(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
I din know there is a Feb 04 thread. I am in 2004 wedding thread all the while. Just realised got this thread. So 1 more thread for me to come in and kepo.:P I will be a Feb 04 bride too..

Can I join u girls?

Hi gals!!

ever: Really hope that Mandarin will be good *cross fingers*, the package is very good, just that there're pillars in the ballroom... Yup, will be signing the contract this weekend!

For bridal package wise, i'm quite interested in Flamingo or may consider silverlining.. What do u think of this two since u've visited them..? Me lazy to visit many bridal studios so will shortlist 2 only i guess... Btw, do u know the how much the package is for silverlining?

Silver: Hmm... i think for this case they will hold the tentative booking for u as long as no one else wants the same date too!
Oh, how abt invitation cards? Do they have that? If not, yes, ask for free flow beer, otherwise ur package sounds quite comprehensive!

Jan,
Wedding invitation cards for up to 70% of your confirmed attendance. Is this the norm? Err.. so we have to buy the balance 30% from them?

Flamingo and silverlining seems pretty popular huh? Ever, maybe you can share with us your findings...

Hello Silver,

really envy you!! wanted to have a outdoor wedding too!! so romantic... too bad i hav "traditional" parents... like to invite lots of people and hav "sit-down" dinner!! but then again, i think me and my bf will perspire like mad!!

ya, holding at the Grand Ballroom, but havent make tentative booking yet... hopefully, its not as popular as some hotels!! I heard Grand Copthorne Waterfront have bookings for Nov & Dec 2004!!!

me liked the designs of Divine Couture when i attended the Style Wedding Bridal Bash!! too bad, its out of budget for me....

silver: Oh 70% should be enough, coz dun forget for families, we just got to give one card... I've also got 70% for cards.. think it's quite safe.
Ya, then u try asking for more parking coupons...

ever: Yes, also heard that ppl have already made bookings for end of next year!!
Yeah, didn't even look at Divine, coz budget out for me too! Think i'll want to keep within $3600...

Hi ever,
No need to envy lah. I am taking a very big risk actually - what if it rain? and also people tends to think outdoor is cheaper so may lugi alot so quite worried lor

Hi Jan,
Oh ya forgotten family only needs one card hehehe

Anyone seen Jazreel Low package? Understand fm a gf online that theirs $3888 (if I did not remember wrongly) and comes with MTM WG, EG and Men suit? I always thought hers would be very X

Ok gals, personally i feel that Silverlining is good... the designer, Jit, is very friendly and i read from some of the threads that he's very accomodating (ie, he doesnt force you to take designs that you dont like). Actually, i'm deciding between Silverlining and GHA. As his shop is relatively new, his packages are reasonably priced. The quote i hav from him is as follows (however, this is for Feb promotion so may hav slight price increase):-

$3388
-MTM wedding gown (loan); MTM evening gown (loan); MTM tea dress (to keep)
-MTM men's suit (think on loan)
-2 bouquets; a few corsages
-4 make-up sessions
-car deco
-basic photography package (think by Leonard)
-may need to pay a premium for other photographers, like Chris Ling; Andrew Tay (The Edge), etc...

But i think he's signature style is more of flowing; organza kind.....

As for flamingo... really lots of good comments about her, but i feel that she's always very busy... went to hav a short discussion with her, but waited for at least half an hour after i finished viewing all the photo albums!! and my frens helped me with the trying of gowns cos she really hav lots of customers!! and i made appt with her.... I'm not angry with her lah, jus that i'm worried i wouldnt get the necessary attention... i really want my designer to work well with me!! and her packages are more expensive than Silverlining and Dang... Personally, i prefer Dang to Flamingo.... maybe cos she's good at designing duchess satin gowns...

gosh!! typed so much, but not sure if i answered all yr qns... you gals juz ask me stuff that you would like to know, k?? i'll try to recall... heehee.....

actually, its good to pay a visit to the shops to discuss the details and try out the gowns... and Jan, its ok to shortlist only two... if not will end up like me... confused!! heeheehee...

Wow, so much activity after lunch!

Hi ever, welcome
Looks like Jan & silver have answered most of your questions already. Do share w/ us your comments on the bridal shops you've visited. Need some tips over here!

silver - I think $3888 is still ex. Mine will be $3088 for MTM. I think must save as much money as possible, coz got flat reno & wedding all at the same time. Must budget!

Jan, where is Divine?

Wow, this thread is like moving like MRT train!!

Anyway, i have finally put down a deposit for GCW and fortunately my sale coordinator even allows me to negoitate additional freebies tat i want

Not sure if i told you all before that i dun have a free food tasting? Yeap, finally i got it!

Jul 04,
Which bridal did you book? Ya I am thinking not to spend too much on bridal too.... Dun mind to share wif us your package?

Hi silver,

Sure, my package includes all that Silverlining has, except the tea dress. Also includes the bridal car as well. I booked w/ Thomson Wedding Design, but I haven't chance to do much abt the gowns. You see, I was soo.. busy w/ the hotel. I really wanted 4 Jul, so it's really impt that I get the place that I wanted lor. If u really find 18 Jul v meanigful to you, i'd really advise u to bk quickly. It's v stressful to be put on waiting list.

