, it's a bit on the steep side ie. $35+++ for lunch...not within my budget.

As for Angpow, i have friends who give ang pao/presents when they attend ROM function...you can't possibly go empty-handed if food is being provided, yeah?

hi ino
my email addy [email protected]

i see, orh....like that i must request for ang bao and not presents....ahahhaa.... thick skinned sia...

hi mee mee
thanks for ur suggestion!

hi silver
ya, i guess i gotta tell them that it wld be my wedding reception lor....so must come prepared with ang baos one.....hahahaaaa

Hi Ino,
Ok thanks.

People won't go empty handed lah but may buy gifts instead of ang bao.

Hi Sagi,
Ya it's gd to get them prepared
Actually for close friends, you can tell them straight, they can understand one lah

Hi silver,

Yeah, i think yvonne's creative package is quite good esp with bridal car &amp; driver!!
But i think if ur FH doesn't mind abt the OTR suit then u can save on that... if not then perhaps u can ask them if to do MTM men suit, how much to top up?

I'm not too sure abt how the other bridal packages are like with the photos part...
Their actual day photography also can reasonably priced!!
Can consider this!

Ok, let us know when u recky other bridals!! Thanks too!!

silver,

just read from the 2004 wedding thread that u're afraid of ur guests giving gifts instead of ang pows.. Well today i saw one invitation card, it was designed by the couple themselves and they have this printed at the bottom of the card..."cash gifts are preferred" ... good right? Maybe u can print something let this in the card!! haha...

Hi Jan,
The top up for men suit MTM is $280 and if change the 15"x12" album to 10"x12" they will give 21pcs photo.

Not me scare ppl give gifts lah but it's sagi cos she will b having her solemnization + buffet but usually ROM ppl dun give ang bao mah. Hey that's a gd one huh. Shd put that in hehehe

Hi Lin,
Wow didn't know RM is losting $$. But actually not surprised too cos it's really not easy to maintain a club like this. Lin, you may want to keep a lookout on their performance if you planning to ve urs there.

Gals, like to check with you - for your wedding expenses, does ur FH pay everything or you guys do spilt?

hi Sagi, many hotels do that : carlton, grand corpthorne, rasa sentosa, beaufort, Conrad, Pan pac, orchard hotel, shangri la, goodwood park......
good luck!
if u like it to be like church wedding, grand corthorne is good idea coz they have a room called Paradiso, a chapel-like function room.

dun worry lah most will give ang bao, just make sure u say that food is provided....in the invitation card or by mouth...

Hi silver,

your package from Yvonne Creative seems not bad... one of my friends actually developed two albums with them cos the wife simply loved the photos!! hahaha........

and gals, me juz visited J&amp;M today.... the actual photography was not included in the std package leh... but they are quite flexible in their packages and allow you to exchange unecessary items for extra photos....

Their $2888 std package includes:
- MTM wedding gown
- OTR evening gown
- OTR men's suit
- car + driver + deco
- 4 make-up sessions
- flowers for photoshoot &amp; actual day
- corsages for actual day
- 18 pcs of 15R photos (in album)
- 3R photos (can't remember how many...)
- portrait
- free montage (9 small pics in a frame)
- $188 voucher (can be exchanged for 3 photos)

For their $3688 package, the evening gown is MTM, men's suit MTM (to keep), 8R table top, add'l 6 15R photos and OTR tea dress.

Every add'l photo is $75 and the actual photography is about $580 for 8 rolls, i think...

think that's about it... their photos are not bad, and the staff are quite friendly too!! not pushy at all....

sigh... now confused again.... choosing between GHA and J&amp;M.... guess i really need to make a choice and stop shopping for bridal packages!!

Hello binbin,

Have u found your furniture? U went to which shop at Balestier? I bought the tiles from Balestier too! Which shop? How abt the furniture? I think there is this shop called Banyan Tree Gallery at Bukit Timah, but I've not been there. If u want to go Dempsey Road to source for furniture, I can recommend u a shop which is reasonably priced.

cin_p, wendylee,

OK lor, so far still quite ok with the cleaning. We are not at home most times, so keep the windows closed. If we are at home then we sure vacuum the place and mop floor. If in the rooms, we usually on air-con, so not too dusty.

