(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
pebbles, as long as you are ok with the package.. then it shd be fine.. safe anot depend where you gog? definitely not hong kong or china. mal & thailand shd be ok. to me, so long dun have to wear mask.. spoil the mood. if not, book a room at sentosa, stay for few nites lor. hey, i like your garden thingy leh... tat's my dream.. but too bad lor.. take more pic hor.. then share with us ok..

forest, i'm fine with 1 or 2 gowns. i'm more particular abt the setting/background. given tat i wear 5 different gowns but same background... i might only choose one for the ablum. up to you lah ;p hey, you very gan cheong leh... date not fix, yet you're toking abt 1st anniversary.. haha... ooi, now they'll say yes to everything.. after married, sure complain no $$ lah...

Forest,
hahah...i hope i can do up a nice and presentable decor..ahaha...later turn out like a big jungle..then faint ah all my guest...
for me, i think will most likely to take the rom date as the anniversary or better still, celebrate twice lor, got excuse to get more present mah..ahahah

Cyn,
yeah was thinking of going to m'sa ah,should be ok lah hor, maybe bintan would be good..
somewhere near, just scared there got SARS but they didn't report ah..ahah..
me will sure take lots of pics to share with u all one lah but then hor dun expect too much cos it's nothing much one lah...everything is DIY how nice and romantic it can get

hi doreamon,
heard tt merchant court also have a ROM lunch pkg or something... my coll did his there.. cost abt 20 something +++... n got special for the couple.. cant exactly rem.. but think its foc for couple or something else... .....

cin_p,
hmm... true true.. most impt is the effect n quality of photos... nobody will notice how many gowns i change also lah!!
ya lor.. hahah... gan cheong hor.. but cos' there's so many ppl here who's doing outdoor/garden thingy.. n i always wanted to do it too (*envy*).. jus tt its not possible for my dinner.. so, must think of some other event for myself lor!!! hahaha

pebbles,
can one... can one!! can do nice nice urself also!! esp, since its ur ROM event.. u will def put heart n soul into it... sure nice one!

hmmm.. think bintan is alrite lah.. there governed by singapore govt.. so, shd b alrite.. actually 2 wks back.. heard there's promo by banyan tree.. dunno whether its still avail.. huge discounts.. go check it out!! otherwise, mayang sari w beach view chalet is nice too!

hahah.. take both dates ah.. like tt got ROM anniversary, customary anniversary, and dating anniversary!!! hahah... 3 gifts in a yr!!! not to mention birthday, christmas, v day.....

Hi Ocean,

My date is 7 Feb

If you had fixed a date you better quickly find a venue, what do you have in mind? Restaurant or hotel ballroom? lunch or dinner? Budget? Time is short...

I had a hard time fixing the date and looking for a venue. Part of the cause is because of my MIL and finance. Sometimes I think "hey, this is my wedding, ok, can't I do it my way????"

ai ya, hopefully all things will go smoothly from now onwards..

Hi sagi,
My exclassmate's mum is a seamstress at Bukit Timah shopping, and a few of my exclassmates had done their gowns, ROM gowns and EG there. She told me it's charged by the fabric and material used. So if i want, i can just bring down the design from magazine, then go discuss with her abt it. I think a MTM EG cost abt $200 (or less, not very sure yet).

hi ocean and smurfy,

we tentively fix our date on 21/2/04, same as ocean.

We hope there won't be any change

Book everbliss bridal and noblehouse restaurant.
er.. what's next?

Ocean, don't worry about all the bad comments. Just do your homework well before going for appointment.
My friends also advise me not to have any expectation on these bridal studios, so that we won't feel any disappointment.

hahah, the thread is moving too fast..very hard to catch up already... work has been busy for me...so seldom log on the net...

Now is 6pm.. will go back home first and will con't with this thread! eyes blur blur***

Will chat with you gals later k!

Mango Cheese Cake

pebbles,
Got your email. Thanks for compiling.

sagi,
I think the min no for Amara can be neg cos last fri when I went to see the poolside wedding at Amara, it's definately less than 200.