Can anyone advise me how to go abt deciding my gowns? I have no idea what suits me, & also dunno what I like. I know it sound weird, but since I've never worn a gown b4, it's quite 'traumatising'!

Hi Jul 04!! agree that $3888 is expensive, cos that's the normal prices charged by bridal shops which tie up with more well-known photographers, like compass photographers etc. I think Jazreel Low's packages are for in-house photographers, rite??

Jan, think $3600 is ok, but if that includes developing extra photos, then must be careful.. cos most packages include 18 -22 photos (to be made into an album) but usually, we tends to develop more.... and each photo can cost about $50-$100, depending on size and the shop....

that's why me thinking of taking GHA... $3388 also, but larger photos + car.... those photographers that the bridal shops tie up with usually give 8R photos in the standard package.. really small and need to spend extra to enlarge to 10R or 15R.... GHA give 15R photos... everything else is about the same, maybe a few more gowns for photoshoot...

Jul 04, which shop did you sign up with??

hello gals!

Jul04: Divine is located at Mandarin hotel..

i think the silverlining price is still ok, considering MTM package and somemore with tea dress... I know for Flamingo got to top up maybe $300 for tea dress. So if i take flamingo, think i'll buy a tea dress outside.. Hmm... but guess got to go down and visit them to see who u're more comfortable with!

ever: for silverlining, how is Leonard photography?? I prefer those natural style and how's their make up? I prefer natural make up too! dun wanna end up like some wayang actress!! haha... And if wanna use The Edge, how much to top up?? Thanks a lot!!!

Jul 04,
Hey your package sound gd! Did you bk during any bridal fair? I ve a gf who bk hers at Thomson too n last sat I saw her photo (she took down while trying her WG) very nice leh but she said she dun really like her EG. Well that's individual I guess.

May I ask usually the package comes with what size and how many photos?

Oh Jul 04, I ve make tentatively booking wif RSYC...

Jan,

i think Leonard is from Wizard of Oz... not sure leh... me go home and check for you... if The Edge, i think about $300.... actually, me decided on The Edge initially!!! liked his outdoor shots very much!! but my fren commented that his indoor shots not very nice... very dark background, as if the lighting were not properly fixed up... and i saw a few of his albums with the same kind of indoor shots!! disappointing....

Jul 2004,

maybe you can read up bridal magazines and cut out those designs that you like?? then show yr designer and he/she can advise you if they're suitable for you.... he/she shld also let you try OTR gowns so that you hav a feel of which kind/type you like... try as many as possible since you dont hav fixed idea of yr ideal wedding gown... hahahaha... that's my plan!!

Thanks ever! ok, i'll do some research on wizard of oz.. see whether they're good or not... hehe.. But if standard photo package is only 18-22 photos, that's like very little!! Ha.. got a crazy idea, thinking of bringing own camera!!! haha... But i'll try not to exceed what's in the package, otherwise will be very ex!

Yup, shld read mag for more ideas! Actually personally i like flamingo's designs but silverlining package seems to be more worth it...

hi hi ivory! 142 is quite substantial ...hehhehee..... actuali up to u lah, u wanna share unselected ones or selected 100?

hi binbin

actually i dun mind sharing all
i'll start a new thread at the photo sharing thread then
those who like to see the ugly bride can show their hands over there

IVORY: Mayb you also can post your link over here easier? Then for those other brides-to-be then they reach you in another link bah? Eeeee...

Hi ever,

I'm with Thomson Wedding Design. Yeah, more famous photographers are definitely more ex. Plus the phots given are smaller. I guess I gotta go & buy some bridal mags to read. Mainly Her World & Female right?

Jan - Are Flamingo's designs really so nice? Who's shirley? The owner? I think maybe I shd go to Flamingo & Divine to take a look, & maybe they'll let me try some gowns too. *haha*

Hi silver,

I heard a lot of comments that EG is very hard to find. WG is much easier, dunno how true it is. Did your fren take OTR or MTM package? Mine comes with 26 pcs of 15R.

hi jul04,

for flamingo, guess it's subjective too... They're more girlish, sweet, soft, flowy type... hehe.. think not all girls like that!

Yup, her world, female and also there's a new brides mag called Stle Mag.. the current issue not bad...

Jul 04,
Ve not started looking around so no idea. My gf is MTM for both WG & EG. Btw, did you sign up your during any fairs?

Oh no no silver think u've mistaken, Style mag is the latest Bridal Magazine! it's like her world magazine.. sorry for any confusion!!

Hi Silver,

My colleague is ex oriental staff, she told me that the Oriental pool side is nice but it is built in a funny shape that the guests at the side are unable to have a proper of the stage ... She mentioned that the chinese food is good but international buffet is so -so only
... overall rating : 8/10 (chinese food) 6.5/10 (International food)

Pan Pac food is good but portion small so please tell your bqt manager that you would want a bigger portion for all dishes. overall rating : 8/10 (Chinese food)

Amara - Still getting insider info from my friend.

Seriously, i think if you want to have a poolside wedding and you do not want to rent a back up function room, MM is a good choice. Otherwise, I heard from my ex colleague that oriental is not charging for back up function room as well.