The custom-made furniture is indeed more ex than off-the-shelf ones. But custom-made u can have your own design and it can match the theme and layout of the flat better, so it comes with a price lor. A dining table for 6 would cost around 3K+. This is definitely more ex than what u see at furniture shops outside. But cannot compare apple to apple, coz u are paying for the design, material and labour, coz the furniture are sometimes hand-crafted.

hello!!

ever, think by just hearing from u gals i confused by which bridal to choose already!!

Btw, do u gals know whether during photo shoots, do we wear our own WG &amp; EG or do we have to pay additional to rent their gowns?? coz heard some dont actually wear their own gowns during photo shoots..

sagi, make it known as ur wedding.. give them an invite, attached an ang bao inside.. i'm sure they'll get wat you mean...

silver,
yeah, i will keep a lookout. And i also just found out that carlton hotel solemnization package is cheaper than rm by 100++ ?! Quite surprise leh..and carlton seem to give out more freebies. hmm.. now me confused already. I never been to rm yet..so hmm, when i go there, will know how it look like.

silver, normally nowadays couples split. At least, help FH a bitlah..modern already. But for my case, FH paying everything from A-Z coz i not working yet.

silver,
do you have the occ dinner packages / prices? i tried to request a proposal on their website..doesn't seem to work. email..there are so many of them..dunno who to send. is there any means of communication besides calling them.

Jan,
normally, we can wear our own WG &amp; EG for ps unless it's ready in time. And in addition, other bridal selection of clothes for ps too such as outdoor WG.

ever,
i'm with GHA.

INO: Hello, thanks for your fotos link! At 1st I tot who was it... later then read properly I suspected someone from the list of ppl here lor... HAHA, I assume that you are seated somewhere near me leh... koaz, cos your fotos view seems over at my seating view wor...!

SAGI: Hi!!! Hey, tell you something... you have to indicate to your friends in Sin that you wont be holding wedding dinner in Sin ONLY ROM reception. So they will give ang-baos during the reception. As I wanted to invite almost all my friends for ROM reception and my BF told me if you having your dinner too, they wont give you ang bao so you still lugi over the reception side lah... so my friends suggested that my ROM make it not so BIG then wedding dinner they will still give ang bao lor. The my friends say if I have say in advance that no wedding dinner, they will give BIG ang bao for ROM reception lah... but last/later date, if intend to have wedding dinner then they most propably wont give ang bao again... so you consider properly bah... Hope this helps!

MIMOSA: Thanks for your info... dun think got so much $$$ to renovate until like SPA look... hahaha, simple one Im contented... LOL

hi wendylee,
paiseh...indicated my real name instead...shld sign off with my nick. ;-)

How do u find X-Zen gowns? I "beoing" one of their cream coloured EG with high high slit. ;-)
Went to Daniel Yam's boutique yesterday. They have limited edition gowns...quite nice...now spoilt for choice on EG...dun noe whether to buy off-the-rack or MTM. Me very fickle hor??

Hi sagi,
have sent u the link already.
;-)

Hi gals...

ever,
You are fast ya! Actually wanted to go down to J&amp;M yest but my appt ended late so never. Err.. the package v diff from the other gal who signed up. Hers is $3300 MTM WG, EG, men suit and actual day photography somemore. Hmm... But how's the photo and gown? Not 'chin nan' type rite? hehe

My gf also told me YC not bad but my YC package 15pcs 15R only leh so most likely ve to top up alot? Alternative I can change to 10R - 21pcs.

Jan,
Not only you blur, I also blur hehehe

Lin,
Carlton seems like very popular for their solemnization package. It's in or outdoor? Email you OCC package liao. Btw, how much and what does your GHA package consist of?

Gals, usually the bridal package comes with 15R or 10R huh? Wondering is 10R enough? And does you gals usually ve mini album or change it to bigger photo?

hi hi!!

Seems like everyone has started their bridal search except for me!! Still relaxing!! hehe...

hmm.. silver, think i can't help u regarding the photos.. dunno abt that... am now very blur!!

hi Lin, thanks for ur reply.. When's ur wedding?

hi cc2, mine makeup artist is daniel.
we didn't like david lim lee, dun appear to be sincere, and gives so much comments about my sunflower bouquet (told him abt it) and abt how he thinks rom is THE wedding. As IF we asked for his comments! hehehhehhee..... sollie lah me a bit biased liao.