Jan,
Based on my sis's wedding, I think my dad did not take the table lor. Thx for reminding me this, I better check with my sis hehe

hi doreamon,
u doing your degree in part time ah? Must be very siong right? Chem Eng. enjoyable?! *faint* guess u must be real smart
I got friend who studied chem. eng always said very stress. U in NUS ah. Me too.
So u intend to do your master in NUS too?
Doing M.Sc or M.Eng leh?..But sometimes these courses are pretty siong leh... Seems like my posting got a lot of questions for you..:P

Hi BinBin,

U can try Dempsey Road, I had my furnitures custom-made there. They specialised in teak wood furniture. Very Balinese, u sure like it!

I used slates and pebbles for my entrance, also got one water feature and indoor plants. Sandstone is porous, so would deteriorate very fast.

Overall, I spent around 80K for my house, excluding a bed and dining which I haven't bought. Bishan is slightly more ex compared to other areas, but I think that's the price to pay for good location lor.

Jan & Jul 04,

Hey like to check with you gals - usually we are allowed to make tentatively booking rite? How long does the hotels allow the tentative booking? And do you gals negotiate for the package b4 and after the tentative booking?

Thanks ya!

hi hi Mimosa.
we went today to a recommended tile shop in balestier, saw a lot of beautriful tiles there! we have decided on our entrance tiles liao. it'll be a sandstone look alike homogeneous tile!!! So can achieve the look but wun be porous loh! hhehe.... will still be using sandstone for one porous wall...

wendylee, for reno and tiling, we shld be spending abt $40k excluding lighting and aircon...

pink, me curious hor...u said panpac bit steep, and recommended conrad and raffles the plaza. from what i remembered last time, pan pac's price is lower than that for the above two hotels leh..... or has there been some revision....

pebbles, you DIY leh.. of cos it beautiful.. ur thought & effect will bring out the beauty one.. no worry, no one will faint... scarly you too excited, you faint leh.. haha.. hey, jus read the paper.. seems like you need a doc certified letter to travel to mal. for thailand, you need to see doc every 3 days.. very ma fan arh... bintan shd be ok, i guess.

forest, your ROM can do the garden thingy mah.. my ROM & customary together... u know hor i ever wan to bring 4ward my ROM so i can have the garden affair leh.. crazy one lah.. & more anniversary to collect present leh.. haha..

questy, i think $200 is quite reasonable.. can give it a try if you can trust her. you can always go ala carte.. engage whoever you're comfortable with.. could cost you more but if you've lobang, can save quite abit actually. good thing is, you wont feel restricted with package.

mimosa, wow 80K.. tat's alot... customed made furniture more ex rite?

Hi Forest,
The file so huge!!!! 9.1MB altogether! Still trying to email it to u in separate batches. my mailbox seemed to hv some problems. gimme more time to sort it out...thks for yr patience...hopefully u wun be disappointed by the designs.

Hi AngelBB,
If you are looking for Benny Ang/Jaki, why dun u try going to bridal salons that tie up with them? Think u can get a better deal...u can ask the photographers abt who they tie up with...think they will tell u.

Hi Binbin,
din read yr earlier messages...but did u engage any ID for your reno? $40K is a lot of $$$ leh...
*sigh*
btw, thks for the link!

Hi cin_p,
oh my gosh! your bridal is treating u like a "cai tou"! how come they charge so expensive?? y don't u get the material yourself and ask them to add onto your gown? If u top up, u will be paying so much!!! My bridal package is $3888 inclusive of all the MTM gowns and suits. Both EG and men suit to keep. ;-) if u read my earlier messages, i am seriously contemplating getting my EG from other shops...i find it very difficult to think of designs. ;-(
btw, just realised that my ROM and customary is on the same day as yours! i can't bk my hotel venue, hence i m holding my banquet on another day. ;-)

hi Pebbles,
rec yr updated listings of the brides-to-be here. thks for everything..appreciate it!

Gdmorn gals!

Silver - Yeah, the hotel will let you make tentative booking for 1 date. Let's say u make a booking today. You have to confirm & pay the deposit & sign the contract by 2 wks. Package is negotiated a/f u have made the tentative booking.