Yes
21583.gif
, of cos!!
21584.gif

I hope to know and share the experiences that all of you had while planning for our wedding on the same month!!
Maybe also can remind each other what we may forget!! Kekkee...

<FONT COLOR="119911">pageup</FONT>, you selected your Venue liao??? You see, now i still have not confirmed my venue yet...
21585.gif
er... anyone also in the same shoes with me!!
Maybe we can panic together!!???
21586.gif

hi doreamon,
no worries abt the mix-up...
but.. i also dunno who u can contact at MC leh.. cos' its my coll who had his ROM there... n with guys.. as usual, they dun rem the details!! really ah.. she's so rude?? call to talk to banquet mgr lor.. they shd b better... jus a suggestion...

hey ivory!
gd gd... saw ur link.. but can only view it tomorrow lah... goin hm now........ but gd job wendylee n silver *cheeky cheeky ah*

Ivory,
Oops! But you 2 quite alike ya?

mango cheese cake,
THANK YOU!! Wow thanks so much for your valuable feedback.

Err.. cannot remember whether Oriental poolside allows chinese food or not. Ve not visited Oriental and Pan Pac poolside. MM max 160 only but I ve ard 180-200 guests

So far like RSYC most but like to take a look a few more b4 committing.

hi galz...

jus fyi.. saw an article today on the new paper.. seems tt raffles marina is in debt... for those considering RM.. might need to take note...

hi forest,
can't seem to send the pix to u. Is your mailbox full? i got the failure delivery message.

hi silver,
i'm wif everbliss at marina sq.

hi ivory,
Congrats on being elevated to a Mrs!
Finally finished looking at your ROM pix...can't help but notice abt yr nice nails!!

ohmigoodness...i din noe they put a barricade at the ROM premise...quite intimidating...i was wondering wat will happen if either the bride / groom have fever...they hv to get married on another day?

hi Ivory,
just saw your pic..U very pretty leh..hee..

Btw, I like your hair accessory (dun know what it is called). Is it the one that you said you asked your friends to do for you?
So you also engage Nick as your photographer. same as binbin lor. How much does he charged har? He is also a "branded" photographer right?

hi wendylee and silver,
thanks to u 2 har..:P
so we got see ivory's photo..

Tomorrow is friday..yeah..

hi Ivory
saw your pic. Very well done and you look pretty. My friend also engage nick goh for her Rom photos. Hm.. he is good in capturing the "moment" shoots!
I think he also do actual day photographer.. you might want to consider too

Thanks wendylee and silver..

Yippie.. friday tomolo!

aiyo... Ocean... u sound very happy for not confirming your venue leh. haha.

i only went to Merchant Court then sign liao. i never go and look look see see other hotels. i'm too lazy. haha. and the hotel "select" my wedding date for me. =(
dun have the date we wanted... so anything lah. =P
hope it's a right choice....

think u must hurry and decide. wat are the venues u have on mind?

i heard ppl say tat we must confirm the place first before we sign wedding package.

i just signed my wedding package last week. keke. very happy... looking forward for my next appointment in june.

forest, paiseh lah... renew your vows on that day again lor.. haha...

ivory, you must have enjoy yourself.. jacuzzi shiok rite.. saw your pics.. hey, you smile more radiantly after the ceremony leh... you like nervous b4 tat... did you miss your line? =) noticed tat nick actually add in wordings to your pics... a nice touch.

thx to wendylee &amp; silver... "tuo ni men de fu"

pauline, so good tat you have the food tasting... =( i dun have leh... how many tables did you have? how much deposit did you pay?

Hi Ivory,

Saw your beautiful ROM photos liao...thanks for sharing with us.
I like your hair accessory too!

Hi forest,

I will try to call up again and asked for the cafe manager. The banquet manager told me they are not in charge for the cafe.

Hi BinBin,
called up carol and she got back to me with the Hi-tea menu and buffet menu plus all the complimentary items throw in. Very attractive and she is indeed a very nice lady. Will try to arrange with her to meet up next week
If the MC's package as comprehensive as Carol's, the chance is very high for me to book the Oaks too.

Morning gals!!

Jan, sorry for the mistake... went home and checked... think the photographer is Lionel from Ace Pix... heeheehee... not "Leonard" nor "Wizard of Oz".... so sorry... "pai seh"....

Ya, the Style Wedding mag is not bad... or can try some foreign bridal magazines... they're usually thicker (so more pics!!) but quite exp loh....

Morning!!

Ok thanks ever... hmm never heard of Ace Pix, so not sure whether they're good... haha... think u visited too many bridal until confused!! hehee...

Hi Ocean,

pageup had already book venue at Noble house liao, so only left yourself to panic. So you better hurry and grab the venue that you want.. You can try Amara which I think is quite a nice place. But if you have a high budget (which I wish I do), do choose Conrad ..heheee... that's my dream wedding venue :P

Hi Blue Lake,
Good for you you. Merchant Court is located beside a new MRT station, so your guests will have easy access next year
. MC also requires a min of 38 tables, too high for me so I didn't choose it.