Mimosa, we bought from Hafary. What about you?

Hi binbin,

tks ah.. i remember u saying that u meet both and don't like one of them but can't remember which one was it.

Can I take a look at ur ROM pictures? Can send to [email protected]

Me now sourcing for makeup artist.

CC2

hi Ivory,
I also dun know if Nick is "branded" but it seems to me that quite a lot of pple are using or talking abt him so I think he shld be quite a popular or "branded" photographer lor.

So u using him as your actual day photographer too? How much he charge? That time I went to Chris Ling's website, then I saw that he charges $5K for actual day photography, I almost fainted!.:P More than enough for a full bridal package...But his reviews all very good leh..

your friend very good leh... make up for you.

does anybody know what is the standard rate of actual day photographer? Or there is no standard rate? .. pai seh.. me up to now, everything still blur blur...

silver,
thanks for the occ quotation.
The carlton seem like an indoor. But i think they can give you the poolside too as a complimentary usage. I've already email them asking for quotation and different packages. Waiting for their reply....

my GHA package cost $3388. i signed at a bridal fair. my photos are 15R (big album)and also a mini album which is of the same photos as the 15R. i also get MTM WG, MTM EG etc.

hi Jan,
oh..my wedding in april 2004. hehhe..but i come to this thread to find silver..heheh.

Sorry I've been MIA-ing for a few days. I was actually at this marriage prep course called Engage Encounter from Fri till today. Wow! So much to catch up on.

Silver, did u ask me abt my package including actual day photography? I can opt to pay $500 bucks for 8 rolls of film. Forgot how much to top up for each additional roll tho. If I'm not mistaken, most non-ex bridals charge ard that px.

Ever - My future SIL had J&amp;M as her bridal. She's quite pleased w/ their svc. According to her, they may not be 'branded', but they treated her very well. As for why I didn't sign up with them, well, it's a long story. But essentially, I signed up impulsively at a fair.

Hey Jan, no need to be worried. I just started my preps too. It's how fast you get things done that matters. For some gals, they already have a dream gown in mind, so that simplifies the process. For me, I think I have to try evry gown in the shop b4 I decide what I like, so I need more lead time! My fiance always says I'm frivolous!

Hi Lin,

Is ur wedding in Jul next yr too?

Hi Jul 04,
Welcome back! $500 for actual day is very reasonable. Btw, you paid $3088 for your package rite? It comes with how many pcs of photo huh? 15R?

Hi silver,

Wah, you're very hardcore forum addict! So late still posting? (my excuse is that I have many things on my mind so can't sleep *haha*)

Yeah, I think unless you're into the 'branded' photographers / bridals, costs can still be kept in check. $500 is quite cheap, helps me to save some money for a better aircon!

Actually my package is $2688 coz I opted for OTR. But if I wanna convert both my gowns to MTM, then it's additional $500. I got 26 pcs of 15R photos.

Morning gals!!

Hi jul04 &amp; silver, wow, u gals stay up late huh? hehe.. me already fast asleep!

hi Lin, no prob! u can join us here too!

Hi ever, i just found out that for silverlining package is $3888 without promotion so i guess unless they have promo then i'll consider them if not then think it's off my budget... sighs..

Have something to share, my SIL went to a wedding at Grand Shanghai restaurant, she said ambience and decor is very good but food is not so good.. But the interesting thing is the couple had the ancient chinese theme, the bride actually wore a red kua and her hubby wore those "skirt" men's gown with the red ribbon across his chest... (Hope u gals know wat i talking abt!!) The "sisters" wore cheongsum.. she said was a very interesting event as they made the whole thingy very fun!! Sounds fun rite!! hehe... Well, just to share a story lah..
Are u gals doing any special theme for ur wedding? or just the norm?
I think most prob i'll just stick to the norm! hehe..

Hi Blue Lake,

I love Kai too but its really too expensive loh. Then I decided i got to give and take cos we really cannot afford to spend too much. We'll spend more on somethings and less on others
. Glad you make a good choice. BTW, who is your photographer then?