Jan, my parents will not be taking any angpaos at all. My FILs also returned the angpaos when my bf's elder sis got married a couple of yrs ago. So our wedding is like, pay ourselves, decide ourselves, do whatever we like kind of event.

hi Morning!

Yeah Silver... before u actually sign the contract, u'll have to negotiate the terms first and try to bargain and ask for things that u want!! For tentative booking, think usually for most hotels we can make tentative booking for 2 weeks b4 we actually confirm...

So meantime, u can look at their package and then compare with others, see wat others offer and wat they dont offer, so have better idea wat to bargain for!

Think for my parents side, we'll give the tables to them but pil side will give the ang pows back to us...

Hi Forest,

Sure..no problem. I tried to answer your questions. Yeah..taking up MSC in material science, trying to apply in this coming July or september. Not sure allowable or not as I just completed the degree. Yes…the going was very tough but very enjoyable. Stressful?? Indeed it was. But enjoyable also
clipart{biggrin} clipart{biggrin}

Hi Questy,

I am interested in your semstress. Can introduce her to me? I am thinking of doing a CS for the ROM and then later can use as tea dress. MTM wedding gowns?? U mean she can do any design? So meaning we go buy the material that we want and show her the design then she can make one for us? Sorry so many questions at one go. I am in favour of the MTM WG specially when the cost of the WG is only ard $200-$300 and bridal boutiques like to quote as high as possible… :P

hi hi Ino. yes i engaged an ID.
we did quite a big amount of things that's why quite exp loh...also a bit heartpain leh... but bo bian coz both of u wanted to achieve a certain kinda look in the home. we are hacking away all floor tiles, replacing with homogeneous and paraquet. plus a feature wall for storeroom, tv wall, masterbedroom ac ledge, mirror for dining area. shoe cabinet plus study table in one of the bedrooms. build in wardrobe across the whole wall. plus the fact that we are converting our original study room into a cosy area with platform seatee, water feature and all......

Hi Bin Bin,

If you are looking for Teak Furniture, you can go to Home Merchant at Changi South Road.. It has very nice design and really good quality.. if you got budget, you can go to hillcrest road to find too... they have this shop next to lana cake shop and it is only open for 10 days in a month.. they are usually open during weekend.

Hi Questy,

Could you recommend me the seamtress as well coz i need to do my ROM dress too.

Morning!

BINBIN: Woah... will it be difficult to take care of the cleaning up? Normal reno dun have to engage ID rite? And will it cost lesser? Eeee... chim chim... I think will ask this reno questions later when I got my chance. Now too soon to ask liao... THANKS!

thanks mimosa and mango cheese cake for the recommendation for wooden furniture.....hehhehee....will go check them out...

Hi Forest,
I have finally sent all the files to u!!! it comes in 3 batches. Dun noe whether u can rec all. Tell me if you can't receive the last email. will send u again.

Hi Bin Bin,
your house sounds very very nice...who did u engage? (err...was that in yr earlier threads? lazy to scroll...too many messages!) btw, what's a platform settee? $40K is inclusive of ID fees? Me also thinking of renovating my house in a modern resort style...However, Me now waiting for house...hoping for the balloting..if not, i will take resale.
sorrie...for all my incessant questioning.

Trying to persuade my FH to set aside money for ID but dun think he's in favour becoz it's too X. *sigh* lucky u!
Saw your ROM fotos...very sweet!

Hi silver,
i booked my bridal at marina sq.

QUESTY: Can email me your seamtress's details too? I have a friend also looking out for seamtress. Pls, thanks! (click onto my nick for email add)

hi Ino, my ID is Ergo Design. u may not have heard of him coz he dun advertise. he does by recommendation basis only..
he dun charge ID fees, not all ID does. i heard that some will charge ID fees and give a lump sum quote for some items. But he will break down the quotes for u to see. one thing is he dun overcharge u for the tiles. he will bring u to see tiles and u will buy directly from the shop. Ergo will only charge u for the workmanship.

a platform seatee is a raised paraquet platform, about 10cm in height, from the floor. there will be cushions for ppl to sit and hold onto. we will be over laying that part of the floor with sandstone look alike homogeneous tiles, with the platform seatee on top in an L shape. the water feature will likely be at the bend of the "L", either build in or on the table....

ino, ya lah.. they think i'm a walking raddish... i'm gog to arab st to take a look 1st... haven commit to the lace yet. they sad part is, i cant keep the EG unless i top up another $200 to keep. if not, then i'll find a semstress to make tat.. i feel it'll be cheaper... probably get the bridal studio to make another one... ooh.. your customary same as mine... seems like this is a good date.. hey, wat kind of EG u looking for? try go thru some "ang moh" fashion mag... shd be able to find something you like..

hi questy,
wah.. 200 sounds like a gd deal... if so many classmates hve done it there.. it shd b quite alrite hor... then, with ur savings in gowns.. u prob can splurge more on photography.. or something else tt u like...

hi cin_p,
alamak.. cannot lah.. my ROM dec 2002.. over liao!!!! plus, i was still taking my oracle exams during tt period.. finished it 1 wk b4 the date.. so, dint plan anything special for my ROM!

hi ino,
wah... so huge!! no prob... jus send to me when u can.. in fact, i pai seh leh.. so much trouble for u to send me the files!!

hi doreamon,
errr.. think u got the names wrong.. its antares who asked u abt ur course info...

n i was the one who suggested tt u can try merchant court hotel's ROM lunch package!

DOREAMON: Hey, you free liao mah? So have you decide on your bridal package? Dun see you in Printemps thread?

QUESTY: Pls email me your seamtress details yah... THANKS!!!

hi gals!!! im back!!!
anybody missed me????

hi ino

oh… last nite Lian He Wanbao got feature abt the garden solemisation. can refer there

hi hi mimosa

sorri to missed out ur request
for gown hunting is up to individual
for me n my hubby (yes! promote to hubby on Tue
) most important is service
gowns & photography as long as I feel okay is alright. another point we considered is the distance traveled so in the end we choose one which is near our home

for starters mayb u wan to go to San Mike Bridal for appt? the owner cum photographer wun forced u to sign n give lotsa good advise
he will also at the same time let u try on the gowns n advise u wat suits u, wat don’t

hi hi Mee Mee

welcome welcome

hi binbin

Nick oledi sent me the photo link for photo selection… so dat means I can or cannot share with u gals on the pre-selected photos?

hi AngelBB / cin_p

hahaha… thanks thanks.. still can call me Mdm Ivory
no er en shi jie lah..

hi wendylee

huh? who want to eat my tortoises? I go n see…..

hi Pebbles

thanks for your well wishes.. romantic stories ah… I think the totoises proposal is the furthest he will do liao

hi Pink

wat u mean face all blocked up???

hi silver

my ROM went very well… my poor photographer actually runs a few locations with us though our package oni got 1 outdoor shoot

hi ino,
pai seh... which email addy did u send the files to?? i dun receive anything leh...

hi mdm ivory,
welcome back!!! so nice to hear tt ur ROM went very well... do rem to share share ur photos when they r avail okies!?
oh btw, how's the getaway at grand plaza? is the presidential suite shiok?!?

IVORY: HIHI!!!! How's everything? Woah, you took Nick as your photographer rite? How is it? Due to some budget constrain... might not be able to engage his service. He too posted your link up already, thats fast! Share with us leh...

Oh, duno who name turtle soup wana catch your tortoise to cook man... HAHA

Can you tell me all over again your preprations for your ROM... and the event day itself... pls... me wana do some referencing b4 I can source on my own... thanks!!! (my email is in my nick)

this is my first time joining a thread...... some threads moved so fast that i lost touch!! by the way, my tentative wedding date is in Jul 04 too!!

hi forest

sure sure, once im sure i can share the pix i'll let u guys noe

the suite?? fantastic, best part is the Jacuzzi.. heavens sia....

hi wendylee

wait wait wait, must got patience for my photos

hmm? okay, later i got time then i email u wat i did for the ROM lor

Hi ever!!