Ocean ah,

When choosing the venue, I look at budget first, location (for accesibility), min and max allowed in the ballroom, service of your coordinator. I'll send emails to the hotels that I am interested to ask for a quotation, then I will call up those hotels tat I am interested to ask if the date is still available, if yes, make a tentatively booking and ask to see the wedding setup. Must start sourcing liao , good luck to you ;)

Gd morning gals,

Jul 04,
Wow you are so late too ya
Generally I am quite a late nite person. Your package sound very reasonable leh. Did you sign up during any fair or promotion? Btw, where is Thomson bridal located?

Jan,
The wedding very unique ya? Actually I like kua but dun 'match' my outdoor wedding
As for theme, I guess it depends on individual and whether you want to pay more for it or not hor. As for me, I think it would be nice to ve more flower as decor.

Btw, silverlining so x meh? Hmm....

Lin,
So ve you shortlisted any?

How you choose the date for your wedding?
I mean,we don't have 2004 calendar where we know the do's and don'ts for that particular day.
Need advice.

Wow wow, what a stream of postings... It feels like ages since I last came in... *Sigh* so much happened during the past weeks

Anyway... Gals, I'll be bringing forward my wedding customary to June / July 2004. ROM remain unchanged. A little headache here as the Tong Shu for 2004 is not available as yet. Will have to consult a Geomancer with our details. You gals any recommendation for a reliable and good Geomancer? Any encounter with Global Feng Shui Group or Lynn something???

Harlo to those I never spoke with before ...

antares, some actual day photographer charge like $350 service charge then per roll is between $35-$50... i've engaged andrew tay from the edge. he's charging $950 with 7 rolls, a mixture of color &amp; b/w.

hi abc, you can try a 'shifu' to calculate for you. i paid $100 for it. if you need the contact let me know... if not, you probably have to wait til ard aug for the new tong shu. unless you're not pangtang, then choose a meaning date, like anniversary... hope this helps

INO: Thanks ya... me actually tot you are another brides in the forum... LOL!

ANTARES: Hi, eee... he oftens email us about his photography package thou... as I think he sees new 'nicks' and he will advertise... he's watching the forum wor... and he forgoten that I have changed new nick so he sent me again... HAIZ, mayb cheaper then can consider... HAHA! But paying $5K for photography... my BF will kills me!!!
21696.gif

Gd morning ladies....

abc,
Actually it depends whether you and your family 'pan tan' or not. Some go according to tong shui otherwise can be a date that is meaningful to you guys.

antares,
Yvonne Creative charging $250 for service charge and $35 per roll for 4R. Understand if you going for more well known one will be more expensive.

INO: Paisei hor... forgot to answer you! Eee, me dun really like their gowns lor... mayb only alittle few... rrrm, then feathery ones? Ya, the one you said oso not bad... you oso can go CKTangs and see their dresses... not bad too! Cheers!
21698.gif

hi ino,
wow... u're a babe!! thanks so much for the efforts!!!

wah.. looks nice leh.. n HAHAH.. u know the ang-moh looking guy model??? I went to 4 bridal shows n he modelled for 3!!! Seems like he quite popular for bridal shows leh!!

Mee mee, I read about the really cool bridal suite in M hotel. Got Plasma tv and jucuzzi. Try to stay and enjoy for at least 2 nights.

Ocean, like other gals, we also look into our budget, the number of people we intend to invite and the hotel/resturant reputation on the quality of food before shortlisting. You can also refer to the comments in the forum to help you to shortlist further. It is better that you visit the shortlisted hotels and resturants before making decision.

Anyone got recommendation for cheap and good photographer and videographer?

Pageup

INO &amp; FOREST: Yesh, even my BF also say he very MAN wor.... slurp slurp!!! But he dun seems to have many pose leh... very woody block! Then my BF kept commenting that he should placed his hands in his pockets, this and that... blablabla, the list goes on... and one of the suits he wore the length is one long one short!!! LOL
21701.gif

Thanks for all the advice.
I'm not very "pangtang" but heard alot of ppl went to calculate their birthdate.
Not sure should I go and calculate ornot. You know lah,kiasu wat...kekeke...