Welcome!
So how's ur preparation? Have u sort of shopped for the venue and bridal studios?
Btw, which date u have in mind for ur wedding?

ivory, depends on whether you wanna share the pre selected ones or the selected ones loh...
how many did he take? if it's a lot, maybe a good idea to sort through and select first. then share after nick re post the selected photos....

Hi Jan!!

the tentative date we've selected is 11 jul. i hav shopped around for venues and bridal shops.. actually more on bridal shops, cos i'm more interested!!

now, a bit confused.... but venue-wise, most probably OCC... too many relatives and frens that both set of parents insisted on inviting!!

Hi ever!!

Urs is day after mine!!

haha... Ya can understand why u have shopped for bridal shops first!! haha... So which are the ones that u're interested in?

wah ivory,
sounds so shiok leh... still got jacuzzi...
bet u must b feeling very pampered n relaxed!!
so happy for u!! cant wait to see ur pix.... but no rush no rush lah...

Hi to all,
I've spoken to the lady, and she recommended u to bring down the design for discussion, or u hv a swatch of the fabric, can also bring down to show her. Mayb u dun anyhow buy fabric first hoh.
The price i've told u all is just a rough guide, cos it depends on the factors of the patterns and the materials used, (if bring down own fabric, the price may also differs.)
Bukitmah Shopping Centre is the one beside Beauty World Shopping Centre k! Good Luck!

Shop name: MARLIN

Her add is: 170 Bukit Timah Road
Bukit Timah Shopping Centre
#03-25
Singapore 588179

Tel: 6468 7100 (Call before going down k)

Opening Hours: noon - 7pm daily

hi Ivory..
Welcome back..

haha.. glad that you enjoy yourself on your ROM.

U still went for a mini honeymoon ah?..so good ..
Can't wait to see your pic..

Congrats once again..

Gd afternoon ladies....

Sweetsweetgal,
What list do you want huh?

Ino,
You booked with whitelink?

Invory,
Welcome back! Now should call you Mrs...

Mango Cheese Cake,
Any comments on The Orential, Amara & Pan Pac food and poolside wedding?

oh... me wanted Sat too.... but no good dates for us, according to the fortune-teller... too bad...

me went to Silverlining, Dang, El Shaddai, Flamingo, White Link and Golden Horse Awards (GHA)... but guess i may sign up with GHA... cheaper and less co-ordination... the other shops tie up with photographers, so may need more co-ordination on our part when it comes to choosing photos, schedules and "bargaining"... hahaha....

hav you confirm yr bridal package? heard Mandarin is not bad... good choice!!

Hi forest,

So sorry....so sorry that i got mixed up
...okie, i just now called up Merchant court and was served by this lady, Shirley who was rather blunt and rude. I requested for details of the package to send to me and she said there is nothing to be send, just free 1 bottle of wine and complimentary lunches for the couple. No private room at all.

Is there someone else i can contact?

Gd afternoon ladies,

Hi ever,
Welcome! Mine is tentative 18 Jul 04. Now sourcing around for venue. So far quite like Spore Yacht Club. Ve not started for Bridal. So ve you shortlisted any?

Btw, you planning to ve ur dinner at OCC grand ballroom? Attended one wedding last mth, very nice! Was considering OCC Tee Garden/Poolside. Went down to visit the venue don't really like it...

Jan,
I was checking with SYC on their tentative booking and the sales mgr just made tentative booking for me but never tell me can hold for how long leh cos I did explain to him that we are checking if the day is 'unlucky' or not. Ve not neg the terms with him. So far the package comes with the following :

- No Corkage charge for wines & spirits brought in. (Liqour must be sealed & duty paid).
- Complimentary 30 litres barrel beer. (Serve up to 125 glasses)
- An invitation for 10 person for full menu food tasting upon confirmation
- Enjoy a night stay at our newly built Suite room
- Complimentary 20 car-park coupons for your guests

The rest are almost the same. I thinking of asking for free flow if not additional and more carpark coupons. Anything else I should take note off?

can i join too? My wedding is on 15 feb. One day after V-day. hee....